Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Theres a man outside my door!

• 21-08-2010 12:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭

Help me, I don't know what to do...

Theres a man outside my apartment door in the hall. He was sitting on the steps inside the front door at ten and he was right outide my door at midnight. I'm home alone with my ten month old son and I'm so nervous I can't sleep. I've never seen him around the building before either.

I've tried looking through the keyhole in my door but cant see anything. I'm too scared to go out and ask him what hes doing, I'm even too scared to go out and see if hes still there.

I thought about ringing the guards but dont know if I should. Theres a black woman living right next door to me with her baby and I thought maybe he was there waiting on her but her cars outside and theres no lights on in her place. If he has got something to do with her I dont want to call the guards on him.

Any ideas on how to deal with him so I can get some sleep tonight?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

What's your favourite game?

Just ride him and get it over with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭rev2.0

Call the police! Either that or double lock the door and have a few drinks- bound to make ya sleepy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Shin Bet

call the police straight away and dont forget to give them the door entry code there wont be a problem if everything is innocent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭damo86

pics or GTFO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Lorri_L wrote: »
    Theres a man outside my door!
    Turn off all old, hot pianos, quick...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/totp2/ugotthelook/images/shaky.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

1. Just ring the guards.

2.Why are you compelled to say black woman, I'm not labeling you a racist but if it happened to be a white woman would you categorize her as such in your post?

It's rather odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Theres a man outside my apartment door in the hall. He was sitting on the steps inside the front door at ten and he was right outide my door at midnight. I'm home alone with my ten month old son and I'm so nervous I can't sleep. I've never seen him around the building before either.

I've tried looking through the keyhole in my door but cant see anything. I'm too scared to go out and ask him what hes doing, I'm even too scared to go out and see if hes still there.

I thought about ringing the guards but dont know if I should. Theres a black woman living right next door to me with her baby and I thought maybe he was there waiting on her but her cars outside and theres no lights on in her place. If he has got something to do with her I dont want to call the guards on him.

Has he poked anything through your letter-box? That's what some perverts do, so I'm told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Reeni

Is this the theme to a new horror movie, because that's terrifying. It's beyond sinister.
    Seriously...if you're as scared as I would be, ring the gardai.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Has he poked anything through your letter-box? That's what some perverts do, so I'm told.

"They call it a glory hole Joeeeeeee....jeeeeesus"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Ring the Gardaí. If there's been a strange man in your building for a couple of hours just sitting in the hallway or whatever you've every right to be nervous. I mean, what's he doing? Why does he need to be there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Call the guards. If its something to do with the woman next door he can go into her f***ing apartment rather than standing in the hall frightening you.

Just ring the guards ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

1. Just ring the guards.

2.Why are you compelled to say black woman, I'm not labeling you a racist but if it happened to be a white woman would you categorize her as such in your post?

It's rather odd.

I'm going to guess that the man is black....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

tell him the match ain't till sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

It's rather odd.

Maybe the man outside the door is black also so she assumed that he is waiting for her? Not really that odd at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Lorri_L

1. Just ring the guards.

It's rather odd.

Sorry I left out of OP that theres 3 families, all Irish and her and the man thats in the hall is black, thats why I made that connection.

And to the helpful posts, thanks. The not so helpful ones, oh well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Ring the local guards if you're that worried. Or do you have any other neighbours you know that come out and check it for you?

Chinafoot wrote: »
    I'm going to guess that the man is black....

The thread is titled incorrectly then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I'm not gonna suggest murder.... BUUUUTTT..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

1. Just ring the guards.

It's rather odd.

If it was in Africa they'd say white woman. I hate all this **** that if you say 'black' man/woman instead of just man/woman it's racist and not descriptive. ****ing annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He could be selling knives, duct-tape and bin-bags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

The thread is titled incorrectly then.

Feck off with your overly PC backpedalling.

OP, ring the cops, that won't be long moving him, if they turn up that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

OP dont worry. You have a child so he wont be interested in you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I thought about ringing the guards but dont know if I should.

Ring the guards if you think it's justified OP.

You don't have to give your name if that's what is worrying you.:pac: