Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overheard in Croke Park

• 06-09-2010 2:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭

Was waiting to go to the jacks in Croker one day and there were these two men in front of me. A black fella skipped the queue in front of them. One turns to the other and says
    "Jaysus your obviously not a racist like me so if your not gonna say anything"

The other guy goes:
    "no no no, I am a racist! I just wont cause any trouble for the day thats in it"
    Also there a few weeks ago at the Kildare vs Down match the two teams were out warming up, then lined up for the national anthem. When the anthem was over they lined out, and a woman in a Kildare jersey turned to the girl next to her and said, "Are they not going to play a song for the other team?"

Have ye ever overheard anything funny in croker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

ColHol wrote: »
    Also there a few weeks ago at the Kildare vs Down match the two teams were out warming up, then lined up for the national anthem. When the anthem was over they lined out, and a woman in a Kildare jersey turned to the girl next to her and said, "Are they not going to play a song for the other team?"

Was it to a Down fan she said that? Would've been far funnier.

On Hill 16 for the Dublin v Wexford game.

Some chap about 4 or 5 people behind me has a vuvuzela. He's been blowing it for about 3 minutes when a real mountain of a lad turns round and says to him:

"Hey mate, is that one of dem voo-voo-zaylas?"
    "Yeah" the bloke replies
    "Do you know wha' voo-voo-zayla means in South African?"
    "Nope, not a clue mate"
    "It means 'if you keep blowing that ****ing trumpet I'm gonna make it so you can only blow it when you fart!"

A bit of laughter, a bit of glance swapping and the vuvuzela disappears for the remainder of the game.

About 2 minutes later, once things had died down, the big barrel looking fella's mate (wiry lad, bald and about 5'4") turns to him and goes, without a hint of irony: "

"Jaysus Damo, you never told me you spoke South African"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The well-known Cork Mexican hat guy was making his way down the Davin end to sit beside John 3:7 so he could be seen on the cameras. A bemused Tipp man who had been drinking heavily at this point screamed :"Not that ****ing arsehole with the hat!". Cue the hundreds of people around him ****ting themselves laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

ColHol wrote: »
    Was waiting to go to the jacks in Croker one day and there were these two men in front of me. A black fella skipped the queue in front of them. One turns to the other and says
    "Jaysus your obviously not a racist like me so if your not gonna say anything"

The other guy goes:
    "no no no, I am a racist! I just wont cause any trouble for the day thats in it"
    He shouldn't have skipped the queue...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

On Hill 16 for the Dublin v Wexford game.

Some chap about 4 or 5 people behind me has a vuvuzela. He's been blowing it for about 3 minutes when a real mountain of a lad turns round and says to him:

"Hey mate, is that one of dem voo-voo-zaylas?"
    "Yeah" the bloke replies
    "Do you know wha' voo-voo-zayla means in South African?"
    "Nope, not a clue mate"
    "It means 'if you keep blowing that ****ing trumpet I'm gonna make it so you can only blow it when you fart!"

A bit of laughter, a bit of glance swapping and the vuvuzela disappears for the remainder of the game.

About 2 minutes later, once things had died down, the big barrel looking fella's mate (wiry lad, bald and about 5'4") turns to him and goes, without a hint of irony: "

"Jaysus Damo, you never told me you spoke South African"
    Ah de ol dublin wit.wheres bill cullen?

Always funny when you hear some banwagon jumping dublin fan ask their neighbour who the little red headed fella playin for kerry or that blond fella for tyrone is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

harpsman wrote: »
    Always funny when you hear some banwagon jumping dublin fan ask their neighbour who the little red headed fella playin for kerry or that blond fella for tyrone is.
    is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Equally funny to here naive wee people thinking the only bandwagoners who havent a clue and ask stupid questions are Dubs ;)

example.....

