Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

College Courses That Would Benefit The Gardai

• 17-08-2010 8:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭

Hi :) My friend (LC 2011) really wants to join the guards and was wondering is there any courses in particular or areas of degrees that would benefit her in applying for the guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

niamhallen wrote: »
    Hi :) My friend (LC 2011) really wants to join the guards and was wondering is there any courses in particular or areas of degrees that would benefit her in applying for the guards?

Anything Sports or Leisure related goes down pretty well..A friend of mine studied Leisure management and as part of it did lifesaving, first aid, fitness instruction etc..said about 20 people from the cours joined the guards in space of a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

i would say no, no there are no college courses specifically that would benefit an application imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

shakin wrote: »
    i would say no, no there are no college courses specifically that would benefit an application imo.

I'd have to disagree with you there, I have a legal background & it's been of substantial help to me in my application. At every stage of the competition it's been commented on with respect from senior gardaí, all of whom have told me in one way or another that a legal background is of great assistance. I know people from all different degree types that have found different aspects of their studies have assisted them, but as i've stated before on these forums I feel that Joe bloggs with the basic leaving cert or equivalent qualification has just as much if not more chance of a successful career in ags. It's all about you as a person & your personal capabilities, but some sort of further education would definitely help your application particularly in the near future.

C-J wrote: »
    I'd have to disagree with you there, I have a legal background & it's been of substantial help to me in my application. At every stage of the competition it's been commented on with respect from senior gardaí, all of whom have told me in one way or another that a legal background is of great assistance. I know people from all different degree types that have found different aspects of their studies have assisted them, but as i've stated before on these forums I feel that Joe bloggs with the basic leaving cert or equivalent qualification has just as much if not more chance of a successful career in ags. It's all about you as a person & your personal capabilities, but some sort of further education would definitely help your application particularly in the near future.

it certainly wont hurt, i mean law is an obvious one, but do you mean criminal law or any law degree? having a degree is no harm on your application but i cant see it getting and extra marks for it, i dont know if this would be different for a law degree, but cj your spot on with it being down to the individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

shakin wrote: »
    it certainly wont hurt, i mean law is an obvious one, but do you mean criminal law or any law degree? having a degree is no harm on your application but i cant see it getting and extra marks for it, i dont know if this would be different for a law degree, but cj your spot on with it being down to the individual.

I'm sure there are many degree courses that would help you as a Gardai, however to help you become a Garda is a different matter,
    Doesn't matter how many degrees you have they won't help you get through the aptitude test...
    The only time a degree will stand in your favour is if you work it into your interview, possibly through your life scenarios.

There are plenty of pre-test courses you can do for the aptitude test.

If the new recommendations are enforced then there maybe different courses ie: ECDL, First Aid, Swimming etc.....that will be required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

Hi niamh,

As the previous posters have said, no degree is necessary to become a gaurd. A good aptitude test and strong examples of competencies in the interview are what are necessary (which a degree may be useful to use as examples it you choose).

However, if your friend is thinking bout doing a degree before joining the gaurds, then something in physical education, law or social sciences areas would probably be the most relevant to your role as a gaurd and beneficial in the long run.

However a degree in any subject is satisfactory for the extra increments in the pay scale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭niamhallen

thanks for all the replies:)
    really helpful :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭detective

The Guards is like any other job. A degree will stand to you in a big way, least not financially after your probationary period. It will also stand to you when you start going for jobs within the job (like specialist units) and promotion.

Obviously if you studied physical fitness in college you're more than likely going to find that side of things easier in the Garda college. If you studied law then you'll find that easier in the college.

Remember a college degree is more than just a sheet of paper - it shows you can work successfully on your own (studies/exams) and as part of a team (projects). It doesn't really matter what you studied but a degree will help you get into the job and do well once your in. Its not the be all and end all though, I know plenty who don't have degrees and they are flying.

detective wrote: »
    The Guards is like any other job. A degree will stand to you in a big way, least not financially after your probationary period. It will also stand to you when you start going for jobs within the job (like specialist units) and promotion.

Obviously if you studied physical fitness in college you're more than likely going to find that side of things easier in the Garda college. If you studied law then you'll find that easier in the college.

Remember a college degree is more than just a sheet of paper - it shows you can work successfully on your own (studies/exams) and as part of a team (projects). It doesn't really matter what you studied but a degree will help you get into the job and do well once your in. Its not the be all and end all though, I know plenty who don't have degrees and they are flying.

Summed it up...its about life experience too..going to college is a big life experience..They prefer people who have gone to college than people straight out of school..You need to live life a bit and open your eyes to the world before joining! Colllege will certainly help you do that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 xciarax

Hey,

I just qualified as an accountant this March and I am hoping to join the gaurds during their next recruitment drive. My family all think Im mad to leave my job as an accountant but becoming a gaurd is something Ive always wanted to do. I would love to apply for the CAB or Fraud unit as soon as Ive completed the required time as I feel that my accountancy would help me in this area. Do you think having qualified as an accountant will go against me or benefit me when applying ????

