Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sites not using Chrono

• 30-08-2010 8:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭

This weekend, I played at a site that I've never visited before. It was a great days gaming (for me), but not so, for a few unfortunate players!

I had one huge concern, no guns were chrono'd at any point during the day.

I don't think I would have noticed so much, If a guy on my team hadn't come walking back to the respawn with cuts all over his face. These weren't your usual occasional skin breakers, about 7 -10 bb's had broken his skin quite badly, and he said it was from a good distance away aswell.

I have to say he took it very well, and alot better than I would have!

In the same game, a player on our team then had a couple of teeth broken!:eek: - he left the site in a bit of mood, and who can blame him!:mad:

The marshal (and site manager :confused:) had a word with both teams about head shots and over kill, which I thought to be kind of pointlessly re-active, rather ensuring all the AEGs on site were sub 1 Jule!

I love airsoft, it's a great game, but this type of site management is only going to take our sport into very dangerous teritory!

I havn't named the site, as I am emailing the site owner to raise my concerns (I don't know if that will achieve anything), and Im also going to let the IAA know aswell.

Is this practice common on sites in Ireland?

Your thoughts and comments are welcome, just be nice to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

It's less and less common tbh, most people have realised that overpowered guns don't really buy you much in terms of range or accuracy. The site owner in question probably just got lazy, or is a moron who's trying to prove a point.

Vote with your feet, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

Not realy a good sign .
    what you can do is check and see if the site is an Affiliated Venue of the IAA ( http://irishairsoft.ie/ ), if it is contact them asking them to check this out and take action .

David

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭elDiablo79

totally agree sites sud chrono all aegs, but just wondering was your team mate wearing any mouth protection when he got his teeth broken? an aeg doesnt have to be over 1joule to break teeth and people who dont wear mouth protection sud know that this is the risk that THEY are taking. i always wear mouth protection for this reason and also because i cudnt afford it if i had to pay dentist loads of money to fix them. also agree that more fps doesnt mean more distance. so mouth protection or hard the f**k up:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭McGilla

elDiablo79 wrote: »
    totally agree sites sud chrono all aegs, but just wondering was your team mate wearing any mouth protection when he got his teeth broken? an aeg doesnt have to be over 1joule to break teeth and people who dont wear mouth protection sud know that this is the risk that THEY are taking. i always wear mouth protection for this reason and also because i cudnt afford it if i had to pay dentist loads of money to fix them. also agree that more fps doesnt mean more distance. so mouth protection or hard the f**k up:):)

I completely agree with you, that not wearing full face protection is at the players risk. I am a full face scaredy cat!

I dont want this thread to turn into a how powerfull an AEG has to be to break... thread, thats not really the point.

The point is by not Chronoing all AEG's & Pistols the site is increasing the risk of injury.

There is a duty of care owed by the site owner to ensure there are not "Weapons" being used on his site!
    (more than 1 Jule = weapon)

If a major injury was to occur, it will not be good press for a great sport that is really starting to take off!

Edit : Yes both injured parties weren't wearing full face protection!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

I have to agree with McGilla, he is right to report this to IAA and to raise his concerns with the site manager.

You don't want some a**hat like that ruining airsoft for the 99.9999% of honest players out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Danin

I was just about to say the same thing as Dave regarding affiliated sites and how they are a safer bet.

IMO it should be taken as a must, that it is the site owners responsibility to insure that all AEGs are chronographed prior to any game to give everyone playing the confidence of knowing that they are playing in a relatively safe environment.
    TBH this type of thing boils my blood, a chronograph is an inexpensive but very important piece of equipment on any site and there is no excuse not to have one. If you arrive on a site and you are not asked to chrono your AEG, don't hesitate to step forward and voice your concerns prior to taking the field.
    The other thing that pops into my head is that obviously you guys are an experienced team but say for example you hadn't been, say it was your first time out and you received these injuries, what then?? Just after we have received some good press "for once" we could have been landed with photographs in a local paper with a damming caption.

There is just no excuse for this its just LAZYNESS and a DGAF attitude and at this point and time it should not be happening on any site regardless of any excuses.

The other cause of concern is that we still have people out there that continue to try and get away with hot AEGs. This shows such a lack of respect for your fellow players and it begs the question why would anyone want to deliberately put someone else at risk by firing a hot AEG at them especially when we are all out on a Saturday or Sunday for the same reason to enjoy airsoft.

We all know one joule is sufficient in some cases to chip a tooth so don't get me wrong it could well be that the aeg was 1 joule but with no chronograph we'll never know......

I apologize in advance if I was a bit strong above but I'm sorry this kind of thing really gets to me.

Playing with a 1 joule AEG on an equal footing : Honorable, honesty, fairness, integrity a player who should be respected for his achievements

Playing with a hot gun deliberately : deceitful, fake, hypocrite and all round losser and not worthy of any respect

The only thing people cannot take away from you is your honor, the only person that can destroy it is yourself

so play with honor and then you'll be guaranteed the respect of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Not directing this at your friend or player that has his teeth damaged but more of a general query for everyone.

1j is the limit here in Ireland but in other countries there
    are skirmish sites that allow over 1j ? How do those sites manage things
    like broken teeth and cuts ?

I've seen pics of airsofters from other countries that are skirmishing
    with just eye protection but no mouth protection. Some of these countries
    would have limits that exceed 1j

do people who dont use mouth protection here in Ireland do so for comfort reasons or if its because there is a perception that 1j is safe ?

What I am getting at is:
    Would the same person who does not cover their mouth still do so if playing
    outside of Ireland in >1j sites ?

When I've tried airsoft I've used a full face mask during a skirmish, but being honest would prefer just the glasses
    myself, so maybe looking to get one of those mesh mouth guards or similar.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

bullets wrote: »
    Not directing this at your friend but more of a general query for everyone.

