Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loughnane- a bitter man

• 06-09-2010 6:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

Anyone read Ger Loughnane's article in The Star today. Shocking what he said about Cody, a man who has won 7 AI,s in 12 seasons in charge. He really lowered the blade. A bitter man who cant accept that the guy he trained with is such a great manager. At the end of his article he states " Sheedy does'nt preach about manliness or honesty or all that kind of guff that you'd hear from parish priest or a Kilkenny manager"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Gr8Shark wrote: »
    Anyone read Ger Loughnane's article in The Star today. Shocking what he said about Cody, a man who has won 7 AI,s in 12 seasons in charge. He really lowered the blade. A bitter man who cant accept that the guy he trained with is such a great manager. At the end of his article he states " Sheedy does'nt preach about manliness or honesty or all that kind of guff that you'd hear from parish priest or a Kilkenny manager"
    Loughnane and indeed many pundits give far too much credit to managers.
    Ultimately the players on the pitch (especially in an amateur game) are responsible for success, not the manager.
    Loughnane himself would like to believe he is an exceptional manager and often times credits himself with Clares success in the 90's. If he really was that good he would have been able to reproduce it at in Galway - we all seen what happened there.

No doubt Cody is an exceptional manager but lets not give these guys too much credit - the players do 99% of the work.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Loughnane - a bitter man - was there ever any doubt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

relax lads
    ger is paid good money to produce an article on a weekly basis that people will respond to

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Loughnane and Cody have never got on and never will. Having a dig is nothing new for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

kippy wrote: »
    Ultimately the players on the pitch (especially in an amateur game) are responsible for success, not the manager.
    Loughnane himself would like to believe he is an exceptional manager and often times credits himself with Clares success in the 90's. If he really was that good he would have been able to reproduce it at in Galway - we all seen what happened there.

No doubt Cody is an exceptional manager but lets not give these guys too much credit - the players do 99% of the work.

It's true that the importance of managers can be overplayed sometimes, but you're going too far in the other direction imo. Obviously you need good players to begin with, but a really good manager will get that extra 10% out of them that can make the difference between winning and being a nearly-team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 igas

" Sheedy does'nt preach about manliness or honesty or all that kind of guff that you'd hear from parish priest or a Kilkenny manager"

Of course he's bitter! Look what his lifelong rival Cody has achieved compare to him! Its his first chance in years to have a go at him.

But then, who has more credibility? The bitter has-been or possible the best manager we've ever seen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭shockframe

I know loughnane is looking for soundbites but I wouldnt find too much fault with his article.

The truth was that he was outfought and made a few bad decisions that came back to haunt him.

I Like so many others think cody has been great for hurling but to any kilkenny fan who may be reading this if you can deal with being talked up as the greatest manager ever like cody you have to be able to deal with the reality that he showed weakness made errors and was outfoxed.There is too much pandering in the media about certain players and managers its good to hear criticism for a change.

As a limerick fan in the 90s I used to despise loughnane but he is good on tv.For the record I dont think loughnane is bothered what anyone thinks.Cody had the advantage of managing a traditional hurling county.Loughnane managed a county that hadnt won an all ireland in 80 years to 2 all irelands and should have won a 3rd.For all his faults he is happy with his lot id say and deserves a fair bit of respect for that at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭katie99

Would the producer of The Sunday Game please, please get a stylist and show those muppets on both the hurling and football panels how to dress.
    And would the producer please tell the panelists they are allowed to smiel, even give us a laugh and to relax back into their seats.
    My god they are so serious.
    And as for Loughnane would the producer next season ensure he buttons the top button of his shirt when wearing his tie. He looks exactly like the gombeen man he sounds like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

katie99 wrote: »
    Would the producer of The Sunday Game please, please get a stylist and show those muppets on both the hurling and football panels how to dress.
    And would the producer please tell the panelists they are allowed to smiel, even give us a laugh and to relax back into their seats.
    And as for Loughnane would the producer next season ensure he buttons the top button of his shirt when wearing his tie. He looks exactly like the gombeen man he sounds like.

