Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Our Association

• 09-09-2010 11:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10

Our Furher has spoken:

"We have two covered stands, we don't know what's the weather going to be like and it's great that the spectators are going to have comfort. I think it's a perfect venue, it is central to nearly every hurling county so it's a perfect venue with excellent accommodation. I can understand (Galway's view), but we have to do what's in the best interests of the Association.

He has decided that thurles is the right venue to play the under 21 hurling final, he is right, he is wise, he has the interests of the association and only the association in mind. He wanted a fence - for the good of the association - he is right, the members of the association should not be allowed on the associations pitch - the association is more important than the members, the members are there for the good of the association, we have to do whats in the best interests of the association. He decides that we cannot overrule referees, we must not use video evidence, even if some members of the association seem to have spotted a goal that never was, the records show different, the goal was scored, the records show that - this is for the good of the association.

All members of the association are created equal.......

We have to do what's in the best interests of the association!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

I love Thurles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Our Furher has spoken

I stopped reading after that. Hugely offensive comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 kennellyairway

Why have you lived through the 2nd world war? Is it offensive to use that word? Is it offensive to draw comparisons to being dictated to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭lukin

I think the thread-starter is posing a question more with regard to Christy Cooney;like "Is he the worst President the GAA has ever had?"
    In my opinion yes he is. Before he got the job he had a reputation of being a conservative and despite his protestations that he would not be conservative, he has more than lived up to that reputation.
    He was hardly in the job a few weeks when we had the Tadgh Kennelly controversy and he predictably did s**g all about it.
    Since then he has failed to deal with a number of other issues; they have been listed already by the poster so I won't go into them.
    Roll on the end of your presidency Christy, it can't come soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Our Furher has spoken:[/b]

You could have at least spelt Fuhrer correctly. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

lukin wrote: »
    "Is he the worst President the GAA has ever had?"

I'll give you one word: FÁS

The guy is a joke with how he's the head honcho in sanitising All Ireland day with trying to stop speeches etc

Why have you lived through the 2nd world war? Is it offensive to use that word? Is it offensive to draw comparisons to being dictated to?

Comparing a GAA president to Hitler is extremely offensive of course.
    You dont need to have lived through ww2 to know that, having a bit of cop on is generally enough :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭clint_eastman

nice user name......hisholinessnb....not offensive in anyway:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

I stopped reading after that. Hugely offensive comment.

Is this a wind up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,948 ✭✭✭Floppybits

lukin wrote: »
    I think the thread-starter is posing a question more with regard to Christy Cooney;like "Is he the worst President the GAA has ever had?"
    In my opinion yes he is. Before he got the job he had a reputation of being a conservative and despite his protestations that he would not be conservative, he has more than lived up to that reputation.
    He was hardly in the job a few weeks when we had the Tadgh Kennelly controversy and he predictably did s**g all about it.
    Since then he has failed to deal with a number of other issues; they have been listed already by the poster so I won't go into them.
    Roll on the end of your presidency Christy, it can't come soon enough.

+1.

He is the worse president the GAA has ever had. The sooner this guy goes the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭apoeiguq3094y

All members of the association are created equal.......

but some are more equal that others. :D

I think you may have broken my sarcasm detector as I actually agree with the comments by OP.

"members" of the association should not be allowed on the pitch (I wonder how many people at All Ireland finals are members). The clips shown at HQ on the screens about pitch invasions really hit home. What if your son or daughter were injured in the mayhem? Pitch invasions are ok at club games, as there's only a 1000 or so involved. But when you have about 40,000 running on to a pitch we see the chaos that surrounded the presentation of KKs 4 in a row last year, where players were pleading with the crowd to stop pushing.

Video evidence is all very well in HQ, but what about round 1 of the Leinster championship? are we to put the technology in every stadium? or else play different rules in different games. And yes the Association has to stand by decisions made during a game. If we start disallowing goals where do we stop? do we check every handpass was a proper throwing motion? that no player took too many steps?

As a Tipp fan I was heartbroken when KK got a penalty last year which effectively changed the course of the game, as it clearly wasn't. But you have to accept it. This year Lar Corbett took 10 steps on the way to scoring his second goal. You win some, you loose some.

In rugby its very useful as it often very hard to see if a ball was grounded as the touch judges may be half a pitch. but there's no reason why the TWO umpires couldn't see if a goal was legal.

Also Thurles is the home of hurling :) Galway fans should be happy that they're getting the opportunity to play there. Lets not forget that Dublin often enjoy home advantage. Semple stadium is the second biggest in the country, and obvious choice for the U21 final.

Is this a wind up?

Not at all, I think he is a terrible president to be honest, but to compare him to Hitler is way over the line.

nice user name......hisholinessnb....not offensive in anyway:D

Who exactly does my username offend?

