Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kevin McStay

• 28-08-2010 9:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭

I don't always agree with what he says, but he's bang on about the Mick O'Dwyer situation. What are these Dublin-based Mayo people thinking in pushing for his appointment!? Don't get me wrong he was a great manager, but his methods belong to a different era!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

I thought I was getting a Ferrai but I was given a Skoda instead. McStay(ed).

Dublin based Mayo people?

Dublin isn't the root of all evil ya know. FFS...

Dublin based Mayo people?

Dublin isn't the root of all evil ya know. FFS...

In all fairness to our OP who decided upon a thread title that completely miscommunicates the main point of his post, I think it's less to do with their physical location and more to do with their apparent extraction and detachment from the 'grassroots' of the county itself. Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

The main point is that i agree with McStay's view that appointing O'Dwyer would be a bad choice.
    The second point is that those who are advocating his appointment seems to be a minority, who are at odds with the wishes of many people within the county. I should have made that clear in my original post. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

but his methods belong to a different era!

what is this supposed to mean??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

What Mick O'Dwyer can bring to the table is a knack of getting people to work together and very few people have that gift. From what I hear there are a lot more than Mayo who could do with him and his skills.

I can see where McStay is coming from but he should have kept his quiet. One thing Micko likes is lads who are very good footballers as a base and from here you build whereas if you look around the country there are a lot of super fit lads playing Senior club and inter county football who are not very skillful.

The evidence of his his method working can be seen in Kildare, Laois and Wicklow. In Laois he turned lads around from also rans to highly competitive. It takes time. The football landscape in Kildare is so different thanks to his presence (and the hard work of local Kildare people who came on board)

I view Mayo as similar, plenty of talent but they need an outside person to come in and I cant think of any better than Micko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

On reflection this is probably the first thing McStay has ever said that i do agree with. Might have something to do with us in Wicklow not wanting to lose Micko though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Yes he is real old school....

But what he does is give players confidence and if there is one thing that mayo need it is this when it matters.

Take him in for 2 years and see what he can do.
    His man management skills should not be overlooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Super5onic

A realiable sourse told me over the weekend that the manager has been decided...It kills me to even mention his name...Maughan again!

Too much history with individual players for my liking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭domino123

very irrelevant point here......but i cannot stand mcstay.......hes the most biased analysist on the sunday game.......he really doesnt like the northern teams and kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

domino123 wrote: »
    very irrelevant point here......but i cannot stand mcstay.......hes the most biased analysist on the sunday game.......he really doesnt like the northern teams and kerry.

He loves Mayo so he is A-OK in my book:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Prefer him, Tony Davis and Antony Tohill to the three muppets on earlier.

Its Martin Carney thats on now - McStay is the clown that was doing commentary with Marty earlier on

Ian_K wrote: »
    Its Martin Carney thats on now - McStay is the clown that was doing commentary with Marty earlier on

Are you serious, he sounds exactly the same.. I guess that would make me the clown then.. :(

Unfortunately Mr. McStay looks like this;

00017dc0189r.jpg

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr the pure smugness of this picture absolutely sickens me, just look at him!

^
    Duly Noted, to avoid future mistakes.. ;)

Ian_K wrote: »
    Unfortunately Mr. McStay looks like this;

00017dc0189r.jpg

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr the pure smugness of this picture absolutely sickens me, just look at him!

hahaha.....i feel the same!

He hasnt actually achieved a huge amount, I mean to entitle him to pontificate..
    Kevin McStay (born 1962 in Ballina, County Mayo) is an Irish retired sportsperson. He played Gaelic football with his local clubs Ballina Stephenites in Mayo and Ballymun Kickhams in Dublin, and was a member of the Mayo senior inter-county team from 1983 until 1990. McStay is currently an analyst on RTÉ's The Sunday Game
    Connacht titles 2
    All Irelands 0
    NFL 0
    All Stars 1

I guess it's the all star that gives him right to be on the panel...

He hasnt actually achieved a huge amount, I mean to entitle him to pontificate..

I guess it's the all star that gives him right to be on the panel...

haha.....him an anthony tohill are also life long members of the paul galvin fanclub!!!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Yes he is real old school....

But what he does is give players confidence and if there is one thing that mayo need it is this when it matters.

Take him in for 2 years and see what he can do.
    His man management skills should not be overlooked.

He may give them belief for the big occasion, but what Mayo also seem to lack as well is a ruthless streak and physical toughness compared to other teams. I mean look at how Joe Sheridan played puck last year against the Mayo backs, then in the next game he hardly got a sniff of the ball against Kerry. It was a simliar story in the league final this year where Cork just bossed Mayo in most areas of the pitch.

These days the teams at the top seem to have pace and power, as well as skill.
    So I hope they appoint someone who can instill belief in the players and focuses on ways to ensure the players are physically able to compete against the top teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Kevin McStay talks a hell of a lot of ****e. I was sick of listening to him today in commentry.

This really takes the biscuit. How much success does a manager need to be viable for a post which clearly needs a man of great experience and someone who can instill a winning mentality into a team in Croke Park.
    What do they have to lose by employing him for a year?

Anyway... McStay talks a lot of ****e :P

In a world populated by the likes of Pat Spillane and Bernard Flynn I really think Kevin McStay is far and away the least of anyone's worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

What was McStay on about today when he said that it wasn't a free because the Kildare defender didn't mean to get his legs tangled with Coulter?
    The incident I'm referring to was maybe 21 yards out from goal in the second half. Surely it doesn't matter if he "didn't mean" to foul him, he shouldn't have had his legs there.
    Thought it was a fairly bizarre thing to say, anyone else agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Barlett

Super5onic wrote: »
    A realiable sourse told me over the weekend that the manager has been decided...It kills me to even mention his name...Maughan again!

Too much history with individual players for my liking!

I really hope that's not true! Fair play to him he did alot for Mayo football but it's time to move on, I'm surprised that he'd even want it again. Have to say though looking from the list produced last week of people nominated, interest from coaches within the county is quite limited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

If you think Carney sounds like McStay I think you have hearing difficulties. ;)
    dartsfan wrote: »
    What was McStay on about today when he said that it wasn't a free because the Kildare defender didn't mean to get his legs tangled with Coulter?
    The incident I'm referring to was maybe 21 yards out from goal in the second half. Surely it doesn't matter if he "didn't mean" to foul him, he shouldn't have had his legs there.
    Thought it was a fairly bizarre thing to say, anyone else agree?

Next time try get the story straight.
    He never said it shouldn't be a free, he said it shouldn't be a booking because it wasn't a malicious trip as he just got his legs entangled with the forward.

And you know what he was right. :rolleyes:

Back on topic, I can see merit in having Micko.
    As was mentioned earlier he has given a jump to every county he has taken control of and Mayo need that badly.

There are some major problems with the Mayo team including lack of leadership, no really hard tough players and I believe a lack of belief come the big day.
    Somehow I think Micko could change some of those things.

The other thing is that some Mayo people are a bit like Newcastle Utd fans, in that they have misplaced dillusions of grandeur and think that the team should attract big names when in actual fact they have won feck all over the years to justify such a scenario.

Please God don't let it be Maughan again.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

If it's Maughan I heading straight to the bookies to back Mayo..........................'s opponents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Super5onic

jmayo wrote: »
    If you think Carney sounds like McStay I think you have hearing difficulties. ;)

Next time try get the story straight.
    He never said it shouldn't be a free, he said it shouldn't be a booking because it wasn't a malicious trip as he just got his legs entangled with the forward.

And you know what he was right. :rolleyes:

Back on topic, I can see merit in having Micko.
    As was mentioned earlier he has given a jump to every county he has taken control of and Mayo need that badly.

There are some major problems with the Mayo team including lack of leadership, no really hard tough players and I believe a lack of belief come the big day.
    Somehow I think Micko could change some of those things.

The other thing is that some Mayo people are a bit like Newcastle Utd fans, in that they have misplaced dillusions of grandeur and think that the team should attract big names when in actual fact they have won feck all over the years to justify such a scenario.

Please God don't let it be Maughan again.

I agree with 99% of what your saying but IMO those dillusions of grandure are well gone and if they are not they should be...Looking at the games this weekend and last week, our lads would have been destroyed by all 4 teams, except Dublin maybe :D