Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Setting up a garage at home

• 01-09-2010 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭

Right, the time has come to finally start setting up my own garage and would like to hear from anyone who has set one up (at home) and any tips or advice you would give.

First off, can anyone advise on a compressor? Would I be looking for a 2 or 3 phase to run off a 220v feed? I've decided, after being advised by a few others, to go with a 200 litre - no point buying something smaller and having to upgrade after adding a tyre machine or other high comsumption device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

This is something I always wanted to do but unfortunately I don't have a garage big enough for the job. Someday I plan on buying/renting out a garage somewhere cheap where I can work on restoring classics and selling them...

Anyway I don't know much about compressors but i'ld say it'ld be good to have a car lift (or whatever it's called). It'ld make working under the car much easier. Though these are quite pricey and take up quite some space. An engine hoist would be a good thing to have as well if you wanna work on engine/transmission and such...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Right, the time has come to finally start setting up my own garage and would like to hear from anyone who has set one up (at home) and any tips or advice you would give.

First off, can anyone advise on a compressor? Would I be looking for a 2 or 3 phase to run off a 220v feed? I've decided, after being advised by a few others, to go with a 200 litre - no point buying something smaller and having to upgrade after adding a tyre machine or other high comsumption device.

Well if you only have 220v coming on the garage site then everything you will get will have to be single phase.

I would also advise that you get a large 1000L tank on a pallet, like what you would find in a factory and use it to store your burnt oil. You could possibly set up a small oil burner to heat the place during the winter and stop the oil from building up. There is a thread in the 4x4 forum about how to build one of these.

If you want a 2 poster lift there is a guy I know that might be able to help you, I can PM you his number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Capt - I have a garage, but just for me :D no interest in doing it for a living anymore....

Anyhoo: compressor's. First, whilst 200l is a good idea, what's equally important is the flow rate of the pump. No point in a big tank, small pump, and then running hi-volume tools of it. Make a list of a few tools you're likely to have, and find the highest CFM (flow rate) of them, and work to that. Be reasonable, don't size it for the new all-singing all-dancing tyre yoke you plan to get in 5 yrs time. Use the 80/20 rule. No point in big bucks for something you use 20% of the time.

You can always sell/trade it, in a few years time if it goes well. I bough a 100l unit, and it runs most of what I do, but you can pick up 200L very cheap these days. With the 100L, on wheels, I can wheel it outside, and do small jobs outisde the workshop etc. Damn handy, I tell ya. Fill it up, and then go around the yard and pump all the tyres - no need to move the vee-hickles.

Car lift. A must. I'm thinking of getting one now too (talk to me Slidey :) ) as I built the floor to take one, originally. I'm just getting too frickin' old for lying down/yada-yada.

Other big thing: light. Loads of it. Paint walls white. Ceiling white. Tile the floor (I have porcelain...........takes trolley jacks, and they don't crack: and not expensive anymore). Also makes it v.v. easy to spot stuff you drop, leaks :eek:, etc.

Put a slat board, or peg board, or mesh sheet on the wall, or part thereof. That way you can hang stuff willy-nilly, as you need to (say, as you strip parts of something, and you need a place to put them whilst you're working). An example is, say, a wing, door cards, trim generally. Hang it on a wire on the board, and it can't get stood on, stuff spilt on it, driven over.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Slidey wrote: »
    I would also advise that you get a large 1000L tank on a pallet, like what you would find in a factory and use it to store your burnt oil. You could possibly set up a small oil burner to heat the place during the winter and stop the oil from building up. There is a thread in the 4x4 forum about how to build one of these..

One thing about that: fire. And afaik (..open to correction), EPA have banned those commercial oil burners - you need an EPA licence to use them. I know a garage with an old one, and, tbh, it just fills the place with fumes. Warm fumes, I grant ya,but fumes all the same. Don't want to nod off in a CO atmosphere.......:eek:

Oh, and 1000L, if you have to move it, bloody hell, heavy !

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

You could be right about the weight but if you fill it you then will have enough to get it taken away and make it worth their while calling. I am also used to trucks and have nearly filled one in less than a year from servicing a fleet of 8.

There is a thread here and the guy ozzirt has a video of his one working on youtube.

Anyway, back on topic.

I would avoid those reels on the walls for airlines and also those coil style ones. Personally I find one that you can just coil up yourself and throw in the corner is a better job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

I was looking at this compressor, seems a very reasonable price for something that's delivered.

I won't be putting in a lift straight away:mad: have to do some extension work to the shed first. Back on my knees and out with the axle stands!

As for air lines: I've worked in garages that used the reel type and a curled up hose hooked onto the wall. I'd prefer a good reel but cost would probably prevent me putting one in straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

This seems to be the best value engine crane
    http://www.sjebbandsons.com/lifting--presses-52-c.asp

I have no connection with the company apart from having bought an engine crane from them earlier this year.

Oh ya, another vital piece of equipment for any garage is a big strong fcuk off door to stop bastards breakin in.