Its not exactly like comparing somebody to one of the worst mass murderers in history now is it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Sean Kelly was a breath of fresh air as a President. He was forward thinking and progressive. Unfortunately, these are two words which go against the grain of the history of the organisation, and those in administration.

Nicky Brennan was his replacement, and they chose him to go back to the old fashioned, conservative ways of old. Christy Cooney was more of the same-a safe pair of hands in their eyes who wouldn't ruffle any feathers.

However, pray to God that that muppet Liam O'Neill doesn't get it in a few months time. So far he is the only candidate. He'd remind you of Boss Hogg out of the Dukes of Hazzard. The most conservative and out of touch official I've seen in a long time.

http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://arkjournal.com/uploaded_images/Boss-Hogg-768406.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.arkjournal.com/2008/09/levi-phillips-boss-hogg-of-madison.html&usg=__eeh18sn8IYLD0PpKEGCsqBkEO4s=&h=389&w=294&sz=29&hl=en&start=0&zoom=1&tbnid=qwWovRnG8nnpBM:&tbnh=130&tbnw=112&prev=/images%3Fq%3DBoss%2BHogg%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DX%26rls%3Dcom.microsoft:en-us:IE-SearchBox%26rlz%3D1I7ADFA_en%26biw%3D1028%26bih%3D593%26tbs%3Disch:1&um=1&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=320&vpy=79&dur=1016&hovh=258&hovw=195&tx=124&ty=118&ei=SQGJTJjQJ8GBswa5jMWeCg&oei=SQGJTJjQJ8GBswa5jMWeCg&esq=1&page=1&ndsp=16&ved=1t:429,r:1,s:0

dcr22B wrote: »
    I'll give you one word: FÁS

Good point actually;sure what did we expect? God only knows what further damage he will do before he's finished. He'll probably try and bring back the ban next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Lago

"members" of the association should not be allowed on the pitch (I wonder how many people at All Ireland finals are members). The clips shown at HQ on the screens about pitch invasions really hit home. What if your son or daughter were injured in the mayhem? Pitch invasions are ok at club games, as there's only a 1000 or so involved. But when you have about 40,000 running on to a pitch we see the chaos that surrounded the presentation of KKs 4 in a row last year, where players were pleading with the crowd to stop pushing.

I'm a big fan of pitch invasions, Tipp's win this year didn't seem the same without it. However, you can't argue with the logic of banning them. They might be less of an atmosphere, but thats a small price to pay from safety. If someone was seriously injured or killed that would totally ruin an All-Ireland for the whole country
    Video evidence is all very well in HQ, but what about round 1 of the Leinster championship? are we to put the technology in every stadium? or else play different rules in different games. And yes the Association has to stand by decisions made during a game. If we start disallowing goals where do we stop? do we check every handpass was a proper throwing motion? that no player took too many steps?

Why not the first round? This is the sports top level we're talking about. Every match is shown on The Sunday Game, the night after it's played. It's not like you need 20 camera's at every match. Everyone in my house knew that Sheridan threw the ball into the net the second it happened. It was the most obvious thing in the world. How come he have possibly kicked it.

However, before video technology is brought in, there needs to be something done with the terrible quality of umpires. They might as well not even be there and thats not an exaggeration. Whats the point of having two lads standing 5 feet from the action if they are just going to panic and go with the easy option (that said, the easy option in the Leinster final would have been to disallow the goal since it was clear to everyone what happened)

I honestly don't think I can get across how useless I think these umpires are. It's not just getting decisions wrong. I remember watching a county match a while back, can't remember who was playing, and after a score, someone in the crowd threw the ball back on to the pitch. It accidently hit the umpire on the head and they had to stop the match for about 5 minutes because the umpire got a concussion. Seriously! What the ****! A concussion from a ball hitting him in the head, where do they get these lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Lago wrote: »
    I'm a big fan of pitch invasions, Tipp's win this year didn't seem the same without it. However, you can't argue with the logic of banning them. They might be less of an atmosphere, but thats a small price to pay from safety. If someone was seriously injured or killed that would totally ruin an All-Ireland for the whole country
    Jesus we've become a pack of paranoid cowards in this country.
    Well over 100 years with pitch invasions after finals with crowds ranging from 40 to over 90 thousand with much less stewards and organization with how many injuries or fatalities?If somebody can find records of any please do.

