Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GREATEST HURLERS NEVER TO WIN AN ALL-IRELAND

• 30-08-2010 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭

Past players only perhaps. I have a feeling there's going to be a fair few lads from Waterford, Limerick and Galway. This team is from another forum by somebody else.

1. Joe Quaid
    2. Stephen McDonagh
    3. Eamon Cleary
    4. Tom Helebert
    5. Niall Rigney
    6. Ciaran Carey
    7. Mark Foley
    8. Mike Houlihan
    9. Sambo McNaughton
    10. Mitch Jordan
    11. Gary Kirby
    12. Kevin Broderick
    13. Olcan McFeteridge
    14. Eugene Cloonan
    15. Nicky Horan

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Was gonna come on here to add Nicky Horan but was beaten to it :pac:
    He was never going to get the recognition he deserved while playing hurling for Meath but he was easily one of the best players in Ireland at one stage. Think he was second top scorer in the Liam McCarthy in 2002 behind Eoin Kelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

No Ollie Canning? Bit of an omission there!

I really hope his younger brother doesn't find himself on this list in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Paul Flynn without a doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

What are we at here? Is it picking the best team never to win an AI or picking the greatest hurlers never to win an All-Irealnd?
    aidan24326 wrote: »
    No Ollie Canning? Bit of an omission there!

He's not a past player. Yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Cuchulainn without a shadow of doubt, shame he never got the medal to go with his talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

He's not a past player. Yet!
    He is a past player. Retired after the Tipperary game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭patmac

John 'Jobber' McGrath ( Westmeath). Read the opening paragraph

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_McGrath_(hurler)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

ger loughnane
    ger 'redser' o'grady (tipp) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Eugene Cloonan doesn't rank up there with the likes of Mullane and Ken McGrath. Broderick is up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

I think there's some lads forgetting that some players haven't retired yet.

Paul Flynn without a doubt. One of the highest scorers in the game, deserves a mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Galway's Joe Salmon was a fantastic hurler but never managed to win an all-ireland.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Salmon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

deisedevil wrote: »
    I think there's some lads forgetting that some players haven't retired yet.

Paul Flynn without a doubt. One of the highest scorers in the game, deserves a mention.
    Sorry they didn't really mention retired hurlers. Just thought they left some names out.

ger loughnane
    ger 'redser' o'grady (tipp) :D

Loughnane was a mullocker, not a great player at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭detective

I can see Ken McGrath and Tony Browne being added to this list fair soon. Paul Flynn is a no brainer, he should be there. In fact the Waterford team of the noughties and the Limerick team of the nineties would probably make up about 50% of the team. Ollie Canning, great hurler, but who does he replace.

detective wrote: »
    Ollie Canning, great hurler, but who does he replace.

Either of the corner backs that you picked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Bduffman

Well I'll be biased being from Waterford. It would have to be:

Paul Flynn
    Stephen Frampton
    Fergal Hartley
    Sean Cullinane

And what about Dan................... anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Joe Rabbitte
    Seamus Durack

Either of the corner backs that you picked.

I don't think many would say he'd be ahead of Stephen McDonagh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

Joe Henry (Mayo)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Don Hyland, Carnew Emmets & Wicklow

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭tom thum

Bduffman wrote: »
    Well I'll be biased being from Waterford. It would have to be:

Paul Flynn
    Stephen Frampton
    Fergal Hartley
    Sean Cullinane

i wouldnt argue with you on the top 4 but dan. come on now. steady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Tony Browne.

Bduffman wrote: »

Not a hope. Scored a few flashy goals but not a great by any means.

I don't think many would say he'd be ahead of Stephen McDonagh?

Oh but I think they would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

26 goals and 58 points. All from play! That's not just a few flashy goals to be fair to him. He might not be on the greatest team of players never to win an AI but he wasn't useless and he did win player of the year unlike any on the team named by OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Bduffman

tom thum wrote: »
    i wouldnt argue with you on the top 4 but dan. come on now. steady.

Ok fair enough. But he is only 2 behind Henry Shefflin for goals scored (more scored from play) and has scored more than Eoin Kelly of Tipp. I'd put him on the bench.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭TwilightFan88

Past players only perhaps. I have a feeling there's going to be a fair few lads from Waterford, Limerick and Galway. This team is from another forum by somebody else.

1. Joe Quaid
    2. Stephen McDonagh
    3. Eamon Cleary
    4. Tom Helebert
    5. Niall Rigney
    6. Ciaran Carey
    7. Mark Foley
    8. Mike Houlihan
    9. Sambo McNaughton
    10. Mitch Jordan
    11. Gary Kirby
    12. Kevin Broderick
    13. Olcan McFeteridge
    14. Eugene Cloonan
    15. Nicky Horan

Mitch Jordan?? Greatest Hurler Thread???