Don't think I need to say who but one of the panellists on Sunday afternoon and Sunday night had the most appalling diction. Grammar mistakes galore, not to mention a complete block on the 'th' sound. 'He should 'of' 'went'........' 'put de ball over de barr.....' etc. etc. etc.

I don't mean to be in any way petty but it was cringe worthy - on our NATIONAL broadcaster. I found it difficult to hear anything he was saying as every time he opened his mouth, it was grammar mistakes and poor diction.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    It's true that the importance of managers can be overplayed sometimes, but you're going too far in the other direction imo. Obviously you need good players to begin with, but a really good manager will get that extra 10% out of them that can make the difference between winning and being a nearly-team.

99% may be a bit high - ultimately however it is almost all down the the players.......think about it for a few minutes.....thinking even of the events of this past weekend as an example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

conno16 wrote: »
    relax lads
    ger is paid good money to produce an article on a weekly basis that people will respond to

Nail. Head.

GAA's version of Dunphy if you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

kippy wrote: »

No manager in ireland would be able to turn the present galway team into all ireland winners. Some great individual hurlers on that galway team but thats all they are - individuals.

Any team thats won the all ireland in the last 20 years have one thing in common which is they were a solid, unified team who would literally do anything for each other on the field of play.

No manager in ireland would be able to turn the present galway team into all ireland winners. Some great individual hurlers on that galway team but thats all they are - individuals.

Any team thats won the all ireland in the last 20 years have one thing in common which is they were a solid, unified team who would literally do anything for each other on the field of play.
    You're second paragraph pretty much highlights the part players and their attitude as well as skills play in any team sport in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

shockframe wrote: »
    As a limerick fan in the 90s I used to despise loughnane but he is good on tv.For the record I dont think loughnane is bothered what anyone thinks.Cody had the advantage of managing a traditional hurling county.Loughnane managed a county that hadnt won an all ireland in 80 years to 2 all irelands and should have won a 3rd.For all his faults he is happy with his lot id say and deserves a fair bit of respect for that at least.

Exactly, what Loughnane did with Clare is every bit as impressive with Cody's record in it's own right.
    BTW Loughnane was the only one I heard tipping Tipperary last Sunday so give the guy a break. Cody is not a likeable character but I respect the guy, everyone seems to be half afraid of him - remember the grilling he gave Marty Morrissey last year? The truth this year was he gambled on Shefflin , his players were far too open for interviews - 8,000 people at training ? the hype and pressure got to these guys and they started to believe they were unbeatable. All the nonsense about training sessions where people got killed but got up for more and the whistle never sounded? What were Tipp doing I wonder? Going for manicures.
    This defeat was coming and tbh in hindsight it was obvious. I wondered what the hell was going on in Kilkenny this past month - most unKilkenny like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

katie99 wrote: »
    Would the producer of The Sunday Game please, please get a stylist and show those muppets on both the hurling and football panels how to dress.And would the producer please tell the panelists they are allowed to smiel, even give us a laugh and to relax back into their seats.

Why?

Were they naked?

This is a GAA forum and pointless, irrelevant and downright idiotic posts like yours have no place here. Off to the Fashion forum if it really worries you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

buck65 wrote: »
    .....Cody is not a likeable character but I respect the guy, everyone seems to be half afraid of him - remember the grilling he gave Marty Morrissey last year? The truth this year was he gambled on Shefflin , his players were far too open for interviews - 8,000 people at training ? the hype and pressure got to these guys and they started to believe they were unbeatable. All the nonsense about training sessions where people got killed but got up for more and the whistle never sounded? What were Tipp doing I wonder? Going for manicures.
    This defeat was coming and tbh in hindsight it was obvious. I wondered what the hell was going on in Kilkenny this past month - most unKilkenny like.

What bullsh|t, yeah hindsight is 20/20 isn't it? It always amazes me the way people are prepared to spout sh|te on forums about things they clearly know nothing about!

