Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

U21 Hurling final in Thurles

• 08-09-2010 3:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭

Just reading this:

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/under-21-hurling-final-to-go-ahead-in-thurles-472747.html

Galway not happy that the game is in Thurles. I think they have a pont. Does the U21 final require such a large capacity. Would it not get a better atmosphere at a smaller ground such as Tullamore or Port Laoise.

And before anyone brings up the Dubs and Croker - Tipp have full access to train in Semple stadium. The Dubs don't in Croker.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Bit of a losers attitude to spend so long complaining about it, have their ready made excuse now anyway.

I think they should just get on and play the match.

I do think it is wrong and unfair to decide to host the U-21 match in Thurles every year, which is apparently the plan.

big question for the match is can the Tipp seniors get in the right frame of mind for this. I think they may be sluggish at first but should have too much for a fairly limited Galway team.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

In fairness to the GAA it is not like this was just decided this week, they have stated previously that Thurles is likely to become the permanent home for the U21 finals.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/eyojsncwojmh/

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

But that's not really fair on teams on if Tipp make the final. It's grand for Kilkenny or whatever but lets say Dublin or Clare or Wexford or Offaly were to make a final it would be a huge game for them and represent a real achievement if any of those teams were to win an U21. However if Tipp were the opposition I don't think it would be right to have it in Thurles (though its a great venue for a match)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭djScarey

I suppose one way to limit any future Thurles advantage would be for Tipp U-21s to play all their games (other than the Final, should they get there) including the Munster Final away from Thurles.

Thurles is a great and opportune venue for the final on Saturday and should help raise the profile of the U-21 game. After all, it's starting to look like U-21 players are the seniors of senior hurling these days.

Come on Galway, the world's against ye. Rise, Tribesmen, rise!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

adrian522 wrote: »
    Bit of a losers attitude to spend so long complaining about it, have their ready made excuse now anyway.

We invite anyone to play an all-ireland final in Pearse Stadium or Tuam against a Galway team, should we make one. This match should never have been fixed for thurles. The comments in may were based on the fact that KK were expected to come out of Leinster and beat Galway, so Thurles would have been ideal for a Munster-Leinser final.

Once again galway people are asked to travel 2+ hours to a late match, which happens to be a final, in their back yard.

The CCCC stated that this is fair to everyone, what version of fair puts this final in a non neutral venue (breaking with tradition at that)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

the venue was been fixed at the start of the championship. It would be like changing the venue of the senior hurling AI at the last minute and playing it in cork or limerick,

if galway are good enough, they will beat us no matter where the final is played. however i think we will win this one by 4 or 5 points :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Colm R wrote: »
    Just reading this:

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/under-21-hurling-final-to-go-ahead-in-thurles-472747.html

Galway not happy that the game is in Thurles. I think they have a pont. Does the U21 final require such a large capacity. Would it not get a better atmosphere at a smaller ground such as Tullamore or Port Laoise.

And before anyone brings up the Dubs and Croker - Tipp have full access to train in Semple stadium. The Dubs don't in Croker.

It's an absolute joke. Sometimes the GAA are simply their own worst enemy. I can't understand why Galway have to travel to thurles so often. Surely the Gaelic Grounds would be far fairer.

the venue was been fixed at the start of the championship. It would be like changing the venue of the senior hurling AI at the last minute and playing it in cork or limerick,

if galway are good enough, they will beat us no matter where the final is played. however i think we will win this one by 4 or 5 points :p

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/eyojsncwojmh/

This story was published on May 26th. How do you get fixed from:
    I assume it will be Thurles because normally it's the natural venue for the teams that will be involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

its a total joke and very unfair but thats the GAA one rule for one lot and a different one for the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭jonnybravo

I'd say one factor the GAA were looking at is the crowds and the money they'd get if they held it in Thurles compared to Limerick - they'll be a huge Tipperary crowd at it - unfair for Galway but decision is made.

Also very unfair that the Tipperary full back had his yellow card upgraded to a red after the Antrim game and only found out Saturday (two weeks after the match).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,003 ✭✭✭Big Ears

jonnybravo wrote: »
    I'd say one factor the GAA were looking at is the crowds and the money they'd get if they held it in Thurles compared to Limerick - they'll be a huge Tipperary crowd at it - unfair for Galway but decision is made.

