Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hertz Liquidation Car Auction | Saturday 11am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,847 ✭✭✭s8n

Is this an auction ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

You'd want to be mad to buy a car that has been driven by thousands of different people with different driving styles. I know when I rent a car abroad I don't exactly drive it lightly and nor would others I suspect.

And if its an auction you've no recourse when the clutch packs it in after 3 days.
    Hardly a BA IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I was in two minds tbh as to whether I'd post it - reckoned maybe someone might get something out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Oracle

I wouldn't agree RATM, an ex-rental car can be an excellent buy. They're usually well maintained and looked after. In addition the car rental company is normally the first and only owner, so you know the car ownership history from the start. As for the tourists, they drive a lot slower than the average Irish motorist. I think buying a car at auction can be tricky though, there can be shill bidders, and the temptation to pay over the odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

Oracle wrote: »
    I wouldn't agree RATM, an ex-rental car can be an excellent buy. They're usually well maintained and looked after. In addition the car rental company is normally the first and only owner, so you know the car ownership history from the start. As for the tourists, they drive a lot slower than the average Irish motorist. I think buying a car at auction can be tricky though, there can be shill bidders, and the temptation to pay over the odds.

This man has pretty much captured what I was going to say; in general it wouldn't be that uncommon to come across a decent rental that hasn't been rallied or driven in anger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭cgarrad

Done high miles for rentals, Ive never had a car with over 20,000.

Irish rentals may be different obviously due to initial cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Wait till you see eejits paying over the odds for cars that have been abused no end. I've rented many 2 year old cars in my time and everyone one of them showed countless signs of abuse and neglect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

I've no doubt the mechanics at Hertz maintain them well. But my point is rental cars get the crap driven out of them- so much so that after a few years they lose their 'zip'. Sure some tourists drive them around the Ring of Kerry at 60kph. But then you have the 18-30 crowd (me included) who rent VW Golfs to drive the crap out of them on a 3 day sprint across the Lake District in England.

Would people here buy a former garda car? I know a lad who did and although it was grand for 6 months or so after that it gave him no end of trouble. The car may have been a bargain at the time but he soon paid for what he had saved initially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

The best analogy I've heard about buying ex-rentals is that it is similar to dating a hooker. It'll have some gearbox issues in no time :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Kevtherev

RATM wrote: »
    I've no doubt the mechanics at Hertz maintain them well. But my point is rental cars get the crap driven out of them- so much so that after a few years they lose their 'zip'. Sure some tourists drive them around the Ring of Kerry at 60kph. But then you have the 18-30 crowd (me included) who rent VW Golfs to drive the crap out of them on a 3 day sprint across the Lake District in England.

18-30 crowd, Hertz Ireland don't rent to anyone under 25 that cuts out most boy racers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭jeremyr62

To quote P.J. O'Rourke:

"...there's a lot of debate...about what kind of car handles best. Some
    say a front-engined car; some say a rear-engined car. I say a _rented_
    car. Nothing handles better than a rented car. You can go faster, turn
    corners sharper, and put the transmission into reverse while going forward
    at a higher rate of speed in a rented car than in any other kind. You can
    also park without looking, and can use the trunk as an ice chest."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭useless

some serious mileage on some of those motors... the cynic in me says lots of them will be for sale in dealers next week with a 'haircut'

Another thing to note is that Hertz does contract hire/leasing as well as hiring cars out to tourists. So some of those cars up for auction could have been run by the same company director/sales rep since new. No way to know at the auction though.

FWIW, I bought a 6 month old ex lease car from a main dealer 4.5 years ago and, touch wood, never had any problems...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Thanked the OP because everyone else forgot :(

- Some valid points raised of course.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

There's an M5 in there too. I'd say it's had a hard life tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭golfdiva

Is there a way to find out what price they make tomorrow? Some nice cars in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I'm pretty sure that I rented this Auris one weekend when I was stuck. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

There's no way those Range Rovers were hire cars.
    A lot of them I'd guess were ex company cars which if they were would have been serviced and maintained correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ronaneire

golfdiva wrote: »
    Is there a way to find out what price they make tomorrow? Some nice cars in there.

