Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M50 car stoning near Blanchardstown!

• 24-08-2010 5:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭

I heard today on the Joe Duffy radio program that three little thugs aged about 12, where stoning vehicles on the M50 over the last three days since Saturday!
    One people carrier had its side windows put through and a child in the back was hit in the head! Apparantly the Garda's where called numerous times, but failed to do very little about it! They where ment to have a very cavalier attitude to the people who called them about the incident!

So what do you think can be done to stop this behavior, when the States forces, dont seem to care!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Plebs

jock101 wrote: »
    I heard today on the Joe Duffy radio program that three little thugs aged about 12, where stoning vehicles on the M50 over the last three days since Saturday!
    One people carrier had its side windows put through and a child in the back was hit in the head! Apparantly the Garda's where called numerous times, but failed to do very little about it! They where ment to have a very cavalier attitude to the people who called them about the incident!

So what do you think can be done to stop this behavior, when the States forces, dont seem to care!:mad:

Call child protection services and drag the parents through the courts. Make life hell for them and make them pay €1,000s in solicitors fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

Plebs wrote: »
    Call child protection services and drag the parents through the courts. Make life hell for them and make them pay €1,000s in solicitors fees.

From the what I heard on the radio show, these thugs Parents are more then likely on Social Welfare, and are thugs themselves! But as the show's callers where saying, it will take a major crash with multiple deaths for the Bowsies that run this hole do something about it!

I believe the same thing happened on the M3 near Kells, shortly after Dempsey opened it a few months back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Obviously, people need to be allowed to drive much much faster, thereby avoiding the stones altogether. 100mph speed limit should be immediately brought in for the M50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Plebs

From the what I heard on the radio show, these thugs Parents are more then likely on Social Welfare, and are thugs themselves! But as the show's callers where saying, it will take a major crash with multiple deaths for the Bowsies that run this hole do something about it!

http://www.newstalkzb.co.nz/newsdetail1.asp?storyID=98986

Take the dole off them and give it to the victim's family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

This is always happening. It has happened in Limerick several times. May god help them if I caught them. I better shut up now.

Obviously, people need to be allowed to drive much much faster, thereby avoiding the stones altogether. 100mph speed limit should be immediately brought in for the M50.

I dont think driving faster is going to avoid the stones, just more likely you will swerve and flip the car with the shock of your window exploding, and ending up faceplanting into a bridge wall!:rolleyes::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Didn't something similar happen a few weeks ago on a motorway where someone died because of it?

How do these kids get on the motorway?
    And what's fun about throwing stones at passing cars?!!

These kids need counselling more than juvenile prison time...

Didn't something similar happen a few weeks ago on a motorway where someone died because of it?

Apparently through a broken fence! Near a site!!!! with horses?:rolleyes: If you get my drift!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I dont think driving faster is going to avoid the stones, just more likely you will swerve and flip the car with the shock of your window exploding, and ending up faceplanting into a bridge wall!:rolleyes::D

What's the smiley face about? I don't find that very funny tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Never mind the fact that he missed the joke entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Their not on the motorway, their chucking these rocks from flyovers/bridges crossing the motorways

dont think theres any fun in it, just doing it for the attention

as for counselling, its a good kick up the hole they need and serious charges against their parents

someday someone will actully die through their actions, and knowing the state they'll never be traced or just get off lightly

Never mind the fact that he missed the joke entirely.

Yes, I saw it. But this is a very serious problem, which makes speeding tame in comparison! A stone in the face is definitely going to cause a crash, especially if the driver is speeding!:confused::mad::mad: And I dont want to be one of the chomps in the ensuing pile up!

irish-stew wrote: »
    Their not on the motorway, their chucking these rocks from flyovers/bridges crossing the motorways

dont think theres any fun in it, just doing it for the attention

as for counselling, its a good kick up the hole they need and serious charges against their parents

someday someone will actully die through their actions, and knowing the state they'll never be traced or just get off lightly

Someone did die a few weeks ago because of this.
    There were apparently 3 kids and the cops caught only one or something...