"He gambled on Shefflin" Of course he did FFS! He gambled on two players, not one. One played the entire 70 minutes and had a good game, the other didn't make it. KK were going for 5 in a row, Shefflin came through trainings and subsequent fitness tests. He told Cody he was fit to play. What manager would not take a chance in this circumstances where the best player of the modern era appears to have recovered from an injury in time for a historic final? He had an excellent replacement in Michael Rice waiting to come on

People seem to ignore the fact that Shefflin and Tennyson wanted to play, they didn't think their injuries were gone away for ever, but they hoped that they could get through the final and maybe re-evaluate the need for surgery etc in the closed season

"His players were far too open for interviews "?
    Like what does this cr@p even mean? Have you evidence that his players were more open for interviews than previous years, were they more open for interviews than Tipps players? Have you some way of measuring their openess for interviews??? Did you count the number of interviews the players gave before the match and compared them against pervious years, other teams etc??

8,000 people at training - this is true, there was at least 6,000 at the final trainings before the 09 final, 3 or 4000 before 08 final, there is a tradition in kilkenny to have open training sessions, so explain why after winning 7 AIs in a decade that an open training session in Kilkenny this year contributed to Tipp winning?

The hype and pressure got to these guys and they started to believe they were unbeatable?
    Again are you going to back this bull up with evidence? You think KK lost because they thought they were unbeatable? Against a team who they were lucky to get past in the previous AI? Do you not think that they knew they had a hell of a battle a head of them ? Did you, or have you ever heard an interview with a KK player or a quote from them where they expressed cockiness?
    They lost the match for a number of reasons, the two main reasons being Tipps hunger and Tipps tactics. Despite nothing going right for them on the day and been beaten in most positions on the field they still clawed their way back into the game three times

"All the nonsense about training sessions where people got killed but got up for more and the whistle never sounded?" What's the problem here? The trainings have been like this since 2005, the whistle isn't blown during the game. The media have been reporting this since 2005 too, although they did produce some nauseating articles about it in the run-up to this years final. I can't understand why people from other counties seem to get upset about KKs training? What difference is it to them?

"This defeat was coming and tbh in hindsight it was obvious" No sh|t sherlock!, they were upbeaten in 22/23 Chamionship matches and were in an AI final with a younger team with revenge in mind, whose single focus all year was to beat Kilkenny. (Which they did and fully deserved). To state the defeat was coming 3 days after the match is very insightful

Jeez man you really put my arguments to rest there with your balanced ,thoughtful post . I was wrong Kilkenny are great and everything they do is right and are the best team in the land. I bow to your superior knowledge friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

igas wrote: »
    Of course he's bitter! Look what his lifelong rival Cody has achieved compare to him!

Whoah,woah,woah there horse!............

so you believe Ger's achievement of winning,was it 4 Munster titles, and 2 all Irelands with a county who hadn't won a provincial title since 1932,and hadnt won an all Ireland since 1914, compare with a county who win leinster titles for fun,the same with all irelands...:rolleyes:
    Doesnt matter to me what Coady has achieved with the all mighty kilLkenny... send him to a county who havent won a provincial title since we landed on the moon and lets see what he achieves.
    This is gone slighly off topic but im not having what you said,that Coadys achievements are superior to the legend that is Ger loughnane.

As an analyst on the Sunday game,he is second to none,i mean that,second to no-one.
    Ger is a controversial guy only cause he tells the truth.
    he highlighted the dirty tactics used by killkenny while he was in charge of Galway..... tommy walsh pulling helmets for example(they changed the rule when ger spoke out about this!)

i didnt read what Ger said in his column ,but Nippy has said it here...... way too much reverence is paid to managers of teams,none more that kilkenny where there is an endless stream of talented hurlers...... unlike his own county of Clare,where it would something special for Clare to win an all ireland in the next 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Annuv wrote: »
    What bullsh|t, yeah hindsight is 20/20 isn't it? It always amazes me the way people are prepared to spout sh|te on forums about things they clearly know nothing about!

"He gambled on Shefflin" Of course he did FFS! He gambled on two players, not one. One played the entire 70 minutes and had a good game, the other didn't make it. KK were going for 5 in a row, Shefflin came through trainings and subsequent fitness tests. He told Cody he was fit to play. What manager would not take a chance in this circumstances where the best player of the modern era appears to have recovered from an injury in time for a historic final? He had an excellent replacement in Michael Rice waiting to come on

People seem to ignore the fact that Shefflin and Tennyson wanted to play, they didn't think their injuries were gone away for ever, but they hoped that they could get through the final and maybe re-evaluate the need for surgery etc in the closed season

"His players were far too open for interviews "?
    Like what does this cr@p even mean? Have you evidence that his players were more open for interviews than previous years, were they more open for interviews than Tipps players? Have you some way of measuring their openess for interviews??? Did you count the number of interviews the players gave before the match and compared them against pervious years, other teams etc??