Any advice is appreciated

definitely wont go against you, id imagine any of the specialist units are very hard to get into,so it wouldnt be advisable to join solely to get into the units.

good luck anyway :)

xciarax wrote: »
    I just qualified as an accountant this March and I am hoping to join the gaurds during their next recruitment drive. My family all think Im mad to leave my job as an accountant but becoming a gaurd is something Ive always wanted to do. I would love to apply for the CAB or Fraud unit as soon as Ive completed the required time as I feel that my accountancy would help me in this area. Do you think having qualified as an accountant will go against me or benefit me when applying ????

I'm not deviating from what I've said earlier in this thread but of course having a qualification like you do could benefit you in joining CAB. But don't forget that CAB is comprised of Gardai, civilian accountants and revenue officers. Revenue have huge powers re getting access to private accounts, accountants have the know how and guess what the Gardai do - they investigate the bigger picture, make arrests and bring the matter to court. CAB is not a Garda unit. The GBFI is a solely Garda unit though. I have a friend in the job who is in your predicament also. He has the degree in accountancy and wants to join CAB eventually.

Don't mean to patronise you but have you considered listening to your family about not joining? The beauty of the Garda reserve is that it can benefit people like you. You can get a taste of Garda work/life without throwing away 2 years of your life before realising its not for you?

Best of luck in whatever you decide to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

Devil08 wrote: »
    Anything Sports or Leisure related goes down pretty well..A friend of mine studied Leisure management and as part of it did lifesaving, first aid, fitness instruction etc..said about 20 people from the cours joined the guards in space of a few years.

Really? Jes that just made my day im in my second year of a sports coaching course!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 xciarax

Thanks all for the advice.

Its not just for the specialist units that Im applying for the guards though. Its something Ive always wanted to do and I only want to get into a specialist unit so that I can use my accountancy and not feel that my 7.5yrs of studying was of no benefit to me.

Hopefully the email for the appitude tests will come soon though. The waiting is not fun - and from what I gather its all waiting from here on in!!!! :(

Its not just for the specialist units that Im applying for the guards though. Its something Ive always wanted to do and I only want to get into a specialist unit so that I can use my accountancy and not feel that my 7.5yrs of studying was of no benefit to me.

Your years of study will not go to waste, that's the one thing that's for sure... for starters you'll be earning 40k+ when you have two years service when everyone else is on 30k±. In addition to this you'll be more of a favourite when promotions come around which they will and lateral promotions(specialist units are sometime referred to as this which sort of insults the great work that regular uniformed gardai do - the toughest job of them all).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

There's no point in picking a course that you think will be of benefit to the Gardaí if you're not really interested in it.

Forget about what you think the Gardaí are looking for and study what you want - you're more likely to do well in a subject you like.

Hey,

Any advice is appreciated

It will definitely look good, changing jobs and takina big pay cut shows tht you really want it, so that can only look good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭dunner515

Hi all

Just wondering if anyone could help me out here?
    Here is the following educational requirements to gain entry into the Gardai:

Candidates must have obtained in the Leaving Certificate:
    • A grade not lower than B3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level in Mathematics, and
    • A qualifying grade in 2 languages, 1 of which must be English or Irish, as follows:
      English: a grade not lower that D3 at Ordinary Level
      Irish: a grade not lower than C3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level
      Other language: a grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, and
    • A grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, in not less than 2 other subjects
    Or
    The Merit Grade in the Applied Leaving Certificate
    Or
    Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above.

The problem is I dont have a language or maths in my leaving cert however I do have a FETAC Level 5 Award in Security Studies, FETAC Level 6 award in security operations and administration and a diploma from the security institute of Ireland.

Would this benifit me at all? because it does say Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above. So I was wondering would this be sufficient enough?

dunner515 wrote: »
    Hi all

Just wondering if anyone could help me out here?
    Here is the following educational requirements to gain entry into the Gardai:

Candidates must have obtained in the Leaving Certificate:
    • A grade not lower than B3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level in Mathematics, and
    • A qualifying grade in 2 languages, 1 of which must be English or Irish, as follows:
      English: a grade not lower that D3 at Ordinary Level
      Irish: a grade not lower than C3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level
      Other language: a grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, and
    • A grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, in not less than 2 other subjects
    Or
    The Merit Grade in the Applied Leaving Certificate
    Or
    Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above.

The problem is I dont have a language or maths in my leaving cert however I do have a FETAC Level 5 Award in Security Studies, FETAC Level 6 award in security operations and administration and a diploma from the security institute of Ireland.

Would this benefit me at all? because it does say Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality & Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above. So I was wondering would this be sufficient enough?