You don't get the point at all. People haven't died in the past but all it takes is a child to slip and someone to fall on him arkwardly and you'll have a ruined championship. It's called a precaution, it's so something terrible doesn't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

You don't get the point at all. People haven't died in the past but all it takes is a child to slip and someone to fall on him arkwardly and you'll have a ruined championship. It's called a precaution, it's so something terrible doesn't happen.
    I do get it.Id class it as a precaution if it had any basis but its happened so many times without incident id be inclined to believe that people know better at this stage.
    Look at any all ireland final where theres been a pitch invasion, theres never any kind of crush or full on stampede.Besides the 1st small group sprinting people actually do go orderly onto the field. Thinking all thats suddenly going to change is just paranoia.

I do get it.Id class it as a precaution if it had any basis but its happened so many times without incident id be inclined to believe that people know better at this stage.
    Look at any all ireland final where theres been a pitch invasion, theres never any kind of crush or full on stampede.Besides the 1st small group sprinting people actually do go orderly onto the field. Thinking all thats suddenly going to change is just paranoia.

Well then I'm not being paranoid. I don't think it's going to happen either. I love pitch invasions, they add so much to the atmosphere. All I'm saying is that you can't really argue with the GAA's logic when it comes to banning them. Obviously it hasn't happened in 100 years but it still could happen, and it's not worth the risk if someone died in the middle of Croke Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

Remember these records? 14 people killed and 65 injured at a match in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

BornToKill wrote: »
    Remember these records? 14 people killed and 65 injured at a match in Croke Park.

That's a bit much. You didn't need to bring that up. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

the quickers Cooney is gone the better

we need sensible people in charge who are not worried about PR and spin.

and actually want to promote the aims and culture of the association

FACT - every year 2500 left handed people die from using right handed peoples equipment - its only a matter of time before someone in croke park uses some right handed equipment and kills themselves - then we'll have both right handed and left handed toilet rolls in the cubicles - i only hope its sooner rather than later!!!

GOD HELP US..........

GOD HELP US ALL!!!!!!!!!!

FACT - every year 2500 left handed people die from using right handed peoples equipment - its only a matter of time before someone in croke park uses some right handed equipment and kills themselves - then we'll have both right handed and left handed toilet rolls in the cubicles - i only hope its sooner rather than later!!!

GOD HELP US..........

GOD HELP US ALL!!!!!!!!!!

See, this guy gets me. It's no laughing matter

No Lago - you get me......

Its not like we're english and have to be segregated - We're G A A supporters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 allang1

Helllo,

why dont ye all wake up n smell t roses.

it's nutin t d with Christy Cooney..its all about the RULES.?

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭mrgaa1

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    the quickers Cooney is gone the better

we need sensible people in charge who are not worried about PR and spin.

and actually want to promote the aims and culture of the association

I agree - and even going forward I think some sort of change is required in the election of our associations president. Personally the vote for the president should come from all members through their clubs. The clubs should be able to send their votes direct to the voting mechanism as opposed through county boards and the delegates.
    Cooney is not the right type of president but then who is? It appears that the position of Association president is now a stepping stone onto the political scene or some other big stage.
    It appears that now the presidents role is more "PR" related rather than leading. Its Pauric Duffys role and the other payroll staff that we need to know more about.
    Our organisations structure is pushing the clubs - the real backbone of the association - to the outside. If we take Croke Park stadium as being our association clubs used to be on the sidelines. At this moment in time we are front row upper deck. In about 10-12 years we'll be at the back of the upper deck and then in about 20 years we'll be walking around the walkway on top of the stadium. 30 years from now we'll be at the Gresham Hotel.
    Clubs and their members need to take a more pro-active role and interest in our association. We, the clubs, need to take a further active role in our county boards and as much as we need to look after our own clubs interests at county board level we also need to ensure that we mandate our provincial and central council delegates with what we as clubs want. Clubs must be more coming together and stop arguing with each other and look to ensuring that our association is what we want it to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

deisedevil wrote: »
    That's a bit much. You didn't need to bring that up. :mad:

On the contrary, it's very relevant and it does need to be brought up. If the argument is about public safety then it is appropriate to recall that the last deaths that I know of in Croke Park occurred in 1920 and were not a result of what one would normally call a 'pitch invasion'. I don't like the term 'pitch invasion' anyway as it carries connotations more associated with violence than with celebration and should not be associated with what actually happens when supporters of a GAA team show their support for a victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

allang1 wrote: »
    Helllo,

why dont ye all wake up n smell t roses.

it's nutin t d with Christy Cooney..its all about the RULES.?

A

If thats the case Christy Cooney will have you for text speak...you'll be banned from Croker boyo in-case you cannot read the signs in proper english to stay off the pitch.

It's all about the RULES.

Cooney seems to be very indecisive; a few weeks ago he ruled out using video technology, now he's saying it might be an option.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

Condolences to the families of the Tipperary supporters crushed to death in the appalling pitch invasion after tonight's U-21 final.