Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is PC?

• 19-08-2010 10:13am

Everyone seems to have their own meaning to 'being PC'..
    For me it's literally anything you can imagine a politician saying that is safe and reserved.. Won't damage his career sort of thing.

Eg. Drugs are bad, Asylum seekers are welcome, Capital Punishment is bad etc.

People get shot down all the time cause others think they're using the phrase wrong so can we just clarify right now what it actually means?
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

the opposite of a mac

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

They're called Gards in this country.

Here we go.
    personal computer: a small digital computer based on a microprocessor and designed to be used by one person at a time
    wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn
    A constable is a person holding a particular office, most commonly in law enforcement. The office of constable can vary significantly in different jurisdictions.
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC.
    Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) seminaries are educational institutions run by the Presbyterian Church (USA), geared primarily towards the training of ministers. ...
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC(USA)_seminaries
    The General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) adopted a policy of "phased, selective divestment" from certain American corporations operating in Israel beginning in 2004, as a means of influencing the government of Israel. ...
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC(USA)_Divestment_from_Israel
    Communist Party (Reconstructed) (in Portuguese: Partido Comunista Português (reconstruído)), initially known as Portuguese Communist Party (Reconstructed) (Partido Comunista Português (Reconstruído)), was a political party in Portugal. ...
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC(R)
    The Revolutionary Communist Party of Argentina (Partido Comunista Revolucionario de la Argentina) is a Maoist communist party from Argentina. It was founded in 1969 from a 1967/1968 split in the Communist Party of Argentina caused in part by the Sino-Soviet split. ...
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC_(CNRR)
    Communist Party (marxist-leninist) of Panama (in Spanish: Partido Comunista (marxista-leninista) de Panamá), a maoist political party in Panamá. PC(ml)P was founded on January 9, 1980, by a group of militants of the Socialist Workers Front (marxist-leninist) (FOS(ml)).
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC(ml)P
    P.C. is a split 7" vinyl single by the Huntington Beach, California punk rock band Guttermouth and the band BHR, released in 1993 by Signal Sound System Records. It is currently out of print. P.C. is both the title of Guttermouth's side of the record and their track. ...
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC_(album)
    Chilean Communist Party (Proletarian Action) (in Spanish: Partido Comunista Chileno (Acción Proletaria)) is a communist group, originating from the pro-Albanian tradition, in Chile. PC(AP) is a part of the International Conference of Marxist-Leninist Parties and Organizations (Unity & Struggle).
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC(AP)
    postcard; percent; parsec
    en.wiktionary.org/wiki/p.c.
    Symbol for the petacoulomb, an SI unit of electric charge equal to 10 coulombs
    en.wiktionary.org/wiki/PC
    The distance a star has to be to have a parallax shift of 1 arcsecond. (No star is actually this close). 1 parsec = 3.2616 light years.
    www.atlasoftheuniverse.com/glossary.html
    a term used to describe a class of personal computers based on Intel's 486 microprocessor. While the 486 can support a Web browser and many older applications, it is usually limited in its ability to run current software. 486 PCs and below generally represent an earlier generation of computing.
    cyber.law.harvard.edu/readinessguide/glossary.html
    Unit of distance. 3.09 x 10^13 km or 206265 AU or 3.3 light year
    astro.berkeley.edu/~kalas/disksite/pages/glossary.html
    Object Class from which expenditures for wages, salaries, and benefits of agency staff are recorded. This includes temporary staff funded in group positions. (Contract temp services are recorded in Operating Expenditures.)
    dfm.idaho.gov/citizensguide/financeterminology.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

or guards/ an gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

PC = Conventional and safe thinking that's been approved by the docile masses. In my opinion.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I wish we had more people like Joe Biden... he goes completely against being "PC".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

A pejorative term used to counter anyone who calls you up for being a xenophobic bigot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Ok..
    Raping a black midget while wearing a Klan hood and making jokes about the seven dwarfs....

Not P.C

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Ok..
    Raping a black midget while wearing a Klan hood and making jokes about the seven dwarfs....

Not P.C

...........then why am I laughing so hard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭reeta

Ok..

Not P.C

Excellent !!!!!!!

Ok..

Not P.C

I love that that scenario has nearly definitely been turned into a porno at some point.

Ok..

Not P.C

Link?

chin_grin wrote: »
    ...........then why am I laughing so hard?
    Was the midget dressed like a clown?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

PC is the new christianity.

Its growing list of commandments are

1) be nice to everybody
    2) let everyone do what they like as long as it doesn't harm anyone else
    3) don't laugh at anyone else or hurt their feelings
    4) pretend everyone is equal, when clearly that isn't the case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Pace2008 wrote: »
    calls you up for being a xenophobic bigot.

