Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

range robbed

• 20-08-2010 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭

went up to navan this evening for 9 holes my mate was there early and went looking for a basket of balls for the range,the pro told him that all the range balls were robbed last nite.all the balls were out on the range all 3500 of them.jaysus people would rob anything these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

I agree. Sure them balls are worthless to play with so why rob :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

prob be on done deal soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

thoscon wrote: »
    went up to navan this evening for 9 holes my mate was there early and went looking for a basket of balls for the range,the pro told him that all the range balls were robbed last nite.all the balls were out on the range all 3500 of them.jaysus people would rob anything these days

Hang on, ALL the balls were out on the range, and they collected them and stole them???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Hang on, ALL the balls were out on the range, and they collected them and stole them???

yea thats the mad thing about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Sounds like an inside job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭uptheroyals

why would that be an inside job? sure it would be pointless to even claim of the insurance on it there worth so little? theyd loose more in there no claims than anything else!!lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

It's a few years since i used the place, but from memory the balls were absolutely battered. Looked they'd been chewed and shat out by the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Sounds more like a prank than a crime to me?? A disgruntled former employee, maybe? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭derra

Bluefoam wrote: »
    Sounds like an inside job.

If ya had the balls to do it .....bum tish....gets coat :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

derra wrote: »
    If ya had the balls to do it .....bum tish....gets coat :D

Unlikely to be caught if they wasted no time driving away with them and are well out of range.
    .....gets coat as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I'm not going to claim to understand why someone would steel 3500 golf balls, but...

why were they left out overnight - most good businesses would clean up their stock every night for numberous reasons - one good reason would be to have the balls cleaned for opening the next day and to extend the life and quality of their stock...

3500 balls is a lot to pick up and transport. it would take a lot of man power and time to collect them all by hand. It would be easier to use a tractor...

The golf scene in Ireland is quite small and the driving range scene is even smaller - so who would want to buy the stolen balls - news travels quickly and most people will know about the theft by now.

They could have been stolen for personal use, but who would need 3500 range balls? my guess would be to look for someone who has recently installed a floating green off their private island. Someone wealthy enough to own an island, but cheap enough not to want to purchase golf balls... (please - no Cavan jokes)

BTW, my previous comment was tongue in cheek & I never mentioned insurance, but it does add another layer of mystery the subject. I would have expected the press to have reported on this, its not big news, but intriguing all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

However it was reported this evening that the Gardai are following a definite line of enquiry....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055942444

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

However it was reported this evening that the Gardai are following a definite line of enquiry....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055942444

:D:D:D

Priceless

love it!! hahahahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

I made the mistake of paying €50 for "Range Membership" there, this year. I got 4 cards, each able to get 5 baskets of balls, however the last four trips to the range, there have been no balls in teh dispenser, the lad having to go and collect, each time, just to satisfy those waiting for balls. The quality of the balls is dire, as stated above.

It seems like Carr Golf are not doing well out of the shop/range.

Gophur wrote: »
    I made the mistake of paying €50 for "Range Membership" there, this year. I got 4 cards, each able to get 5 baskets of balls, however the last four trips to the range, there have been no balls in teh dispenser, the lad having to go and collect, each time, just to satisfy those waiting for balls. The quality of the balls is dire, as stated above.

It seems like Carr Golf are not doing well out of the shop/range.

i did the same .always have to wait for balls most nights i go up and balls are not great quality
    i go to ballinter driving range €8 for 100 balls,good quality balls and the dispenser always has golf balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭NDJ4

i go to ballinter driving range €8 for 100 balls,good quality balls and the dispenser always has golf balls

Hey thoscon,

What time does the bellinter range stay open until do you know? I bought range membership in navan last year and only have one credit left so considering alternatives. €8 per 100 balls seems a bit steep though seeing as it's only €2.50 for 60 in navan with membership. They only got new balls quite recently so the quality hasn't been that bad, but this can't help, really hope they get new balls soon...

Still can't make sense of anyone stealing range balls:confused:. And a quick calculation of the weight of 3500 balls x 45.9g = 160kg. Back breaking work for zero return, I mean who would buy crappy 2nd hand chewed up range balls and if they would what would they pay, €100 if you're lucky?

Anyway, what with the lack of cash these days I'm thinking of taking this guys lead to save a few quid on driving range fees. I'm thinking IDA park in Navan, not a whole lot else going on in there;)

NDJ4 wrote: »
    Hey thoscon,

What time does the bellinter range stay open until do you know? I bought range membership in navan last year and only have one credit left so considering alternatives. €8 per 100 balls seems a bit steep though seeing as it's only €2.50 for 60 in navan with membership. They only got new balls quite recently so the quality hasn't been that bad, but this can't help, really hope they get new balls soon...

