Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My 50e Free bet

• 31-08-2010 11:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭

Well lads,opened a Celtic phone account there at the start of the month,it's class. I've already gotten a free 50 quid bet that I've used and a free 50 euro outright bet on the winner of the Championship(come on boro! :D)
    Now I have another free bet tomorrow.
    Anybody any suggestions as to what to use it on? I don't usually ask for advice,but as it's free I'll see what suggestions I get.
    I was currently thinking 50 quid on Backstage for the national,or 50 on Zenyatta for the Breeders' Cup,what do ye reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭pejesus

ARE YOU JUST LOOKING FOR A LONG TERM INVESTMENT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I'M OPEN TO SUGGESTIONS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Stick it on Messi to be the CL top-scorer at 7-1 generally. He has been top scorer the past 2 years and second the year before that. Plus he plays for the best team in the World who scores lot of goals and are in a piss-poor group - thats it plus you get a lot of fun for your bet.

I was thinking of that alright Warper,had seen that in the football section in the gambling forum. Might double it up with something else,for the fun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Stick the 50 on Snow Fairy to win the St. Leger at 5/1 !!

I'm afraid Zenyatta at 5/1 is a more solid bet than Snow Fairy in my book,and I can't see past Rewilding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Stick it on Newcastle at home to Blackpool ;)

Hmm a bit short,might double it up with another bet?

That and Norwich at home Barnsley maybe :)

Or maybe back a top goalscorer? Like Bent to be top scorer, €25 e/w, doubled with a few European league winners :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

newcastly at home to blackpool also
    what price though? evens maybe?

birmingham draw no bet home to pool
    which will probaly be about 11/10or5/4
    mind you ill probably back them to beat
    pool anyway or lay pool and given pool will probably
    be around evens id say brum should be around 5/2
    or better.
    Backing against liverpool away will turn out be
    be a sensible option this season again i reckon.

also, since that fool has gone to inter id say
    laying inter away from home mightnt be a bad idea either.

Newcastle are only 4/6 surprisingly.
    Although, I think there's still some value in that. I for one shall be betting heavily on my beloved Toon! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

If I had a 50e bet I'd prolly go a bit mad and stick it on one of Aidankkk's long shot bets that he himself feels confident about. Mite mean waiting a few days but if it places you'd make a nice little bank on top of that fifty. Risky but then again it is a free bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭FernandoTorres

AC Milan to win the Champions League at 22/1 is a good bet I think. Looked very impressive at the weekend and if they can keep the likes of Ronaldinho, Robinho and Ibrahimovic in form they could be a serious force!

scopper wrote: »
    If I had a 50e bet I'd prolly go a bit mad and stick it on one of Aidankkk's long shot bets that he himself feels confident about. Mite mean waiting a few days but if it places you'd make a nice little bank on top of that fifty. Risky but then again it is a free bet.

Don't waste it hey.
    Do a sensible double and turn it into 200€ + over time.

Can easily* be done. :)

* Terms and conditions apply.Subject to availability and sheer luck

AC Milan to win the Champions League at 22/1 is a good bet I think. Looked very impressive at the weekend and if they can keep the likes of Ronaldinho, Robinho and Ibrahimovic in form they could be a serious force!

Any team with Ibrahimovich in it is not worth betting on in my opinion :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Doocey wrote: »
    Newcastle are only 4/6 surprisingly.
    Although, I think there's still some value in that. I for one shall be betting heavily on my beloved Toon! :D

I think 4-6 is a good price. That is only with PP as everyone else has them at 8-13 or 4-7 which I think is more reflective of the likeliest outcome. But ya they stand out as the nap of next weekend's PL action.

I think it's a good price alright,but I don't get the stake back,so it works out worse if you think of it that way.

• Moderators Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Stick it on Poet's Place for the Ayr Gold Cup.

He will win it. ;)

I'll have my ante-post bet/reasoning up in a couple of days. He's going to be a classy horse.

Have you a price on it pyro?
    I just don't think I can back a horse in a handicap with near 30 runners.

• Moderators Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭x PyRo

It's 10/1 now. He put in a stunning effort at Haydock, barely looked troubled in such a good race, won by 4 lengths or so. He's going to be very special, there was 16 runners in that race so wouldn't worry how big the field is, he'll only get better too and if the ground has even a little bit of cut in it he'll smash them easily.

I got 33/1 a while back in the local before he won at Haydock, I'm not sure if anywhere were offering prices on him then but they layed me 33's anyways. Got quite a bit on him e/w.

Ah good luck with it but I never really bet on the big handicaps. If I do it's usually a fiver each way or so.
    This is what I'm thinking so far:
    50 Double on Zenyatta and Messi to be CL top scorer.

I think I've just thrown it away,**** it you can't win without trying :D
    50 win onThe Composer 3.20 Lingfield 20/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

greetings wrote: »
    I think I've just thrown it away,**** it you can't win without trying :D
    50 win onThe Composer 3.20 Lingfield 20/1

The fun bet sounds like the right bet to me for a free bet :D

Haha,I'd rather do that and have a chance of getting a nice return than say an even money shot. I already used my last 50 quid free bet on a winner at 15/8 so may aswell try a long shot that I quite fancy to place at least. Ignore the last run,he put in two good seconds before it,and has a chance in my book. Here's hoping. :D

Aw well there goes my free bet,came 4th. I genuinely thought that 3 furlongs out he was going to win when he came out on the outside but never picked up.