8,000 people at training - this is true, there was at least 6,000 at the final trainings before the 09 final, 3 or 4000 before 08 final, there is a tradition in kilkenny to have open training sessions, so explain why after winning 7 AIs in a decade that an open training session in Kilkenny this year contributed to Tipp winning?

The hype and pressure got to these guys and they started to believe they were unbeatable?
    Again are you going to back this bull up with evidence? You think KK lost because they thought they were unbeatable? Against a team who they were lucky to get past in the previous AI? Do you not think that they knew they had a hell of a battle a head of them ? Did you, or have you ever heard an interview with a KK player or a quote from them where they expressed cockiness?
    They lost the match for a number of reasons, the two main reasons being Tipps hunger and Tipps tactics. Despite nothing going right for them on the day and been beaten in most positions on the field they still clawed their way back into the game three times

"All the nonsense about training sessions where people got killed but got up for more and the whistle never sounded?" What's the problem here? The trainings have been like this since 2005, the whistle isn't blown during the game. The media have been reporting this since 2005 too, although they did produce some nauseating articles about it in the run-up to this years final. I can't understand why people from other counties seem to get upset about KKs training? What difference is it to them?

"This defeat was coming and tbh in hindsight it was obvious" No sh|t sherlock!, they were upbeaten in 22/23 Chamionship matches and were in an AI final with a younger team with revenge in mind, whose single focus all year was to beat Kilkenny. (Which they did and fully deserved). To state the defeat was coming 3 days after the match is very insightful

most sense ive heard since the game last sunday pair play!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Gr8Shark

so you believe Ger's achievement of winning,was it 4 Munster titles, and 2 all Irelands with a county who hadn't won a provincial title since 1932,and hadnt won an all Ireland since 1914, compare with a county who win leinster titles for fun,the same with all irelands...:rolleyes:
    Doesnt matter to me what Coady has achieved with the all mighty kilLkenny... send him to a county who havent won a provincial title since we landed on the moon and lets see what he achieves.
    This is gone slighly off topic but im not having what you said,that Coadys achievements are superior to the legend that is Ger loughnane.

QUOTE]
    Cody is a big step above Loughnane, who has turned into a media whore ala Tv, radio, papers after had to keep his trap shut for the past 4 years and now after a single defeat goes back digging. Fair play he won 2 AI's but that cannot compare to a man who has overseen 7AI's in 11 years. Indeed KK only won 2 AI's in the previous 17 years before he took over. Loughnane should concentrate on the game and not the inferior complex he has!

QUOTE]
    Cody is a big step above Loughnane, who has turned into a media whore ala Tv, radio, papers after had to keep his trap shut for the past 4 years and now after a single defeat goes back digging. Fair play he won 2 AI's but that cannot compare to a man who has overseen 7AI's in 11 years. Indeed KK only won 2 AI's in the previous 17 years before he took over. Loughnane should concentrate on the game and not the inferior complex he has!

Loughnane, inferiority complex?! You obviously know nothing about the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Coady isn't finished yet! He could still go on and win even more with Kilkenny.

Also, even with a county used to much success in hurling, to win 4 in a row is amazing and the Cork 4 in a row team are still talked about to this day and now this Kilkenny team will always be talked about.

Has any manager won 7 AI's in hurling? 10 Leinster titles and 5 leagues?

Coady is superior to Ger Loughnane for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭shockframe

QUOTE]
    Cody is a big step above Loughnane, who has turned into a media whore ala Tv, radio, papers after had to keep his trap shut for the past 4 years and now after a single defeat goes back digging. Fair play he won 2 AI's but that cannot compare to a man who has overseen 7AI's in 11 years. Indeed KK only won 2 AI's in the previous 17 years before he took over. Loughnane should concentrate on the game and not the inferior complex he has![/QUOTE]

Cant agree with that.Kilkenny had a squad of hurlers used to winning from minor and under 21.

