Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Realistic places to interact with women.

• 18-08-2010 4:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I know this is probably a tired old topic but really where exactly is a single man supposed to get talking to women except for the pubs or clubs?

Im at an age now were any friends i have left are married or in serious relationships so i have very few opportunities to go on boozing sessions. Truth be told im not mad about clubs anymore & I refuse to go to pubs on my own so im kind of screwed really.

Anybody who says the gym is a good place is deluded. Theres no way im approaching a woman in a gym, i'd be looked at like i was some sort of weirdo & the same goes for parks. Home many TGC vsitors can honestly say they met their girlfriend somewhere other than the pub?

So any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Forget the gym, take up some sort of sport or activity that is not dominated by men. The younger crowd keep telling me that tag rugby is a great place and a friend of mine joined a volleyball club and ended up with a wife a couple of years later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭JohnDee

Maguined is spot on there with his advice.

Joining a jogging/running club is a good idea, usually women outnumber the guys. Also joining dance classes, like salsa, is a good idea. Again ladies will outnumber the guys and even if you don't meet lady of your dreams in said class you can put your new found dance skills to excellent use next time you're out. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Maguined wrote: »
    Forget the gym, take up some sort of sport or activity that is not dominated by men. The younger crowd keep telling me that tag rugby is a great place and a friend of mine joined a volleyball club and ended up with a wife a couple of years later.

HaHaHa what a brilliant way to put it!!
    JohnDee wrote: »
    Maguined is spot on there with his advice.

Joining a jogging/running club is a good idea, usually women outnumber the guys. Also joining dance classes, like salsa, is a good idea. Again ladies will outnumber the guys and even if you don't meet lady of your dreams in said class you can put your new found dance skills to excellent use next time you're out. :)

Have to agree with this.... though I've never met a man who can dance so I'm not entirely sure I'd find it a good or bad thing, but making the effort has to be good! Would you be into a dance class? I would actually love to go, but would like to go with someone I know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

I know this is probably a tired old topic but really where exactly is a single man supposed to get talking to women except for the pubs or clubs?

Im at an age now were any friends i have left are married or in serious relationships so i have very few opportunities to go on boozing sessions. Truth be told im not mad about clubs anymore & I refuse to go to pubs on my own so im kind of screwed really.

Anybody who says the gym is a good place is deluded. Theres no way im approaching a woman in a gym, i'd be looked at like i was some sort of weirdo & the same goes for parks. Home many TGC vsitors can honestly say they met their girlfriend somewhere other than the pub?

So any ideas?

Everywhere, how are you a weirdo for wanting to meet women. Just do it, its the best feeling ever regardless if she rejects you or not. The reality is people don't really care about you, you are just another face in the crowd, so who cares if someone thinks you are weird. when you do it unapologetically people usually don't think it's weird.

In general I would agree but not in a gym! Not unless you catch her coming or going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Salsa classes are actually a really good idea, especially since they are usually oversubscribed by women (although merengue is easier ;)). That said, PLEASE don't approach women in the gym - it is intimidating enough for a lot of women to go in the first place, and getting hit on only makes it worse.

I've actually met a lot of cool guys through doing language exchanges. If you've ever studied French or Spanish (and you are in Dublin), there are a lot of groups that meet weekly to practice conversational skills. They also do trips to Latin restaurants, movies, etc. Just a thought...

Personally I wouldn't have a problem being approached (or approaching someone) in a cafe or bookstore or whatever, but for some reason a lot of Irish women (on boards anyway) seem to think this is weird. But it's worth giving it a shot - even if you don't get her number, you can get a bit of banter going in the meantime, which will make the next time easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

ITs so ingrained into our society now that to be approached it HAS to be in a pub/club environment that most people simply dont know how to react outside of that. Dance classes are a good idea, or maybe some short night course in something you may have an interest in, have made plenty of friends from doing things like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Salsa classes are actually a really good idea, especially since they are usually oversubscribed by women (although merengue is easier ;)). That said, PLEASE don't approach women in the gym - it is intimidating enough for a lot of women to go in the first place, and getting hit on only makes it worse.

