Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The rules for picking up dropped food.

• 08-09-2010 11:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead and his best friend Harry Hutchinson were sitting on the wall earlier on eating sausage rolls and singing songs. Harry was larking around using the sausage roll as a microphone (he's such a crazy man) when all of a sudden half of the bloody sausage roll broke and slid onto the pavement below.

Pighead immediately began counting in his head and panicked as he looked to the left and seen Harry nonchalantly finish singing his song before casually hopping off the wall and picking up the delicious meat and pastry snack combo. As the sausage roll headed for Harrys mouth, Pighead screamed "What the fcuk are you doing Harry? You can't eat that. It hit the ground 8 seconds ago way beyond the limits set out in the five second rule."

Harry looked at Pighead with a mixture of confusion and pity. "It's called the 10 second rule you absolute spanner. How the hell can it be the 5 second rule. If it were five seconds it would mean that the majority of the elderly and people with bad backs would never be able to pick up dropped food stuff in time."

We argued for hours but unfortunately we are both extremely stubborn and a little self righteous so a resolution wasn't reached. Pighead ended up telling him that he probably caught tongue-rot disease from the sausage at which point Harry stormed off (it was time for his dinner anyway, think he just stormed off for effect). Feel a bit bad now but still think Harry has got his rules mixed up.

How long do you leave food on the ground before you deem it acceptable to pick up and eat?

Whats the rule? 60 votes

5 second rule?
    0%
    10 second rule?
    48%
    CivilServantKur4mAMr. CooL ICER0otKnifeWRENCHPigheadSparkodoriansmith[Deleted User]dsmythyGillingtondfx-minidazzlerTanG411SanjuroKbeg3happyoutishMidnight_EGjohnmcdnlBOHtox 29 votes
    You should never ever pick up dropped food.
    23%
    simuDravokivichbad2dabonestepbarkate07Gavin "shels"Jev/Njdooley28Doublinkarlogtime42playSheepskieran26Littlegirllost 14 votes
    I don't play by the rules. I am the rules.
    28%
    RabiesBarabooGone WestShanotheslayerSVstarbelgradeHank ScorpioBigBenRoethldxo15wus6fpgmThe Big Red ButtonBoxoffrogsstorm2811Cypher_soundsSusie_QstarlitImprobableeasynote 17 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

If it hits the floor, it's clean no more, fook it out the door!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

depends on how disgusting you are. some people eat weeks old food in the couch :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Pighead wrote: »
    Pighead and his best friend Harry Hutchinson were sitting on the wall earlier on eating sausage rolls and singing songs. Harry was larking around using the sausage roll as a microphone (he's such a crazy man) when all of a sudden half of the bloody sausage roll broke and slid onto the pavement below.

Pighead immediately began counting in his head and panicked as he looked to the left and seen Harry nonchalantly finish singing his song before casually hopping off the wall and picking up the delicious meat and pastry snack combo. As the sausage roll headed for Harrys mouth, Pighead screamed "What the fcuk are you doing Harry? You can't eat that. It hit the ground 8 seconds ago way beyond the limits set out in the five second rule."

Harry looked at Pighead with a mixture of confusion and pity. "It's called the 10 second rule you absolute spanner. How the hell can it be the 5 second rule. If it were five seconds it would mean that the majority of the elderly and people with bad backs would never be able to pick up dropped food stuff in time."

We argued for hours but unfortunately we are both extremely stubborn and a little self righteous so a resolution wasn't reached. Pighead ended up telling him that he probably caught tongue-rot disease from the sausage at which point Harry stormed off (it was time for his dinner anyway, think he just stormed off for effect). Feel a bit bad now but still think Harry has got his rules mixed up.

How long do you leave food on the ground before you deem it acceptable to pick up and eat?

This not necessary for AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

15 seconds max - unless im starvin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

10 second rule?
    It's the 5 second rule! Wouldn't pick it off the path mind you, just a floor.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

"It's called the 10 second rule you absolute spanner.

I'm afraid to say this Pighead... but I'd be of the same opinion as yer mate.

10 Second Rule...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭TheRiddler

I don't really care if it touches the ground. My hands/mouth/face/mind is a lot dirtier then the ground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

10 second rule?
    kfallon wrote: »
    Rubbish rule and worse still it seems to be advocating littering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Look it's the 10sec rule FFS. Thread over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

Stupid thread,the if something touches the floor it's going to be dirty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

10 second rule?
    kfallon wrote: »

No.

'If it hits the floor, then you have five seconds to pick it up, after that, then it is out the door.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Dawson, P.; I. Han, M. Cox , C. Black, and L. Simmons (April 2007). 'Residence time and food contact time effects on transfer of Salmonella Typhimurium from tile, wood and carpet: testing the five-second rule'. Journal of Applied Microbiology, 102

Conclusions: (i) Salmonella Typhimurium can survive for up to 4 weeks on
    dry surfaces in high-enough populations to be transferred to foods and (ii)
    S. Typhimurium can be transferred to the foods tested almost immediately on
    contact.

