Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tapering for Dublin half Marathon

• 09-09-2010 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭

I know this has probably been covered a lot before but I'm pretty new to these boards. I've done 3 halfs before and one Marathon 3 years ago but I never seem to get the last 10 days quite right and I think I have suffered because of it. My diet prior to race is usually pretty good. Its the runs in the last 2 weeks that I dont seem to get right.

Anyone got some advice on Tapering for the half please?

I'm looking at Sub 2.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

You could take a look at the Hal Higdon programmes, see which is closer to your training, and pick the taper from that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Mike D wrote: »
    Its the runs in the last 2 weeks that I dont seem to get right.

Care to explain more, just its not time to taper so this really isnt really about tapering then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Mike D

I know its a early to taper but I want to get it right this time so hence asking for advise prior to tapering. I think I have tapered too much previously, easing off too early in the week before but I also don't want to over do it next week...

Thanks for the link Raycun
    I'll try the HH week 12 and see how that goes

Any more tips would be welcome:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

RayCun's advise is solid. If your long training runs have stretched to the 11-13 mile mark, then ease back slightly in your long run this weekend. 9-11 miles should be fine to maintain the endurance, while being short enough to be completely out of your system for the race the following week.

Do your final long training run at the same time as the race starts (9am?) and eat the same food and wear the same clothes that you plan to do on race day (proper race prep.).

Try to maintain the quality (intensity) of your runs in the days leading up to the race, just reduce the distance/duration. If you look at Hal Higdon's intermediate program, he has a 30 minute tempo run on the Wednesday. This makes sense if your program has included speedwork (intervals/tempo sessions). If not, just run a consistent pattern to your training, just keep the mileage consistent with Higdon's recommendations.

Don't introduce anything new in the final week! Also, taper doesn't mean putting the feet up and pigging out on junk food while watching TV! Just reduce the mileage so you will be well rested and recovered. Eat a healthy diet, and hydrate well the night before the race. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

I know its a early to taper but I want to get it right this time so hence asking for advise prior to tapering. I think I have tapered too much previously, easing off too early in the week before but I also don't want to over do it next week...

Thanks for the link Raycun
    I'll try the HH week 12 and see how that goes

Any more tips would be welcome:)
    Sorry hope i didnt come across the wrong way, what i meant was whats up with the runs the last 2 weeks. That is kind of an issue? (seperate)

The lads have given you some good advice there, and just to add i personally just do plenty of easy running the last week, no speed or mad sessions (everybody is different though). Just run easy for the week and maybe take 1 of the last 2 days off before. All you are trying to do is freshen up the legs but keep ticking over the last thing you want to do is feel bad on the morning cause you havent run in 3-4 days.

Cheers Kenny, Yeah, I reckon that I think about it too much in the 2 weeks prior to the event rather than relax. Have I done enough? Have I done too much?
    Last time (clontarf) I eased off too much that week! No chips and beer but not much running either!

So I will try as follows:

Friday tomorrow Temp 3.5

Sunday 10 - 11 mile (proper Race Prep...cheers Krusty:))

Wed 3.5 Tempo

Thursday off

Friday off

Saturday Race Day

Sounds like a plan...

Wed 3.5 Tempo
    Needless to say, only do that tempo run if it is something that you have been doing in training anyway. you could probably fit in a slow recovery run on Tuesday, of around 25-30 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

You might just have touched on the biggest issue there in your last post..

You are thinking about it too much and it now has become an issue ...

The biggest thing you can do next Saturday is to simply give yourself an easy goal ....'I am going to enjoy this half marathon' ...most runners give themselves targets and times and goals that are too tough and when they dont achieve , they lose a lot of confidence ...Yes of course you need to push yourself to better times and things if that what drives you , but it must be broken into smaller goals first and the sum total of the smaller goals eventually will lead to success ..

so enjoyment first and foremost ...it will mean that you should start the race in a relaxed frame of mind, you wont be worrying about that taper that bugs you, and if you are relaxed, well that will only lead to a more efficient and enjoyable half marathon...and that may mean a quicker time ..
    always however have a back up plan...things can go wrong onthe day ,such as you wake up with a cold , or a niggle ...and adapt as neccessary ...you may have to run a little slower to get that enjoyment .

good luck next Sat week and remember ' Enjoy'

Thanks PVincent, sound advice and I think you could be right there. Positive and relaxed is the way forward:)

I am looking forward to it but I will ease back on putting pressure on myself which will lead to more relaxed attitude which can only be good

Happy Days!