Clare didnt.lost a munster final by 18 points 2 years before loughnane came in.

strange how you accuse loughnane of being a media whore.hell why not make the same accusation at michael duignan, cyril farrell, kevin mcstay while your at it.they are all on tv and newspapers aswell.

loughnane beat every hurling county while he was in charge of clare with limited resources.he wasnt my favourite manager but his record is nothing to be sneered at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

shockframe wrote: »
    his record is nothing to be sneered at.

Be fair now! UserFriendly said that he thought Coady's record is superior to Loughnanes. He didn't "sneer" at Loughnanes record, he just said that Coady's was better.

I happen to think it is too. And I kinda like Loughnane, even if he is a media whore. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

If you had Cody in charge of the Clare panel in the nineties, Clare would have won nothing probably.
    Cody has won a lot, but with an absolutely massive pool of talent to pick from.
    Think about it, how many of Loughnsne's 1997 TEAM would get on the Kilkenny PANEL, of the last 5 years. Probably Davey, Brian Lohan, Sean McMahon, Jamsie O Connor, Colin Lynch.
    How many would get on the team ................. ????

PS. Kilkenny's road to All Ireland final, definitely much softer than any Munster team.

Winning all Ireland's for ANY Kilkenny manager in ANY era, is infinitely esasier than ANY Clare manager, past, present or future.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Yet Kilkenny had won 2 all irelands in 18 years before Cody came along, and since they have contested 10 all irelands in 12 years, winning 7 and losing 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭El Vino

There is only one way to settle this, Cody should take the Galway job if he wins the All Ireland with them he is clearly better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭djScarey

unlike his own county of Clare,where it would something special for Clare to win an all ireland in the next 10 years.

Wouldn't go along with this. Their underage set up should bear some senior fruit in the next 3-5 years. A Clare senior All Ireland before 2018 is not so absolutely beyond them, imo.

El Vino wrote: »
    There is only one way to settle this, Cody should take the Galway job if he wins the All Ireland with them he is clearly better
    I did think of that..... but didnt say it!:D
    but i so agree with youits the only way to solve this dispute! :)

djScarey wrote: »
    Wouldn't go along with this. Their underage set up should bear some senior fruit in the next 3-5 years. A Clare senior All Ireland before 2018 is not so absolutely beyond them, imo.

yes the underage guys are doing quiet well,........... Really surprised me in the AI Final,some extremely players.

Of course what i should have said originally was :unlike his own county,where it Took something special for Clare to win an all Ireland for the 1st time in 81 long years;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mickmcl09

Have to agree with most of the points made by Annuv.
    Yer all great here with yer hindsight.
    As regards the game itself, tipp won on the day and deservedly so, but for anybody to say Cody should have done this that or the other Kilkenny could/would have won the game - load of &^%$. There are too many permutations to a game to say that approaching a game in a different manner would have made a difference.
    With Henry, Managers ALWAYS start a player that he's keen to play where there's an issue with an injury, otherwise the player doesn't play at all.
    To have left Henry as a sub with the intention of playing him ran the risk of wasting 2 subs (Henry plus as we now know, a probable replacement). What would all you experts be saying then?

To all you anti Kilkenny pundits out there, you're part of what is typical of the Irish all over the world. You love losers and hate winners (opposite to the American mentality). How many of you will be shouting for Tipp in 2 years time if they're looking at 3 in a row. The Kilkenny players are a credit to themselves and to their clubs and families as are the current crop of Tipp players. All the narrow mindedness commentary lacks appreciation of all the talent on display on Sunday.

I'm a clare man, and what Ger achieved at the time was a fantastic achievement with at the time the best 1st 9 players as a group in the country , 1 exceptional forward and 5 more who'd go through hell and back.....regarding Ger's comments, we could do without the snide bits. Nothing achieved. Ger's got a bee in his bonnet with Cody from what I can see, obviously there's history and Ger hasn't remained fully subjective......Don't kick a man when he's down Ger

Hurling has moved on from the 90's. Players are bigger, faster, more skillful. Training regimes are more scientific. So comparing these managers cannot be measured.

