Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thieving scumbags!!!

• 24-08-2010 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭

Last night my friend's parents' car was stolen from right outside their house :mad:

I know car theft is not a pleasant thing to happen to anyone but if ever there were 2 people who didn't deserve this it was these two.

Car is a '07 Saab 93 reg 07 D 23119 if anyone happens to spot it or even worse, someone tries to sell it. Cheers.

K

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

:(:(:mad: Bastards :mad: Did they take the keys from the house? I would have thought they would have to with an 07 with the built in immobiliser? If you could give a vague area where this happened as it might keep people on the alert in that neck of the woods. FWIW I'll jot down the number in my phone.

This seems to be happening more and more. The sooner the authorities treat this as seriously as they should the better.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Whereabouts in the country did this happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭kkelly77

Dublin 22 area. Ironically enough, their house was broken into as well 2 or 3 weeks ago but they definitely didn't get the spare key. I was told a few days ago my friend's father was in the sitting room and the lights of the car came on all by themselves. When he went out the car was unlocked. I can only assume the scum that took the car were trying out perhaps some sort of RF device that was able to activate the central locking prior to taking the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Divorce Referendum

kkelly77 wrote: »
    Dublin 22 area. Ironically enough, their house was broken into as well 2 or 3 weeks ago but they definitely didn't get the spare key. I was told a few days ago my friend's father was in the sitting room and the lights of the car came on all by themselves. When he went out the car was unlocked. I can only assume the scum that took the car were trying out perhaps some sort of RF device that was able to activate the central locking prior to taking the car.

These are all too common especially in car parks where people look to steal belongings from you car when you go in to shop etc. To start the car though they probably had the key id imagine to disable the immobiliser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭kkelly77

Car was found burnt out in Tallaght. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Another burnt out car in tallaght...

I'm sorry to hear about the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

As long as it is insured don't worry.

TBH I had a car stolen before and I wish it never came back. It just never felt the same afterwards and clearly had the back arse driven off it. It was used as a getaway car (A 1.6l Avensis and it outran the Gardaí :eek:), tyres were ruined, brakes fecked, clutch almost burnt out and was covered in dirt inside fromm the feckers.

Insurance company asked me to prove it wasn't in this condition before it was stolen :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

mondeo wrote: »
    Another burnt out car in tallaght...

You know, there's not that many cars burnt out in Tallaght every week...

At least, not as much as people think.

Hard luck OP, hopefully insurance pulls through on this anyway :]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Car thieves are among the worst scum on the planet. My fathers car was stolen when I was younger. Found later in a field burned out and badly bashed up, like it was rolled. I really hope whoever took it caused themselves a nasty spinal injury when they rolled it...

Someone tried to take my car the week before last. I havent slept properly since knowing that they might be back again. ****ing scum is all they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭zapata

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Insurance company asked me to prove it wasn't in this condition before it was stolen :mad:

What company was that? Name and shame them...

Very strange to hear a 07 Saab getting nicked without a remote transmitter or key? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭bongi69

My dad's car was burnt out about a month ago in Mulhuddart.

Scumbags smashed the window, released the handbrake and let it roll into a wall before torching it. It was only a 94 Renault 19, but he had it 10 years and took great pride in keeping it in top nick. Never mind the disabled driver permit (fully entitled to it mind you) clearly on display on the dash.

What kind of scum does that to a car that has no value besides sentimental, and to a car that is used by a disabled person who was stuck without it, and left €1000 out of pocket after the claim was done

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

You know, there's not that many cars burnt out in Tallaght every week...

At least, not as much as people think.
    I agree. At one point it was bloody ridiculous the amount of cars burnt out in a couple of well known places. The car thieving scum seemed to ease off for a while, but just going on personal experience it's going up again. 4 people I know have had their cars stolen this year.

bongi69 wrote: »
    My dad's car was burnt out about a month ago in Mulhuddart.

Scumbags smashed the window, released the handbrake and let it roll into a wall before torching it. It was only a 94 Renault 19, but he had it 10 years and took great pride in keeping it in top nick. Never mind the disabled driver permit (fully entitled to it mind you) clearly on display on the dash.

What kind of scum does that to a car that has no value besides sentimental, and to a car that is used by a disabled person who was stuck without it, and left €1000 out of pocket after the claim was done
    You nailed it with the word scum pretty much. I mean in your case they didnt even drive it. Just wanton mindless vandalism. I used to be more liberal in such things, but I've learned that yes sometimes there are extenuating circumstances that need to be looked at, but there are also people who are just scumbags and unlikely to change and a waste of oxygen to society.

