Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

nihilism, voluntary euthanasia and the recession

• 30-08-2010 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭

cant remember who said it but they referred to the point that any rational human should have realised by 40 that life was pointless and meaningless and the logical conclusion was to commit suicide....
    any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

You said it.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Yes. I hope you're rational.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭simplistic2

Why would suicide be rational when you could be happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭twebb

haha! rational most of the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

40?

I'm 19 and I already know that...

Why would suicide be rational when you could be happy?

i agree but the reality of the world and life for most is fleeting happiness at best, with long periods of boredom and a lot of sadness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

twebb wrote: »
    cant remember who said it but they referred to the point that any rational human should have realised by 40 that life was pointless and meaningless and the logical conclusion was to commit suicide....
    any thoughts?

I take it whoever said that is not with us any more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Was this person by any chance, over 40?

I take it whoever said that is not with us any more?
    think it may have been sartre so no longer with us, but it does remind me of Voltaire writing in 'Candide' about a philospher who preached the same message and finally got around to drowning himself at 60 years of age...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

True. But its those fleeting moments that make life worthwhile. That and the fact that self preservation is one of the first laws of nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Lighten up OP, life is what you make it, i mean sex for eg, it's even better when you get to 40.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Considering the majority of kids are at most usually in their early teens / pre-teens just as their parents are hitting 40, I'm sure it's a great idea.

No purpose in life after 40, sure who needs experience these days eh? It's all about being young and energetic!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

any thoughts?

I realised it as soon as I came out of the womb but by then it was too late and they wouldn't let me back in :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

40 is much too young, society itself will be severely damaged by a significant number of people doing this. All you have to do is look at the number of scientific discoveries and contributions made by people over 40.

However, I think the focus to live longer and longer has to change. There is always a drive to live longer but not the same effort to improve quality of life as you get older.

RMD wrote: »
    Considering the majority of kids are at most usually in their early teens / pre-teens just as their parents are hitting 40, I'm sure it's a great idea.

No purpose in life after 40, sure who needs experience these days eh? It's all about being young and energetic!!

you forgot perky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

Its just a sound bite OP, I wouldn't take it too seriously and I definitely wouldn't take it literally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Dudes!

Life begins at 40 don't you know!!

(I'm not there yet btw).

Saw Logans Run the other day again, trippy............

If you want to go ahead and volunteer, fair enough.
    But fcuk the recession, that's an economic thing, I'm not.

It would be more selfish to deny your gran' childer the opportunity to meet someone as cool as the old person I'll be.

You're as young as the woman you feel I reckon....

And I am a fcuking (closet) nihilist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

Shoddy thread imo

Perhaps, but not as shoddy as the hammers at the moment eh.....

Sorry, couldn't help myself.

It doesn't matter though you know, nothing does....:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

Pete M. wrote: »
    Perhaps, but not as shoddy as the hammers at the moment eh.....

Sorry, couldn't help myself.

It doesn't matter though you know, nothing does....:cool:

I like you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Saw Logans Run the other day again, trippy............

If you want to go ahead and volunteer, fair enough.
    But fcuk the recession, that's an economic thing, I'm not.
    Who said anything about volunteering for carousel, you better start running. I'll give you a head start, promise...

Why thank you :o

Still doesn't matter though :pac:

Who said anything about volunteering for carousel, you better start running. I'll give you a head start, promise...

Jaysus, who in their right mind would go in Carousel? I mean come on. That's some fcuked up sh1t.

And yer man is a woeful shot with the guns what fire sparky things, so if you're as good as him, with that head start and I'll be away to Sanctuary!!

Watched it with my 5 year old young buck and he thought it was cool, until we flicked to a Donald Sutherland in a WW2 movie set in Ireland.
    His accent was woeful.

But them guys weren't nihilists were they?

They were idealists and followers of the commands of a (crappy) computer (mac or pc you reckon?).

No self respecting nihilists would listen to a computer I'll tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

think it may have been sartre so no longer with us, but it does remind me of Voltaire writing in 'Candide' about a philospher who preached the same message and finally got around to drowning himself at 60 years of age...

Lol, the best of all possible worlds eh :p
    The message of Candide was that there is pleasure in doing the work
    that you love, you can live happiest by doing something you find
    worthwhile & I really do think that's the case.
    Funnily enough it was this book that made me realise that while standing
    on a bridge one day over a waterfall, I was really depressed when I first
    thought about it but 5 minutes later it made so much sense. I'd advise
    anyone to read the book as opposed to taking what I've said on as it is :pac:

@ the OP: I think you were just hearing the incoherent ramblings of a
    40 year old going through a mid life crisis ;)

I think a mid-life crisis is a person waking up because they've been ignoring
    the important things in life, try have it when you're in you're 20's and save
    yourself 20 years of chasing something that means nothing/very_little to
    you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭30H!3

A fine cigar

A cup of roast arabic coffee

Ecuadorian 81% pure cocoa from LIDL

Ahh yes.. life is worth living

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Voluntary euthanasia would solve the Emo problem in short order.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Thread title alone worthy of a last cigarette before sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I'd advise anyone to read [Candide] as opposed to taking what I've said on as it is :pac:

As good an instant cure for depression as there is.

Also Voltaire's L'Ingenue and Micromegas, which sometimes come with Candide - I think the Oxford Modern Classics version has them all in one volume.

Don't download them and read them on screen. Get a hardcopy version and read them on a beach/in a cafe/on a plane/wherever, but away from your normal surroundings.

Voltaire is on your side.