Still can't make sense of anyone stealing range balls:confused:. And a quick calculation of the weight of 3500 balls x 45.9g = 160kg. Back breaking work for zero return, I mean who would buy crappy 2nd hand chewed up range balls and if they would what would they pay, €100 if you're lucky?

Anyway, what with the lack of cash these days I'm thinking of taking this guys lead to save a few quid on driving range fees. I'm thinking IDA park in Navan, not a whole lot else going on in there;)

it opens till 10pm.not sure what navan is for 60 balls without range membership but i work 10mins from co meath golf club and use the range the odd time its €2 for 20 balls and im a member of mannan castle and its also €2 for 20 aswell so i reckon ballinter is good value

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 corgolfsoc

it opens till 10pm.not sure what navan is for 60 balls without range membership but i work 10mins from co meath golf club and use the range the odd time its €2 for 20 balls and im a member of mannan castle and its also €2 for 20 aswell so i reckon ballinter is good value

€2 for 30 in Mannan .... ya gobsheen :)

corgolfsoc wrote: »
    €2 for 30 in Mannan .... ya gobsheen :)
    my bad:o

was up hitting some balls today, they got a rush order of some new yellow ones (i presume yellow in the hope their less likely to be robbed!!) with more on the way according to the guy in the shop. seemed ok lads, suppose they cant really help the lack of balls? he siad they were doing a new range membership, and tying lessons and shop all into it, he s
    wasnt too specific but will be interesting to see. new balls are fine though, big improvement on the old ones!! plus they seemed to have plenty. ive been to belinter a few times but the mats are crap dont you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

cheap balls at a range really p*ss me off
    least they can do is have a proper mat and good balls

leopardstown use srixon for example - perfectly acceptable
    was down in doonbeg lately and many of the range balls are pro v1s
    didn't see anyone knicking them either

Cheers thoscon,

Must check it out some evening, reckon its a bit closer to my house than navan golf club too. For a non range member a digicard for navan is €20 afaik so €4 for 60 balls. Think its €4.50 for 60 ball token. Do bellinter do a digicard option or a reduction for multiple visits?

Cheers thoscon,

Must check it out some evening, reckon its a bit closer to my house than navan golf club too. For a non range member a digicard for navan is €20 afaik so €4 for 60 balls. Think its €4.50 for 60 ball token. Do bellinter do a digicard option or a reduction for multiple visits?

theres no tokens or cards.the machine takes coins.

Cheers thoscon,

no its not a digi is 16 euro? 5 goes of 60 on it?

anyway see the golf course membership options in navan for next year!! pay 800 euro now and your a member this year and next!! or 500 for the 5 day!!

no its not a digi is 16 euro? 5 goes of 60 on it?

anyway see the golf course membership options in navan for next year!! pay 800 euro now and your a member this year and next!! or 500 for the 5 day!!

€16 euro if you're already a range member but more if you're not... 5 goes of 60 indeed.

Already paid my subs for this year, don't think existing members will see any benefit from any deals though. And I paid the €3000 joining fee 3 years ago:mad:. Anyway good to see that they will be open next year, there were rumours earlier in the year that they might not be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

€16 euro if you're already a range member but more if you're not... 5 goes of 60 indeed.

Already paid my subs for this year, don't think existing members will see any benefit from any deals though. And I paid the €3000 joining fee 3 years ago:mad:. Anyway good to see that they will be open next year, there were rumours earlier in the year that they might not be.

Have sympathy for you there, €3,000 joining fee and now 15 months membership for €800 is a bit of a stinger alright. I take it Navan are struggling for members? Are your weekend comps busy? I always felt with Royal Tara and more the Headfort in close proximity Navan was always over shadowed unfortunately. If I was ever in the area I would be more inclined to play Headfort New if you get me…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

or headford old
    or knightsbrook

jimjo wrote: »
    Have sympathy for you there, €3,000 joining fee and now 15 months membership for €800 is a bit of a stinger alright. I take it Navan are struggling for members? Are your weekend comps busy? I always felt with Royal Tara and more the Headfort in close proximity Navan was always over shadowed unfortunately. If I was ever in the area I would be more inclined to play Headfort New if you get me…

Yeah it sucks but could have been worse I guess. Can't imagine there is any club in the country at this stage which hasn't slashed/removed their joining fee.

I think a lot of members didn't renew this year after they tried to double the subs this year. It was €750 last year and HRI who own the course wanted to up this to €1500. This was shot down by the members but it still left a sour taste in a lot of people's mouths. They settled on upping the subs by €50. Think a lot of members moved to Royal Tara this year since their joining fee was reduced (to €2k I think?).

Weekend comps are very busy, mostly full, and they still seem to get plenty of societies in. Green staff on a 3 day week though but they are still doing a fantastic job considering. For the €800 subs and no joining fee for 16 months membership I would still highly recommend it.