We car owners have to take some responsibility and care too. Make it as hard as possible for the scum to steal your car. In your case with your dads car, there was little you could have done, short of having one of those posts sunk into your driveway. But like you say who would imagine some animals would think it "fun" to destroy a low value car belonging to a disabled driver?

Don't believe the "ah if they want it they'll take it" line. Yes its somewhat true, but not nearly as true as people think. the majority of scum are morons. It doesnt take much to defeat them or slow them down so much they'll pick an easier target. We need harsher sentencing and better police resources to focus attention on property crime in general. Bait cars http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bait_car have proven effective in reducing car theft and car crime in general. They're not that expensive to build either. If cost is an issue, here's an idea I had: Get someone to research and develop a basic GPS kit that can be fitted to most cars(cameras not required for privacy's sake). Let owners buy them with small grants to make it attractive. They register their cars with the Guards and if one is stolen the owner informs the Gardai and they take it from there. If scum don't know what car has the system, they'll be a lot more wary of stealing cars in general.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

zapata wrote: »
    What company was that? Name and shame them...

Very strange to hear a 07 Saab getting nicked without a remote transmitter or key? :confused:

We had a call in this morning where a driver definately thinks he locked his car last night, but this morning all his stuff is gone from inside, but not windows were broken.

He also can't lock it again so it looks like there has been something done to the electronics.

This was a new model Avensis in Lucan, so not a million miles away from the Saab in the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Dubious tho, isn't it? Presuming it's some sort of device (and not just cutting thru door wiring) you'd say the technology would be pretty expensive and hard to get hold of - ie the easiest way is still going to be break window to rob from the car, or steal a key to take the car.

Who would fork out on super dooper techno wizardry to joyride or pilfer, when there's cheaper/easier ways?

Maybe not. Look at some of the high tech stuff you can get on the web coming from China at knockdown prices and it's not beyond the bounds. Not so long ago I got a GSM/GPS alarm system that can remotely track and disable a car for 60 quid landed. Works too.

Third party quality code hopping alarms with decent security are very hard to beat, but manufacturer OEM systems by virtue of the numbers out there could be worked on, a flaw found and then beaten. I'd say the OEM stuff is far more profitable to attack on that basis alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

There was a program on BBC on Tuesday night that dealt with a similar incident.

While specific signal jamming equipment is very expensive, it's been discovered that a device designed for something else (garage door opener or something like that) does the same job, and is cheap to get hold of.

Experts from Thatcham also said that the technology for stealing cars without the keys is beginning to make it's way in to the hands of the theives, so expect thefts to start to creep back up :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

R.O.R wrote: »
    We had a call in this morning where a driver definately thinks he locked his car last night, but this morning all his stuff is gone from inside, but not windows were broken.

He also can't lock it again so it looks like there has been something done to the electronics.

This was a new model Avensis in Lucan, so not a million miles away from the Saab in the OP.

Heard before they cut the central locking cable between the door ane hinge with a thin blade slid in the gap between door and body and this allows them access, no need for fancy toys.

no need for fancy toys.
    ya, while I wouldn't dispute the existence of fancy toys, low-tech is going to account for 99.9% of crimes. The fact that a SAAB may have a visible chassis number on the dash might allow for the possibility of someone with illegitimate access to some locksmiths car key equipment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Heard before they cut the central locking cable between the door ane hinge with a thin blade slid in the gap between door and body and this allows them access, no need for fancy toys.

Old boss had this problem with ford transits....hacksaw blade - cable cut - doors open automatically - all tools gone!!

Did it outside his house in lucan a few times til he got mesh wound around the faulty cable.

BTW....they are still scum no matter what or how they operate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭bongi69

Wibbs wrote: »
    Don't believe the "ah if they want it they'll take it" line. Yes its somewhat true, but not nearly as true as people think. the majority of scum are morons. It doesnt take much to defeat them or slow them down so much they'll pick an easier target. We need harsher sentencing and better police resources to focus attention on property crime in general. Bait cars http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bait_car have proven effective in reducing car theft and car crime in general. They're not that expensive to build either. If cost is an issue, here's an idea I had: Get someone to research and develop a basic GPS kit that can be fitted to most cars(cameras not required for privacy's sake). Let owners buy them with small grants to make it attractive. They register their cars with the Guards and if one is stolen the owner informs the Gardai and they take it from there. If scum don't know what car has the system, they'll be a lot more wary of stealing cars in general.