Yeah attend the auction is the only way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

okidoki987 wrote: »
    There's no way those Range Rovers were hire cars.

Hertz had Range Rovers in their Prestige Collection. Not any more though now they have X5s and Jag XFs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,111 ✭✭✭✭ted1

have they actually gone bust ? Is it an auction or a liquidation auction?

hire cars don't pay vrt is this payable on the purchase of second hand hire cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Lawdie

ronaneire wrote: »
    Yeah attend the auction is the only way

Cant make the auction but if someone who attends could put up the winning bids please.

Really interested to see what price the Scenics make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Kevtherev

ted1 wrote: »

Hertz Ireland generally send there ex rental cars to one of there several dealerships to be sold on. In the current climate they would sit on a forecourt for several months.

Makes more sense for them to have an auction to get rid of the excess stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

Don't Bolands (Wexford or Waterford) have the Hertz franchise for Ireland ? If so I'd guess this could be a mix of Hertz cars, Bolands cars and poss some fleet cars if they're also in that business. Odds are the rental ones would still have a "1" sticker on the back window - doubt anyone would have bothered removing them.

so it's not an liquidation auction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭91011

It looks like a stock liquidation auction rather than a liquidators auction. - methinks the play on words is to try and get more publicity,
    hire cars don't pay vrt is this payable on the purchase of second hand hire cars?
    No - the car rental companies themselves will pay the VRT. - Buyers will have to pay a 5% buyers premium though.

Next week there is a liquidator's liquidation auction of cars from Michael Mc Keon motors on eauctions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

is there any way of looking at these auctions on line a friend told me you can
    any help please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

is there any way of looking at these auctions on line a friend told me you can
    any help please

Wilsons auctions can be viewed on line,well they used to be ill check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

moonshadow wrote: »

good man/woman i'll take a look:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Well...... any happy spenders yet ???

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

dodzy wrote: »
    Well...... any happy spenders yet ???

heard the 2006 M5 went for 27k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

kceire wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

kceire wrote: »

Any idea of what sort of condition it was in?

Recon the car would be been put through its paces thou. As it probably would be only car nuts that could justify paying the excess insurance on the rental agreement for the experience of driving an M5.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Hootanany wrote: »

Any idea of what sort of condition it was in?

Recon the car would be been put through its paces thou. As it probably would be only car nuts that could justify paying the excess insurance on the rental agreement for the experience of driving an M5.

bought by a guy in the trade so i believe, for some reason i dont think the M5 would of been a rental car, i think it might of been just pushd in there with the auction somehow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

That M5 was owned by one of the Bolands, so it wasnt a rental. I'd say its been looked after, as this particular Boland also drives a WRC car. ;) Big money for it though.

Looks like auctions have a future in Ireland - its a big business in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭golfdiva

Anybody know what the 2008 Kia Sportage, 2.0L Auto Diesel went for by any chance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

That M5 was owned by one of the Bolands, so it wasnt a rental. I'd say its been looked after, as this particular Boland also drives a WRC car. ;) Big money for it though.

Looks like auctions have a future in Ireland - its a big business in the UK.
    Same one I seen him use during recces of said rallys :P

Surprised as he had a subaru for it aswell..

Saying that the once I seen Porsche out doing a recce.. I seen it more at the petrol pumps than the stages tho :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Lawdie

Did any boardsie attend?
    Would like to get an idea of quality and prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Slaine2

moonshadow wrote: »

I am not too happy with Wilson Auctions:mad:. Registered for online auction for small tools on the 27th November, they were to take 500 upfront and give back if you did not buy anything.

They took 1000, just checked balance today 06 December still have not put back in this has screwed up my direct debits. Rang them, did not get around to returning money due to the snow. I will not be uing these again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Oracle wrote: »
    I wouldn't agree RATM, an ex-rental car can be an excellent buy. They're usually well maintained and looked after. In addition the car rental company is normally the first and only owner, so you know the car ownership history from the start.
    all perfectly valid points i'm sure, but it would still feel like buying a wife from a pimp. sure, you know there's only been one owner and she's probably been well maintained, but at the end of the day she's still been ridden by hundreds of people and the crutch *ahem* clutch will be well on its way out and liable to just drop out of her within days. :D