Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What should we do?

• 27-08-2010 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭

There's a "housed" traveller living next door to us. And oh my god does he have the worst taste in music..

Constantly all we hear at top volume is: "at the end of every week, each one of us becomes a freak...." "and my heartbeeeeeatsss..." and similar ****e dance music.

Told the landlady, but she can't really do anything cos it's under the council's control.

Haven't said anything to the man himself either, cos he's big time rough :eek:

He even goes so far as to prob his window open with the speaker that the music is playing out of.

Any ideas?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Report the noise to the council?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Invite Padraig Nally to stay for the weekend. I hear he was looking for his gun back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Invite Padraig Nally to stay for the weekend. I hear he was looking for his gun back.

Damn you, I was seconds away from saying that !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Damn you, I was seconds away from saying that !

MWAHA HA HA HA HA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Just play "slayer - Raining Blood" really loud...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

lila44 wrote: »

He even goes so far as to prob his window open with the speaker that the music is playing out of.

Fight fire with fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There's a "housed" traveller living next door to us. And oh my god does he have the worst taste in music..

Constantly all we hear at top volume is: "at the end of every week, each one of us becomes a freak...." "and my heartbeeeeeatsss..." and similar ****e dance music.

Told the landlady, but she can't really do anything cos it's under the council's control.

Any ideas?

Steal this speaker and burn it. The mono will confuse him and he'll run away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭lila44

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Steal this speaker and burn it. The mono will confuse him and he'll run away.

wish we could, it's a 3rd floor flat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

"housed" traveler

You could remove this bit from your OP and the gist of your complaint would still be the same.

As for the noise: lodge a complaint with the local authority for starters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Get a load of pills and have a free rave in his front garden. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Biggins wrote: »
    Report the noise to the council?
    This. If he's a council tenant, then he may be in breach of his tenancy agreement with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Just ask him politely if he wouldn't mind lowering the volume.. what's the worst that can hppen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

A whole family of them lived across from me for over 10 years. Hell I tell ya, hell. Not just the music. Council did nothing. fcukers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

stovelid wrote: »
    You could remove this bit from your OP and the gist of your complaint would still be the same.

Yeah but then we can't pick on a minority and the thread would go nowhere.

Brendog wrote: »
    Or the live version of the AC/DC classic - The Guns Are About To Rock?
    With the volume turned up for the loud cannon blasts! :pac:

Gawd, I feel old 'cos it takes me back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Put speakers up against the ceiling/floor whichever flat he is in and play a very low vibrating bass sound that will seep into his flat leave it on all day everyday and deny its you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

wish we could, it's a 3rd floor flat!

Have you tried a brick?

Just ask him politely if he wouldn't mind lowering the volume.. what's the worst that can hppen?

i could die. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

How can he be a traveller if he's living in a house? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭demonspawn

Any ideas?

Just go knock on his door and explain that you don't really like the music he plays. Maybe burn a CD of stuff you like and give it to him? If you're too afraid of walking up to another human being to have a conversation, then that's your problem really. I had a few scumbag townies (drug dealers too) move in next door to me and they would play the same god awful crap. I just knocked on the door one day and asked them to turn it down. Lo and behold, they did!! Imagine that.

Edit: I've actually dealt with a few travelers in my time. A lot of them do look like psychopaths, but once you start a conversation, you'll find that they are actually quite reasonable. There are always exceptions of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

i could die. :P

Then that way you don't have to listen to his skanger beats. It's win win =p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Brendog wrote: »

Yup, ought to do the trick!:D

El Weirdo wrote: »
    This. If he's a council tenant, then he may be in breach of his tenancy agreement with them.
    There will be a clause ion his tenancy agreement that refers to not doing anything that might cause disturbance/nuisance to the surrounding neighbours.

As for the actual noise, if you ring the Gardi and they say "well its nothing to do with us" - tell the Gardi that "if ye don't come and see to it, the disturbance could shortly lead to a breach of the peace by other residents.
    ...And then ye can't say this matter wasn't reported to ye when such an incident occurs
    "
    (The Gardi hate having to explain to a court/judge when they failed to attend to a possible reported incident!)

...Then see how fast they will come out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Biggins wrote: »
    Or the live version of the AC/DC classic - The Guns Are About To Rock?
    With the volume turned up for the loud cannon blasts! :pac:

"For those about to rock", right?

seamus wrote: »
    How can he be a traveller if he's living in a house? :confused:

I used the word "traveller" as a more PC word for something else!

mikom wrote: »
    "For those about to rock", right?
    Thats the one.
    Senility has seeped into my brain.
    I'm fooked! :o

demonspawn wrote: »
    If you're too afraid of walking up to another human being to have a conversation, then that's your problem really.

A wee bit harsh I think. It's probably wrong of me to assume that because he's a traveller that he's automatically gonna beat me up!

I am probably tarring them all with the same brush, but from what I see in the town I live in, in my job etc, they really have done nothing to redeem themselves as a culture of people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Get ear plugs. After all you have to respect his musical culture and you have racist tendencies by giving out about it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭demonspawn

He's probably trying to impress you. lol I used to do that when I was a bit younger. I figured my neighbors would like the music I played....they did not. :D Just tell the man you don't like his music. What's the big deal?