Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Set of Clubs (Intermediate)

• 02-09-2010 10:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭

hi lads & lassies!

i used to play golf bout 6 years ago, mainly par 3's and few full courses. never had a handicap but was fairly decent. i don't really have trouble driving etc and can hit it a fair distance (putting was my downfall!). i had a set of hand me down Wilsons, but i'm now looking to get back into it.

the problem is, i'm going to buy a whole new set of clubs (irons, wood, driver, putter etc) but i havn't a clue really what i should be looking for. i'd rather not buy a starter set as i feel i'd only have to upgrade them soon, so i'd prefer to splash out on something that will last me a good few years.

would any one have any recommendations? i dont really have a budget, but i suppose €500 would be a rough guidline.

in mc guirk's they were recommending "Adams Golf" irons to me. I liked the look & feel of em but i wouldn't be familiar with this brand, and would probably prefer something a little more well known.

any guidelines/info you might have would be great. thnks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Lots to choose from, all the usual suspects (there are plenty of threads on that sort of club on here if you give a quick search).
    I use Cobra S9s and am delighted with them having got me down to single figures now, but just to let you know Adams would also be a decent brand Langer, Tom Watson, Chad Campbell among others would use them on the mens/senior tour and Yani Tseng on the LPGA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭dublander

cheers Webbs! just lookin' for a rough idea of what i should be lookin for when i pop in to buy 'em later! ill have a search now & see what i can find!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 paul brady

Hi Ive got a full set of callaway 18x clubs the full set and a brand new ping golf bag got them a few years ago as a present,played 2 rounds and gave up no time to play the, hole set cost 1500euro so i could let them go for 700euro,i know it sounds a bit much but they are brand new and in perfect condition.Cheers Paul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

dublander wrote: »
    cheers Webbs! just lookin' for a rough idea of what i should be lookin for when i pop in to buy 'em later! ill have a search now & see what i can find!

Nikey Victory would be my suggestion.
    Mcguirks will throw in a free nikey t-shirt as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

conno16 wrote: »

<takes pinch of salt......>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Whos this Nikey you talk of? A new make from asia perhaps or is it the knock off brand you are playing with at the moment?

big time american brand
    just do it catchphrase
    also got the famous swoosh

currently in discussions with S Lowery for a big money deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

big time american brand
    just do it catchphrase
    also got the famous swoosh

currently in discussions with S Lowery for a big money deal

Who is S Lowery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

hi lads & lassies!

i used to play golf bout 6 years ago, mainly par 3's and few full courses. never had a handicap but was fairly decent. i don't really have trouble driving etc and can hit it a fair distance (putting was my downfall!). i had a set of hand me down Wilsons, but i'm now looking to get back into it.

the problem is, i'm going to buy a whole new set of clubs (irons, wood, driver, putter etc) but i havn't a clue really what i should be looking for. i'd rather not buy a starter set as i feel i'd only have to upgrade them soon, so i'd prefer to splash out on something that will last me a good few years.

would any one have any recommendations? i dont really have a budget, but i suppose €500 would be a rough guidline.

in mc guirk's they were recommending "Adams Golf" irons to me. I liked the look & feel of em but i wouldn't be familiar with this brand, and would probably prefer something a little more well known.

any guidelines/info you might have would be great. thnks

Just a quick word of warning, if your looking at a budget of about 500euro your not going to be able to buy a full set of clubs if you want them all to be brand new and of a well known brand.

If you are willing to buy second hand then u can get very good stuff for that amount of money. Also remember that although there generally is an improvement between say a Ping G10 and a Ping G15 the amount of improvement may not be "worth it" in terms of the amount of additional money commanded by the newer model.

Its often times best to maybe peace together a bag, as in start with a new set of irons and use your existing woods and putter before adding new woods etc as more money becomes available or when a good offer comes along.

As for Adams gear, although not well known over here its very popular over in America and it is a very reputable brand. Their idea hybrids are widely used on the PGA tour.

A note to you, always take whatever Canno16 says with a pinch of salt, he's the forums troll.

Regards
    Ian

if your looking at a budget of about 500euro your not going to be able to buy a full set of clubs if you want them all to be brand new and of a well known brand.

