Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 3x11-"Fresh Blood" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 30-08-2010 6:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭

Summary: Bill tries to earn Sookie's trust; Eric tempts Russell; Sam embraces his dark side; Hoyt and Jessica take their romance to the next level; Arlene puts her future in the hands of a goddess; Lafayette struggles with new demons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭shinny

Just a flying update. I think it was a pretty slow episode right up until the end which was brilliant. Lines us up nicely for the Finale. Pity we have to wait 2 weeks though :-(

I loved Eric's tender moment with Pam. She obviously knew the full plan and hence why she got upset. In her eyes (but we know it won't be the case) it may be the last time she sees her maker.

Ah I knew Eric hadn't sold out on Sookie. Wasn't that the sweetest look he gave her right before Russell ruined the moment and bit her, lol.

Hopefully Sookie will see the sacrifice Eric made and forgive him. I think she's less likely to forgive Bill this time around which will line up perfectly for Season 4.

So what will happen out in the Sun? Clearly Eric is much younger than Russell and we know older vampires burn up more quickly but I've a feeling that's not going to be the end of Russell......

I have to say Jason, Sam's, Lafayette and Tara's storyline just didn't interest me in this episode one bit.

Poor Arlene, that baby is a "strong little critter" for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Good episode I thought,with a great ending.

Why the feck do we have to wait 2 weeks for the finale!? Stupid!

I think nearly all the side stories are pretty useless and they take away from the episodes. Don't care about Lafayette's story, or Arelene's and I do like Sam as a character but his story hasn't been very interesting either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

tvnutz wrote: »
    I do like Sam as a character but his story hasn't been very interesting either.

Enjoyed the episode, sets thins up nicely.

Loved seeing Hoyte's mama again...The part where she pulls the tissue from her bra strap - classic...

Re Sam, i think his story is a little late in the season to develop, unless there's going to be a big reveal in the season finale which carries over to season 4. I just can't see the purpose behind this sudden change in his character yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭shinny

tvnutz wrote: »
    Good episode I thought,with a great ending.

Why the feck do we have to wait 2 weeks for the finale!? Stupid!

It's Labour Day weekend in the states.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

What's the story with vampires and the sun within the True Blood mythology? Are vampiric powers significantly weakened out in the sun? That's the only reason I can think of as to why Russell just can't grab Eric and move quickly back into Fangtasia.

For some reason I doubt that will be the end of both vampires though, my money's on an eclipse occuring. :P

Listening to Sam tear every one a new a-hole was the other highlight of the episode. :D Poor Terry though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    What's the story with vampires and the sun within the True Blood mythology? Are vampiric powers significantly weakened out in the sun? That's the only reason I can think of as to why Russell just can't grab Eric and move quickly back into Fangtasia.

Don't think it is to do with the sun,Russell hadn't been affected by the sun yet. Sookie's blood was still working. It was the silver handcuffs that Eric put on him. Doesn't matter how old he is,the silver weakens them both to a point where they can't move,both fall to their knees because of it.

I reckon what will happen is Russell will burn very quickly because he is a lot older, much like Godric did. Eric won't burn as quickly and someone will be able to get him back inside to save him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

This episode was much better than last weeks one. What the heck is up with Sam? I've gone right off him.

That thing with Lafayette and Jesus scared the bejeebus out of me. If I saw dolls talking to me, I'd burn the feckers.

Can't wait to see the last episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Clarehobo

Again, loved the vamp storylines. Bored with the humans - even psycho Sam!
    Think they could have done more with Jessica and Hoyt.

Roll on the final episode so I can watch the series again!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Still very much enjoying it, although really could've done with more Russell.

I generally like the side stories too and it seems they're setting stuff up for next year:

Jason - Will go on a quest to rid the town of V. His were-panther girl will join the cast.

Lafayete - Will spend time discovering his origins. Possibly with Jesus, but I've a feeling he'll be gone by season's end.

Arlene - The baby's growing inside her and it will be revealed the white witch has done something weird. I'm guessing she's placed a particular soul inside of it and it's now protected. More in Season 4.

Jessica/Hoyt has no real dangling story lines nor does Tara. I don't think Sam will either.

And the primary focus of Season 4 will be the backlash against vampires caused by Russell. It'll be a good excuse to bring in the Authority in a bigger way.

So there's my bets for what we'll be left with after the finale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

Very impressed with that ending! I thought the last few minutes were really well done but the version I was watching wouldn't buffer properly and kept stalling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Slow builder of an episode, the ending saved it big time. Really hope it isn't the end for Eric, the show just wouldn't be the same without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

Like most here, didn't find any of the smaller plotlines really interesting (poor Terry though, he is in for so much heartbreak - his reaction when he found out the baby was alive was great) but the Russell/Eric ending saved things big time.

Loved the whole scene where Russell stops Sookie's craptastic car and then they all roll up to Fangtasia in the little banger (just seemed pretty funny for a bunch of vampires, two of whom can fly and everything to cram into that car) :D.

The two week wait is going to be hard to bear but not as hard as waiting for next season - I'm sure it's going to be another cracking season finale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Kettle316

Fairly slow episode the ending saved it massively, it was awesome!!

