Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How was EP?

• 09-09-2010 5:43pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Did anyone go? How was it? I was not bothered really, kinda festivaled out for this summer. Was very happy with my decision when it pissed rain for the most of the weekend.

What was it like overall, compared to previous years?
    Highlights? Lowlights?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Was there for the weekend, got a free ticket so I wasn't glued to my timetable, just wandered around.

Saw Tiga, he was great, as he always is, whole set of unreleased tracks, a lot of which I've been waiting for. Including the new ZZT tune (Him and Zombie Nation).

Leftfield and Massive Attack both had amazing stage shows, and were great.

Hypnotic Brass Ensemble were great too.

Only bad rain was Sunday night, and I left at about midnight so I wasn't too badly affected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Had a great weekend myself. Highlight for me was Laurent Garnier on the Sunday. We queued for 20 mins in the pissing rain to get into the Little Big Tent but it was well worth it. I'd been waiting a long time to see his live show and was not disappointed, some atmosphere inside that tent for him too!

Really loved Booka Shade, hadn't seen them before and was really impressed, they really packed out that tent too.

Tiga was brilliant as well, maybe not as good as the previous two times I've seen him but still amazing.

Rave in the woods was a good laugh too.

Weather wasn't too bad actually, Friday was fantastic weather, then a couple of very light showers early on Saturday but there was no mud at all, Sunday night it turned bad but it didn't bother me at that stage. Heard the weather was worse in Dublin actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

Was working there again, Highlight for me was actually the Subs on Friday night - really not my thing at all (electro-rocky) but an unbelieveable atmosphere in there which really wasn't matched in the little-big tent for the rest of the weekend.

Caribou were the business and I got to meet the band/get a photo backstage so I was delighted. Booka Shade were a dissapointment, the bit I caught of Hypnotic Brass Ensemble was good but they were not suited to the main stage at all - they played body and soul last year and it was a much better gig. Sebastian Leger was a big let down and I didn't bother going to see Garnier after the travesty that was EP 2006.

Much edgier festival this year, saw a lot more hassle and a LOT more drugs going about then I had in the previous 4 or 5 years. There was an awful lot more litter about the place as well - I reckon its the beginning of the end for the picnic tbh; I'd be suprised if its kept going past 2012.

[caveat]Sleeping in a pool of water on Sunday night didn't help my mood[/caveat]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

It didn't piss rain in Stradbally all weekend which was a bonus. Friday was blistering sunshine and there was a few light showers on Saturday but nothing that would ruin the festival. You could still sit down on the grass. Sunday was grand until evening time when the heavens just opened up and it was pretty miserable.

Best one in a few years for me. Had a much smaller crew than usual but it actually worked out pretty well. Didnt see much on Friday. Remember enjoying Janelle Monae but the rest I just spent walking around having the craic. Saturday I saw a good few acts of which LCD Soundsystem were the definite highlight. Caribou was excellent as well. Heading over to London in November to see him Nathan Fake, Four Tet and James Holden so cant wait for that.

Had the best day on Sunday. Sorted my dodgy stomach out with an Ostrich burger and a few Mojitos in the Bacardi Bar. I dont know who was on but they were playing the most brilliant uplifting disco that kicked my hangover to the curb. Wandered around doing all the random stuff you usually miss stopping off in different places for a dance every now and then. Saw The Horrors who were brilliant. Absolute highlight of the festival though was Fever Ray. Incredible gig.

Definite uplift in scumbags but I didn't see any trouble really. Someone did try and get in to our tent on Sunday night but I cant say for sure it was someone on the rob. Could have just been some mangler looking for his own tent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

I was working there so I seen **** all acts. Leftfield were incredibly hit and miss and right now im sorry I didnt go to see Caribou instead but ive tickets for this Dublin gig in September. On the friday I seen Sebastian Leger which I thought was fairly good but way too short. Juan Atkins was decent. Garnier was okay but his set was awful rushed - going from dubstep to drum and bass to techno in a few minutes - nothing I didnt expect.

I didnt see a whole pile more nor did I get down to the rave in the woods.

On the scumbags - there was a fair few bunches of trakky wearing lads but I didnt see any hassle save for a few knacks hoppin the fence.

Ive been the past 3 years and I dont know if ill bother going next year as the line-up was fairly weak in comparison to previous years. As has been mentioned by other posters on this forum, the organisers really do want to do away with the dance music.