Regards
    Ian

not sure i'd agree with that..
    wander into any golf store or online shop with a 500 euro budget and you'd be more than welcome

TM burners etc for about 350 - perfect beginner clubs
    driver and a putter then for around 150-200 is more than possible

just my two cents

not sure i'd agree with that..
    wander into any golf store or online shop with a 500 euro budget and you'd be more than welcome

TM burners etc for about 350 - perfect beginner clubs
    driver and a putter then for around 150-200 is more than possible

just my two cents

I know they say don't feed the troll but I'll bite!!!

Yes u could get a putter and driver for 150/200 but what about the 3wood and 5wood, or 3wood and hybrid or 3wood 5 wood and hybrid that a lot of people have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

veetwin wrote: »
    Who is S Lowery?

Would have thought it was pretty obvious

http://www.pgatour.com/players/00/17/07/

Yes u could get a putter and driver for 150/200 but what about the 3wood and 5wood, or 3wood and hybrid or 3wood 5 wood and hybrid that a lot of people have.

and a golf bag and trolley
    may as well stick in transportation to/from the course
    and golf shoes with appropriate apparel
    he'll prob need a budget to finance food in the club house after as well

clearly i have not thought this thru

thanks for the advice lads, only seen some of your replies now.

ended up getting the TM Burners, Callaway Diablo Big Bertha, bag and 3 wood for a decent price. went over my budget slightly but still within reason. Have an old putter i'll stick with for the moment til the funds recoup!

cheers

good to see you took my advice..
    you'll go far in the golf world

sorry to bring this thread up again lads but need your opinions on this!

so hit the driving range this evening to give the new clubs their first outing. started with the driver (Callaway Big Berth Diablo) as you would as i was dying to give it a blast. first 2 shots went grand. 3rd shot i hit the ball perfectly but next thing my mate starts laughing. the head of the club had ripped off and flew 100 yards down the range! no joke! further than the ball!! what the hell!!!?

obviously couldn't walk that far out on the range and get it so have to get it back tomorrow morning and then return the club to the shop! (still within 28 day warranty thing)

im presuming the club was faulty or something, just wondering if anyone has experienced anything like this before!? was bizaare! considering exchanging it for a different brand, any recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Was it new? If so then it is possible though unlikely that there was a fault (head not glued on).

Or maybe it was a cheap fake.

brand new, only bought em last week from a reputable shop in dundrum so i doubt it was a fake! happened on my 3rd shot (ever)!

Bring it back, you should be absolutely fine. Callaway are a very reputable brand, I've never heard of that happening to a club before but I suppose these things happen. I'd be inclined to stick with the driver u had, if a second one goes then of course I'd change brand but I'd give them a second chance this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭jimmystars

sorry to bring this thread up again lads but need your opinions on this!

so hit the driving range this evening to give the new clubs their first outing. started with the driver (Callaway Big Berth Diablo) as you would as i was dying to give it a blast. first 2 shots went grand. 3rd shot i hit the ball perfectly but next thing my mate starts laughing. the head of the club had ripped off and flew 100 yards down the range! no joke! further than the ball!! what the hell!!!?

obviously couldn't walk that far out on the range and get it so have to get it back tomorrow morning and then return the club to the shop! (still within 28 day warranty thing)

im presuming the club was faulty or something, just wondering if anyone has experienced anything like this before!? was bizaare! considering exchanging it for a different brand, any recommendations?

Happened to me. I used to put my clubs into the boot of the car and i ended up breaking the driver. It was a tight fit to get the clubs in the boot. Broke halfway around the course but you could see the damage had already been done.
    Always fire the woods in the back seat now.

jimmystars wrote: »
    Happened to me. I used to put my clubs into the boot of the car and i ended up breaking the driver. It was a tight fit to get the clubs in the boot. Broke halfway around the course but you could see the damage had already been done.
    Always fire the woods in the back seat now.

i could see how that would happen! just had em lying on the back seat, on top my mate's bag so there was no way they were damaged beforehand. cheers for the advice tho, think ill prob just stick with the same club because i do like it, just hope it doesnt happen again!