Really can't see them killing off Eric he's consistently been the best thing in the show since the 1st episode we seen him in!!

Hopefully they figure out a way of working Tara getting killed into the storyline for the season finale she's unbelievably annoying!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

Poor, poor Arlene, like a poster above said, the white witch must have done something to protect the baby, I had this feeling when she was concocting her potion and Arlene was 'praying' that maybe she has some link with René, perhaps she has similar motives to his?

That's odd that older vampires are more vulnerable in the sun... I was an ardent fan of the vampire chronicles and the older the vampire was the more they could withstand the sun's rays. But it does make sense in a way, the older vampire, the longer since they've experienced sunlight, therefore they'd be more delicate.

Jason is not a happy man, I'm hoping we get to see him in uniform next season! The police force needs some young, fit blood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

Thought it was one of the poorest episodes in a while, the constant Tara whining and who really cares about Eggs, he wasn't a great character and her storyline with him was even worse. I just had to Fast Forward through it and I'm also not getting the Arlene and witch woman story either. The Jason storyline seems to have faltered and will probably move to the next season. And I can see the Jesus and Layfayette storyline just boring the hell out of me.

Where the show is great is when there dealing with the Vampire stories and I hope they can keep that story going with the King and Eric. It seems that a lot of things have being put in place for next year. As there's only 1 episode left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

I knew the ending would have to be fairly spectacular after what was a pretty dire episode, but WOW. It was fantastic in every regard. I really thought the CCTV scene was fantastic. Shame Sookie is *still* so so annoying. I actually want her to die at this stage.

Tara has already been done to death at this stage so I won't comment.

I quite like the Sam being a nutter storyline, and wouldn't mind some more flashbacks.

The only storyline that really annoys me is the Laf and Jesus one. Talking dolls? I can imagine it could be done well, but it was really poorly presented on screen. It looked like something from a kid's programme.

Two weeks wait sucks though!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

The wait is going to kill me! I have to know how it ends!

I really hope its not the last we see of Erik he is a great character. The last scene with Pam was very touching I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭GisforGrenade

The majority of the episode was absolutely god awful, Tara should be buried alive so we an all move on with our lives. Sam was just a d**k. Jason's storyline is terrible I just don't care about the werepanthers. Arlene and Terry, Bill, Pam, Eric, Sookie and the King were good, to be honest they are the only characters I give a damn about any more, I am thinking of turning True Blood in to a drinking game. Tara starts whining take a shot, Sam has family problems take a shot, werepanthers take a shot, Jesus and Lafayette take a shot, its about the only way I could get through the scene and leaves me slightly buzzed while I enjoy the good scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

lol Bill is an infatuated teen - glad someone finally called him out!

pretty boring episode for the most part. Last 15 minutes were pretty good though. No way Eric is going to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭MJRS

Good episode I thought! Never really get annoyed by the other character's storylines. They're such a big part of the show. The only one I don't like is Crystal... Jason's Mean Girls V-addict and Christian psycho girlfriend's were meant to be pretty unpleasant but I could tolerate them as long as the script and the acting was good (and it really was!) but Crystal, they've made no effort to make me like her and she sure as hell hasn't either. Why does Jason suddenly love her so much? Let me guess, he's a were-lion and can't control his reaction to her, because everyone within 100ft of a supernatural being is or becomes one themselves. Jaysus.

Do the old ones burn up faster? Is that based on Godric? I thought he was "willing" himself to burn that fast when I watched it.. I was alright with the silver handcuffs though, it's like it weighs a tonne when it's put on their neck etc. Where's the queen? Any other loose ends? Sexy werewolf man? The whole werewolf pack? That empath guy from season 2, another fairy?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

That witch looks so like Graham Norton it's freaky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Tara and Eggs....oh god just a waste of time, unbelievably boring. Not nearly enough Russell or Jessica in this episode!

Liked the scenes with Pam and Eric:) When Eric's phone rang in the museum - Priceless :D

Nice song at the end again! Patty Griffin's 'I Smell A Rat' from last week was great too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Really LOL'd at Eric's ringtone!
    I enjoyed this ep. Although some of the side stories are a little distracting I think they still contribute to the show.
    I'm sure we haven't seen the end of Eric and I hope we haven't seen the end of Russel. That's the problem with interesting and likeable villains they have to kill them off or make them have a change of heart to keep them in.
    Can't wait for the finale, boo to Labor Day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Haha, I'm watchin a show about vampires and werewolves, but I still always think the religious ones doin magic rituals are crazy :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

Poochie05 wrote: »
    Really LOL'd at Eric's ringtone!

haha, what was the ringtone anyway? i thought it was one of the corpses ringtones and then Eric answered... oh man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

The best part about the Tara storyline was when she was at Eggs grave and my GF suddenly sits up and says "Eggs Benedict, I get it now"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Kettle316

matrim wrote: »
    The best part about the Tara storyline was when she was at Eggs grave and my GF suddenly sits up and says "Eggs Benedict, I get it now"

Ha ha ha my girlfriend did the exact same thing!!:D