Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Up for the Match

• 04-09-2010 9:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭

God awful TV*!!

It does nothing for the GAA's image, its just terrible telivision.

A proper analysis of the match the night before the final would be something to look forward to and would be welcomed.

(*with the exception showing the country the classic song "sam maguire is coming home to mayo" in 1996)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

God awful TV*!!

A proper analysis of the match the night before the final would be something to look forward to and would be welcomed.

(*with the exception showing the country the classic song "sam maguire is coming home to mayo" in 1996)

I dont mind up for the match, a bit of lighthearted TV the night before the final is okay.

However I do feel there should be a preview show every Saturday night during the championship, on RTE2 at about the 8.30/9.00 mark. For the final they could keep the proper preview show and then run up for the match after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Aghh it's not too bad. A bit of chat and banter and some past players slagging.

Jesus that Catbusters thing is so cringeworthy, likewise the KK song with the Sawdoctors tune to it.

Jaysus Westernzulu might be right. Catbusters that was bloody shocking.
    There been politically correct anyway letting the ladies have there part!
    Miss ireland, i'll give you a ticket, to my pants!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

KevIRL wrote: »
    Jesus that Catbusters thing is so cringeworthy, likewise the KK song with the Sawdoctors tune to it.

The bar was set high with sam maguire is coming home to mayo in fairness :pac:

Definitely agree with the point that there should be a program on either mid week or saturday evenings before championship matches as a preview to the games.

Well suppose TV3 do that in fairness to them.

Christ. The Premier Rap.

I retract my earlier support of this!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,013 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Fair Fúcks to the Rattler - great interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

baldbear wrote: »

There'd be no shortage of lads doling out those tickets to her i'll bet :D (me included ) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

This show looks like a transition year project.

Has Grainne had a breast reduction ?

Grainnes rack does look reduced, weightloss? or a gammy dress!

Jaysus sport stacking? what does that have to do with hurling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Grainne has a great pair of legs :D Makes the show worth watching :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

teednab-el wrote: »
    Grainne has a great pair of legs :D Makes the show worth watching :D

yea, but its not up for the snatch , she should learn to cross her legs

baldbear wrote: »

ha ha ha Wouldnt we all mate wouldn't we all! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

argosy2006 wrote: »
    yea, but its not up for the snatch , she should learn to cross her legs

I certainly wont be writing into RTE complaining about this thats for sure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

In fairness, this years Up for the Match was better than last years, and a lot more youth involved which I liked.
    I enjoyed the Premier rap :rolleyes:
    they could have got Darragh Moloney to co present though, would be way better than Des Cahill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,809 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

God awful TV*!!

It highlights the gombeen element that has ruined this country:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Gipo3

God awful TV*!!

RTE cant do analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭thesultan

RTE have to use Joe Hayes , really funny every time he is on, the rattler was brillant. I liked the Tipp rap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    Has Grainne had a breast reduction ?

No, but Des could do with one!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭katie99

I watched that Up for the Match and thought it was dire television.
    My God it was like going back in history.
    It was dreadful stuff.
    Not one bit entertaining.
    I thought Ireland was much more sophisticated than that.
    Silly, inane interviews with an owl fella you couldn't understand.
    The same boring, clichéd tributes to commentator MoM.
    The same old boring Des Cahill who can't say a sentence without mmmmin his way through it, and then trying to be funny with his juvenile comments that he laughs at himself. Stop dyeing your hair too and let it go grey naturally.
    As for puss in boots Grainne showoff! Well, leave her to ITV , they will soon see through her. She was never a news journalist, but a news reader.
    Big difference!
    Surely there are more competent female TV presenters in RTE who have a natural, down to earth personality. Or some of the elegant TG4 girls.
    But in general they should take the cuchie ethos out of the show.
    I was waiting all night to see the audience picking their noses before opening their tinfoil wrapped hang, egg, onion, cheese and pickle sangwiches.

thesultan wrote: »
    I liked the Tipp rap.

"Brian Cody i know karate. Get your hands off Liam McCarthy :D !"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Up for the match is the worst thing about about All Ireland final weekend. It is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭parish girl

Must say I enjoyed the programme. wasn't looking forward to it before hand but it gave us a chance to see the characters/ personalities off the field. Thought the Rattler and Joe hayes great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

get rid of des and that would represent suitable progress imo

may as well have anne doyle or bryan dobbo there instead
    i think jason sherlock has been linked to the role in the past
    not sure this would work well but it would be a great gig for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭djScarey

Hard to please everyone, but Gráinne and her Gaeilge more than compensate for the "suave-modern" Cahill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭flipall

I really dont think grainne knows enough to be on a show like that, a show with player stats and proper relivent info would have been better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

I thought it was grand but that's probably me showing my age. Eamonn Fanning done an excellent piece in the Sunday Independent a few weeks ago, about how RTE GAA analysis is so poor compare to their analysis of soccer and rugby. He puts it down to lack of competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

are you suggesting that tv3 should introduce a rival programme on the saturday night before all-ireland finals

Up for the Game with Trevor Welsh, Martin King and Glenda Gilson