Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

For those of you that like The Secret

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

It's frightening how many people believe in that crap. :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Things like this make me wonder why I bother working when a horse-shít peddler like this can sell so many books with wishy washy pseudo science.

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    It's frightening how many people believe in that crap. :(

Alot more believable than alot of other crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Things like this make me wonder why I bother working when a horse-shít peddler like this can sell so many books with wishy washy pseudo science.

Hey man, don't project your negative energy on to this thread. As a result of your post I have a feeling that the next comment might say something bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

something bad.

Alot more believable than alot of other crap.

Feck, we have a live one here. This is not a drill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Hey man, don't project your negative energy on to this thread. As a result of your post I have a feeling that the next comment might say something bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Sparticle

I want to smash her car window just to prove that **** happens beyond her control. Try and be positive all you want but that won't start a heart beating again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

"The world doesn't make you who you are, the universe reveals it."

- Me

I'm signing copies of this quote tomorrow beside the Molly Malone statue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret saved my life!, December 4, 2007

By Ari Brouillette

Please allow me to share with you how "The Secret" changed my life and in a very real and substantive way allowed me to overcome a severe crisis in my personal life. It is well known that the premise of "The Secret" is the science of attracting the things in life that you desire and need and in removing from your life those things that you don't want. Before finding this book, I knew nothing of these principles, the process of positive visualization, and had actually engaged in reckless behaviors to the point of endangering my own life and wellbeing.

At age 36, I found myself in a medium security prison serving 3-5 years for destruction of government property and public intoxication. This was stiff punishment for drunkenly defecating in a mailbox but as the judge pointed out, this was my third conviction for the exact same crime. I obviously had an alcohol problem and a deep and intense disrespect for the postal system, but even more importantly I was ignoring the very fabric of our metaphysical reality and inviting destructive influences into my life. My fourth day in prison was the first day that I was allowed in general population and while in the recreation yard I was approached by a prisoner named Marcus who calmly informed me that as a new prisoner I had been purchased by him for three packs of Winston cigarettes and 8 ounces of Pruno (prison wine). Marcus elaborated further that I could expect to be anally raped by him on a daily basis and that I had pretty eyes.

Needless to say, I was deeply shocked that my life had sunk to this level. Although I've never been homophobic I was discovering that I was very rape phobic and dismayed by my overall personal street value of roughly $15. I returned to my cell and sat very quietly, searching myself for answers on how I could improve my life and distance myself from harmful outside influences. At that point, in what I consider to be a miraculous moment, my cell mate Jim Norton informed me that he knew about the Marcus situation and that he had something that could solve my problems. He handed me a copy of "The Secret". Normally I wouldn't have turned to a self help book to resolve such a severe and immediate threat but I literally didn't have any other available alternatives. I immediately opened the book and began to read.

The first few chapters deal with the essence of something called the "Law of Attraction" in which a primal universal force is available to us and can be harnessed for the betterment of our lives. The theoretical nature of the first few chapters wasn't exactly putting me at peace. In fact, I had never meditated and had great difficulty with closing out the chaotic noises of the prison and visualizing the positive changes that I so dearly needed. It was when I reached Chapter 6 "The Secret to Relationships" that I realized how this book could help me distance myself from Marcus and his negative intentions. Starting with chapter six there was a cavity carved into the book and in that cavity was a prison shiv. This particular shiv was a toothbrush with a handle that had been repeatedly melted and ground into a razor sharp point.

The next day in the exercise yard I carried "The Secret" with me and when Marcus approached me I opened the book and stabbed him in the neck. The next eight weeks in solitary confinement provided ample time to practice positive visualization and the 16 hours per day of absolute darkness actually made visualization about the only thing that I actually could do. I'm not sure that everybody's life will be changed in such a dramatic way by this book but I'm very thankful to have found it and will continue to recommend it heartily

kowloon wrote: »
    changed my life...I'm very thankful to have found it and will continue to recommend it heartily

That's what they'll quote on the back cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

women :rolleyes:

.........................:pac:

/legs it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

That's what they'll quote on the back cover.

i only just got your name :o

zuroph wrote: »
    i only just got your name :o

It sometimes takes a while, but you got there in the end. Well done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

It sometimes takes a while, but you got there in the end. Well done!