WTF!??

Seriously OMG!

Try KEITH ROSSITER! One of the very few if not ONLY Wexford player to go out EVERY game, in recent years. with the PASSION AND PRIDE that Wexford were famous for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

1. Joe Quaid
    2. Stephen McDonagh
    3. Eamon Cleary
    4. Tom Helebert
    5. Niall Rigney
    6. Ciaran Carey
    7. Mark Foley
    8. Mike Houlihan
    9. Sambo McNaughton
    10. Mitch Jordan
    11. Gary Kirby
    12. Kevin Broderick
    13. Olcan McFeteridge
    14. Eugene Cloonan
    15. Nicky Horan

Shame most of those boys never won an All Ireland. I'd put P Flynn, K . McGrath in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭megadodge

Eugene Cloonan doesn't rank up there with the likes of Mullane and Ken McGrath. Broderick is up there.

Have to disagree strongly on Broderick being compared to these two consistently great players.

Galway people loved to hate Cloonan - and I (and many other non-Galwegians) never figured out why! I know of a big hurling man who after coming out of Croke Park heard Galway supporters bitching and whinging about a late, extremely difficult free Cloonan just missed. He was being called every name under the sun. Of course the 2-10 he actually did score during the match in an almost one-man show was conveniently forgotten!

Cloonan wasn't as good as either of the above, but he was definitely better than Broderick, who just didn't produce it often enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

megadodge wrote: »
    Have to disagree strongly on Broderick being compared to these two consistently great players.

Galway people loved to hate Cloonan - and I (and many other non-Galwegians) never figured out why! I know of a big hurling man who after coming out of Croke Park heard Galway supporters bitching and whinging about a late, extremely difficult free Cloonan just missed. He was being called every name under the sun. Of course the 2-10 he actually did score during the match in an almost one-man show was conveniently forgotten!

Cloonan wasn't as good as either of the above, but he was definitely better than Broderick, who just didn't produce it often enough.

sorry your just wrong Brodrick was on a different level to Clonnan not saying Eugene wasn't a good player but not in the same class as kevin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

The two Foley's, Lar in particular spring to mind straightaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭morcheen k

dilallio wrote: »
    Galway's Joe Salmon was a fantastic hurler but never managed to win an all-ireland.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Salmon

my old man must have seen him play around that time,he was in the minor team i the late 50's i think. gone now and i have loads of questions for him :( he could remember everyones name in all the teams he was ever in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭megadodge

sorry your just wrong Brodrick was on a different level to Clonnan not saying Eugene wasn't a good player but not in the same class as kevin

How do you actually prove that?

Broderick produced some patches of pure brilliance but was far too often anonymous in games for my liking.

Consistency is what being great is all about.

Announced retirement last night so I don't think anyone can complain about him coming onto the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Announced retirement last night so I don't think anyone can complain about him coming onto the team.
    No he didnt.Was on WLR this morning saying it isnt true

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/browne-calls-time-on-deise-career-130324.html Are ye sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

That's where this all started from. Tony was talking to the journalist in question and said he decided in January that this was definitely his final year but he has said the same thing to himself 3 years running now. The journo then got his wires crossed and thought he'd give himself a nice story.

The fact there are no quotes from Tony in the article should tell you all to need to know. The words from the man himself is he'll talk to the Waterford manager in December (whoever that may be) and see what happens then.

Brian O'Meara from Mullinahone was wrongly sent off in 2001 and missed out on an AI medal after having a fantastic season that year. it was his best chance to get a medal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Daysha wrote: »
    That's where this all started from. Tony was talking to the journalist in question and said he decided in January that this was definitely his final year but he has said the same thing to himself 3 years running now. The journo then got his wires crossed and thought he'd give himself a nice story.

The fact there are no quotes from Tony in the article should tell you all to need to know. The words from the man himself is he'll talk to the Waterford manager in December (whoever that may be) and see what happens then.

My gut feeling is he'll be back. Why wouldn't he when he's still as good as anyone in the game? If his performance level had been dropping dramatically in recent years like Dan for example that'd be one thing - but they haven't, he's as good as ever, if not better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 The Sci3ntist

Dan may not be one of the best ever hurlers not to win an All Ireland but he did win 3 all stars between '04 and '07 and was one of the top forwards in the country during that period. He was one of the best at winning ball in the air, getting spectacular long range points from the sideline, as well as scoring a few flashy goals, like you said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Michael MCugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

Me