I've actually met a lot of cool guys through doing language exchanges. If you've ever studied French or Spanish (and you are in Dublin), there are a lot of groups that meet weekly to practice conversational skills. They also do trips to Latin restaurants, movies, etc. Just a thought...

Personally I wouldn't have a problem being approached (or approaching someone) in a cafe or bookstore or whatever, but for some reason a lot of Irish women (on boards anyway) seem to think this is weird. But it's worth giving it a shot - even if you don't get her number, you can get a bit of banter going in the meantime, which will make the next time easier.

+1 to everything here.

I think coffeshops are a really good way of meeting people. I often head to the IFI or Starbucks in the evening time with just a book for company. Its a comfortable environment to get chatting to someone.

Evening classes are also a good idea. I started sign language classes this year and made some good friends through it who introduced me to some lovely fella's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭maameeo

what about online sites, like plenty of fish. i was singe last year for the first time in 5 years and i got talking to a few guys online from 'are you interested' on fb.
    You do get some idiots but i got talking to two really nice guys, one from scotland and one from cork. i still talk to them even though i'm with someone now, a boardsie

boards should have a singles forum!

maameeo wrote: »
    boards should have a singles forum!

Yep definitely! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

I say to hell with clubs ,societies salsa etc.

I would talk to a woman that I'm interested anywhere.If you have a non threatening personality its a relatively easy thing to do.

I've chatted to women in BT's .I had a really cool conversation with a salesgirl in M & S. I've met girls at bottle banks, ATM's ,fixed a girls mac when I saw her in distress at a shop who said her itunes was irrecoverable.

Most recently was 2 days ago waiting at a traffic light for what seemed an eternity.I decided to chat to a random girl for 10 mins at the end of which she told me where she works, and to drop in next week ,which I will do:).

IMO The problem with the Irish ,is the guys haven't enough confidence to approach the women and the girls haven't enough confidence to accept their approach.

I mean like you can walk down the street in the USA with a microkorg and girls will either ask you what it is or they will know what it is .Well thats my experience anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭maameeo

BumbleB wrote: »

I would talk to a woman that I'm interested anywhere.If you have a non threatening personality its a relatively easy thing to do.

I've chatted to women in BT's .I had a really cool conversation with a salesgirl in M & S. I've met girls at bottle banks, ATM's ,fixed a girls mac when I saw her in distress at a shop who said her itunes was irrecoverable.

Most recently was 2 days ago waiting at a traffic light for what seemed an eternity.I decided to chat to a random girl for 10 mins at the end of which she told me where she works, and to drop in next week ,which I will do:).

IMO The problem with the Irish ,is the guys haven't enough confidence to approach the women and the girls haven't enough confidence to accept their approach.

I mean like you can walk down the street in the USA with a microkorg and girls will either ask you what it is or they will know what it is .Well thats my experience anyway.

I have a friend like that, if he sees someone he likes he'll approach her but often the girl just get freaks out, its just not the norm.
    i agree with you tho, it should be.
    Plus i find it so romantic, if a guy just walked up to me on the street because he was interested, i would be so flattered (a bit scared but flattered)

It's just not a think irish guys do - approaching girls when not drunk/drinking. It's sad really, but that's why women don't react well to it. I think I've had one guy come on to me in the day time, and that was only a couple of weeks ago. And I'm still not 100% sure that's what it was, but was very confused at the time so didn't know what to do. If more men did it, more women would be used to it (or vice versa :rolleyes:) and none of us would have this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Patdusty2010

It's just not a think irish guys do - approaching girls when not drunk/drinking. It's sad really, but that's why women don't react well to it. I think I've had one guy come on to me in the day time, and that was only a couple of weeks ago. And I'm still not 100% sure that's what it was, but was very confused at the time so didn't know what to do. If more men did it, more women would be used to it (or vice versa :rolleyes:) and none of us would have this problem.