Why is there no car tracking company that targets personal customers in this country??
    Back home we had the likes of http://www.ctrack.co.za/, who as well a providing fleet solutions do a personal tracking product for about €10 a month. Most main dealers are tied sales agents for a tracking company and you can get one fitted before you drive a new car off the forcourt. Base models just track, but you can get ones that'll disable the car or have panic buttons for hijacks.

If the likes of Fleetmatics here started offering personal trackers for an alright price, I would sign up. Insurance co's could offer discounts too. Win Win :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

bongi69 wrote: »
    Why is there no car tracking company that targets personal customers in this country??
    Back home we had the likes of http://www.ctrack.co.za/, who as well a providing fleet solutions do a personal tracking product for about €10 a month. Most main dealers are tied sales agents for a tracking company and you can get one fitted before you drive a new car off the forcourt. Base models just track, but you can get ones that'll disable the car or have panic buttons for hijacks.

If the likes of Fleetmatics here started offering personal trackers for an alright price, I would sign up. Insurance co's could offer discounts too. Win Win :D

If they did it would probably be a ripp off anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

langdang wrote: »
    xistence of fancy toys, low-tech is going to account for 99.9% of crimes. The fact that a SAAB may have a visible chassis number on the dash might allow for the possibility of someone with illegitimate access to some locksmiths car key equipment?
    Don't all cars have the VIN on the dash these days? :confused:

Not your ornery onager

esel wrote: »
    Don't all cars have the VIN on the dash these days? :confused:
    maybe they do future boy ;-) i'll confirm when i work up to a car from this century.

mondeo wrote: »
    If they did it would probably be a ripp off anyway.
    Yep. The cost of tracking systems here is high last time I looked into it. Certainly more than a tenner a month. Also AFAIR it's illegal under EU and Irish regs to have a disable circuit than can be activated remotely while the car is running. So they couldnt officially offer that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

There must be some kid of device available already though that has GPS and 3G capability. Stick a SIM card in it and put it in your car, you set up your device on a server with a unique IP and the cars location can be constantly tracked through Google Map associated software on an internet connected PC.

All it should cost you is the price of running the SIM card.

EDIT: Guess they have come up with something like that!

http://www.zimbio.com/Cell+Phone+Review+and+News/articles/6gezO9NPWPq/Fanatic+Digital+Real+Time+Gsm+gprs+sms+online

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Yep. The cost of tracking systems here is high last time I looked into it. Certainly more than a tenner a month. Also AFAIR it's illegal under EU and Irish regs to have a disable circuit than can be activated remotely while the car is running. So they couldnt officially offer that.
    As far as I know you can't use devices that shut down the car while it's running but a remote shutdown of a static car is ok as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

this is a sucky thing to happen to anybody, i would spend sometime over the next few week checking out the online car sale sites or but and sell and see if it turns up, worth a shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

gsm and gps signal blockers available easily already, no harm to have a system like that mentioned though - gsm/gps disabler - any link? i read somewhere that organised car thieves steal cars and park them in undeground car parks for a week or two and watch to see if anybody shows up to collect them.

car key break in across my road two weeks ago, 06 avensis stolen, belonging to a young lad, first decent car he owned from what i know. in a quiet part of carlow as well.

we had two bikes stolen from outside the house around the same time too.

its getting to the stage where before i buy anything i assess how likely it is to be stolen. AGS are incredibly out of touch. far better at telling the national newspapers they will be enforcing the commerical motor tax provisions than dealing with actual (god forbid and heaven forfend) detecting and investigation of offences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

Maybe not. Look at some of the high tech stuff you can get on the web coming from China at knockdown prices and it's not beyond the bounds. Not so long ago I got a GSM/GPS alarm system that can remotely track and disable a car for 60 quid landed. Works too.

any links? id be interested in having a look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

There must be some kid of device available already though that has GPS and 3G capability. Stick a SIM card in it and put it in your car, you set up your device on a server with a unique IP and the cars location can be constantly tracked through Google Map associated software on an internet connected PC.

All it should cost you is the price of running the SIM card.

EDIT: Guess they have come up with something like that!

http://www.zimbio.com/Cell+Phone+Review+and+News/articles/6gezO9NPWPq/Fanatic+Digital+Real+Time+Gsm+gprs+sms+online

Clifford have a system like that. Its about €450 and bolts on to Clifford alarms. You text a number and it texts you back the GPS coordinates of the cars location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

the law for this kind of stuff needs to be changed.

they don't car if they get caught cause they will be for lunch if they are arrested with a slap on the wrist