I agree the parents are more to blame for such acts then the kids.
    Whatever happened to parenthood and moral upbringing when the parent(s) themselves are in dire lack of such values...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Yes, I saw it. But this is a very serious problem, which makes speeding tame in comparison! A stone in the face is definitely going to cause a crash, especially if the driver is speeding!:confused::mad::mad: And I dont want to be one of the chomps in the ensuing pile up!

I will sell you my car. It has bullet proof glass...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

I rang the guards about this on Saturday evening. 2 of them throwing stones from the embankment of the Cappagh Rd bridge. Southbound between Finglas and Blanch.

stones.jpg

I wonder if the Gards did anything about it.
    Probably let the kids get away with a tap on the head or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

I wonder if the Gards did anything about it.
    Probably let the kids get away with a tap on the head or something...

They didn't sound very concerned when I called them :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

Electrocute the Duckers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

....and I bet you'll still have ****ers breaking it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Apparently through a broken fence! Near a site!!!! with horses?:rolleyes: If you get my drift!

Similarly, about 5 months ago beside another site for nomadic minorities, a couple of kids smashed the bus door window on the Ballyowen Road in Lucan.
    I was in the packed bus going home at 6pm on a weekday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

Apparantly the Garda's where called numerous times, but failed to do very little about it!

am I the only one that finds there's something wrong with this statement??!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Similarly, about 5 months ago beside another site for nomadic minorities, a couple of kids smashed the bus door window on the Ballyowen Road in Lucan.
    I get your drift, and it's not welcome here. Banned for a week both of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Well I don't doubt that many people would disagree with the observation.

Once On a regular cycle commute, as I passed a social housing estate, a young kid ran out to hit me a slap as I cycled past.

But of course there's no connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

The idea of this happening scares the living hell out of me to be honest.

Why on earth would the guards not follow up on this? This is a very serious offense these kids are committing and by not acting on it the guards are basically sending the message to the kids that its perfectly okay to act this way.

I agree; action needs to be taken against their parents. Kids taken off them if they cant control them, lose social welfare benefits where applicacable, fines, even jail time if thats what it takes.

I also feel there needs to be some action taken against the kids as well. Do we not have juvinale prisons in this country any more like we used to? Surely the threat of going to a military style boarding school for a few years would make at least some of these little toerags think twice before doing stuff like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭polyfusion

Neilw wrote: »
    I rang the guards about this on Saturday evening. 2 of them throwing stones from the embankment of the Cappagh Rd bridge. Southbound between Finglas and Blanch.

stones.jpg

Whatever about kids chucking rocks, I'd say that panda in the middle of the road is a bit of a hazard too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The threat of detention or social workers has no effect.
    Take it back to the people who are to blame - the parents.
    Black cat, black kitten.

Not sending your child to school madam? Well when you decide to send them, THEN (and only then) come back looking for medical card/rent allowance/family income supplement.

Your brats out causing trouble in the evenings sir? Well when you can be arsed to take care of them, THEN (and only then) come looking for your lah-boo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

irish-stew wrote: »
    its a good kick up the hole they need
    Was about to say that myself. This country needs a Kick up the Hole Department. There's plenty of business for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

stones.jpg
    polyfusion wrote: »
    Whatever about kids chucking rocks, I'd say that panda in the middle of the road is a bit of a hazard too.

Lads cop on, theres no proof that travellers were involved in this rock throwing episode...;)

mapm50.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

I think the place where it occured is beside the 12th Lock pub on the walkway bridge. Idiots who are doing it though.