If a guy makes an effort to go up to you and talk to you he obviously likes you. You said yourself a few weeks ago that you weren't even sure was he coming onto you or not? I am pretty sure he was, if he went out of his way to go over to you and talk to you:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Well that's the problem with the chicken and the egg, men don't do it because on average women reject it and don't like it, while women don't like it because its not normally done.

Anyone who approaches someone like this gets my respect and anyone who would reject them just because its not in a pub gets my pity that they are passing up good opportunities for silly reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

Maguined wrote: »

Poor fella....

If a guy makes an effort to go up to you and talk to you he obviously likes you. You said yourself a few weeks ago that you weren't even sure was he coming onto you or not? I am pretty sure he was, if he went out of his way to go over to you and talk to you:)

well he didn't come over to talk to me, it was outside, I was waiting for a bus, and he pulled up in his car, said he thought i was someone else, and asked did i need a lift anyway.

I agree, fair play to anyone that has the balls to approach someone without drink. I definitely wouldn't purposely make them feel weird about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Jelly2

well he didn't come over to talk to me, it was outside, I was waiting for a bus, and he pulled up in his car, said he thought i was someone else, and asked did i need a lift anyway.

I agree, fair play to anyone that has the balls to approach someone without drink. I definitely wouldn't purposely make them feel weird about it.

I find that weird! Maybe he was being polite, maybe he fancied you, but surely most guys know that a woman would find it odd to be offered a lift by a complete stranger? Doesn't he seem a bit odd?

OK, I'm pretty open to chatting with strangers, but I would find this kind of creepy. It's like the beginning of a bad after-school special...or a horror film.:D

That said, any comments directed at me from a moving car have tended to be lewd rather than charming.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

...and he pulled up in his car, said he thought i was someone else, and asked did i need a lift anyway.

:eek: Well that's one way to do it... Plus a free one-way tour of the Dublin Mountains.

Ya I was a bit unsure about it being a come on, but people said it was. Didn't find it odd in itself, though when you consider it a come on it seems odd.

anyway.... get back on topic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Patdusty2010

Ya I was a bit unsure about it being a come on, but people said it was. Didn't find it odd in itself, though when you consider it a come on it seems odd.

anyway.... get back on topic!

What would you make of a guy coming up to you in the gym trying to chat you up? Is this appropriate?

I'm not entirely sure about the gym. I know if I was to go I would probably be quite self conscious, but at the same time I wouldn't necessarily think of it as a bad thing then to have a guy chat me up. In a way it could be taken as a really good compliment, because generally girls don't feel sexy in tracksuits and sweating etc and so it'd be like saying you like her even though this is the only way you've seen her..... But others here have said it wouldn't be a good idea to do it in a gym so I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

I think the problem with the gym is that people might tend to be more self absorbed and less ready to deal with other new people and unexpected conversations.

This would be true of both men and women and I think it's the same problem as happens in other places to a lesser extent. When people are wrapped up in their own thoughts, they generally don't like being interrupted, whatever the reason (even if it is flattering in hindsight) and instead of pausing to think and engage, they'll just deal with it with some negative comment, move on and return to their inner thoughts. Maybe eventually they look back and realise it was actually a compliment / genuine attempt to initiate a conversation / whatever but by then it's too late =(

The gym is weird, because on the one hand it's bad form to stare at other people while they are working out, but on the other hand I think everyone has checked other people out in that situation. Personally, I wouldn't be a fan of getting chatted up there. First, I'm there to grind through my workout. Secondly, I often feel self-conscious enough when I use the free weights section because it is so predominately male, so I would rather not get hit on there as well. That said, regulars chatting amongst themselves after a class is pretty normal. I guess it's all about context. So I guess it's one thing to say to the girl next to you after a spin class "Man, that was intense!" and strike up a conversation, but a different thing altogether to say "You looked like you were working really hard on the thigh adductor over there". :p

OK, this is just confusing. :D

It seems like it would be much easier to strike up a conversation with a girl in a bookstore - at least you know she likes to read!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Most girls seem to not like this ( I think there was a thread in the Ladies Lounge recently) but having been asked out successfully in the gym, while hot, sweaty, red-faced and panting...;)...it does work for some people!