The body and soul area was better than last year I thought and im told that the mindframe area was brilliant.

Festival abroad next year....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    Had the best day on Sunday. Sorted my dodgy stomach out with an Ostrich burger and a few Mojitos in the Bacardi Bar. I dont know who was on but they were playing the most brilliant uplifting disco that kicked my hangover to the curb.

I was there on the sunday about 8pm and the music was brilliant. It was the greco roman soundsystem which was playing - it could be them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭domcq

Was there on Friday, Sat and most of Sunday. I missed last year and was there the previous three years.

I'd forgotten what a great festival it is. Didn't go in a big group this year, just myself and my girlfriend. The highlight for me was the Neutroyx area in the woods. Blistering Psytrance from 1am - 4am on Sat morning. LCD sound system stole the show for me Sat night - and it took alot to get the energy to dance after very little sleep Friday night/Sat morning.

The RTE concert Orchestra on Sun morning were a surprise highlight - They even managed to people to their feet with River dance of all things - super sound in the open air.

All in all, it was a a great wknd. I'll be back next year. I did have a bottle of booze stolen from the tent which I've never had happen before. Any established festival is going to attract a rouge element at some stage though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    I didn't bother going to see Garnier after the travesty that was EP 2006.

What happened in 2006? I read an interview with Garnier where he said that was one of his favourite shows..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

Jello wrote: »
    What happened in 2006? I read an interview with Garnier where he said that was one of his favourite shows..

Was that his interview in Hot Press? I read that as well. In 2006 he was really poor. I don't like his live set at all. He also had a live album out a few years back and it was just as bad. Shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

i saw him live in vicar st and the red box years ago and he was savage. around the unreasonable behaviour period. did hear people giving out about him at EP a good few years back too, saying he played too hard?

i listen to a lot of his DJ sets on line and I think he does what I'd describe as deep, melodic techno the best. the first hour of his last essential mix and his RA is briliant. he is also good at dropping random eclectic tunes or real gem and unknown oldies. problem is most people going to see him want to hear techno and get pissed off if he plays drum and bass or hip hop which he will occasionally do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    I didn't bother going to see Garnier after the travesty that was EP 2006.

I actually really enjoyed that. Way too many of my friends going to that expected a 2005 repeat without even thinking of the fact it was a live set.

I think the fact I hadn't set expectations too high that made it for me, I wasn't expecting full-on techno for the whole set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

surprised 808 State didn't get a mention yet, they were excellent. And the sight of some looper managing to get up onto the stage and waving to the crowd before being grabbed by security was class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

garnier was my highlight of i love techno this year, although i have ehard some of his live shows and they can be garbage imo, mixing techno into 60s rock n roll and sh1t.

much prefer when hes on the techno vibe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Got jumped by a group of scumbags and had my wristband torn off. Ended up getting kicked out somehow and wandered around the roads and woods for a few hours out of my head on acid, thinking I was being pursued by travellers. My friends rescued me in the end, I managed to convince a sound memebr of staff to give me a new VIP wristband despite the fact I could barely remember my own name (I looked like I was about to cry which probably helped), and it was all good after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Got jumped by a group of scumbags and had my wristband torn off. Ended up getting kicked out somehow and wandered around the roads and woods for a few hours out of my head on acid, thinking I was being pursued by travellers. My friends rescued me in the end, I managed to convince a sound memebr of staff to give me a new VIP wristband despite the fact I could barely remember my own name (I looked like I was about to cry which probably helped), and it was all good after that.
    :rolleyes: @ scumbags

duckysauce wrote: »
    Pretty much the response I got from every member of staff when I tried to explain my predicament.

Sticks and stones may break my bones but condescending little emoticons from people with nothing better to type will never hurt me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Pretty much the response I got from every member of staff when I tried to explain my predicament.

Sticks and stones may break my bones but condescending little emoticons from people with nothing better to type will never hurt me

ha ha, nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Sounds like a great weekend.......would only have been topped off if you couldnt actually remember any of it out of sheer indulgence:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

duckysauce wrote: »

I can only assume he was rolling his eyes at the scumbags/staff, because otherwise that's the most retarded response imaginable. Sorry to hear about that mate!

Sounds like a great weekend.......
    Correction - a great Friday night.