Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NASRPC @ Birr Game Fair

• 25-08-2010 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭

Just a quick note to let you know that NASRPC will be hosting a stand at this years Birr Game fair, this coming weekend, 28th & 29th August.

The purpose of the stand is to promote the sports and clubs of the NASRPC, target shooting in general and to hopefully inform a wider audience of what it is that we do.

If you happen to be at the fair be sure to drop by for a look and let us know what you think.

National Association of Sporting Rifle & Pistol Clubs
    www.nasrpc.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

I'll give a shout BUT don't think I'll decloak though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I'll drop by and say hello, will be ther on saturday:D,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I'll give a shout BUT don't think I'll decloak though ;)

Decloak? it's not a nudist camp bunny, Some of my very dry humour :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

From an NASRPC perspective the Birr game Fair was a resounding success

As this was the first time we had tried to setup a display to promote our sports and clubs to a wider audience we were very happy with the comments from people who said it was a very good setup.

We were that busy that I never really got to see the rest of the fair or shoot the clay layout but considering why we were there that is hardly a complaint.

We were full before we even finished setting up Saturday morning and at approx 4pm on Sunday we had to ask people to wait a moment so we could take a photo of the stand with the lads working it - within 10 seconds we were full again.

Many thousands of people visited the stand, many to have a look at the firearms on display but we were inundated with people looking for information on a club near them, what it takes to get into target shooting, etc. In truth, those of us who were working on the stand never stopped talking for two days.

As we were not selling anything it is difficult to quantify the success of something like this but I think exposing a wider audience to the fact that we are there and what we do is a success in itself, if some clubs get a bit of business from it that will be fantastic and if a few of them get a new member or two that will be amazing.

We provided countless people with details on the clubs and sports of the NASRPC but there were many interested in Fullbore rifle so we sent them to An Riiocht, MNSCI, etc, a couple were interested in Air Rifle and Air Pistol so we sent them to Wilkinstown or Rathdrum. A couple were interested in PR60 so we went them to DRC, ECSC, Rathdrum, Fermoy, etc. and so on and so forth.

Phoenix Gun Club also had a stand which also attracted a lot of attention (I barely made it out of our display for a bite to eat so I'll let them report on how they did)

All in all I think we have nothing but positives to report from the weekend.
    (Except I didn't get to shoot the clays and win that DT10)

I hope any of you that visited (cloaked or otherwise) liked what we had on display, what we had to say and hopefully you came away from it with a bit of a better idea of what the NASRPC is and what it is trying to do.

B'Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

i visited the stand and have to say they were very helpful and friendly, the shiny toys at the back were also interesting
    id give the stand 10/10 and im not a target shooter

I passed by and meant to come back to it but didn't get time :(

Looked good from what I saw though :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭Sikamick

A special thanks to all the NARGC staff especially Des Crofton, Chris Gavican for their help and support, it's much appreciated.

A special thanks to all the VCRAI members that helped man the stand at the show.

Thanks to Cris Lindsay and John Kavanagh of Fingal Sports for their help, support and advise, true sports men that put the sport first.

It was great to see the NASRPC members at the show, their stand was a credit to them and a very good image for the shooting sports in Ireland, their display of medals and trophies proof of their commitment to the sport.

Paddy Fagan, Brian Kelly and Jim Bradley of the Phoenix Pistol/Rifle club, Harbour House Range are also a credit to the shooting sports, their stand and display of pistols, rifles and medals was wonderful to see.The interest from the general public in what they do, the type of competitions and firearms used and their achievements in National and International Competitions was enlightening. Well done Lads.

I'd have to say that it is heart warming to see the shooting sports so well represented, it's about time, for far to long we have hidden our light under a bushel.

Michael O'Connor
    Secretary to The Vintage Classic Rifle Association of Ireland
    aka Sikamick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

Bananaman - have stand pics if you want it - PS - don't be complaining about lack of food - I did offer to feed ye lol. :D

LB6 wrote: »
    Bananaman - have stand pics if you want it - PS - don't be complaining about lack of food - I did offer to feed ye lol. :D

Can you post pics (blurring out faces of course)
    It would be nice to see what the stand ws like;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

Tack - pics are of the lads manning the stand - and one from the outside - not much to be seen of the display - there were too many people inside to get a good shot. The NASRPC site or their FB page might put some up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Scalachi

Will post a few pics of the display in the next hour or so guys..

have not had a chance all day, too tired!

Was a great weekend, was great to try and show our sports to several thousand people, hopefully we will have some new entrants.

Regards

DB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Scalachi

Here is a couple of Pics of the Display.

Big thank you to everyone who worked over the weekend, helped out etc etc, you know who you are :D

Regards

DB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Ah yes..The dreaded "humanoid" targets much loved of the Gardai and Insp Brookes on display..:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:.
    Fair dues to yez all lads for putting up a nice display from the pics.I didnt get up to it this year,so well done all round.:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Scalachi wrote: »
    Here is a couple of Pics of the Display.

Big thank you to everyone who worked over the weekend, helped out etc etc, you know who you are :D

Regards

DB

Great looking stall. I like the way a 10/22 and a Remington S/A are both on Display.

Mad looking .22 with a weaver fixed 40x scope, I'd say that must be accurate;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Excellent looking stall. Very nice.

Is that a "classic rifle" in one of the photos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

The two at the front are a Lee Enfield 303 (1917) and an M1 Carbine

B'Man

Recognised the Enfield alright ;)

Are NASRPC moving in that direction also :cool: