Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classic As Daily Driver

• 29-08-2010 5:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭

Howeya lads!

I think I started a thread on this topic about six months back but can't find it. Anyhow the criteria has changed since so no matter!

I'm considering another classic but for daily use. Currently the daily is a '99 735 and the weekend a '79 T/A. We (me and oh) used to have three cars but cut down to two about 18 months ago as I can walk to work and didn't really need to drive. We sold her car, then a year later sold my '97 523 and bought the 735. So it looks like I'll be changing jobs and will now need another daily, either for her or me.

So here's the criteria:

Must be pre-1980 (cheap tax and nct exempt)
    Saloon / Coupe / Cabrio - no hatchbacks!
    RWD - just 'coz!
    At least 2.5 6 pot if not bigger!
    Ultimately American but will consider other options.

Now here's the hard part: Budget €3k! Don't mind if it's a little bit of a beater once it runs well!

All suggestions welcome! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭marathont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Both of them on my list already! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭1948Wolseley

If you're really looking for a daily driver I'm going to ignore your minimum engine size requirement and suggest a Morris Minor. It fits all the other criteria, plus the running costs are tiny.

There is also one further reason for getting a Minor, which is explained by a certain Mr. Needell in the following video (1:40 on is the good stuff): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ooBJ2Z2sZvo

If you're really looking for a daily driver I'm going to ignore your minimum engine size requirement and suggest a Morris Minor. It fits all the other criteria, plus the running costs are tiny.

There is also one further reason for getting a Minor, which is explained by a certain Mr. Needell in the following video (1:40 on is the good stuff): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ooBJ2Z2sZvo

Thanks dude, but not me at all at all! Looking for something with a little more muscle! Thanks anyhow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭1948Wolseley

Like the size and power but it would be a bit too conservative looking for me. A 70's Jag would be considered though! Thirsty buggers for what they are mind you. Actually an XJS would fit the bill quite nicely too! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I know you said no hatchbacks but how about a Rover SD1 V8.

I know where there is a rather minty one coming up for sale soon that has just had a major overhaul. Sadly I've had to turn down the offer of it as I have no time or money at the minute. Its in a very 70's shade of brown.

PM me if you would like to contact the owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

johnos1984 wrote: »
    I know you said no hatchbacks but how about a Rover SD1 V8.

I know where there is a rather minty one coming up for sale soon that has just had a major overhaul. Sadly I've had to turn down the offer of it as I have no time or money at the minute. Its in a very 70's shade of brown.

PM me if you would like to contact the owner
    Post up a link to the ad when it goes up - i've always liked the early SD1 V8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Like the size and power but it would be a bit too conservative looking for me. A 70's Jag would be considered though! Thirsty buggers for what they are mind you. Actually an XJS would fit the bill quite nicely too! ;)
    I'd love an XJS - one of the most aesthetically pleasing Jags ever made IMO.

Only problem (as you mentioned fuel efficiency) with buying a pre 1980 XJS is that the newer engine with increased fuel efficiency went into production in the early 80's (82 AFAIK). It would REALLY be a thirsty fecker if you bought one of the earlier ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

I might be a bit biased but for 3k you can't get better value than one of these
    http://www.classiccarsforsale.co.uk/classic-car-page.php/carno/77326
    reliant-scimitar-77326a.jpg

http://www.classiccarsforsale.co.uk/classic-car-page.php/carno/88415
    0318700001268657725.jpg

you really would have to go to UK though to get one at a decent price.

Thanks for the suggestions lads!

Keep 'em coming! :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

3K would not get you a healthy XJS I suspect!

It might be a runner, but you'd be able to see the road through the floor methinks. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Dades wrote: »
    3K would not get you a healthy XJS I suspect!

It might be a runner, but you'd be able to see the road through the floor methinks. :p
    Theres a manual 3.6 xjs on carzone currently. Some rust in the wing and no NCT, for €1100.

Any others ive seen are well above 5k

As I said earlier, a lovely car if you can afford it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭gn3dr

Definitely go for a Jag. Better ride than lots of newer cars and they have such presence. Way more advanced suspension than some yoke with a live axle and cart springs :rolleyes:

A V12 (I am driving one of these occasionally at the moment and the fuel consumption really is crippling for regular driving. Great engine though)
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1521755

View2?id=3732701
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1489055

View2?id=3759816
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1365488

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Doldy101

Only one make, mercedes. They will go for ever, fuel not bad. Beautiful cars

Anan1 wrote: »
    Post up a link to the ad when it goes up - i've always liked the early SD1 V8.

Will do,

it'll be about two weeks.

I'm gutted that I've had to turn it down but I've sworn no more classics until the Corolla has been replaced

While I'm on the subject here's another consideration:

At present we have the daily and the weekend car, I am insured as the main driver on both, and the oh is a named driver on both. TBH she drives the daily more than me but that's another days work.

You can add an additional car to your classic policy for cq. €50 which is why I am considering another classic in the first place plus being over 30 years old tax is only €48, i.e. less than €100 to tax & insure an additional car!

Now I know the only way to find this out for sure is to ask your insurer / broker however maybe someone here has done similar and can answer from their own experience:

Under the above criteria, would both myself and the OH be insured to drive both classic vehicles at the one time to travel to a show together?

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Will do,

it'll be about two weeks.

I'm gutted that I've had to turn it down but I've sworn no more classics until the Corolla has been replaced

I've had a few PM's about this since posting it.

I'm searching out the thread regarding the car. PM me if your interested and I'll send it on and also the advertisement when it goes online in about 2 weeks, I've just spoken to the owner and he is happy for me to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Tigger wrote: »

Very much like the idea of a 635 but gold ain't for me. If it was red, black or graphite I could nearly put up with the E38 alloys.

i think thats why its cheap
    alloys are an easy fix

Right lads,

Here's the shortlist:

Capri / Granada / 'Tina / Escort

BMW 635

Again must be at very minimum 2L, RWD, '79 or older and under €3k!

I'll consider going to the UK to pick one up too!

i use a 633csi as a daily (well i also have a diesel tow car and some bikes) i do about 350miles a week so id re-iterate the e24

nice bit of poke and its no live axel cart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

if its a Tina you decide on try www.buysellcortina.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,120 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Here's the shortlist:

BMW 635

Surely out of that lot it would have to be the shark!!!

unkel wrote: »
    Surely out of that lot it would have to be the shark!!!

Ideally, yes! But finding a half decent one in a nice colour ain't too easy in my budget. There's some seriously minty Fords in the UK well under €3k. Also an E24 would probably drink twice as much as my E38! I would probably be better off getting herself a nice little MG to drive to work in and using the 7 myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

Right lads,

Here's the shortlist:

BMW 635

Again must be at very minimum 2L, RWD, '79 or older and under €3k!

I'll consider going to the UK to pick one up too!

The only genuine 2l Escort is the RS2000, and good luck getting a decent one for under 3K.

I'd be thinking of a 4 door Escort, possibly with a modern Zetec under the bonnet

True, I would rather a 3.0 Capri or a 2.8 Ghia Granada to be honest.

Ideally, yes! But finding a half decent one in a nice colour ain't too easy in my budget. There's some seriously minty Fords in the UK well under €3k. Also an E24 would probably drink twice as much as my E38! I would probably be better off getting herself a nice little MG to drive to work in and using the 7 myself!

i get round 19mpg with a heavy foot