Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motor tax on 4X4's

• 24-08-2010 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

Wel what do people think of this new motor tax announced for commercial 4X4's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Muckit wrote: »
    Wel what do people think of this new motor tax announced for commercial 4X4's?

It's not for commercial 4X4's alone. It's for ALL commercial vans. Even Hi-Ace vans:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

well if you have a jeep as lots of farmers do will it be enough to declare you are using your jeep for farming only or does farming qualify ?
    is this still a proposal or is this definately going ahead, that gormly guy is a disaster.

well if you have a jeep as lots of farmers do will it be enough to declare you are using your jeep for farming only or does farming qualify ?
    is this still a proposal or is this definately going ahead, that gormly guy is a disaster.

Just means you go to the local cop shop. Sign a declaration you will not use the jeep for private purposes. Say going to a match on Sunday.

Then all you do, is always make sure to have a roll of fence wire and a few stakes thrown in the back. If the guards stop you, just tell them you are going to do a bit of fencing:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

The usual.
    Someone had a good idea - crack down on the 'Ballsbridge Tractor' tax dodge.

Expensive luxury cars owned by people with more money than sense, perfect example of who we should be hitting for more tax.

But then the politicians get involved and a good idea turns into utter stupidity....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

that gormly guy is a disaster.
    You said it, he should be put up against a wall and shot with his own shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭adne

gormly guy is a disaster.

here here, I own a VW Golf Van and have a 280 KM round trip to my full time job, he has already hit me with a carbon levy to deter me from driving to work - Sorry John, The bicycle for a 280 KM trip to work might strectch it a bit - and now he is going to tax me more because i own a Van which aids with my part time farming...

Its beyond time for a change, we are blaming FF for this that and the other but the Greens (with their urban electrate) need to be put out of government too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

adne wrote: »
    have a 280 KM round trip to my full time job

280km, thats almost 180 miles, thats 90 miles morning and evening, every day... :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

So assuming you are pay and file you should be OK methinks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭denis086

They hardly expect people to go out and buy a seperate car for lets say going to mass on a sunday or to go to the shop :rolleyes: all were concerned about is how will we get to the ploughing match lets just hope its dry and the car does it we couldnt risk the jeep now 4 lads in a commercial :eek: :D
    One things for sure the greens wont be in next time around and they know it thats why theyre dragging down as much as they can. They seem to make up these rules for just dublin because they see people driving fancy jeeps that never set a tyre in a mucky field and these are the people they should target

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭haybob

So can I pick up the young lad from school in the jeep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

I think this is the problem if you collect kids from school or even have the young lad with you out checking cattle you could be hit with a fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭haybob

well they can &^%$ off if they think I'm buying a new car to collect the young lad from school or training

This seems fierce unfair
    djmc wrote: »
    I think this is the problem if you collect kids from school or even have the young lad with you out checking cattle you could be hit with a fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Very unfair indeed
    I dont know what your local garda would say but I would think if you get stoped by the revenue customs lads you could be left walking home from school with the young lad and a big fine to get your jeep back same as if you were driving with green diesel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Just means you go to the local cop shop. Sign a declaration you will not use the jeep for private purposes. Say going to a match on Sunday.

Then all you do, is always make sure to have a roll of fence wire and a few stakes thrown in the back. If the guards stop you, just tell them you are going to do a bit of fencing:cool:

might be no harm to wear wellingtons and a paid of overalls to mass from now on just to be on the safe side aswell:D

denis086 wrote: »
    They hardly expect people to go out and buy a seperate car for lets say going to mass on a sunday or to go to the shop :rolleyes: all were concerned about is how will we get to the ploughing match lets just hope its dry and the car does it we couldnt risk the jeep now 4 lads in a commercial :eek: :D
    One things for sure the greens wont be in next time around and they know it thats why theyre dragging down as much as they can. They seem to make up these rules for just dublin because they see people driving fancy jeeps that never set a tyre in a mucky field and these are the people they should target

i imagine they ( the greens ) know it wasnt 4WD drivers who elected them the last time and it wont be those same people who vote for them the next time either , moves like this one play well with thier grass roots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Alibear

John Gormley should be gotten rid off; I honestly can't stand him and all his proposals!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

We're borrowing €500 million every week, we've 400,000 people out of work and this is all our government can come up with.

Ya, tax low income farmers and out of work tradesmen.:mad:
    We really are in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭puppieperson

if we all refused to pay any road tax it would be too much work for courts &. cops to fine us and then they would have no revenue . but sadly the irish nation are very cowardly and just take this abuse lying down. i have a7 yr old commercial jeep for going t o work & taking my dogs (6) everywhere i need it. i am not a D4 tit and i have used the low 4 wheel drive gormley is an idiot he buggered up the stag hunt cos he hated mick bailey, every thing he does is personal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭mountainy man

this will make me a prisoner in my own home , can't aford tax or to replace my pickup , I live at 295m above sea level ,last winter I would have starved without my 4x4, this ejit is so out of touch it makes my blood boil, basicly i'm ****ed:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

The whole thing is a bit of a storm in a tea cup as far as I'm concerned. By the letter of the law it has always the case that you were only supposed to use a commercial vehicle for commercial purposes. The Greens haven't done themselves any favours by highlighting the fact though, because as has already been said it's almost impossible to enforce and they really should have more important things on their minds. As long as you can prove you have a genuine need for a commercial vehicle you have nothing to worry about, and if you have a couple of tools in the back then if anyone asks you're either heading to or coming from a job and picking up the kids/shopping/lads from the pub on the way.