I'm not at all self-conscious when I'm training and actually find it complimentary that a guy would find my fitness a turn on, as well as how I look or whatever else would normally prompt a guy to ask someone out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭deandean

The two outstandingly very best places I have found for meeting potential partners are:

(1) Hillwalking. Several clubs walk every weekend in the Dublin Mountains. By the end of the walk you'll have spoken with mose or all of the other walkers; and there's often a trip to the pub afterwards. Balanced M:F ratio.

(2) Glenans Sail Training trips. A weekend or week of abs brilliant craic and again you'll be socialising with all the other participants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

BumbleB wrote: »

i got chatted up standing in line for a ride (not that kind :D) in Universal Studios when I was there a few years ago, had a girlfriend at the time but stil, couldnt help but be flattered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

Re the gym, I dont get why so many people have issues with being approached in the gym. Personally, if some guy came chatting me up in the gym, when I'm all sweaty, no make up & out of breath, more power to him. If he wants to hit on me when I'm in that state, I'd take it as a huge compliment. (that said, hasnt happen yet).

But anyway, back to your original question, there are endless places. I'd still think bars are ok, but perphaps the quieter, old crowd ones, rather than a nightclub or disco bar. Tag rugby seems to be a great way to meet people, huge social aspect to it. But as other posters have said, why limit yourself to specific places, could be in a shop, cafe etc, A girl at work met her boyfriend in her dentists waiting room, still together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 eeijlar

So any ideas?

OP, I feel your pain man! I am in an identical situation. You literally took the words out of my mouth.

My solution to this problem to date has been internet dating. I was at a stag last November, and one of the lads on the stag recommended this web site called Parship. He met his girlfriend on it. They are getting married next year. She was lovely and he was dead sound, so I thought it might be worth a shot. Long story short, it's a load of sh1t... 7 dates later, and I'm no further along. You might think 7 dates is not too bad, but I have contacted around 100 people on the site. Most people don't reply. I was reading recently that around 96% of profiles on dating sites are not active. I am sending messages into cyberspace, and paying 30 squids a month for it. Scratch that one... Meetup.com might have potential... I only met extremely socially awkward people through it though.

To answer your question... anywhere. I asked out a girl who works in a cafe around the corner from me. It was tough to do it, but I'm glad I did even though she was with someone. Just start chatting to literally anyone, you will get a vibe straight away, and if it feels right just ask them for their number.

I have joined a hill walking club, a cycling club. I am going to join a running club because I like jogging. I am sick of hearing about tag rugby, so I am just going to have to do it. I find gigs are good places to meet people. I usually go on my own to gigs. I felt like a total loser at the start but it's actually fine. If you want to chat up women then you are better off going on your own. Women are generally very receptive sober chats before a gig starts. It's a cinch. You will have the music in common for a start.

Now I have to go, I just got a text from a girl I have met internet dating :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Hmm I reckon you can meet women anywhere as long as you give a good first impression, and it's not as hard as you might think. It just takes a bit of balls to start with.

I mean if a woman started a conversation me on the street or in a cafe I would love that and I think women would too. As long as you project your good nature and not come across as a creep, which is an image that is really beat into young Irish guys, that we're horny hounds who can't relate to women in a mature and respectful manner. The sooner we start believing that we aren't like that, the sooner guys will stop behaving how they're expected to behave and gain a bit of confidence - maybe even talk to a woman without getting sh*tfaced first.

