Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you recommend

• 31-08-2010 8:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭

Have been a named driver for the past few years and its time now to buy my own car. Mid-twenties, full license. Have about 5k to spend, but could increase it to 7-8 if I see something I really like. Insurance isn't an issue but I dont want something that drinks petrol.
    After a few weeks of searching donedeal.ie I have narrowed my search to the following cars based on looks alone, I dont know much about any of these cars tbh. Could ye give me some plus and minuses about each and which ye would recommend. Also please dont recommend other cars, ive decided at this stage I want one of these.

• 2000-2003 Toyota Celica 140bhp/190bhp
    • 2000-2002 Audi TT
    • 2000-2003 BMW 318/325ci
    • 2001-2003 Audi A4 (with body kit and alloys:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Have you driven them all? I'd start there, cars are very personal things and my tastes may well be different to yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

Anan1 wrote: »
    Have you driven them all? I'd start there, cars are very personal things and my tastes may well be different to yours.

No I haven't driven any of them yet. I just wanted to get peoples opinion on them before I do.

Predator_ wrote: »
    No I haven't driven any of them yet. I just wanted to get peoples opinion on them before I do.
    I'd do it the other way around, TBH. When you've driven them all you'll be a lot more informed about what to ask. For example, you could get yourself all worked up about an Audi TT, doing loads of homework on it, only to find once you drive it that for whatever reason it's just not for you. It's like discussing women you haven't met - fun, but ultimately a bit pointless.:)

If I do it that way then I wont listen to any of ye, I make up my mind fast. Just a quick recommendation from yer experiences is all I want.

BWM 325ci represents the best value I reckon, can get them for quite small money now. I don't like TTs, a friend has a 2001 225bhp one, I didn't tell him but I reckon it's a bland ole yoke to drive. A4s I wouldn't touch to be honest, body kitted ones look like knacker wagons. 140bhp Celica I wouldn't touch either. I like the 190 engine but that model Celica I don't like the styling, give me the previous model anyday. Toyota replace lots of the 140bho engines due to oil burning issues, only if the car had a service history though. Quite a few dogs still about so you could easily be caught with a right sh1tter of a 140bhp Celica.

From the 4 you list I'd go BMW, but nothing smaller than the 325 to be honest.

RoverJames wrote: »
    BWM 325ci represents the best value I reckon, can get them for quite small money now. I don't like TTs, a friend has a 2001 225bhp one, I didn't tell him but I reckon it's a bland ole yoke to drive. A4s I wouldn't touch to be honest, body kitted ones look like knacker wagons. 140bhp Celica I wouldn't touch either. I like the 190 engine but that model Celica I don't like the styling, give me the previous model anyday.
    As above, really. Although i'd rather a 330i auto than any of them.

Yep, the ones with the paddle gear change are savage, €1600 road tax though.

BWM 325ci represents the best value I reckon, can get them for quite small money now. I don't like TTs, a friend has a 2001 225bhp one, I didn't tell him but I reckon it's a bland ole yoke to drive. A4s I wouldn't touch to be honest, body kitted ones look like knacker wagons. 140bhp Celica I wouldn't touch either. I like the 190 engine but that model Celica I don't like the styling, give me the previous model anyday. Toyota replace lots of the 140bho engines due to oil burning issues, only if the car had a service history though. Quite a few dogs still about so you could easily be caught with a right sh1tter of a 140bhp Celica.

From the 4 you list I'd go BMW, but nothing smaller than the 325 to be honest.

Just noticed the 325 is a 2.5 l engine. Didnt know it was that big. Im currently driving a 1.2 !
    Would a 2.0 318 be too slow or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

From the list, i've driven the TT and the A4. A4 isn't great, as stated above. I thought the TT was really nice to drive though.

Saying that, i don't have much experience driving lower/2 seater cars.

So you can probably disregard my opinion completely :pac:

Refined my search to the Audi TT, Celica 190bhp and BMW 316/318/320 coupe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

How about this:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201027198695526

1.8 will not set the world alight but they are lovely to drive and easy enough on fuel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭shogunpower

if your going for a beemer go for a 6cyl no matter what size it is.. the 4 pots are as useful as an ash tray on a ...............

Just noticed the 325 is a 2.5 l engine. Didnt know it was that big. Im currently driving a 1.2 !
    Would a 2.0 318 be too slow or what?

Insurance difference on a 2.0 to a 2.5 will be small enough I think for someone mid 20s with a few years named driver experience. I drove a coupe of 2.0 e46 318s and thought they were utter dirt engine wise. A 325 is a huge class above them I think and you'll probably buy a 325 for less money if you are anyway inclined to haggle.

bazz26 wrote: »
    How about this:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201027198695526

1.8 will not set the world alight but they are lovely to drive and easy enough on fuel.

Great looking car! Thanks thats going on my list to try out.

Insurance difference on a 2.0 to a 2.5 will be small enough I think for someone mid 20s with a few years named driver experience. I drove a coupe of 2.0 e46 318s and thought they were utter dirt engine wise. A 325 is a huge class above them I think and you'll probably buy a 325 for less money if you are anyway inclined to haggle.

Ok thanks for that, ill look into it. If the insurance difference isnt too much then I consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Great looking car! Thanks thats going on my list to try out.

If your buyin an Alfa GT make sure its a 1.9JTD.

http://cars.rte.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201022198286664

http://cars.rte.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201010197220390

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

nice cars, but out of my price range.

Reliability wise the diesel is a far better option, plus its excellent when it comes to MPG. I do 500 miles to a tank easy in mine with a lot of city driving.

If you like the GT but the others mentioned are out of budget my advice would be wait till a cheaper one becomes available with a dealer, they will if you wait
    OR
    If you dont have to trade a car in I would go to donedeal and pick up a cheaper one there privately. People are giving cars away privately at the moment. Just make sure the timing belt was done and service/NCT and you'll be grand.