Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Cat and His Cardboard Box

• 29-08-2010 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭

So the other day I went to throw some rubbish out, and put a bit of the Junk in a carboard box, which for one reason or another I left in the living room - my favourite episode of Different Strokes was on, you know the one where.... - anyway, this box got left in the corner and my cat has now decided to call it home.

He sits on the box, sleeps on it, and even hisses if you try and move him off it. It's a normal cardboard box, filled with rubbish, and it's a better space for him then the landing, the window, that heated patch on the floor where the pipes meet and even the couch...what's going on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

Its his box fort!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Your cat is gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Cats like boxes. I remember couldnt get the cat out of an empty beer box, seemed to love it so we left him with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

Same here -- whenever something comes in a box, we leave it on the floor for a few days, because she absolutely loves it. I think she just loves exploring and getting into cozy spaces.

She also LOVES plastic bags, although that might just be the noise it makes when she sits on it . . . she's a weirdo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Kill him with poison and become a famous theoretical physicist.. be sure to look the other way though, to avoid any paraboxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

pics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

They are showing different strokes on TV what channel :eek:

cats love cardboard boxes and paper bags and they are weird weird creatures at times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

The box! The box!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Miss Ogyne

I had that before wih one of my cats too, they just seem to like cardboard to sleep on. I'm sure I read somewhere once that cardboard attracts fleas away so that might be something to do with it as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭EmacB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

just put him in the bin :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Wow. 12 posts in and no "cats are evil" posts. You'll be going soft on liberals next!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,096 ✭✭✭✭looksee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

BluesBerry wrote: »
    They are showing different strokes on TV what channel :eek:

cats love cardboard boxes and paper bags and they are weird weird creatures at times

yep, they like paper bags. I shared a house with a woman a few years back and she had a cat that loved large paper shopping bags. He loved sleeping in them, and rolling around in them. So we used to save our paper bags when we went shopping. However the cat was choosy, on a couple of occasions when we gave him Penneys or Dunnes bags he'd get the handle around his leg and run up and down the stairs with it continually until he had shredded it. Brown Thomas bags were his favourite, along with the glossier type bags from Next, River Island etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

here, go post this in some animal lovers forum, this in not AH stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

yep, they like paper bags. I shared a house with a woman a few years back and she had a cat that loved large paper shopping bags. He loved sleeping in them, and rolling around in them. So we used to save our paper bags when we went shopping. However the cat was choosy, on a couple of occasions when we gave him Penneys or Dunnes bags he'd get the handle around his leg and run up and down the stairs with it continually until he had shredded it. Brown Thomas bags were his favourite, along with the glossier type bags from Next, River Island etc.

That cat had taste likes the classier types of shops :D

Put the cat into the box. Put the box into the car. Drive the car around the world.

Then come back & have anal sex with Ronan Keating.

kjl wrote: »
    here, go post this in some animal lovers forum, this in not AH stuff.

Really, I'd have thought it would have been easy for AH regulars to make a joke about a pussy and a box, that s**t practically writes itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

pics or GTFO!

what........I love cats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭demonspawn

Cats love boxes, what can ya do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

The cat is in the box. Where is the cat??*

*actual question on entrance exam to local 'tech' in my home town:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

It's your own fault, you put your pussy on a pedestal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

SadieSue wrote: »
    Its his box fort!
    Aw yeh dont ruin his box fort. Cats love weird little hidey places. Dont ruin his cat dream hes prob bein dyin to have somethin so cool to play in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

cardboard is a good insulator, a million tramps can't be wrong

Skerries wrote: »
    cardboard is a good insulator, a million tramps can't be wrong

And here was me thinking they only used cardboard to soak up the piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Cats seem to fupping LOVE cardboard boxes. There was one just discarded on the "roof" of my cat's kennel years ago and the cat would sleep in the cardboard box, even when it was raining, rather then go into the kennel underneath.

Ditto a bunch of plastic bags outside the door for a while - the cat loved curling up and going to sleep on them.

They're funny fookers. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

cats like to either be up high and looking down on the ground
    or hidden and looking out .

makes them feel in control of the surrounding area.

mine sleeps on top of a large drum case ,

and loves any sort of bag or box we bring home .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

My parents cat will automatically walk into a cardboard box or an open paper bag if its dropped on the ground. He'l just sit in it looking out at everyone to as if to say; this is my bag, fcuk you, you degenerate.

He also likes chicken curry, cheese popcorn & he farts in his sleep. Seriously. He let rip a howler of a fart in his sleep in the sitting room one day & we all laughed for about a minute. Stinkin little bastard.

Oh I had a female cat who was capable of air contamination for which an oxygen mask wouldn't have seemed too extreme... :o

Cat farts are rank.

And what is it with cats & curry? They feckin love the stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭ArseLtd

Have you considered kicking the **** out of the cat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Curry-eating, farting cats... ah, I've heard it all now!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Cat farts are rank.

And what is it with cats & curry? They feckin love the stuff.

Yeah our cat basically goes nuts if someone brings a curry into the house. Even if he's not in the house he'l be at the door within seconds to get his share of curry?
    And not just the chicken, he's mad about the sauce. He'l slurp away on the lid of a curry carton for an hour. Must be the msg or something?

Thats probably whats causing the eye-watering bottom burps.

I don't think it's the msg - I nver get take away, but I make curry sauce & my cat goes mental when he smells it. He also loves cheese & butter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Also if theres ever an egg dropped on the kitchen floor he'll be on it in seconds. Yoke & all. He's a pig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

the little ****es love the fur lining of guitar cases,they love curling up in that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

The parents bought a pink fluffy cat bed for my cat.
    Will the little cow go near it? Not a chance!
    If we try to put her in it she acts like we're trying to drown her.
    20 quid down the drain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Aw Doc is that a new one?Love those cartoons so much. This is my fav :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

anniehoo wrote: »
    Aw Doc is that a new one?Love those cartoons so much. This is my fav :D...[/YOUTUBE]

Yea its prity new. Love Simon's cat anyone who has ever had a cat can see their cat in him. ;)

bronte wrote: »
    20 quid down the drain!
    Yep, fuk all that soft, warm, cosy luxuriousness when there's a nice, slightly damp cardboard box that can be availed of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

cats are sneaky, malevolent dickheads. and what is the cure for sneaky, malevolent dickheaddary?
    burning with fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

bronte wrote: »
    20 quid down the drain!

Cats are stubborn, the fecker is dying to go in that cat bed, just refuses to coz it knows you're trying to force it. We got a cat hut for our cat, same thing, she refused to go near it, I got them all to stop shoving her over to it and just left it there, the cat loved it after she chose to go in it herself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Cats are stubborn, the fecker is dying to go in that cat bed, just refuses to coz it knows you're trying to force it. We got a cat hut for our cat, same thing, she refused to go near it, I got them all to stop shoving her over to it and just left it there, the cat loved it after she chose to go in it herself :)

I don't know, we had it in the living room for several months and she wouldn't go near it. It's out in the shed now.
    I think she prefers someone's knee.
    Wagon!