After the Dublin v Mayo semi final a few years back two Mayo girls in front of us "so who are we playing in the final then?" the other one replies "I don't know, probably Tyrone" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Many years ago the Gaa made the big leap and obtained sponsorship for the league. It then became known as the "royal liver insurance ......league"....as a result, the gaa had to forgo some of the ard chomhairle seats to outsiders from the insurance world.....
    posh accent:
    "is a goal worth 5 points?"

incidently a greek has presented the liam mccarthy cup, ever see that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

Nothing said in particular, but after being graced with their presence twice in the championship this year, the accent on some of the louth supporters is enough to crack me up. Some of them sounded like it was their first time off the Cooleys.

Apologies to any louth people, although in my defence I have a friend from louth who reluctantly agrees with me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

incidently a greek has presented the liam mccarthy cup, ever see that?

Didn't see that, but I did see a guy from Fiji receive it.

The worst I heard was at a Rugby match and a guy who was Irish wondered why they didn't build the stands closer to the side of the pitch!! For shame!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Another one - was up in Hill 16 for the Cork Roscommon game this year. In fairness the, Rosies were good craic that day. Anyway after Cork started pulling away in the second half, one of them shouts out:

"I hope ye get thrashed in the next round. Who will they be playing", to which he receive the answer - Dublin.

"Ah jaysus - for f**k sake". The sense of despair in not knowing which team he didn't want to win was evident.

Equally funny to here naive wee people thinking the only bandwagoners who havent a clue and ask stupid questions are Dubs ;)

example.....

After the Dublin v Mayo semi final a few years back two Mayo girls in front of us "so who are we playing in the final then?" the other one replies "I don't know, probably Tyrone" :D

oooooh-sorrry.only havin a laugh.of course thats true,its just that there are so many more at dublin games for obvious reasons.
    thats ONE of the reasons why its always so much fun seein dublin gettin beaten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

oooooh-sorrry.only havin a laugh.of course thats true,its just that there are so many more at dublin games for obvious reasons.
    thats ONE of the reasons why its always so much fun seein dublin gettin beaten

It's also ONE of the reasons why we enjoy it so much when we win games that we're not expected to like the quarter final against Tyrone.

Gives us the opportunity to give the two fingered salute to the rest of the begrudgers :D

Agree.I was delighted for Gilroy and happy enough to see Dublin beat tyrone, even though i was still supporting tyrone.particularly for the few thousand dublin supporters who stuck with the team after meath game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

particularly for the few thousand dublin supporters who stuck with the team after meath game
    Those first few qualifiers on the Hill were refreshing, it was like being back in Parnell Park amongst learned supporters and none of the abusive sh1te that we have to tolerate from the sunshine brigade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

In last year's football final I was in the Premium stand (got the tickets for free), after a Cork player had knocked it over his own line I hear some D4 nob in a suit behind me ask his buddy, "is that a corner now is it?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

dcr22B wrote: »
    Those first few qualifiers on the Hill were refreshing, it was like being back in Parnell Park amongst learned supporters and none of the abusive sh1te that we have to tolerate from the sunshine brigade!

Amen to that.

Overheard by my missus (from my mouth) this year.

"Well done Eamonn Fennel!!"
    no more than 3 seconds later
    "F""k sake Eamon Fennel!!!"
    :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭katie99

Without the Dubs, the GAA and Leinster Council would be financially at a serious loss.
    Outside of the finals in both codes, the only time Croker is full is when Dublin is playing there.
    I was at last Sunday's final and afterwards was walking with friends into town through Amiens St when I heard a Tipp head in front of me ask his mates what was the LUAS!!
    Them are fierce buses running on tracks he said.
    Another Tipp couple stood at the 5 lamps after the game chewing on their hang and cheese and onion sangwiches and shared a carton of milk between them. Can you imagine all the spit and bile floating around the milk in the carton?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

FTA69 wrote: »
    In last year's football final I was in the Premium stand (got the tickets for free), after a Cork player had knocked it over his own line I hear some D4 nob in a suit behind me ask his buddy, "is that a corner now is it?"

I like it!