I did 11.5 miles LSR on Saturday in 1hr 47 min and felt good after. I did the race prep. big bowl of Porridge at 8am. 10am start. Gel at 6miles.

Easy 25 mins this morning...

I would usually do a 3.2 mile tempo on a wednesday so I think I will stick with that unless advised otherwise??
    then rest on Thusday & Friday...

Much more relaxed and really looking forward to a fun race. Hope to get in under 2 hours following the pacers but not worried about it.

Thanks for the sound advice and good luck to all

Nice one MikeD, you sound well ready. How do you normally feel after your 3.2 mile tempo run? If you'd normally be quite tired/wrecked, then I would cut it back a small bit (2 miles?). But if you typically feel fine, then go for it.

No harm in having a nice easy run on Thursday or Friday if that is something you would typically do. 20-35 mins at a very easy pace should do it. Otherwise rest up. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Good thread and some really good advice from some seasoned heads. ;)

Best of luck on Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Degsy123

Apologies if I am repeating earlier questions but I am running the half on Sat. This was my goal for 6 months or so and having done the 5m and 10m I am beginning to like this running thing. I ran the half course in the park last week and went very well and am now considering the full marathon. My training long runs are at 15 - 16 miles so I am on track. My question is what should I be doing this week. I don't want to loose momentum in training for the marathon, but I want to enjoy Saturday and post a decent time - well decent for me that is :) . Any advice would be appreciated

Degsy123 wrote: »

Apologies if I am repeating earlier questions but I am running the half on Sat. This was my goal for 6 months or so and having done the 5m and 10m I am beginning to like this running thing. I ran the half course in the park last week and went very well and am now considering the full marathon. My training long runs are at 15 - 16 miles so I am on track. My question is what should I be doing this week. I don't want to loose momentum in training for the marathon, but I want to enjoy Saturday and post a decent time - well decent for me that is :) . Any advice would be appreciated
    Like a number of others with the same goal, treat this as a slightly lower mileage step back week. If you run the half marathon at race pace (faster than you plan on running the marathon, then it'll form an important part of your marathon training. Just pick up the mileage again next week (take a rest day on Sunday). There's only three days until the race (after tonight) so no hard sessions, if you plan on posting a good time. Like MikeD, maybe a few quicker miles tomorrow (1 mile easy, 2 miles fast, one mile slow), and then an easy 20-35 minutes on Thursday or Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

I did 11.5 miles LSR on Saturday in 1hr 47 min

sounds like you're well on course for the sub two hours with that time. I think you'll have no problems

Yeah, Hopefully on target now. Did a shorter tempo run this morning of 2.5 miles after an easy 2.5 or so yesterday morning and I think I will rest up now till Saturday AM. THanks for all advice..mucho appreciated:) My head is in a good place!!

Whats the consensus on Warm ups? I always do a good warm down and have a routine but I don't warm up... except somewhat on race days.

Do an easy warm-up before the race, if you plan on hitting race speed as soon as the race begins. 10-15 minutes easy jog, around 20-30 minutes before the race begins. Don't forget to get into the appropriate pen on time too though.

Yeah, I think I'll give that a try this time round and see how I feel.
    Cheers
    Krusty:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 back to form

I just seen on FB there that Runworx/Wheelworx are hosting a run clinic next Monday from 7-9pm.
    Mark kenneally will talk about Injury prevention and Eugene Coppinger is doing a talk on tapering.
    Might be worth a trip up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

I just seen on FB there that Runworx/Wheelworx are hosting a run clinic next Monday from 7-9pm.
    Mark kenneally will talk about Injury prevention and Eugene Coppinger is doing a talk on tapering.
    Might be worth a trip up.
    Maybe a few boardies could do a report on it for us culchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 dararghq

Hi Guys

I was too late to sign up for the half marathon tomorrow.

<no number swaps- read the charter>