Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to buy??!?!

• 02-09-2010 9:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

I'm going around in circles trying to decide on what to buy. I currently drive a 99 1.3 toyota corolla with 120k miles on the clock. I'm working in dublin and drive to and from cork most weekends. i have about a half an hour drive to and from work monday to friday in suburban driving. I've probably put up about 22k or so miles in 12 months.

Can anyone advise if i would be better off looking for a diesel and if so what would ye guys recommend?

I'd like a saloon and an engine size of around 1.4-2.0. I was maybe thinking of something along the lines of a saab 9-3, avensis, mazda 3 or 6, passat, honda accord, bmw 3series, volvo s40, or a golf, focus, astra hatchbacks.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

macrory wrote: »

I'm going around in circles trying to decide on what to buy. I currently drive a 99 1.3 toyota corolla with 120k miles on the clock. I'm working in dublin and drive to and from cork most weekends. i have about a half an hour drive to and from work monday to friday in suburban driving. I've probably put up about 22k or so miles in 12 months.

Can anyone advise if i would be better off looking for a diesel and if so what would ye guys recommend?

I'd like a saloon and an engine size of around 1.4-2.0. I was maybe thinking of something along the lines of a saab 9-3, avensis, mazda 3 or 6, passat, honda accord, bmw 3series, volvo s40, or a golf, focus, astra hatchbacks.

Personally I'd go for this or maybe this, both are quite nippy (although I'm told a Charade is also nippy :D) and should suit fine for the motorway driving you do.

You might provide a bit more information though just to nail down 100% what you're looking for. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 macrory

2 serious cars there shane! thanks for your input!

all im looking for really is some advice on things like petrol/diesel. what size engine id ideally need. im not looking for anything too big and dont want to break the bank so really looking for advice on the best value car for the type of driving i typically do.

id be looking at a budget of about 7 or 8k max to put with my own car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

macrory wrote: »

Keep the Corolla until it dies then buy a new car, you'll get feck all for it on trade in anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

What year are you looking to buy?

Like if you were willing to go buy a 2001 you'd be able to pick up an M3! Maybe something like this - http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/318ci-'M/201025198556638/advert?channel=CARS or maybe http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Passat/Comfortl/201026198581644/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Jesus Christ.

Would ye get real lads. 22K miles a year.

OP you need a diesel at that mileage unless you like spending a large chunk of your income on petrol.

Not knowing your budget and seeing the wide variety of cars you listed I would recommend you to go and test drive a few of them, since you seem open to them all.

On a side note I drive a diesel 3 series and would recommend one, but I'm unaware of your budget and I would only recommend an 04+.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭frank gooding

Man that BMW price looks very very optomisitc.

Amazing the dremers out there.