I don't get it. Explain it to me!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I don't get it. Explain it to me!
    It's a word play on Don Quixote as both are pronounced the same.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Because a lot of people are disturbingly ignorant of actual science. They don't wanna know either as there's a big backlash against "science". Try looking around US based forums and the amount of people who believe this guff is unreal and yes it seems to be more women than men for some reason. Though Ive had the exact same book recommended to me in Ireland by both men and women(more men actually) so that shows there are pretty thick people all over the place. One guy who swears by it is functionally clever enough, but his head is arseways as far as magical thinking is concerned. He buys into all of that kinda guff. That daft web movie Zietgeist another example. I've read the secret and beyond the "science" crap, it is one of the most self centered ego driven books you could read. Then again Oprah pushed it, so that's best seller list right there. It also appeals to lower middle class US women, who want a little bit more of that perfect suburban life which they are convinced will make them happy. Daft. Then again yer wan who wrote it is an ex scientologist so enough said.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Because a lot of people are disturbingly ignorant of actual science. They don't wanna know either as there's a big backlash against "science". Try looking around US based forums and the amount of people who believe this guff is unreal and yes it seems to be more women than men for some reason. Though Ive had the exact same book recommended to me in Ireland by both men and women(more men actually) so that shows there are pretty thick people all over the place. One guy who swears by it is functionally clever enough, but his head is arseways as far as magical thinking is concerned. He buys into all of that kinda guff. That daft web movie Zietgeist another example. I've read the secret and beyond the "science" crap, it is one of the most self centered ego driven books you could read. Then again Oprah pushed it, so that's best seller list right there. It also appeals to lower middle class US women, who want a little bit more of that perfect suburban life which they are convinced will make them happy. Daft. Then again yer wan who wrote it is an ex scientologist so enough said.
    Stop inflicting your negative energy on me!

Ex scientologist though, that really is enough said :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

So we can get anything if we just believe it? R Kelly is about to get all kinds of entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

That daft web movie Shitegeist another example.
    FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Dude, I love reading your posts. However, I have to say that you are full of crap if you don't follow the Zeitgeist movement.
    This is eye opening stuff that will change your life. If you haven't seen it, then...

Sorry. I can't keep lying.
    Sweet Jesus (think of him as tasting like an apple covered in sugar (I can't remember the name of those halloween thingies)), that Zeitgeist film has to be the biggest load of crap I have ever seen.
    A friend and my lodger forced me to watch it (Clockwork Orange style), and now I want to remove both of them of all their senses. They really need to stop reading into crap that doesn't exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

It's pure dross admittedly,

The whole thing is based on Focus. The mind is pretty powerful that way.
    Basically, you get what you focus on etc self fulfilling prophecies and all that jazz.

e.g. People who are interested in gadgets tend to not only buy them, but subscribe to magazines, use gadget related boards etc etc

The same principle can be applied to any area.
    Want more money? read books, use forums, talk to people who are rich.

That's what the entire Self-Help industry preaches ad nauseum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

foxyboxer wrote: »
    It's pure dross admittedly,

The whole thing is based on Focus. The mind is pretty powerful that way.
    Basically, you get what you focus on etc self fulfilling prophecies and all that jazz.

e.g. People who are interested in gadgets tend to not only buy them, but subscribe to magazines, use gadget related boards etc etc

The same principle can be applied to any area.
    Want more money? read books, use forums, talk to people who are rich.

That's what the entire Self-Help industry preaches ad nauseum.
    I can help you if you want me to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I work with a woman who is really into this 'secret' stuff. Positive thinking is great and all but this woman (who is a really nice person) believes that if you focus on something every day you'll get it. She really truly believes it. This woman had a seriously ill relative and she was so positive about the outcome despite the doctor's warnings, convinced the doctors were wrong. Tragically this person passed away and the poor woman nearly lost her reason. I think she just wasn't prepared for it at all.
    Some of the stuff she says makes sense but a lot of it is very far fetched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Hedman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

funny they dont mention the real secret of life
    as per Gary Player

1) The more I practise, the luckier I get,

and

2) Persistence and common sense are more important than intelligence

no mention by Gary of staring at a wall listening to whale sex in a room full of fcuking patchouli smoke ... MAAAAN ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

If anyone wants a laugh, have a read of this by Scott Adams, the creator of Dilbert. He doesn't endorse The Secret, but ... he's in to "affirmations", the idea that believing something strongly enough helps it come true. :rolleyes:
    But if you think the concept has no value because it’s not backed by science, don’t be surprised if that changes.
    This "backed by science" idea bothers me. What is "science", anyway? It's not just "something you do", with experiments, white coats and clipboards: it's approaching the world as it really is, rather than as you'd like it to be. It doesn't claim to know everything, or to dismiss whole categories of things as impossible, but if you're going to make a claim of something, you need to do more than just assert it or tell anecdotes that fit your pre-decided conclusions.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

This stuff is bullshíte according to the angel on my shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Of course it bull****, but surely it's better or at least more benign than any religion? I haven't heard of too many scret inspired suicide bombers for instance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

bnt wrote: »
    If anyone wants a laugh, have a read of this by Scott Adams, the creator of Dilbert. He doesn't endorse The Secret, but ... he's in to "affirmations", the idea that believing something strongly enough helps it come true. :rolleyes:

This "backed by science" idea bothers me. What is "science", anyway? It's not just "something you do", with experiments, white coats and clipboards: it's approaching the world as it really is, rather than as you'd like it to be. It doesn't claim to know everything, or to dismiss whole categories of things as impossible, but if you're going to make a claim of something, you need to do more than just assert it or tell anecdotes that fit your pre-decided conclusions.

Scott Adams has some very "interesting ideas" about gravity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I throw all these things into a category I call consumer spiritualism. The kind of muck I'd expect to see Oprah talking about. Magic angels, crystal therapy etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭I_AmThe_Walrus

I read The Secret and I enjoyed it.

However, it is nothing more than a motivational technique. I don't believe that Earth will give me what I want - that's borderline cult-ish.