Also very unfair that the Tipperary full back had his yellow card upgraded to a red after the Antrim game and only found out Saturday (two weeks after the match).

I was at the U21 semi-finals and I didn't notice one incident that deserved a red card in either the Tipp vs Antrim game or the (much rougher) Galway vs Dublin game. So for Coghlan's yellow card to be upgraded to red baffles me.

I like the idea of having the U21 finals in Thurles from now on, but perhaps when Tipp reach the final like this occasions another venue should be sought.

the venue was been fixed at the start of the championship.

http://www.galwaynews.ie/14910-galway-u21s-head-thurles-under-protest
    What makes matters worse is the CCC, in a letter to the Hurling Board this week, admitted it had reached its decision on August 30 – nine days after the two finalists were known.

Anyone want to defend this decision now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

its a total joke and very unfair but thats the GAA one rule for one lot and a different one for the rest

So if dublin ever reach the senior all ireland final the match should be moved out of croke park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Martin567

Patsy fyre wrote: »
    So if dublin ever reach the senior all ireland final the match should be moved out of croke park?

I think the point is that while Croke Park is in Dublin, Dublin teams have no more right to train in it than any other teams. Tipperary teams regularly train in Semple Stadium.

Martin567 wrote: »
    I think the point is that while Croke Park is in Dublin, Dublin teams have no more right to train in it than any other teams. Tipperary teams regularly train in Semple Stadium.

Dr. Morris park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

God that is the most stupid reply iv ever heard Dublin do not train in Crocker nor do they play club games there so my friend the term apples and oranges comes to mind but as they say opinions are like arse holes every one has one even me but thanks for your post i shall go away now and see if i can see the huge hole that you have pointed out in my comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Lets just say the final was fixed for Parnell park every year. If dublin were to reach the final along with galway would galway be happy to play dublin there? I doubt it

But what if the game was switched to Croke Park ( a neutral venue) ? They still wouldnt be happy as the game would still be in dublin.

Tipp have an advantage playing at home for this but if galway are good enough they will win. However with the amount of fuss their making over this i think they are just making up their reasons for losing already.Just get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

God that is the most stupid reply iv ever heard Dublin do not train in Crocker nor do they play club games there so my friend the term apples and oranges comes to mind but as they say opinions are like arse holes every one has one even me but thanks for your post i shall go away now and see if i can see the huge hole that you have pointed out in my comment

Not quite apples and oranges.

More like red apples and green apples.

While dublin dont train or play any league matches in croke park its still a huge advantage playing in their home county.

Lets just say the final was fixed for Parnell park every year. If dublin were to reach the final along with galway would galway be happy to play dublin there? I doubt it

But what if the game was switched to Croke Park ( a neutral venue) ? They still wouldnt be happy as the game would still be in dublin.

Tipp have an advantage playing at home for this but if galway are good enough they will win. However with the amount of fuss their making over this i think they are just making up their reasons for losing already.Just get on with it.

I'd have no problem with it being in Thurles, but as a once off but they have dictated that it will be there every year no matter who is in it, that's just silly.

Tipp already are hot favourites for this they really don't need home advantage as well.

What if this is a draw, will the replay also be in Thurles? What would be wrong with deciding on the venue based on who is involved each year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Aiel

I hate that attitude of "just get on with things" in the face of an injustice.We are so apathetic in this country is laughable.Yes,this is not even a real "injustice" relatively speaking but its wrong nonetheless and yet if a person speaks out they are hounded on.In the economy its worse,theres a huge economic hole in this country where billions of euros is going and the country is "sinking" yet where's the real anger and protests???Its like people dont like the boat being rocked yet they ignore the massive "hole".Galway should not play this match.The final venue was only fixed after both finalists were known,which is wrong.So Galway are entitled to feel angry and protest by not playing till a more suitable and fairer venue is found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

big question for the match is can the Tipp seniors get in the right frame of mind for this. I think they may be sluggish at first but should have too much for a fairly limited Galway team.

