Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trim Bulldogs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

best of luck to you guys.

I think you might find it tricky building a team though if Im being honest.

With a team in Mullingar & one in Tullamore already, thats 3 teams looking at players in and around the Edenderry area, and also likely rules out recruiting for you in Mullingar or Tullamore.

So outside of Trim not sure where your going to get players, given a team tried and failed to setup in Maynooth only a few years ago and found there was a lack of interest.

Heres hoping you prove me wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

D3PO wrote: »

With a team in Mullingar & one in Tullamore already, thats 3 teams looking at players in and around the Edenderry area, and also likely rules out recruiting for you in Mullingar or Tullamore.

So outside of Trim not sure where your going to get players, given a team tried and failed to setup in Maynooth only a few years ago and found there was a lack of interest.

Navan, Summerhill, Kells, Enfield, Kilcock, Dunboyne, Batterstown to name but a few!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭TITAN #1

Man, you could put the mockers on an orgy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 coachdrake42

Thanks to all for their input on building a team in Trim (Meath). My goal is to recruit as many players, but if I only get one, hopefully that one will tell others. Once he has an opportunity to see the league 1st hand. I hope that I gain your support & invite you all to a mini camp I will be holding in the near future. I will keep you posted here on the date & time of the mini camp.

Thanks again

TITAN #1 wrote: »
    Man, you could put the mockers on an orgy.

Im not trying to be negative but Im just saying Coach Drake needs to go into this with eyes wide open. Just ask Tallaghtoutlaws how hard it is to get and maintain a squad in the IAFL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭TITAN #1

Im not trying to be negative but Im just saying Coach Drake needs to go into this with eyes wide open. Just ask Tallaghtoutlaws how hard it is to get and maintain a squad in the IAFL

I appreciate that you bringing a dash of reality to the situation for Coach Drake but why not bring a positive dash of reality and tell him about the successful teams in the IAFL.
    Why not give him some positive advice, you and I know he will need it.
    He has a long steep hill to climb and adding a big bag of negativity will not assist him.
    Coach Drake is absolute gold dust for the success of American Football in Ireland and I personally would go that extra mile to help him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

D3PO wrote: »
    Just ask Tallaghtoutlaws how hard it is to get and maintain a squad in the IAFL

Please don't involve me in this conversation. As hard as it is I wish Coach Drake the best of luck and hope to see him on the opposite sideline over the next few seasons.

Coach Drake make sure you also post on the League's forum www.iafs.co.uk. You should get a good response over there also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Prefab Sprouter

The very best of luck with your setting up of a team Coach Drake. Hope it takes off!

Thanks to all for your support & advice.

American Football is one of my passions & I love the sport. Remember the Trim Bulldogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 oladoha2

Hey,

I've a pool of 14 players that play flag football in Navan every fortnight.

I'd be interested in getting involved with this - have you an email contact I could get you at.

Hi oladoha2,

Thanks for the reply. contact me @ coachdrake42@gmail.com.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Aidandrummer1

Hey lads just wondering where ye train and when?
    Mad to get bak into playing flag, especially with team ireland spots up for grabs soon

To all,

The team will be holding a recruitment/registration open day in the Castle Arch Hotel, Trim. 16/10/2010 from 11am-3pm.
    Please bring a birth cert, if plan signing up with the team!

All are welcomed to come out to meet & talk about the team & football in general! You can find updates about the Bulldogs on their website as well on the events page.
    www.wix.com/42drake/bulldogs

The Bulldogs need more players, visit the website for recruitment details, events page. Come on Co. Meath! The deadline for registration is Oct 31, 2010 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Maybe post a link to the website?
    When I google "Trim Bulldogs" all I see is this: http://www.trimbullbulldogs.com/

Sorry about that.
    I have posted the website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭marty2002

If only i was 10 yrs younger lol! Best of luck to the team, il keep an eye on the team for sure.:)

Hi Marty2002,

No problem. Feel free to contact me. I need help in other areas with the team as well.
    All the best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Paterson

Wat days u planning on training sessions?

At the moment Sundays will be the practice days. I hope to have a few Saturday practices as well. If you are interested in joining, all detail information on the team will be available at the 1st team meeting, shortly.

News Bulletin!
    The Bulldogs will be holding their 1st team meeting,
    Sat 13th Nov from 10am-3pm, in the Castle Arch Hotel, in Trim
    Those that are interested in joining the team, & are 18 years of age or older.
    Come on down & meet your fellow team mates. Please bring a copy of your birth cert & 2 passport photos.

Registration/membership cost

75.00 euro per season (if you recruit 2 or more players your cost is 25.00 euro)
    You can download the registration/membership form at
    www.wix.com/42drake/bulldogs ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Ah here Drake, a new thread for every announcement for the Bulldogs? You had 3 recruitment threads alone. Can you not keep them all to one thread like? Hope it works out for you guys and all, but really one thread for all things Bulldogs related would be better.

Archimedes, Sorry for the multiple threads, it's just my way of trying to promote the club, using Boards.ie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Archimedes, Sorry for the multiple threads, it's just my way of trying to promote the club, using Boards.ie.

It's not a big deal, just probably would be better for you even if all the information you've posted about the team is one thread which is easier to keep track of. Like I said, good luck with recruitment and promotion, hope it works out!

Registration/membership cost

75.00 euro per season (if you recruit 2 or more players your cost is 25.00 euro)

Not trying to be a pain here realise this is my second post that might be seen as negative re Trim Bulldogs, but the club will not survive with that registration fee.

Firstly if its still the same as when I played in the IAFL its €50 to register. So theres not going to me much left for the team if people are paying 25 quid your actually goign to be losing out.

Ambulances that are mandatory at games aint cheap, then you have all your other expense aswell, equipment, transport etc. If you continue with that kind of fee your going to have a large hole in your own pocket to fill the expenses.

Does anyone when the 2011 DV8 league schedule will be announced?

GO BULLDOGS! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

Does anyone when the 2011 DV8 league schedule will be announced?

GO BULLDOGS! :)

Coach you wont find the answer to that here. League wont post anything about fixtures to any forum.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

One of the best ways to get to know our members and get their help on the American Football forum coachdrake is to post here often, contribute to our discussions of our loved sport, and not just when you are recruiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 PUDDLEFILMS

hey guys just saw that there hasn't been any many updates recently. so here goes,
    Since Coach Drake set up the 'Trim Bulldogs', this is where we stand!

Weekly Sunday training which from next week goes up to twice a week.

Strong attendance and commitment every week.

A successful Superbowl fund raiser in feb.

Entry to the DV8 league, (1st game on against Tullamore Phoenix on May 8th)

Promotional Videos and photo shoots.

lots of couriers delivering boxes of pads, helmets and gear allover the Trim area.

secured a training pitch and a game day pitch facility.

and finally "ONE FAST IMPROVING AND VERY DEDICATED TEAM OF BULLDOGS", DV8'S watch out!!!!!
    :cool:
    wanta be part of something special??? check out the Bulldog website!!!
    :D go coach drake

Thanks for the support everyone.
    I am honored & commited to the Bulldogs! We have a dedicated & commited list of players, and we will be unleashing in May!

Stay tuned, & check us out if you want to part of something BIG!

GO BULLDOGS!:)