Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Customer saves bank from being robbed

• 10-09-2010 1:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭

Sky News
    An armed bank raid was thwarted when a have-a-go hero leapt on the would-be robber's back.

The masked criminal charged into a bank in Milwaukee and waved a gun in the face of the cashier.
    However, he happened to launch his robbery bid as America's bravest bank customer was leaving.
    Spotting what was going on, the customer jumped on the man's back and tried to put him in a stranglehold.
    More CCTV footage shows the two men grappling with each other before the raider flees.
    US police are still hunting for the criminal.

You're best off watching the video

Personally I think this guy was a ****ing idiot. Imagine trying that on someone with a fúcking gun... If you watch the video you can see he does it as the gun is pointed towards the cashier.

He effectively put his and her life in danger. And for what?

What would you do if you were in that situation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

If that was here the bank robber would definately be tackled to the ground...
    ...so someone could take his gun & get rid of some of the lazy assholes working in the bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

What a mug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I feel for the robbers family...it's a recession for gods sake let the man have his moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,802 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Sykk wrote: »

Personally I think this guy was a ****ing idiot. Imagine trying that on someone with a fúcking gun... If you watch the video you can see he does it as the gun is pointed towards the cashier.

Well he maybe saw Derren Browns latest show, and thinking maybe this was some set up to find another gob****e he wanted none of it, so he reacted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭token56

Seeing as this happened in America I can imagine the robber will probably sue that guy for personal assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He should have cheered them on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

There is something quite funny about the video. The way he robber waddles off with yer man on his back.

Stupid thing to do though. You are right OP. It could have ended up with a bullet in the cashiers face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

I wonder if someone tried to rob Anglo would anyone stop him?

More than likely not - "Sorry mate, you dropped a bit, hang on there till the Gardai arrive, they'll give you an escort to the Ferry as long as ou promise not to bring any of it back - ever."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

I agree that he was unwise in many respects. Lives were put in even greater danger by his actions, and while it worked out well, if it had gone badly (if he or the cashier got shot) then I think the world would view his actions as being lunatic.

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

I wonder if someone tried to rob Anglo would anyone stop him?

More than likely not - "Sorry mate, you dropped a bit, hang on there till the Gardai arrive, they'll give you an escort to the Ferry as long as ou promise not to bring any of it back - ever."

Not really

The cashier would just laugh give him the keys to vault and say "Sorry your too late Sean Fitzpatrick got here before you".

Pussies.

Gain the tactical advantage, and do what you can to remove the threat, or aid in the investigation if you live afterwards. If the tactical advantage doesn't present itself, then so be it. But keep looking for it, trying to think of a way to end this with the aggressor's arrest or death (Death? yes, death. If you carry a lethal weapon and threaten lethal force, then expect lethal force to be applied to you.)

None of you people would even look for it, but kid console yourselves that nothing could be done.

Fair play to that man. Is it better to never try than to try and fail? I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Pussies

Yeah, that's real convincing coming from someone on the internet :rolleyes:
    Fair play to that man. Is it better to never try than to try and fail? I don't think so.

Easy for you to say, you're not the bank cashier with a gun pointed at you while someone who's watched a bit too much UFC tries to wrestle with the guy with his finger on the trigger. If the attacker had been focused on 'that man' instead of the cashier, I'd also be saying 'fair play'. But in actuality, he put someone else's life in danger, something he has no business doing (particularly as banks are insured against monetary robbery - a cashier's life can't be replaced).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Pussies.

Gain the tactical advantage, and do what you can to remove the threat, or aid in the investigation if you live afterwards. If the tactical advantage doesn't present itself, then so be it. But keep looking for it, trying to think of a way to end this with the aggressor's arrest or death (Death? yes, death. If you carry a lethal weapon and threaten lethal force, then expect lethal force to be applied to you.)

None of you people would even look for it, but kid console yourselves that nothing could be done.

Pussies? My arse.. I'm very well built with a good bit of boxing and martial arts experience.. Just not an idiot. Think about it...

Should you make a mistake or the robber panics and happens to pull his finger on the trigger due to fright, you're the reason the cashier is dead.

The idiot robbing the place will more than likely run off once he gets some cash. So why put someones life in jeopordy?

Yours sincerely,
    Logic.

PS: You're such a beast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Sky News

You're best off watching the video

what a tosser,the banks money is insured the thick fcker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭TheKells

I like the fella in the background, casually putting his hand in his pocket right at the end as if nothing interesting was happening.

Fair play to him, too many thief's are robbing places and getting away with it. The thread should be complementing the guy not calling him stupid.