Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul WS Anderson's The Three Musketeers

• 27-08-2010 11:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,232 ✭✭✭✭

44026.jpgpoint.gifpoint.gif
    Here's our first look at Paul WS Anderson's 3D The Three Musketeers (The 3D Musketeers? Surely not...), with one moody full-costume shot of Mads Mikkelson's Rochefort* and, some other candid ones of Mikkelson, Logan Lerman (playing D'Artagnan) and Anderson himself.
    First impression? Everyone looks very... clean. Not much grit here, although perhaps these are early shots and everyone gets filthied up later.
    Also worth noting is Mikkelson's eyepatch. Rochefort doesn't have this in the Dumas novels: Christopher Lee invented it for the Richard Lester films and its been a part of the character on-screen ever since (see Michael Wincott in 1993 and Tim Roth in 2001). So again, the traditional Musketeer movie route, we're saying, rather than any sort of revisionist return to source.
    Whatever, it's clearly a fun historical romp that's intended, and a fun historical romp that'll be delivered. The screenplay is by BBC costume-drama king Andrew Davies, and the strong cast includes Matthew Macfadyen, Ray Stevenson and Luke Evans as the Musketeers, plus Christoph Waltz, Juno Temple, Orlando Bloom and, natch, Milla Jovovich.
    The Three Musketeers will usher in the summer movie season next April.

http://www.empireonline.com/news/feed.asp?NID=28775

http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=69193

Opening in 3D on April 15, 2011, the action adventure also stars Matthew Macfadyen, Ray Stevenson, Luke Evans, Christoph Waltz, Milla Jovovich, Juno Temple, Orlando Bloom and James Corden.

Oh just stop ****ing making movies into 3D already - the gimmick has worn off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭nix

Is the villan a giant spider in this version by any chance? :D

God i hate anderson with a passion, i see hes also set up to **** all over another game franchise, Castlevania :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

which one is mila jojovich going to play ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,232 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

which one is mila jojovich going to play ?

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1509767/

M'lady De Winter

i was kinda messing meaning which musketeer ! :):)

cant see myself going to see this. like robin hood these films have been done to death IMO.

im sure itll get a new generation to look at it though.

for me ill save my mila qouta for afterlife

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,670 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I hate Paul WS Anderson! He's like Uwe Boll with a bigger budget. Mads Mikkelson is a bad ass though, he's about the only thing i liked in clash of the titans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Urgh! We all know this is just leading up to the movie everyone wants..............Dogtanian :pac:

Considering it's Anderson, expect (generic) stylish scenes with a bit of slow mo'.

The reason Anderson is given so many jobs is because he can make a film on a relatively low budget, within the restricted time frame he has, and give the company a profitable return.............to Hollywood he's quite an efficent director who gets the job done, to us he's the American version of Uwe Boll.

After that it's just down to the cinema-goers who keeps him in a job. I mean, I don't understand how people love the Resident Evil movies, it's like Diet Zombie movie for people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Awful_Bliss

All ok until I saw James Corden as a cast member.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,670 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I just noticed, Mikkleson seems to have a penchant for characters with dodgy eyes lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,227 ✭✭✭Ridley

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Urgh! We all know this is just leading up to the movie everyone wants..............Dogtanian :pac:

Yeah but it'll be CGI Dogtanian with the rest of the characters as real actors on live-action sets. ;)

musketeers-line-up-in-new-images-01-470-75.jpg

The Three Musketeers has probably felt a bit left out this wek, with all the attention being given to Bats, Spiders and Men of X, so the production has released two brand-new pics showng ye olde sword-slinging heroes in action.

