Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rte coverage poor again

• 05-09-2010 4:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭

Why oh why could they not show the "halter mountain boy" rather than commentary,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

It did sound absolutely horrific in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Ah g'way would ya! It was grand... didnt notice anything wrong it at all

Better than any other GAA coverage anyway - the excitement on the pitch was hard to spoil anyway

Fair play Tipp, delighted for yas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Gipo3

Why cant they show the team doing lap of honour instead of those muppets in studio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Who was the commentator? I know he commentates on hurling all the time, but I rarely watch it so I don't know his name, but Jesus the amount of times he referred to Tipp as Kilkenny and Kilkenny as Tipp was shocking. Anybody else notice it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Archimedes wrote: »
    Who was the commentator? I know he commentates on hurling all the time, but I rarely watch it so I don't know his name, but Jesus the amount of times he referred to Tipp as Kilkenny and Kilkenny as Tipp was shocking. Anybody else notice it?

Ger Canning

And you're correct, he was mixing up the teams constantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Galtee Mountain Boy and yeah it was a pity they didn't show it.

TV on mute and Radio 1 on the wireless makes it all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

Darragh Moloney better be doing the football.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Ger Canning

And you're correct, he was mixing up the teams constantly.

Mute button and radio on in the backround - the only way!

edit - rowley mentioned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,796 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

worst part for me was the cringe worthy comment from Canning about everyone enjoying the celebrations 'sitting in their correct places' or something simular.....buying into the corporate party line of cooney and co!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 858 ✭✭✭goingpostal

As too other people said, telly on mute and Micheal "FARKING GENIUS, NATIONAL TREASURE" O'Mhuiraheartaigh on in the background. I find that when I put rte radio one on the DAB radio the commentary and the action are in sync. It was brilliant. Ger Canning should be hung, drawn and quartered, the man is a disgrace, how he has been getting away with his nonsense this long is beyond me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Best Canning quote?

"an honours degree in hindsight and retrospective"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Can somebody please tell me why Ger Canning keeps getting the top gig despite the fact Darragh Maloney is a far superior commentator. Do RTE have a performance appraisal programme? If I was Daragh I'd be a little pissed to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

I don't think he ever hurled, the comments are poor and never right,

i didn't realise they didn't show the celebrations....had to go to a club match and had the radio on and could hear yer man murdering the song after the presentation......seemed a spontanious celebration and something unique and typical of RTE to miss it....no showing on the Sunday game either:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭seekers

The "Celebrations" were tacky. The tape coming down from the stands was the last word altogether, absolutely rediculous. C Cooney has got his way on this. It wasn't what was voted for when the redevelopment went ahead. This is state body mentality, no wonder Fás is in such a mess, don't get me started

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

give them another chance to get it right

2010 is all about keeping the fans off the pitch
    the gaa can work on the award ceremony - looked p*ss poor though, budget musta been about 250 quid

for the minors it was even greater cringe - black eyed peas banging away in the background ffs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I was at the game today, and supporting Tipp (from Kerry) I must say the GAA made a right hash on todays final. The PreMatch entertainment was an exact copy of lasts years big air sliotars and drum music, presumably the Football final will be the same like Kerry and Cork last year.

Keeping the fans off the pitch was a total and utter disgrace and I saw at least two Tipperary young lads being badly assaulted by the thugs the GAA have policing this. I just hope the Cork or Down boys break them down and put manners in the GAA. It felt so soulless and no different than if I was in the Aviva. The GAA have sold out and are destroying themselves.

Congrats to Tipp, a grand bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

The minor presentation was an absolute disgrace. The Black Eyed Peas blasted out before the speech was finished or the trophy was even presented.

there was no speeches for the minor
    just handed out the trophy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Stinicker wrote: »
    I was at the game today, and supporting Tipp (from Kerry) I must say the GAA made a right hash on todays final. The PreMatch entertainment was an exact copy of lasts years big air sliotars and drum music, presumably the Football final will be the same like Kerry and Cork last year.

Keeping the fans off the pitch was a total and utter disgrace and I saw at least two Tipperary young lads being badly assaulted by the thugs the GAA have policing this. I just hope the Cork or Down boys break them down and put manners in the GAA. It felt so soulless and no different than if I was in the Aviva. The GAA have sold out and are destroying themselves.

Congrats to Tipp, a grand bunch of lads.

On TV, it looked very dark. Do you think they could have turned on the lights towards the end.

hardly a good use of scarce resources colm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭Frankie5Angels

DH2K9 wrote: »
    Darragh Moloney better be doing the football all games from now on.

Fixed that for ya. Both Ger and Marty are awful to listen to.
    Best Canning quote?

"an honours degree in hindsight and retrospective"

A few weeks ago (not sure of the match) the flag raised for a goal was red, according to Ger.:pac:

Colm R wrote: »
    On TV, it looked very dark. Do you think they could have turned on the lights towards the end.

Not near the end but at half time and half way through the 2nd half it would have made it a much better spectacle as it was getting as dark as the Kerry V Galway SFC 1/4 final in 2008 when the 2 teams asked for them to be turned on.