I'm not so sure I'd agree with the limited tag!! They've five or six of that very unlucky 2008 minor team who were robbed ( kilkenny man so dont start!!) by KK team who stopped excellent tipp 3 in a row bid in semi. Yes tipp have a fair glut from that team and senior experience but Galway have a few aces They have an excellent Richie Cummins ( 2-1 in minor final v kk and 1-5 in minor semi V cork) David Burke, Niall Quinn, Nial Donoghue a few who've been together since that 08 and minor 09 team. Tipp will be confident esp in front of home crowd but I fancy upset here- senior defeat and minor drubbin in Semi might spur them on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

Can anyone answer me is this All Ireland U21 Match being shown live on tv because i dont see any listing for it on Aertel :mad:
    Maybe im looking in the wrong place- !!!! I see GAA Beo @ 18:45 TG4 is it being shown there? Cant get any info up & my Irish is a bit rusty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭djScarey

Yep, showing both a and b games on TG4 from 4.30. Hopefully it's available online to us exiles too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Aiel wrote: »
    I hate that attitude of "just get on with things" in the face of an injustice.We are so apathetic in this country is laughable.Yes,this is not even a real "injustice" relatively speaking but its wrong nonetheless and yet if a person speaks out they are hounded on.In the economy its worse,theres a huge economic hole in this country where billions of euros is going and the country is "sinking" yet where's the real anger and protests???Its like people dont like the boat being rocked yet they ignore the massive "hole".Galway should not play this match.The final venue was only fixed after both finalists were known,which is wrong.So Galway are entitled to feel angry and protest by not playing till a more suitable and fairer venue is found.

The venue was decided long before it was known who'd be playing in it, was it not?

As for this attitude you complain about. I'd rather people stopped whinging and just got on with working with what they have than p*ssing and moaning about their bad luck.

I know which attitude is more likely to get the country out of the mess its in at the moment, anyway. The Galway lads should use this as a motivating factor instead of as an excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭shano_88

Im heading up there later on. Prob be there for 6. Surely be alright to get a ticket up there. Going into the terrace like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Attack the post and not the poster.You're on a very thin line.Apologise for the "stupid" remark and I will give you the benefit of the doubt on this occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Tipp by 4 or 5 points, I reckon the location wouldnt really make a difference. If a team wanted to win badly enough they'd play the game in hell if they had to, Semple isnt that bad now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

djScarey wrote: »
    Yep, showing both a and b games on TG4 from 4.30. Hopefully it's available online to us exiles too!!

Yep sure is . Meath and Kerry in B Final on now !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Yep sure is . Meath and Kerry in B Final on now !!

Good to see the B final on the TV as well. WP TG4

This is pathetic, i'd say we have two players who can field a ball to around 10 for Tipp, getting nowhere if you can't field a ball.

Game over after 2mins

Another goal...could be an inexcusably embarrasing loss, not lasting even two minutes :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

if Galway could keep chipping away at Tipp's lead then they could get back into it, but they will need a couple of goals at some stage. But Tipp might get a few more goals in the 2nd half too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Tipp lording it!!:D - I actually feel sorry for the Gaillimh:confused:

Disgraceful... another soft goal...and we hit the bar a minute later :rolleyes:

Tips well of talent is beginning to rival KK's based on the evidence of the past week:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 stallard23

who scored the first goal for tipp? missed the start

What an absolute embarrassment, most of these lads would want to pack in hurling and play something else, the amount of times the ball was fumbled under no pressure, let alone the rare site of someone fielding a competitive. ball.

The most embarrassing thing is, they gave up nice and early, typical Galway.... build a lead and we're susceptible to blow it, fall behind and they give up and show ZERO fight.

Go play something else lads, cause if you lack ability you need to make up for it in heart and most of these lads have shown a defeatist attitude which will win nothing.

A 3 point second half in a game where you can score from 50 yards says it all.

The only one i'd consider bringing on board would be Bernard Burke(with the other Burke obviously), has nice control, good pace and size to make the step up.

What an absolute embarrassment, most of these lads would want to pack in hurling and play something else, the amount of times the ball was fumbled under no pressure, let alone the rare site of someone fielding a competitive. ball.

The most embarrassing thing is, they gave up nice and early, typical Galway.... build a lead and we're susceptible to blow it, fall behind and they give up and show ZERO fight.

Go play something else lads, cause if you lack ability you need to make up for it in heart and most of these lads have shown a defeatist attitude which will win nothing.

A 3 point second half in a game where you can score from 50 yards says it all.

The only one i'd consider bringing on board would be Bernard Burke(with the other Burke obviously), has nice control, good pace and size to make the step up.