Significance and Impact of the Study: This study demonstrated the ability of
    bacteria to survive and cross-contaminate other foods even after long periods
    of time on dry surfaces, thus reinforcing the importance of sanitation on food
    contact to minimize the risk of foodborne illness

Should probably wash your hands after the jacks too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

For anyone that uses the stupid "rules". Think of all those people who handle their phones, type on their keyboards then pick at a muffin with their tea tomorrow during work or something similar. When was the last time you disinfected your phone or keyboard?

Food for thought! :pac:

10 second rule?
    FearDark wrote: »

Aahh young FearDark. Another member of the less is more brigade. Another snivelling excuse of a man who prefers to get things over with in a hurry.

Long relaxing hot baths on a winter night to ease those tender muscles and relax those aching shoulders? "No thanks my name is FearDark and I shun the long relaxing baths in favour of a quick bucket of water over my tense rigid uptight body."

A leisurely stroll across the beautiful green meadows, taking in the wonderful scenery and birthing cows on a warm summers evening? "No thanks, my name is FearDark and I'd prefer to just sit here and do nothing. Walkings for weirdos."

A weekend session of slow, hot, sensual, passionate, lovemaking with a beautiful lady in a secluded romantic hideaway high up in the magillycuddy reeks. "No thanks, my name is FearDark and although you may not have noticed I've spurted my juices into you already. Get out of here, we're done babes."

You're everything thats wrong with the world FearDark. Always in a hurry and always wanted things done yesterday. Be like the caramel bunny and slow down and learn to talk sexy. Appreciate the words and slow the fcuk down. That's Pigheads advice. You don't have to take it on board if you don't want to. Totally your choice buddy. We'll still be good if you choose to ignore. Word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

Aahh young FearDark. Another member of the less is more brigade. Another snivelling excuse of a man who prefers to get things over with in a hurry.

Long relaxing hot baths on a winter night to ease those tender muscles and relax those aching shoulders? "No thanks my name is FearDark and I shun the long relaxing baths in favour of a quick bucket of water over my tense rigid uptight body."

A leisurely stroll across the beautiful green meadows, taking in the wonderful scenery and birthing cows on a warm summers evening? "No thanks, my name is FearDark and I'd prefer to just sit here and do nothing. Walkings for weirdos."

A weekend session of slow, hot, sensual, passionate, lovemaking with a beautiful lady in a secluded romantic hideaway high up in the magillycuddy reeks. "No thanks, my name is FearDark and although you may not have noticed I've spurted my juices into you already. Get out of here, we're done babes."

You're everything thats wrong with the world FearDark. Always in a hurry and always wanted things done yesterday. Be like the caramel bunny and slow down and learn to talk sexy. Appreciate the words and slow the fcuk down. That's Pigheads advice. You don't have to take it on board if you don't want to. Totally your choice buddy. We'll still be good if you choose to ignore.

Word.
    This is unnecessary :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

You're everything thats wrong with the world FearDark. Always in a hurry and always wanted things done yesterday. Be like the caramel bunny and slow down and learn to talk sexy. Appreciate the words and slow the fcuk down. That's Pigheads advice. You don't have to take it on board if you don't want to. Totally your choice buddy. We'll still be good if you choose to ignore. Word.

Would you ever get out.

10 second rule?
    Stupid thread,the if something touches the floor it's going to be dirty.
    Stupid answer, if the floor is clean or made of disinfectant it won't be. Are you telling Pighead that if you saved for 17 days to buy a piece of cavier and dropped it just as it was about to go into your piehole taht you wouldn't pick it up? Nonsense, absolute balderdash. Lunacy of the highest order. It would be swimming in your tummy before you could say "5 second rule"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭shellib

10 second rule?
    5 second rule... I obey it an haven't died yet!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

"Hey, you're at Joey's..."

10 second rule?
    Would you ever get out.
    Pigheads going nowhere pal. After Hours is a place where intellectuals come to find out the answers to intellectual questions. Pighead has a question and he has come for answers. Just because BigBadBennyBoy (which probably isn't even your real name you absolute spoofer) doesn't have the answers, it doesn't mean he should dictate to Pighead where to go. Pighead ain't going anywhere hotshot.

Pighead puts it to you that it will be YOU who shall leave this hallowed forum before he does. Pigheads here for the night pal. He ain't tired and if he does get tired he'll fight it every inch of the way. It's you that shall be getting out. You.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

If the floor seems clean the 10 second rule can extend anywhere up to a 10 minute rule.

However in contrast you wouldn't obey the 10 second rule if an item of food fell into, lets say, a big heap of sh*t.