It reminds me of one of Louis Therouxs documentaries where he tests out some guys "pick up" techniques. He basically just approaches women on the street during the day. After a cringingly slow start, it was very interesting to see the results he gets at the end:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0UCLnt1RCY&feature=related

Ignoring the hypnosis bullsh*t, the main thing to take from watching that clip is that being relaxed/confident is a huge part and in reality not so hard to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭RoryMurphyJnr

I met my lovely wife at work.
    Both of us on the same project and so on and so forth

R

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Two of my male friends started a swing dancing class 4 years ago on a drunken dare. They actually loved the class (not to mention it's a **** cool style of dance for guys and gals). One of the guys met a girl in the class and they're still loved up. The other went to dance camp in the states, met a lady and stayed over there soaking up the California sun with her.

If you have any rhythm I would recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I'm a member of a running club and a diving club, and there's an even gender mix. Quite a few have coupled up in both of them, and no, I didn't join either to meet men!

I met a friend after a book club she joined met up in a coffee shop, and again there was a good gender mix if you're interested in that.

I also do voluntary work with kids with special needs, and there's loads of like minded volunteers involved.

If you've any interest in that kind of thing you should persue it, because anyone you do meet is likely to have something major in common with you.

Bit off topic, but...
    eeijlar wrote: »
    OP, I feel your pain man! I am in an identical situation. You literally took the words out of my mouth.

My solution to this problem to date has been internet dating. I was at a stag last November, and one of the lads on the stag recommended this web site called Parship.

Considering your low post count, and how generic the start of your post can sound, I really thought you were just on to plug the Parship website, so, when I read...

eeijlar wrote: »
    Long story short, it's a load of sh1t...

I quite literally spit tea onto my desk. Up my nose and everything it went. Brilliantly worded post!

Anyway...

I've met people two ways so far;

1. Through friends. Meeting a friend of a friend can be fairly easy as you're usually in a sober or relaxed place/atmosphere, plus you actually get a chance to talk to them which is great.

2. On courses. Also, with courses, even if you don't meet a woman directly, you will make more friends, which brings you back to number 1 again :)

I don't drink much, and never really visit pubs/clubs so have never met a woman in such a place. Never met a man, either, actually. Hmmm, goes to show you how much I approach people! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Joined a photoclub a while back. More so cos I like taking photos, but there's not really any good looking ladies there. Also joined a dance class there a while back: a few nice looking women, but meh. Keep hearing of this tag rugby as well, but have yet to check it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Perhaps if women posted up where they met their current fella and exes that might help? This is where I met my serious and not-so-serious exes and current in the last 12 years (I´ve only written down the ones that I´d something going with for longer than a month...some of them only lasted a month :o ):

First boyfriend....in the pub.

Second boyfriend...in the pub.

Third boyfriend....housemate of friend.

Fourth....pub.

Fifth...friend of brother´s.

Sixth...friend of a friend

Seventh...OUTSIDE a pub.

Eighth...while travelling in a bar in a hostel.

Ninth...at a party.

Tenth....in a pub.

Current...in my old flat.

Soooooo....I don´t really believe those who knock the pub as a place to meet the ladies. I just think you´re picking the wrong pubs/bars and picking the wrong ladies to approach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭elleburp

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Perhaps if women posted up where they met their current fella and exes that might help?