While Paul W.S. Anderson’s first foray into 3D (the lamentable Resident Evil: Afterlife) failed to quicken many pulses, his next stab at extra-dimensiony filmmaking will hopefully be more Dumas than Dumbass.
    The Brit director’s take on The Three Musketeers finds former the Percy Jackson, Logan Lerman, playing the dashing D’Artagnan.
    He joins forces with the titular trio - Porthos (Ray Stevenson), Athos (Matthew Macfadyen) and Aramis (Luke Evans) - to fight the forces of badness (embodied here by Orlando Bloom, Christoph Waltz and Milla Jovovich) - all in the glorious third dimension.
    Following on from a bunch of good-quality set photos released online a few months ago, today we’ve been given our first proper peek at the ‘all-for-one’ foursome in action.
    Thankfully, the spirit of Alexandre Dumas’ tale of derring-do seems to be alive and slashing with costumes, weaponry and flowing hair (facial and otherwise) looking suitably classy.

musketeers-line-up-in-new-images-02-470-75.jpg

http://www.totalfilm.com/news/musketeers-line-up-in-new-images-1?ns_campaign=news&ns_mchannel=rss&ns_source=totalfilm&ns_linkname=0&ns_fee=0&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+totalfilm%2Fimdbnews+%28Total+Film+IMDb+aggregate%29

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

Paul W.S. Anderson runis everything. Why do people continue to go see his movies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

To the studios he's great, he never goes over the relatively small budget, wraps up films on time and, more often than not, makes a profit on his movies. How much has the Resident Evil series brought in, despite being vastly shìte?

In the end the movie-goers are keeping him in a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

I can't see myself going to see this at all,the one thing that springs into my mind when I think of Anderson is "shíte movie",despite how awesome Mortal Kombat was back in the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Giggernaut

I wanted dogs dressed in period clobber brandising rapiers and speaking french....oh and a giant spider! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

..... and sexy cats in masks called milady....... uh... ahem.... just me then, yeah? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

At first glance I was like: "Wes Anderson is doing the Musketeers? Sweet!"

and then my eyes focus on the "Paul" part and I'm like:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Orlando Bloom?

In the words of Dragons Den: "I'm out"

Source

first-poster-for-the-three-musketeers-rides-in-58569-01-470-75.jpg
    The Three Musketeers opens in 3D on 12 October 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Sweet Jebus that looks like a terrible poster (The trailer's awful too) Orlando Bloom looks like he's saying: "You're eight you say?.........."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

^ ffs!...it's Pirates meets The Borgias and League Of Extraordinary Gentlemen, completely OTT scenes....

this doesnt half look shyte.

but its the type of shyte that i think may turn out to be quite fun.

its certainly got the resident evil vibe to it on the action front and i cant help thinking a certain Mr Dumas would be appalled by it but i get the feeling it might actually end up being a laugh.

orlando bloom seems to be hamming it up big time for one so i'll reserve judgement till its out.

at the very least it looks nice on the design front. if a little off its head.

also cant help thinking its more inspired by the ollie reed version than the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

It looks like a load of bollox and I'm fairly sure I'm going to enjoy it. I'm the kind of simpleton that these movies are aimed at, and I'm perfectly ok with that!

FINALLY got around to seeing this.

its actually great craic !

im as surprised as anyone else but its exactly what i expected , feeling like a cross between resident evil on the action stakes and the ol ollie reed three musketeers.

the sets are gorgeous

seriously it looks amazing in places, one scene with milady and the cardinel just walking down a hall is incredibly sumpteous and the entire cast seem to be having a whale of a time sending themselves up in their roles. orlando bloom in particular seens to be enjoying himself no end and the lad from gavin and stacy is practically channeling roy kineer.

its surprisingly true to the book in places before going on on the daftest tanget you can imagine but it all works out in delivering a good ol action romp and if the end is anything to go by youll actually want to see the sequel.

TBH in kinda surprise not more people have commented on it. its got some really nice little touches in it too like the "models" that travel across the map representing their travel.

7/10.

im not a mad period peice fan but this was more along the lines of pirates than an arthouse peice.

camp daftness but adorable for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I briefly heard about this remake. Also saw that Milla Jovovich was in it. But didnt know before reading this thread that Paul WS Anderson directs it!?

Always casting the missus isn't he? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Since they forced me to watch that Take That music video before Super 8 I have decided to boycott this film forever out of principle.