10 second rule?
    If the floor seems clean the 10 second rule can extend anywhere up to a 10 minute rule.

However in contrast you wouldn't obey the 10 second rule if an item of food fell into, lets say, a big heap of sh*t.
    Pighead wishes you would stop with the 10 second rule talk. It's the 5 second rule. But to address your point in the above situation if your food fell into a big heap of sh*t, it is ok to pick the food up and eat it as long as you have picked it up within 5 seconds.

The bit in bold is the important bit. If you pick it and eat after 6 seconds the food will taste of sh*t and you'll be in all kinds of horribleness. A pick up in 5 seconds or before means the sh*t cannot fuse with the food and is therefore ok to eat and will not taste of poo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Pighead wishes you would stop with the 10 second rule talk. It's the 5 second rule. But to address your point in the above situation if your food fell into a big heap of sh*t, it is ok to pick the food up and eat it as long as you have picked it up within 5 seconds.

The bit in bold is the important bit. If you pick it and eat after 6 seconds the food will taste of sh*t and you'll be in all kinds of horribleness. A pick up in 5 seconds or before means the sh*t cannot fuse with the food and is therefore ok to eat and will not taste of poo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

If it falls on my room floor I'll eat it (after making sure there's no hair or whatever on it), if it falls anywhere that anybody else's feet have been, it goes in the bin.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

3 second rule and common sense. If theirs stuff from the floor on it, dont eat it.
    Never outside a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

10 second rule?
    3 second rule and feck the old people :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

This really depends what type of food it is. Fruit etc. can be washed, I think bread/toast is okay, provided it's not the buttered side (absorption). Anything that you have to spoon off the floor shouldn't be eaten.

10 second rule?
    mojesius wrote: »
    This really depends what type of food it is. Fruit etc. can be washed, I think bread/toast is okay, provided it's not the buttered side (absorption). Anything that you have to spoon off the floor shouldn't be eaten.
    Only girly men don't spoon food off floors. Pighead's eaten food that looked suspiciously like rats liver, cooked by a one eyed man on a side street in Thailand. No way he's gonna be put off spooning up a piece of Viennetta from the floor. No way in hell. If the Viennetta falls to the ground, the floor spoon is coming out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

All you have to do is dust it off and bless it and you’ll be grand even after 5 seconds. FACT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I concur...with everythin you say. End of.

Fook good looks...gimme a man who can spell and has good grammar any day.

Oh..but yeh to answer your question. Ive eaten eggs...EGGS...2/3 weeks after the BBD. :eek::oSo ...5 sec rule is this with me "if it doesnt smell mank its grand" in my house.

Dinner in my gaff anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

whiteman19 wrote: »
    This is unnecessary :pac:

Thanks fail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Doc wrote: »
    All you have to do is dust it off and bless it and you’ll be grand even after 5 seconds. FACT!

There's an interesting point, now that everyone in this country is a heathen satanist, does blessing spilled food still magically sort it. It was a fantastic loophole that irish people have exploited for generations, lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

If I dropped food on the floor, I'd give it a dust and eat it.

Trust your immune system and stomach acid, they're brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

If any food hit the ground , i`d never ever eat it, lucky treat for the dog.

Tiles in the kitchen aint the cleanest though, could do with a scrub :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Thanks fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭iguy

All in all,I am the rules of my house and my woman.....Oh and our money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Thanks fail.
    Thanks Fail.

You all fail at life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I pick it up and inspect. If I can't see any bits of dirt or anything on it then it's grand and I'll eat it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

If I dropped my chinese on the dog , I'd eat the dog. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭easynote

There can be tiny eggs of worms that hatch inside your body on dropped food, and also on any food that has been touched by anyone's hands that hasn't just rubbed them in alcohol (min. 70%).

Don't eat at restaurants and don't pick food off the floor. If you do you have to de-worm yourself every 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

It's the ten minute rule around my way. Not a chance we'd let a good Stinger bar go to waste over a few pepples stuck to it.

I see the kids digging chewing gum off the ground and all. We taught them well!

10 second rule?
    if the floor is made of disinfectant

What kind of house do you live in with floors made of disinfectant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

10 second rule?
    FearDark wrote: »

Pighead is ALWAYS necessary for AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Anyone who refuses to eat food off the floor wasn't starved sufficiently as a child. So these rules are silly and superfluous.

It also depends on what floor and who is observing!
    Toilet floor or floor in fast food restaurant =no, although I mostly avoid eating in the toilet, too much multitasking :cool:
    Floor at home, unobserved floor and floor with not too much traffic =yes :pac:

I will also scavange food or things I suspect to be food from couches, delicious week old chewy crumb or used match head? Not sure!
    Nom nom, still delicious, pick off the non-edibles and down the red lane with it.