No, your certificates will not be enough.
    The like grades relates to having a language or maths (or other exams you don't have from leaving) through another recognised examination.
    You may have a certificate for maths from one of your courses you did (I know you have the option of doing maths as an apprentice electrician) which would be a "like grade" for that subject,
    However, you still need 2 languages, 1 of which to be English or Irish...you can have both which will be enough or English plus another language or Irish plus another language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭KevR

Just out of curiosity, I have just finished my Information Technology degree. For the most part, my degree/course wouldn't have any relevance to being a Garda but part of my course was 'Computer Security and Forensic Computing' which could possibly be somewhat relevant to one of the specialist units?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

KevR wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity, I have just finished my Information Technology degree. For the most part, my degree/course wouldn't have any relevance to being a Garda but part of my course was 'Computer Security and Forensic Computing' which could possibly be somewhat relevant to one of the specialist units?
    Yes it certainly could, but those units require much more specific courses like Forensic Investigation, Forensic Computing (as an entire degree program), Forensic Science, Forensic Studies etc., and they are very difficult to get in to.

You're talking decades of a waiting list at this stage AND it's said that it's not a case of what you know, it's who you know. My advice to anyone joining AGS with the specific and sole intent of getting into a specialist unit would be not to join at all. The reason is simple, you might never get into your desired speciality and you could earn double or triple the amount as a civilian in other companies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭Waiting Game

psni wrote: »
    Yes it certainly could, but those units require much more specific courses like Forensic Investigation, Forensic Computing (as an entire degree program), Forensic Science, Forensic Studies etc., and they are very difficult to get in to.

You're talking decades of a waiting list at this stage AND it's said that it's not a case of what you know, it's who you know. My advice to anyone joining AGS with the specific and sole intent of getting into a specialist unit would be not to join at all. The reason is simple, you might never get into your desired speciality and you could earn double or triple the amount as a civilian in other companies.

Great advice PSNI,I agree and its a pity that some positions aren't offered to the best candidate but to someone that knows someone,happens in every organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 cbwex

niamhallen wrote: »

Of course there is courses out there that can help. I am currently a second year student in Waterford I.T studying criminal justice. our course was set up with help from AGS. they were asked what they wanted from students who were going to join the gardai in the future, and our course is mainly based around students who want a career in AGS.
    http://www2.wit.ie/StudyatWIT/Underg...Studies-WD150/

Get back to me if you want/need any further info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

i did a level 5 diploma (nothing too fancy) in criminology & forensic psychology, i have just started a certificate in youth justice with NUIM. I am also a year and a half out of training with the g/reserves.

if that doesn't get me into the gards, nothing will... In saying that, i cannot be cocky in my approach to applying freshly. I will be the exact same as everyone else, except i'll just use the above experience to hold me in good stead (hopefully) at the interview stage.

clayton1 wrote: »
    i did a level 5 diploma (nothing too fancy) in criminology & forensic psychology, i have just started a certificate in youth justice with NUIM. I am also a year and a half out of training with the g/reserves.

if that doesn't get me into the gards, nothing will... In saying that, i cannot be cocky in my approach to applying freshly. I will be the exact same as everyone else, except i'll just use the above experience to hold me in good stead (hopefully) at the interview stage.

Exactly Clayton,
    You can use all the above at the interview to get a heads up.
    Some people think that being in the reserves and all the college in the world is enough, but at the end of it you still have to do all the same exams and tests and pass them like everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

A strong Leaving Certificate plus a good course (Level 6, 7, or 8 realisticly) in Criminal Justice, Legal Studies, or a full blown Law degree would probably stand you well in everyday role, increasing your efficiency and giving you an excellent basis in Civil and Criminal Law procedures governing evidence, etc.

A lot of the lads on my course have an interest in joining the Gardai after it's completion whereas I'm the only one interested in further study in the Legal field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭clayton1

itsallgood wrote: »
    Exactly Clayton,
    You can use all the above at the interview to get a heads up.
    Some people think that being in the reserves and all the college in the world is enough, but at the end of it you still have to do all the same exams and tests and pass them like everyone else.

I am not under that illusion, don't worry. I have come too far now to let something like that blow my chances.

I am the exact same as everyone else, except i've got probably more experience and studies done in this field, than others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Donkey16

Would an Arts Degree (sociology and Politics and Geography) and a business diplome be any advantage in applying for the Gardai in next recruitment??

Any opinions/views would be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I know a fair few people that studied Social Care to help them in their application, and they are now Gardai. One worked a lot with young people at risk before applying too, so that may be somwhere to look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

When I graduated from a Masters in DCU last year there were several senior Gardai sitting beside us graduating too. They'd done a Masters in something along the lines of Emergency Management and Disaster Relief (I think). I'd imagine something like that would impress at interview.

Also maybe some voluntary time spent with the RNLI might benefit too?