Why yes the only people who use the phrase 'PC' are racists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Menengroth™

Here we go.

Someone was always going to make this bad joke :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I love that that scenario has nearly definitely been turned into a porno at some point.

Rule 34... it can happen...

Rule 34... NO Exceptions!...

Fyp.

Was the midget dressed like a clown?

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmaybe. Please tell me you listen to Doug Stanhope!

Rule 34... If it exists, there is porn of it...

Fyp again.

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmaybe. Please tell me you listen to Doug Stanhope!

I've seen a few of his shows allright.
    Never heard any of the audio only stuff tho.

Now there is a man who could be a poster boy for non P.C-ness.
    How about I tell you guys about the night that I got wasted on drugs, drank a bottle of tequila, and then kickfúcked a girl with cerebral palsy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Depends on the context, from the mental dictionary of wonderfulname;

PC - The coining of nouns unrelated to cases of historical abuse and/or related to medical terminology with which to differentiate between the population, is counter productive as instead of promoting equality and diversity promotes the recognition of differences.

PC - The practice of opposition politicians constantly advocating the ideal, inclusive, all-satisfying, all-benefiting scenarios so as to gain votes/power in the next election when in fact in over 99% of cases this is impossible.

I would also use it in its proper manner;
    politically correct
    adj. Abbr. PC
    1. Of, relating to, or supporting broad social, political, and educational change, especially to redress historical injustices in matters such as race, class, gender, and sexual orientation.
    2. Being or perceived as being overconcerned with such change, often to the exclusion of other matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I think it's an extreme system of tiptoe-ing and sugarcoating by the left to ensure nobody it champions is offended in the least - e.g. don't criticise public floggings in a muslim country.

PC is NOT however being open-minded and tolerant and liberal in a sensible way (e.g. objecting to calls for the culling of travellers/Roma).
    PC = Conventional and safe thinking that's been approved by the docile masses. In my opinion.
    The same could maybe be said about stuff that's very much not PC though...

And re stuff like "Drugs are bad" - that seems more non PC to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Well, if we are to go by AH, it seems to be something people who don't know what there talking about, bring up when there challenged, and bring it up as some sort of insult to the person who does the challenging, irregardless on whether that person is actually being pc or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Well PC jokes are any jokes that are about straight white men.

Dudess wrote: »
    I think it's an extreme system of tiptoe-ing and sugarcoating by the left to ensure nobody it champions is offended in the least - e.g. don't criticise public floggings in a muslim country.

PC is NOT however being open-minded and tolerant and liberal in a sensible way (e.g. objecting to calls for the culling of travellers/Roma).

The same could maybe be said about stuff that's very much not PC though...

And re stuff like "Drugs are bad" - that seems more non PC to me.

I was actually thinkin of you when I started this thread and that post goes along with what I was thinkin.. How could 'drugs are bad' not be a politically correct statement?

You've a very different take on it to most people I think?

"Drugs are bad" is a conservative, right-wing stance - I do not associate political correctness with the right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

. How could 'drugs are bad' not be a politically correct statement?

You've a very different take on it to most people I think?

Well PC is generally of the liberal, 'soft on crime' left so I can kind of see the point that 'Drugs are bad' could be seen as NON pc.

'Drugs are BAD' is in general more of the right side of the spectrum which makes it non pc.

Who really cares anyway ?

Morlar wrote: »
    Well PC is generally of the liberal, 'soft on crime' left so I can kind of see the point that 'Drugs are bad' could be seen as NON pc.

'Drugs are BAD' is in general more of the right side of the spectrum which makes it non pc.
    Yups.

Well that's that.. I'm just not gonna try use the phrase anymore..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭brownacid

Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical Minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a **** by the clean end!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

PC is variably an ideology of taking being inoffensive to a ridiculous extreme and a catch-all used by racists and xenophobes to denounce their critics.
    let everyone do what they like as long as it doesn't harm anyone else

I really don't see what the problem with this is. In fact, society would be far better off it everyone followed this rule.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

When I was young PC meant Police Constable. Nowadays I can't seem to tell the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Gardaí you mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

PC is the new christianity.

Its growing list of commandments are

1) be nice to everybody
    2) let everyone do what they like as long as it doesn't harm anyone else
    3) don't laugh at anyone else or hurt their feelings
    4) pretend everyone is equal, when clearly that isn't the case

I don't see a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Won't damage his career sort of thing.
    Which politician? BNP? :pac:

Links234 wrote: »
    I don't see a problem

Because whatever about a person..
    Inherently, people are assholes..

They want to rip on each other, they want to create various social cliques that some people are excluded from, they want to be smug, uppity, better than other people and insulting.
    Either for humour, pride, self advancement, whatever...
    As a society and the way we work in groups, this is a part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Is PC not Personal Computer or just plasé?