I was in the lower davin and the sheer speed of the sliotar coupled with mist, and those bloody nets saw me resorting to the big screen to find out what was happening down the Hill 16 end. Those nets are a god awful plague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Aiel

I've been saying for years how bad Ger Canning is,he doesnt do a good game justice,you feel he's going through the motions,not getting into it at all.I like the co-commentator though,yer man from Offaly,i forget his name.Hes a former player and you can tell from nearly every comment that he's very clued in,unlike the muppet beside him.
    One good thing i will say about Rte is their camera work.Hurling is the 2nd fastest sport in the world and thus the speed needed to switch between wide shot camera's and close up shots is very high but they do it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Aiel wrote: »
    I've been saying for years how bad Ger Canning is,he doesnt do a good game justice,you feel he's going through the motions,not getting into it at all.I like the co-commentator though,yer man from Offaly,i forget his name.Hes a former player and you can tell from nearly every comment that he's very clued in,unlike the muppet beside him.
    One good thing i will say about Rte is their camera work.Hurling is the 2nd fastest sport in the world and thus the speed needed to switch between wide shot camera's and close up shots is very high but they do it well.
    Its Michael Dignan.

I know plenty people who can't stand him either. He's no barrel of laugh's but he is clued in to be fair

A bit off topic from the Canning bashing (richly deserved btw) but what is the fastest sport in the world? Ice Hockey I presume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

04072511 wrote: »
    A bit off topic from the Canning bashing (richly deserved btw) but what is the fastest sport in the world? Ice Hockey I presume?

Jai alai, a Spanish sport.

Big Ears wrote: »
    Jai alai, a Spanish sport.

Think I read once that Hurling is the fastest Field sport in the world. That would probably be pretty accurate. Its certainly far faster than Soccer, Gaelic Football, Rugby Union and League, American Football, Australian Rules, Cricket, Baseball. There is no way its faster than Ice Hockey though. Not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Aiel

Hurling is the fastest field sport in the world,ice hockey the fastest of any type with hurling second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

conno16 wrote: »
    there was no speeches for the minor
    just handed out the trophy

The guy presenting the trophy was cut off in the middle of his speech.

Hurling is the fastest field sport in the world,ice hockey the fastest of any type with hurling second.

Agreed that Ice Hockey is the fastest team sport and Hurling second.

However there are plenty other (non-team) sports that are just as fast and need very quick camera work to pick up the action. Formula 1 would be one, Golf would be another (Not easy to pick up a ball flying at massive speeds in the middle of the air). Some of the top tennis players serve at 150 mph. Usain Bolt covers 100 metres in 9.58 seconds.

Hurling is the fastest FIELD sport however. I think thats one thing we'd probably all agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

gally74 wrote: »
    Why oh why could they not show the "halter mountain boy" rather than commentary,

Because it was the All-Ireland Hurling Final and not the All-Ireland Talent(less) Show. If you were more interested in singing than what had to be said in the analysis of the match, then Electric Picnic was the place to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

rte didn't show it because of what the song is about

aDeener wrote: »
    rte didn't show it because of what the song is about

RTE are a disgrace sitting pretty in leafy D4 completely detached from Rural Ireland. The GAA was very much a driving force for our Independence and that song is very much part of the Tipperary tradition, as is "Rebels" at the core of Cork GAA. We cannot allow our history to be erased is in the name of political correctness.

lizt wrote: »
    The guy presenting the trophy was cut off in the middle of his speech.

now i wouldn't mind that.....that joker loves to hear himself talk (like a lot of clerics)witnessed him after 06 minor football final and he just waffled on and on .....fella behind me shouted up at him "i only came here so i wouldn't have to go to mass and now i have to listen to you"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

We should fight back, rte and the ga a are out of touch , 13 panellists on the Sunday game getting paid 2000 1500 and 800 off the Walls , and the barrier is another insult

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭katie99

What is it with RTE employing female sports GAA reporters?
    They don't know what they are talking about.
    I watched the RTE television news on Sunday night at 9pm and Clare Mc Namara was presenting the sports news. She looked, as always, totally pissed off with her job. Would some senior editor in Montrose please, please tell that lady to smile, her face won't crack!!
    She stood there and her body language told me she just couldn't have been bothered.
    As for Evanne Ni Quillan - would some senior editor send her for elocution lessons. And explain to her about emphasing some words and phrases so as to add a sense of excitment to her reports. You're not in school now Evanne reading your poem or school essay. Show a bit more personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

It was the panellist last Sunday who repeatedly spoke about the need to put 'de ball over de bar' and about various hurlers who 'should ''of went''..... ' I could go on and on. It was cringe worthy, on our NATIONAL broadcaster to hear basic grammar mistakes and poor diction. If the panellists are being paid, the least we can expect is correct grammar and diction. Perhaps some of the money earned could be spent on elocution lessons?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,575 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

It's funny cause it seems no one likes any Irish broadcaster. Same old, same old self hating Irish. The Brits do everything better.
    Another thread says how one broadcaster is too posh with his 'pseudo-accent', and now the rest need elocution lessons.
    Face it lads, these people have class jobs and that, in the eyes of your average Irish begrudger, is a terrible thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

overmantle wrote: »
    It was the panellist last Sunday who repeatedly spoke about the need to put 'de ball over de bar' and about various hurlers who 'should ''of went''..... ' I could go on and on. It was cringe worthy, on our NATIONAL broadcaster to hear basic grammar mistakes and poor diction. If the panellists are being paid, the least we can expect is correct grammar and diction. Perhaps some of the money earned could be spent on elocution lessons?

Who are you to critisize Ger Loughnane? Like seriously get a grip on yourself - a great manager and a legend of the game, good craic on the panel and not afraid to speak his mind

Oh no he has a Clare accent! How did that happen? :rolleyes:

Surely what ye want on panels is people who have actually achieved something in the game and played/managed at the top level - not posh lads who know nothing about the game but who's accents meet your approval?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

overmantle wrote: »

yes let's get kevin myers or someone like that on