Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what to buy for 40k?

• 07-09-2010 10:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭

have a 08 520d looking to change,i know the obvious is a new 520d but it must be auto and that jumps the price to circa 45k
    Here`s the musts

auto ,4 door,diesel or very economical,plenty grunt no 120bhp audis here please , does`nt have to be new.

it does`nt have to be 40k either (it can be lower for examaple) but not over.

ive looked at all the obvious examples (superb,a4,a6) just wondering have you fine chaps any ideas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

blingrhino wrote: »
    have a 08 520d looking to change,i know the obvious is a new 520d but it must be auto and that jumps the price to circa 45k
    Here`s the musts

auto ,4 door,diesel or very economical,plenty grunt no 120bhp audis here please , does`nt have to be new.

it does`nt have to be 40k either (it can be lower for examaple) but not over.

ive looked at all the obvious examples (superb,a4,a6) just wondering have you fine chaps any ideas!

Heres a few odd ones,
    Volvo s80
    Jaguar XF Nice car that XF
    Citroen C6 Weird looking but lovely to drive.
    After that it's the usual suspects that people drive, as you said Superb, A4,A6 and BMW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭mick4_2000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 pels

Have a look at the new Volvo S60, beautiful car! Test-drove it last week and it's a good car.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

BMW 335d Saloon/Coupe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Octavia vRS 170bhp tdi with dsg and plenty of change in your pocket :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Older with 2 owners but YES PLEASE.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/535-D-E6/201013197442475/advert?channel=CARS

and 10k in the pocket for 6 months tax ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

535d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭omega man

kceire wrote: »
    BMW 335d Saloon/Coupe.

+1 on the 335D and also the Jag XF posted above.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/335-335D/201032199154859/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

535d but there was a facelift in early 07 with slightly more power among other things. Obviously post 08 for the lower tax.

TheBazman wrote: »
    535d but there was a facelift in early 07 with slightly more power among other things. Obviously post 08 for the lower tax.

yeah post 08 gets you into the 630e tax bracket and im nearly sure the 2009/10 model sneeks into the 302e tax bracket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

How about a facelift 730d, not hugely economical but not bad either:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/7-Series/730-D-E6/200943195612278/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

kceire wrote: »
    yeah post 08 gets you into the 630e tax bracket and im nearly sure the 2009/10 model sneeks into the 302e tax bracket!
    Nope, sneaks into €447 bracket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Bodhan wrote: »
    Heres a few odd ones,
    Volvo s80
    Jaguar XF Nice car that XF
    Citroen C6 Weird looking but lovely to drive.
    After that it's the usual suspects that people drive, as you said Superb, A4,A6 and BMW.

Love that Jaguar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

eoin wrote: »
    Love that Jaguar

Yeah, at least its different enough to the 5series to warrant a change. Having a 08 520d its going to be hard to justify most swaps, its too current.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭blingrhino

some good advice lads
    yes a passat cc intrests me ,the jag has the old 2.7 litre engine not that fast and resale /reliability worrys me. in saying that a 3.0 d portfolio with 20" wheels would be the dogs bollox but 55k.
    335d/535d very rare one 335d in the country for sale and only pre 98 535d availble-but i love them both.
    what about golf gti 5 door dsg etc or a4 avant 170 bhp-grange motors have a class one ???????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

what about golf gti 5 door dsg etc or a4 avant 170 bhp-grange motors have a class one ???????

A Golf (of any description) after a 5 series would feel like a real downgrade IMO.

Any Audi with S-Line suspension would rule it out for me, just horrible on Irish roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭blingrhino

sort of agree with u on both points steve:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

sort of agree with u on both points steve:o
    5 series to A4? Are you nuts? Keep your current car is what I'd be telling you.

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    Nope, sneaks into €447 bracket.

thats the one, thats twice today that i completely forgot about the 447 bracket :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Wait a year a get a 1YO F10 525d auto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Isn't there a desperate problem with the XFs, that when the accelerator is pressed hard, nothing happens for nearly two seconds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭J77

some good advice lads
    yes a passat cc intrests me ,the jag has the old 2.7 litre engine not that fast and resale /reliability worrys me. in saying that a 3.0 d portfolio with 20" wheels would be the dogs bollox but 55k.
    335d/535d very rare one 335d in the country for sale and only pre 98 535d availble-but i love them both.

I'd recommend the f10 520d if your happy with your current car but want a bit of an upgrade. Great looking car and is definitely a better idea than buying another E60 as far as depreciation goes. Not to mention the added power and economy. Look at importing from UK if you want an automatic to come in at budget or alternatively wait until January and I'm sure you should be able to pick up a '10 auto. Base spec is great aswell, Leather incl etc so no need to worry about that.

If you want a change from BMW something like this would be quite nice

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A6/2.0TDI-S/201017197810232/advert?channel=CARS

8k above as your budget stands but again, you might get one closer to budget from the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Get an E250 cdi sport mercedes. E Class is terrible as base spec but look stunning IMO with the right kit including large wheels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Audi A6 s-line. She is in the low tax bracket as well. New model next year btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Absurdum wrote: »

Them chrome yokes where the fogs normally are pure tack imo. They ruin the car for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭40040D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Isn't there a desperate problem with the XFs, that when the accelerator is pressed hard, nothing happens for nearly two seconds?

Never drove a 2.7 so not sure on that, but the 3.0 is OK. In standard version it's not that hot, but the S model can shift a bit :)

I always thought the 2.7d was OK in the Disco/RR Sport and S-Type.

Think the Jag is the only one in budget that would get me out of an E60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

5k over budget but well worth it.......

Lexus LS600h

5 litre V8 hybrid. 30 mpg (does that count as economical?) and more kit than you can shake a stick at!

edit:
    or look at its little brother:

Lexus GS450H

3.6 V6 hybrid. 37 mpg. 630 spuds to tax. Oodles of gadgets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Lexus LS600h

5 litre V8 hybrid. 30 mpg (does that count as economical?) and more kit than you can shake a stick at!

you can be smug about the enviroment and still beat boy racers in traffic light grand prix :D savage machines

Lexus LS600h

edit:
    or look at its little brother:

Lexus GS450H

3.6 V6 hybrid. 37 mpg. 630 spuds to tax. Oodles of gadgets.

That one is crazy money!!. Nice motor. I would have it on my list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

R.O.R wrote: »
    Never drove a 2.7 so not sure on that, but the 3.0 is OK. In standard version it's not that hot, but the S model can shift a bit :)

I always thought the 2.7d was OK in the Disco/RR Sport and S-Type.

Think the Jag is the only one in budget that would get me out of an E60.

The 2.7 is quite capable in the RRS especially with a little mappage. The best thing about the sport imho.
    I'd love to have a go in Jag XF to compare.