Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Downward Looking People in Fast Food Joints

• 22-08-2010 7:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭

I've noticed in certain fast food joints that the customers tend to be very rude and gaze smugly at the staff working there. One scumbag was particularly rude and obnoxious -- effin' and changing his mind all the time to the annoyance of the cashier -- no doubt he was getting great pleasure in the rarity of encountering someone who's apparently a notch down from him.

I don't understand why certain people think that because they're standing in front of a till, they can feel free to be an arrogant and obnoxious asshole. Drunks in fast food joints are a totally different kettle of fish, but I'm talking about stone cold sober individuals here.

When it comes to road courtesy, we're probably one of the best countries in the world (try driving in Italy, Russia, the Middle East or Northern Africa). Why can't we extend the same civility when buying goods?

Then again, maybe giving such people a little show/psychological superiority is part and parcel of the fast food experience?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Misleading title if you ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Plebs wrote: »
    Italy, Russia, the Middle East or Northern Africa)

Racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭4davis7

are you sure your not talking about yourself:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Plebs

4davis7 wrote: »
    are you sure your not talking about yourself:rolleyes:

I judge foul-mouthed, bad-mannered people, yes. My experience has taught me to keep away from such people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

junkies love mcdonalds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Zombienosh wrote: »
    junkies love mcdonalds

And knackers in general love supermacs. What's going on there, how do they always all know to go to Supermacs, no matter where in the country it is? Do they have meetings about stuff or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Then again, maybe giving such people a little show/psychological superiority is part and parcel of the fast food experience?

You tell us. You're the lowly, grovelling Pleb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Because some people are and always will be cunts.

I judge foul-mouthed, bad-mannered people, yes. My experience has taught me to keep away from such people.

I mostly agree with you.

I worked in Dunnestores when i was 18/19 for a few months years ago & ive never in all my life seen so much deeply ignorant/unpleasant behaviour from customers. Heres a little list of annoying things i had to put up with in my time working there.

• People asking where something is, then not a word of thanks after you go to the trouble of bringing them to item.
    • People giving out to me because a particular product was out of stock.
    • People with foul breath/body odour standing just a little too close to me, asking where something is.
    • People (women) using trolleys as battering rams to get around the shop quicker.
    • One day this cheeky scummer tapped the top of my head with a pen as a means of getting my attention so he could ask me a question. I turned around & told him to never do that again or i'd be awfully angry (not quite the words i used:pac:). Then he called the manager to complain about me.
    Basically i left the job after a few months because i used to get so angry with the level of plain rudeness i encountered. Not saying everyone was nasty but there are a lot of ignorant people out there who seem to think shop assistants/fast food workers etc are there to put up with their bad manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

jd007 wrote: »
    Because some people are and always will be cunts.
    Thats one of the facts of life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Racist.

Hardly, have you tried driving in lets say Italy? I have and its fúcking terrifying.

FearDark wrote: »
    Hardly, have you tried driving in lets say Italy? I have and its fúcking terrifying.

I was just joshing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Nicewanbiy

One scumbag was particularly rude and obnoxious -- effin' and changing his mind all the time to the annoyance of the cashier -- no doubt he was getting great pleasure in the rarity of encountering someone who's apparently a notch down from him.

I wouldn't worry about it, one of the lads glugged in whatever it was he choose in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Nicewanbiy wrote: »
    I wouldn't worry about it, one of the lads glugged in whatever it was he choose in the end.

It's no mystery at all.

The true mark of the scummer is that he/she will always trample on anyone whom they perceive to be lower than them.

Today in Lidl I observed a scummer checking out .

Checkout assistant was very courteous but got zero response from the scummer.

Absolute zero.

All thanks and smiles were met by total indifference and disdain, and no,absolutely no attempt to make contact with the check out person.

Excellent example of what you say and a great exercise in anthropological evolution.

Anyone who works in ,fast food,call centre, garage, supermarket will agree with me.

Absolute morons, illiterate goons , **** and thick necked fcuks have the upper hand on you and they fucking know it.

sad, very sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Wouldn't know, don't eat fast food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Nicewanbiy

It's no mystery at all.

The true mark of the scummer is that he/she will always trample on anyone whom they perceive to be lower than them.

Today in Lidl I observed a scummer checking out .

Checkout assistant was very courteous but got zero response from the scummer.

Absolute zero.

All thanks and smiles were met by total indifference and disdain, and no,absolutely no attempt to make contact with the check out person.

Excellent example of what you say and a great exercise in anthropological evolution.

Anyone who works in ,fast food,call centre, garage, supermarket will agree with me.

Absolute morons, illiterate goons , **** and thick necked fcuks have the upper hand on you and they fucking know it.

sad, very sad.

My good fortune I don't work in the areas that abide scum.

A bag of scum will always be reproduced via scum parents.

The lack of education has a lot to do with it.

The one thing scum hate more than anything else is being ignored.

No matter what happens, they say or do, if one acts like they don't exist, this is what upsets them more than missing the dole for a second week running (no cider for seven days Aghhhh).

It's at that picosecond they realise (more than likely only for a picosecond) that they are in fact, scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

I found while doing these mundane thankless jobs, if you encounter these pricks, the best way is to be overly nice but not to help them in anyway. They walk away more annoyed than you. Somebody described it as being "professional ignorance".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Chill folks:
    A common mistake is being made here.

That is thinking these scummers have any,,,any knowledge of "civilised" behaviour and good manners.

The fact is they have not..and in my opinion are in general half savage.

So don't be in the least surprised if they act as savages in pubs ,fast food joints etc etc because that is what they are ...savages