Todays Kilkenny or Tipp team would demolise any of the best teams of the 90's.

And the minors of last Sunday will be superior to the current group of seniors, have no doubt about that.

Comparing Loughnane and Cody is a futile discussion, besides it off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mickmcl09

djScarey wrote: »

Limerick had that attitude after winning 3 under 21s and look what happened them.

IT'S ALL ON THE DAY everyday that these teams go out.

Don't talk about what might be, until it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 igas

Jeez man you really put my arguments to rest there with your balanced ,thoughtful post . I was wrong Kilkenny are great and everything they do is right and are the best team in the land. I bow to your superior knowledge friend.

Pretty weak reply to an excellent post by Annuv! Yes he/she did put your arguments to rest and deserved more than a smart remark to defend your argument!

[/QUOTE]
    mickmcl09 wrote: »
    Have to agree with most of the points made by Annuv.
    Yer all great here with yer hindsight.
    As regards the game itself, tipp won on the day and deservedly so, but for anybody to say Cody should have done this that or the other Kilkenny could/would have won the game - load of &^%$. There are too many permutations to a game to say that approaching a game in a different manner would have made a difference.
    With Henry, Managers ALWAYS start a player that he's keen to play where there's an issue with an injury, otherwise the player doesn't play at all.
    To have left Henry as a sub with the intention of playing him ran the risk of wasting 2 subs (Henry plus as we now know, a probable replacement). What would all you experts be saying then?

To all you anti Kilkenny pundits out there, you're part of what is typical of the Irish all over the world. You love losers and hate winners (opposite to the American mentality)who are you referring to? im not one..:confused:. How many of you will be shouting for Tipp in 2 years time if they're looking at 3 in a row. The Kilkenny players are a credit to themselves and to their clubs and families as are the current crop of Tipp players. All the narrow mindedness commentary lacks appreciation of all the talent on display on Sunday.

I'm a clare man, and what Ger achieved at the time was a fantastic achievement with at the time the best 1st 9 players as a group in the country , 1 exceptional forward and 5 more who'd go through hell and back.....regarding Ger's comments, we could do without the snide bits. Nothing achieved. Ger's got a bee in his bonnet with Cody from what I can see, obviously there's history and Ger hasn't remained fully subjective......Don't kick a man when he's down Ger

Hurling has moved on from the 90's. Players are bigger, faster, more skillful. Training regimes are more scientific.So by saying its more scientific,that means what exactly? i think this scientific ****e is just that.... a load of ****e.... its a simple game,made complicated by fools.Did you see the wonderful exhibition of football dished out to us by the young cork and galway footballers a few weeks back?this kind of football will be coached out of them before these lads hit u-21 level,more science no doubt!:rolleyes: So comparing these managers cannot be measured.

Todays Kilkenny or Tipp team would demolise any of the best teams of the 90's.STOP right there my man..... maybe in your opinion.

We will never know,but if it was possible to do a matchup..... id back that Clare team/teams of 97 and 98 to Beat any of the AI finalists,Even the 97 tipp team was fantastic.

And the minors of last Sunday will be superior to the current group of seniors, have no doubt about that.Are you talking about the Clare minors? if so thats a fair ol statement,to use a line of yours...."Don't talk about what might be, until it happens." Also,you do know that Clare fielded a hell of a lot of the U21s that won an all Ireland last year for the 1st time ever,so i have to smile at you statement:)

Comparing Loughnane and Cody is a futile discussion, besides it off topic.
    Ahem........ the topic is about Gers comments on Coady
    mickmcl09 wrote: »
    Limerick had that attitude after winning 3 under 21s and look what happened them. Whats your point here? that Clare followers should be pessimistic about the Future?
    Nothing wrong with looking forward Mick and Hoping that these talented young lads can show their talents @senior level.

IT'S ALL ON THE DAY everyday that these teams go out.Its not all on the day Mick. to quote Roy Keanes,Fail to prepare,prepare to fail.You need the rub of the green alright to win some games but if your just gonna leave things to the old cliche,you will win nothing.teams must be prepared properly by the correct coaches.
    Last Sundays game wasnt all on the day,Tipp had a game plan,stop the KK goals at all costs,and they did,to an extent.
    I reckon that game plan was hatched months ago.