It sums up why Galway haven't won anything at senior since 88' - there beginning to resemble the Mayo footballers for all the wrong reasons:(

In fairness to Galway they were always going to be up against it coming in cold agianst a rampant Tipp side with 8 seniors on it.

They really need to get their underage teams into Leinster as they had little or no preparation while Tipp had plenty of competitive games.

I wouln't be too hard on Galway as they are very young and a lot of those players are underage again next year,

Didn't look like to many Galway people made the trip to Thurles from looking at it on tv though I could be wrong.

Well done to Tipp, fairly comprehensive victory

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Congratulations Tipp, but I feel sorry for hurlers and hurling supporters in Galway. That was just an awful performance not even "boys and men" describes it, there was a yawning chasm of both talent and commitment between the two teams that I've never witnessed before. The Polish under-12 camogie team could have beaten Galway tonight, even the foul for the sending off was pathetic, a sneaky elbow to the Tipp player's jaw in passing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... I wouln't be too hard on Galway as they are very young and a lot of those players are underage again next year, ...
    Unfortunately for Galway so are at least 7 of the Tipp team ... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭El Vino

Sat down to watch the game thinking Galway had a chance perhaps Tipp seniors had partied too hard or a sense of injustice would spur the tribesman on, embarrassing for them in the end although Galway did have 3 good goal chances,
    Tipp goalie looks like a ready made replacement for Cummins, as for the Galway keeper he might be better with a bigger ball. What a great week for Tipp, doesn't get much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 kingstapler

Though from another south east county I can't but help feel a little proud of Tipp at the moment. Barely 30 seconds in...classic. Lets just hope they don't become another Kilkenny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Tips well of talent is beginning to rival KK's based on the evidence of the past week:cool:

I'd like to think so, but Tipp tend to believe the hype more than most counties and that can be very dangerous, I prefer for the senior and U21's to wildly celebrate for a week, then forget about the win and prepare for the next hurdle where it starts all again next year. I really do not like to hear the 'Tipp look like they will be around for years' trotted out, things look very positive yes, but only through hard graft do you win things, so you start from zero again next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 kingstapler

1916 wrote: »
    I'd like to think so, but Tipp tend to believe the hype more than most counties and that can be very dangerous, I prefer for the senior and U21's to wildly celebrate for a week, then forget about the win and prepare for the next hurdle where it starts all again next year. I really do not like to hear the 'Tipp look like they will be around for years' trotted out, things look very positive yes, but only through hard graft do you win things, so you start from zero again next year

You are quite right there.

well said. 100 %. thats tipps biggest weakness. The senior team that won in 2001 should have gone on to win more all irelands likewise the team that won in 1991 should have done the same. That was an unbelievable team.
    But what I like about this Tipp under 21 team is that aswell as being briliant hurlers there also big and strong with most of them over 6 feet. For too long tipp have been producing FANCY DANS. Lovely skills, small pacey flashy players with a few tricks. Not able to compete at senior level because the dont have the phisicality. Great seeing a Tipp team that can actually catch long balls rather that trying to take it on the hurley. Up Tipp

well said. 100 %. thats tipps biggest weakness. The senior team that won in 2001 should have gone on to win more all irelands

Didn't Babs take over then which would explain those wasted years:(

Tipp hurling going fierce well at the moment. 8 of the starting team are young enough next year plus at least 7 of the subs. Seems like a very strong team. O'Neill on the subs was on the senior panel but was injured earlier in the year and Denis Maher is a class act who also got injured earlier in the year so didn't start the final. Biggest weakness might be the full back line but it has some potential forward line.

Kevin O Gorman, James Barry, Ciaran Hough, Adrian Ryan, Noel McGrath, Buggy O Meara, Bubbles Dwyer, Paddy Murphy (from the starting team) and John O Neill, Ruari Gleeson, Kieran Morris, Joe Gallagher, Denis Maher, Tom Butler, Brian Stapleton (from the subs)

Straight after the match Ken Hogan was saying the same that it was about time that Tipperary got some consistency in winning All Irelands and not just one here and there. What also encouraged me was that straight after the senior all ireland Eoin Kelly and alot of the other players were saying that they won't be satisfied with just this win and that they want to try and improve again next year and win Munster.