DonJose wrote: »
    Lads cop on, theres no proof that travellers were involved in this rock throwing episode...;)
    Banned for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

...which makes speeding tame in comparison! ....
    This from the man who insists speeding is the root of all evil??! :eek: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

polyfusion wrote: »
    Just noticed this and I'm finding it laugh-out-loud funny! :D

I'm very disappointed that a panda doesn't show up in the later photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭blingrhino

ah come on anan- thats worse than a green party policy:mad:

blingrhino wrote: »
    ah come on anan- thats worse than a green party policy:mad:
    If you've a problem with moderation then PM the mod in question. If you've a problem with not being allowed to spout prejudice against travellers (or any other ethnic group) then don't post in Motors. Banned for a week for arguing about moderation on-thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

There's always been problems there with passing buses getting their windows smashed etc.

I was coming this way one night a few years back and just coming onto the flyover when a car coming the other way started flashing headlights at me frantically. Turns out the little f*ckers had put an old tire in the middle of my lane just over the rise (where it wouldn't be seen).

Nothing gets done though. God forbid scum (and I don't care who it was or what group they belong to - all the same to me if they do things like that) like this get pulled up for their behaviour because it might emotionally damage them or something :rolleyes:

Bloody liberal touchy-feely PC crap has destroyed this country! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Kaiser2000 wrote: »

Bloody liberal touchy-feely PC crap has destroyed this country! :mad:

And this thread.

Yeah, I know, banned for a week...

cjt156 wrote: »
    And this thread.

Yeah, I know, banned for a week...
    Look, lads, this is really simple. You can bitch all you want about the people throwing the rocks at cars. If they're kids, you can question the responsibilities of their parents. If a traveller throws a rock at a car then you're perfectly entitled to let go about that traveller. What you can't do is imply that because rocks are being thrown and there are travellers in the area then it must be them.

In a nutshell, you can blame people, not ethnic groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

I blame the panda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

JustinOval wrote: »
    I blame the panda.

Panda-ist!!!

cjt156 wrote: »
    Panda-ist!!!
    You will note that he blamed the panda, not pandas in general.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

This isn't anything new, scum bag kids have been doing this for a long time.

As long as there is little to no punishment for them or their parents then it will continue to happen well into the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Seen a rock go through a windscreen right on front of me on the N4 @ chappo.
    Kids ran straight off the bridge into that park on the left.

no possible way of catching them even if I tried.

Little bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭M.J.M.C

How can some of you even remotely joke about this kinda thing......

As someone else said the fear of this happening to either myself or a loved-one scares the life out of me.

The parents are clearly to blame here, why can't people see this!
    When I myself was a child I didn't throw stones at passing cares. Like most people,my parents brought me up better than that...
    At the end of the day, they are kids with no direction in life. No one telling them right from wrong

Think of it this way

2 parents have 5 kids, all of whom are brought up to know no better...Throwing rocks at passing cars etc
    Those 5 kids grow up, have more 3,4,5 more kids each and so on and so on....

It's a growing problem and they don't care less.

Parents should be rightly punished for their childrens actions

These children and many like them are the future of Ireland, either sort it out or god help this country in many years to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

cappah.jpg

I think its a reasonable assumption that it was local kids who live inside the circle illustrated. or the panda....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

if they throw stones at my car i will run them over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

cappah.jpg

I think its a reasonable assumption that it was local kids who live inside the circle illustrated. or the panda....

What about the patients from the orthopedic hospital?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Stark wrote: »
    What about the patients from the orthopedic hospital?

kids dont posess cars, inside the circle is walking distance, walking accross bridges is effort for children , theyd just throw things off the bridge if they had to do that. therefore my circle is the most likely container for where they came from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I don't realy venture on the M50

But ah, I know Cappagh Rd. And have had stones fired at me......and me on a motorcycle! :mad:

And it was a gang of local kids, well locals who came from areas on the aeriel photo.

No, not the entire group who live there, just a gang of kids.
    Though I blame the parents more then the kids.

One thing to stone a car but a motorcycle who can lose control easily??

I'm going to close this now, before anyone else gets themselves banned.