1st boyfriend was a friend

2nd: in college

3rd: in work

4th: through a friend at a houseparty

Now I don't date/kiss friends, I steer clear of work people, I'm not in college anymore and I think I've exhausted all my friends of friends.... I'm fecked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

Salsa classes are actually a really good idea, especially since they are usually oversubscribed by women (although merengue is easier ;)).
    I went to a few salsa classes to learn salsa; it was dreadful. They are heavily oversubscribed by women, so that most of the women end up with other women as dance partners, but what I found is that they're also often oversubscribed by women who are desperately looking for a relationship. These may well be a minority of those attending, but they end up stalking you in the class and in one case even get territorial if another woman ends up dancing with you. Never again.
    Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Soooooo....I don´t really believe those who knock the pub as a place to meet the ladies. I just think you´re picking the wrong pubs/bars and picking the wrong ladies to approach.
    I'd agree. Pubs are a good place to meet people, either through friends (of friends) or without introduction. The only two things I would say is that while alcohol can be a good ice breaker, the beer goggles that come with it do affect quality control somewhat - and this no doubt applies to women as well as men.

Secondly, pub culture is a particularly Irish-UK thing. This is fine if you're in Ireland or the UK or only want to meet someone from Ireland or the UK, but if you become too dependent on 'dutch courage' it will effectively hobble you where it comes to meeting people in more 'sober' environments.

I've often thought that the best form of population control that could be applied in Ireland would be prohibition...

1st boyfriend: he was in the same college course as my friend after school

2nd boyfriend: he was in my course in college

that's it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭princeofparma

If you see a girl you like just go up and talk to her. That's all there is to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

I had a similar experience but it was a motorcylist when I was out running, pulled up in front of me and said he had thought I was someone else. I phoned the police and when they came out they clearly knew who he was and that he had been doing it to several women in the locality. Made me feel very unsafe.

Can I also just say I was persuaded to go to a salsa class by my friends last week and while its true that women outnumber men, I formed the (possibly false) impression that most of the men there were gay. There was one in a pink shirt and high heeled shoes, several in very tight, white figure hugging t shirts, etc.. (it was also possibly the most boring night of my life, but anyway...)

As a woman, I wouldn't go out with someone who didn't share the same interests and outlook on life as me. So I've always tended to meet them either through my athletics club or at races or training events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Distorted wrote: »
    a motorcylist when I was out running, pulled up in front of me and said he had thought I was someone else. I phoned the police

WHAT!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

WHAT!?

Yes, really. Do people really have such little common sense that someone has to respond "WHAT?" to this! I turned down a narrow country lane, there was no-one else around, he followed me, pulled up in front of me, barring my way, partially lifted his visor so as to speak, immediately said he had thought I was someone else, and then sort of lingered. I told him to **ss off. He wasn't nice and open and friendly, he was creepy and scary. I am quite confident in trusting my instinct in these sort of situations and I was right, because the police knew who they were looking for. I later spoke to a woman out with her dogs and she said she had been approached by the same man (or at least the same mirrored visor) on a canal path,who blocked her way and tried to engage her in conversation.

I'd far rather trust my instinct and get out of that situation than be raped, murdered or both. And I wouldn't want a man in my life who makes a habit of trying to chat up random women he sees out running or walking, or who stops at bus stops to try and pick up women either, for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭princeofparma

Distorted wrote: »
    Yes, really. Do people really have such little common sense that someone has to respond "WHAT?" to this! I turned down a narrow country lane, there was no-one else around, he followed me, pulled up in front of me, barring my way, partially lifted his visor so as to speak, immediately said he had thought I was someone else, and then sort of lingered. I told him to **ss off. He wasn't nice and open and friendly, he was creepy and scary. I am quite confident in trusting my instinct in these sort of situations and I was right, because the police knew who they were looking for. I later spoke to a woman out with her dogs and she said she had been approached by the same man (or at least the same mirrored visor) on a canal path,who blocked her way and tried to engage her in conversation.

I'd far rather trust my instinct and get out of that situation than be raped, murdered or both. And I wouldn't want a man in my life who makes a habit of trying to chat up random women he sees out running or walking, or who stops at bus stops to try and pick up women either, for that matter.

The biker guy sounds like a total psycho. You had a close call.
    That doesn't mean every man who chats up women is also a lunatic who wants to rape and murder.
    If that was the case there would be bodies of women turning up in rivers and lakes and country lanes all over the country.:D