Links234 wrote: »
    I don't see a problem

The problem is when overly-sensitive people blow something out of proportion.
    The sort of ridiculous stories where someone complains that a nursery rhyme is sexist or the like.

Or where a minority group demands that everyone else change to cater for them.
    Eg. I know an Indian guy who volunteered for those wannabe Irish Garda volunteers programme.
    Then started a court action to be allowed to wear a turban. That's taking the piss to be honest.

The purpose of a uniform is to make everyone in the force look "uniform", the same, so every Garda gets treated the same.
    If you want to join a group (any group), you should respect the groups traditions above your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

the problem with the term and meaning of PC is i cant anymore say 'some knacker stole my grandmothers handbag' without getting a look or comment off some jumped up smarmy git that basically says 'i'm better than you cos i'm educated in the value of tolerance'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Here's an example:
    http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/UK-News/John-Vestys-Artistic-Nudes-Banned-By-Cromer-Local-Council-In-Norfork-For-Being-Offensive/Article/201008315695150?lpos=UK_News_News_Your_Way_Region_6&lid=NewsYourWay_ARTICLE_15695150_John_Vestys_Artistic_Nudes_Banned_By_Cromer_Local_Council_In_Norfork_For_Being_Offensive
    A Norfolk council has banned an exhibition of nudes by a well-respected local artist, condemning them as "offensive".

Nude painting by artist John Vesty

One of the paintings deemed 'offensive'. (Picture courtesy of John Vesty)

John Vesty, originally from Manchester, had arranged a display of some of his paintings at offices belonging to North Norfolk District Council on the outskirts of Cromer.

The artworks, costing between £180 and £700, were duly hung and the artist looked forward to a successful event.

The council was likely to make a profit as well, by receiving 10% commission from any painting sold.

However, the goodwill was not shared by everyone.

I thought Cromer people were a bit more broad-minded. People have painted nudes for centuries and there is nothing obscene or titillating about these paintings.

Nick Reynolds, Arterie gallery owner

Before the morning was out, the artwork had been taken down and packed up, ready to be returned to sender.

The reason, according to council leisure and cultural services manager Karl Read, was because there had been "a number of complaints from members of staff and union representatives who found the paintings offensive".

He insisted it was not a case "of political correctness but a balanced reaction to complaints".

Another council official told Sky News Online that, while the pictures shown in the media had not drawn criticism, the ones that had upset some people were "full-frontal nudes".

The people who had complained about those artworks "did not think they were appropriate for a public area", he explained, saying the council were now very pleased that the pictures were on display at a local gallery.

"I am delighted they are," he said. "It is the right place for them to be."

Nude painting by artist John Vesty

The artist was 'astonished' by reaction to his work. (Picture courtesy of John Vesty)

Eight of the pictures are now with the Arterie gallery whose owner, Nick Reynolds, expressed surprise at the council's decision.

"I thought Cromer people were a bit more broad-minded," he said.

"People have painted nudes for centuries and there is nothing obscene or titillating about these paintings."

England is basically ****ed because of the amount of idiots on local councils.

Ooh. This may offend someone. We had better ban it now.
    You'll find that most of the overtly pc people are middle aged white men and women with far too much time on their hands.

Terry wrote: »
    You'll find that most of the overtly pc people are middle aged white men and women with far too much time on their hands.

- or sexually repressed people who can't accept the adult world
    - or minority groups who want to use the law to demand recognition and acceptance from everyone else

I feel sorry for the publicans and hoteliers who get fined for refusing to admit/cater for travellers. They're damned if they do and damned if they don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

This thread here is a good example of PC (as people see it) being taken too far.

An atheist decides to take umbrage on behalf of theists over the A&A forum being included under the Religion Tab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

- or sexually repressed people who can't accept the adult world
    - or minority groups who want to use the law to demand recognition and acceptance from everyone else

I feel sorry for the publicans and hoteliers who get fined for refusing to admit/cater for travellers. They're damned if they do and damned if they don't.
    Nah. They're minorities. You can't say anything bad about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

-

You'll find the law is used to prevent discrimination, particularily the kind of discrimination as was faced by the nationalist community in the north for half a century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

For me it's literally anything you can imagine a politician saying that is safe and reserved.. Won't damage his career sort of thing.

Eg. Drugs are bad, Asylum seekers are welcome, Capital Punishment is bad etc.

I think these are the meanings of the term which are closest to the meanings of the words of which it is made.

If I ever use the term it will be in this sense.

I can see why it is a pejorative term as describing someone's views as such suggests that they are only holding them to be popular or not to offend people etc.

It suggests that expediency and political corectness are what motivated the views, rather than just corectness.