Don't talk about what might be, until it happens.Yeah,well if we all took that view there would be no discussion here Mick.

Regards UF ;)

I see most of the posters agreeing with Annuv are from Kilkenny surprising that!

igas wrote: »
    Pretty weak reply to an excellent post by Annuv! Yes he/she did put your arguments to rest and deserved more than a smart remark to defend your argument!

My original post actually contained my feelings on the matter , nothing in that guys post proved anything I said was wrong he just disagreed because he's from Kilkenny. If you read it again there is no argument just a long winded fan letter to kilkenny hurling.

This nonsense about hating winners is so obvious and in fact wrong. No one on this thread says anything bad about Kilkenny or Cody for that matter. My post was about how unKilkenny like their build up was and that the pressure probably got to them on the day because of the hype. You Kilkenny people get all defensive and revert to the lazy argument about people hating us blah blah blah. Read the posts and quote me some of this hate! Nonsense.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,193 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

My original post actually contained my feelings on the matter , nothing in that guys post proved anything I said was wrong he just disagreed because he's from Kilkenny. If you read it again there is no argument just a long winded fan letter to kilkenny hurling.

This nonsense about hating winners is so obvious and in fact wrong. No one on this thread says anything bad about Kilkenny or Cody for that matter. My post was about how unKilkenny like their build up was and that the pressure probably got to them on the day because of the hype. You Kilkenny people get all defensive and revert to the lazy argument about people hating us blah blah blah. Read the posts and quote me some of this hate! Nonsense.

Well you expressed the opinion that Ger Loughnane has achieved as much in management as Brian Cody has.

Nobody can prove you wrong though I would suggest most people with a knowledge of the game would disagree with you.

Yes Cody has had some talented players but then again so had Loughnane. Cody's greatest achivmeent is not reflected in the stats and all irelands won. It is his ability to always have the team hungry with championship level intensity and never letting that drop,

Prior to 2008 Kilkenny had never won a 3 in a row(properly :)), yet under Cody they won the three in a row pulling up.

Another point I would make is that Cody has always gotten the very best out of his players and kept everyone fresh and changed this where necessary.

I would argue that he is on his way to creating the third team of the cody era.

Ger Loughnane on the other hand is happy to snipe from the sidelines and kick a man when he is down. Remember his comments before the 2007 all Ireland final? I felt he let himself down badly there. Also for most of 1998 he made a fool of himself. If you listen to comments from his former players you will know there is no great love of him and he is not on speaking terms with a lot of them,

The training sessions after the abandoned semi final with Offaly were just crazy and silly as was his time with Galway (e.g naming the team to the players in the huddle before the match).

While its true I can't prove you wrong I can strongly refute your arguments. Yes I'm from Kilkenny but Ithat shouldn't invalidate my arguments.

Exactly, what Loughnane did with Clare is every bit as impressive with Cody's record in it's own right.
    BTW Loughnane was the only one I heard tipping Tipperary last Sunday so give the guy a break. Cody is not a likeable character but I respect the guy, everyone seems to be half afraid of him - remember the grilling he gave Marty Morrissey last year? The truth this year was he gambled on Shefflin , his players were far too open for interviews - 8,000 people at training ? the hype and pressure got to these guys and they started to believe they were unbeatable. All the nonsense about training sessions where people got killed but got up for more and the whistle never sounded? What were Tipp doing I wonder? Going for manicures.

Just thought I would quote myself here lest words are put in my mouth. Nowhere did I say Loughnane achieved as much but I did say in it's own right it is just as impressive as what Cody did with Kilkenny. Again I don't see the rancour in my original post. Kilkenny folk are way to sensitive.

I respect your point of view completely. Sorry if I misquoted you, but I think my argument still stands.

I don't think it would be just people from Kilkenny who would disagree with you.

I also don't think I'm being sensitive I'm just debating your point of view.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I see most of the posters agreeing with Annuv are from Kilkenny surprising that!
    I agree and I'm from Dublin. is that okay? :p:)