I know a guy wit a garage who built a strong room that he puts all his tools into every night so even if they get into the garage they will struggle to take anything with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Digitaljunkie

And don't forget the most important tool of all "Insurance". ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

I remembered seeing one fella's compressor setup and taught it might give you some ideas. He claims it only took an hour to put the box together. He is good though. You should see his fab work. :)

02072009427.jpg
    07072009441.jpg
    07072009442.jpg
    07072009440.jpg
    02072009429.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Minimum 3 horsies on the compressor front.

I got mine for sjebb and sons. Good to deal with. Also got a nice 30 tonne press from them. Delivered next day.
    http://www.sjebbandsons.com/

Best of luck.

Does anyone know if it would be easy to convert a 2/3 phase to single phase or buy something to plug in between the compressor and power source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭hiluxman

either you will have to change the motor to a 230v single phase or buy a inverter to change the voltage to 400v 3 phase, nether way is particulay cheap, buy a 230v single phase compressor, much less hastle

One of the mags I will actually fork out for is Car Mechanics and low and behold, they have an article about building your own garage or workshop! It doesn't go into what you put into it but actually erecting the premises and the options available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

One of the mags I will actually fork out for is Car Mechanics and low and behold, they have an article about building your own garage or workshop! It doesn't go into what you put into it but actually erecting the premises and the options available.
    Just what I need. Next year i'll be qualified so im going to bust a loan out and build a single lift garage. Its just for myself at home to do nixers. Im half thinking about getting an aluminium shed, quicker to install and cheaper than brick I would say.

I'll need a good lift as well because I hope to do vans and you wont really manage that with a small lift. A big barrel of oil, tools, jacks, lift, lights, engine crane, engine stay, how much are we looking at here including the shed. As cheaply as possible I hope.

Would anyone have a rough estimate?

I was doing a rough estimate, it'd probably take the guts of 20k to put up a premises and kit it out with some essentials - that's not including what you've put into your toolbox.

I suppose i'd be looking at €25000 roughly then. Hopefully try and pay it back in 3 years then csl time:D This looks good for the price and single phase simplicity. Are you going down the brick route or aluminium?

I'm not sure now, there's some sheds on the land I'm hoping to set up on - not sure whether to extend a shed or build new.

Jaysus, I'd be hoping to get going as lot cheaper than that.

Try this lad for your lifts, he might be able to help ye out

Jaysus, I'd be hoping to get going as lot cheaper than that.

Try this lad for your lifts, he might be able to help ye out
    Are you starting up as well slidey? Thats the recession I tell ye! TBH I'd prefer to get second hand quality equipment instead of new crap products. Whats the story with planning permission would you need it for an aluminium shed, I heard you dont but that could be way off the mark!

I would intend on putting up a shed but I'll be putting in a pit. You won't get the height you need for a 2 poster lift without getting planning if you want to build a shed.

I also prefer to work on vans and don't think they are all the suitable for 2 posters.

I was told you may put up a temporary structure (;)) so long as it was under 32 square meters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭PADRAIC.M

I have done this, the garage is a alluminium garage with a remote roll up door, with concrete and garage built cost me about 7k then my brother wired it up for free but materials cost 800 for lights and wires etc spent 3k on a good scirrors lift which can lift anything i need- vans,jeeps,cars and compared to a 2 or 4 poster doesnt take away any space with big posts, spent the guts of 10 k on other tools, compressor, airguns, etc.. thats what you are talking about roughly, but you need to be doing a good bit of work to get value for your money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 dotz

just a slight bit off topic but i was just wondering if anyone has heard of a 2 post literally giving way and the car on it becoming a write off?????????

dotz wrote: »
    just a slight bit off topic but i was just wondering if anyone has heard of a 2 post literally giving way and the car on it becoming a write off?????????
    Never heard of that but I suppose it would happen if you put the car or van on wrong, lets say way to far to the front.

I know of a car that slipped off the pads when 2 boys were dragging out of the gearbox.

It fell down between the posts and got a rough enough doing.

I know of a car that slipped off the pads when 2 boys were dragging out of the gearbox.

It fell down between the posts and got a rough enough doing.
    Were the lads alright? The Polish lad in work he is like a savage removing and fitting a gearbox. "Cuurava maada"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

Yup great mag. Very good diagnostic tips too. Have been subscribed to this for years and years... well worth read. You can back order some copies from the website that have service/repair/diagnostic articles on 'your' particular car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 THOMAS TYRRELL

hi ive just set up my own garage during the summer, not from home, im renting a unit.
    first defo get a 200l compressor a 2 post lift, oil drainer, laser wheel alignment guages(mine cost 500 and have already more than paid for themselfs), a good place to buy a lot of this stuff is a company called redmount in dundalk, theyre quite reasonable. I did also buy some stuff from s jebb in cork- they were very cheap, but to be honest i got what i paid for. I dont mean its sh*t, ive just used better.
    Theres so much to think of , insurance, service indemnity, public liuability.etc,etc... if you uwant to quiz me send me a pm with ur no n ill give u a shout and go through some pros n cons.

tom

Redmount seem to be cheap alright, I'd be interested in getting a clear floor 2 poster lift able for cars to big enough vans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

And at this stage,