Alibear wrote: »
    John Gormley should be gotten rid off; I honestly can't stand him and all his proposals!

Not to worry. Politically speaking he is a dead man cycling.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭mountainy man

Tora Bora wrote: »
    Not to worry. Politically speaking he is a dead man cycling.:D

he would make a great mascot on the front of my truck:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭kincaid

Yes this is a joke, makes no sense at all.. something seriously wrong with thats man's (JOHN GORMLESS) head..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Most roads in this country are so bad that only a 4x4 could navigate them.

If a Garda stops you after checking cattle on the outside farm and you have a litre of milk on the passenger seat after calling to the shop on your way home you can be fined and made pay private tax :eek:

Haven't the Gardaí enough to do besides searching 4x4s for shopping bags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Alibear wrote: »
    i reckon the greens are trying to get through as many stupid regulations as possible before they are turfed out , the chances of them EVER getting back in government are extremely slim , so they are milking it while they can:mad:

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Most roads in this country are so bad that only a 4x4 could navigate them.

If a Garda stops you after checking cattle on the outside farm and you have a litre of milk on the passenger seat after calling to the shop on your way home you can be fined and made pay private tax :eek:

Haven't the Gardaí enough to do besides searching 4x4s for shopping bags?

Ah, just tell him t'is the snigging of a cow:pac: Bringing it home for the cornflakes in the morning:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭adne

280km, thats almost 180 miles, thats 90 miles morning and evening, every day... :eek: :eek: :eek:

correct - would not take much more crap from the Government to make me decide my future is outside of Eire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

whelan1 wrote: »
    i reckon the greens are trying to get through as many stupid regulations as possible before they are turfed out , the chances of them EVER getting back in government are extremely slim , so they are milking it while they can:mad:
    They didn't get voted in the last time either, it was only when Fianna fail juggled a few votes to have them on board. Can voters stop that happening again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Storm in a teacup IMO. I'd liken it to the laws on the use of agricultural diesel. In theory its not meant to be used for on the road unless the road driving is required to get from field to field (or something like that) but in practice its not something the guards enforce. Oh and by rights aren't commercial jeeps supposed to be limited to 80kph regardless of the actual speed limit posted (I think?) but again not enforced/enforceable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

What you're putting agricultural diesel in your 4x4. Now there's an idea.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

No i meant using the green for tractors:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

What the prob guys. Ithas been the law for over 20 years. Now can you tell me what kind of tit of a guard is going to stop you with a litre of milk in the front and your child there too. Just going to check the cattle. No problem. It was caused by people abusing the leeway of the law ie pulling the p*** altogether. It is very strange for me to be defending Gormless but life will comtinue as normal. And only 2 years max. to payback time.... :D

5live wrote: »
    What the prob guys. Ithas been the law for over 20 years. Now can you tell me what kind of tit of a guard is going to stop you with a litre of milk in the front and your child there too. Just going to check the cattle. No problem. It was caused by people abusing the leeway of the law ie pulling the p*** altogether. It is very strange for me to be defending Gormless but life will comtinue as normal. And only 2 years max. to payback time.... :D

And then we get Enda Kenny and Gilmore .......... and the bearded doctor Reilly in health :confused: Cure is as bad if not worse then the disease:eek:

if we all refused to pay any road tax it would be too much work for courts &. cops to fine us and then they would have no revenue . but sadly the irish nation are very cowardly and just take this abuse lying down. i have a7 yr old commercial jeep for going t o work & taking my dogs (6) everywhere i need it. i am not a D4 tit and i have used the low 4 wheel drive gormley is an idiot he buggered up the stag hunt cos he hated mick bailey, every thing he does is personal!

the stag hunt was an issue for a small minority on both sides , those for and against , the 4WD policy will effect a whole lot more people though i suspect it will be another one of those laws which is uninforcable

Sam Kade wrote: »
    They didn't get voted in the last time either, it was only when Fianna fail juggled a few votes to have them on board. Can voters stop that happening again?

dont get me wrong , im not a green as i dont like PC wooly liberal do - gooders beit green or labour etc but the green party TD,s were voted in the exact same way as every other td in 2007 , as citizens , we,ve never been able to directly choose who forms a goverment , only who is elected to parliment , hence the saying , parlimentary democrocy
    , besides , its the greens who are keeping fianna fail afloat and nothing else , bad as gormley and CO might be , they cant hold a candle to fianna fail in terms of the damage they,ve done to this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

i for one will refuse to pay tax and will run on green to save money cant afford to keep 2 cars and need a 4x4. the way i look at my jeep is whatever i save on
    tax i spend on diesel as it is harder to run