1j is the limit here in Ireland but in other countries there
    are skirmish sites that allow over 1j ? How do those sites manage things
    like broken teeth and cuts ?

I've seen pics of airsofters from other countries that are skirmishing
    with just eye protection but no mouth protection. Some of these countries
    would have limits that exceed 1j

do people who dont use mouth protection here in Ireland do so for comfort reasons or if its because there is a perception that 1j is safe ?

What I am getting at is:
    Would the same person who does not cover their mouth still do so if playing
    outside of Ireland in >1j sites ?

When I've tried airsoft I've used a full face mask during a skirmish, but being honest would prefer just the glasses
    myself, so maybe looking to get one of those mesh mouth guards or similar.

~B

You have a point.

But, in Ireland the limit is 1j, so every site and player should be adhering to that limit.

Every player who walks onto a site in Ireland expects that every player is adhering to that 1j limit.

Like Danin said, there are a lot of good people out there trying to get the good word on airsoft out there, we don't want irresponsible people making airsoft look bad.

As far as I know, in other countries where the limit is higher than 1j, there is limits on the range. I.e. 500fps snipers can only fire at players at a minimum of 100ft, and aegs are limited to ~340fps.

I could be wrong on that, or that may only be the case in certain countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

You have got to wonder what motivation a site has to be not IAA affiliated, I'd avoid any that aren't tbh.

If the site is IAA affiliated, report them, if they aren't, avoid them. Not chronoing says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Danin

When playing a sniper role in other countries at a 500fps limit. You are shadowed by a marshall to make sure you know the limits of engagement for your first few days, they also run through some very important rules with you prior to letting you take the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭hairball

Hello all,

I was the marshall in question on the site yesterday.
    Needless to say when I came on here and saw this thread - I was stunned.
    And, of course I had realised I had forgotten something yesterday I never normally would.
    I can state quite clearly that I normally would never forget something so fundamental as airsoft device chronographing and can only
    apologise to all the players involved yesterday for such a ridiculous oversight.
    I have played and enjoyed airsoft for almost 3 years now and love the sport, some of you probably even know me and have played with me or against me in games, and indeed probably have been marshalled by me on occasion.
    It was quite a busy morning and I was dealing with a large crowd of airsofters, readying rentals, attending to sign ins and setting up teams and the schedule of play for the day.
    And this one very important aspect of the game slipped my mind.
    This is not intended as an excuse in any way I can only say what happened.
    Even when the said incident occured yesterday and i talked to both teams, the fact i had not chrono'd guns that morning still never occured to me.
    I'm pretty shaken up by my own ineptitude, especially since I only realised my mistake when I saw this thread.

I fully intend to step down from any marshalling duties in the future and possibly from any participation in the sport itself at all.
    Again, I apologise to all players who played the site yesterday for my mistake.
    Sincerely

Peter.

I've just heard back from the site owner in question, and Im greatfull for his reply.

He has pointed out that he wasn't present when this happened, and it's one of the 1st times he hasn't been on site when games have been run.

He also said as part of their procedures that they chrono all AEG's & Pistols every day!

I actually feel for the guy as it seems to be a simple case of staff not doing their job correctly while the Boss is away. (says me on Boards in work)

The owner said he is looking into the issue, and seems very serious about the matter. He has assured me it will not happen again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

If it's the airsoft site i think, i have never seen this happen before. I am sure it was an honest mistake. Also why didn't you raise the point when you were there?

hairball wrote: »
    Hello all,

I was the marshall in question on the site yesterday.

I fully intend to step down from any marshalling duties in the future and possibly from any participation in the sport itself at all.
    Again, I apologise to all players who played the site yesterday for my mistake.
    Sincerely

Peter.

Hi Peter,

That is not the result I was looking for, As said in my post the standard of marshalling was very good yesterday.

If an error occured, has been recognised, and measures are taken so it does ot happen again, then thats a good thing.

But I would ask you re-concider stepping down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I'd just like to say that I was there yesterday and it definitely seemed like an honest mistake. I know both the site OP and the marshall and they've never not chrono'd us before, and we've been playing there since shortly after the site opened. Only realised myself when we standing beside the kit boxes in the afternoon and I saw the madbull sitting there.

Pete, it'd a be a shame to see you stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

No idea what the site is, no idea who this marshall is either.

But fair play, takes some nuts and its credit to yourself to come on here and write something like that and to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Danin wrote: »
    When playing a sniper role in other countries at a 500fps limit. You are shadowed by a marshall to make sure you know the limits of engagement for your first few days, they also run through some very important rules with you prior to letting you take the field.

Only a few sites do this, not all. I would go so far as to say it would not be the norm from my experiences. I only know of one site in the UK (that I have skirmished at) - Players of war, Scotland - who insisted on shadowing players with 420fps+ bolt-actions to make sure they knew what they were at. If no marshal with relevant experience was available, then you didn't field your bolty.

I do however know of people being ejected from sites in the UK for flagrant and careless violation of engagement ranges; although again this would not be the norm since accidents can and do happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭elDiablo79

pete is one of the most honest players and fairest marshals ive ever met. and it be a sad day if he ever gives up playing or marshalling airsoft.:)

Lads, Im going to ask the Mods to lock this as i dont want people to start trying to guess which site etc, as It's not really fair.

I posted this originally as I was given the impression that it was common practice not to Chrono guns.

Had I knows, it was a once off error, I wouldn't have posted at all, only emailed the site.

Peter, - my utmost respect, and I said in my email, the marshalling standard was very very high, and It would be a shame for you to stop over one mistake!

I will play this site again, and was really happy with the response from both the Marshal and the Site Owner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Closed at the OP's request.