Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Car Service Cork

• 17-08-2010 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭

Hey lads,

Any one have any recommendations of a good place for a car service in Cork.. Usually go to AutoFast for €89, which is good value but sometimes find the service not the best..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

€89 for a service. Thats very cheap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭kiersm

There's a garage in Douglas Mills called Mark Murphy Motors, he's very good and you know if they say something has been done its actually done. The no is 021 4894839. I wouldn't say he's cheap but then again you get what you pay for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

What part of Cork are you in? If you are in the Douglas area then Mark Murphy is a good choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

SARASON wrote: »

Ah it's great, but I tell ya why I'm gone of them, as you probably know they'll do the service in 15-25 mins, very quick which is good.
    But my back right door sometimes is stiff and hard to close, just needs some grease, for the €89 euro lubrication of doors is included, last time I went, the door was acting up again, once the service was complete on the report said lubrication of doors-complete,
    when I got home discovered the door was actually the same, not even touched.
    Now I know its only a small thing but made me think what less they don't do to get the car service over with quick

SARASON wrote: »

Oil and filter change and X point check probably.
    I can highly recommend Con Forde in Greenmount 021 4963536, I generally do my own servicing these days but the like of a timing belt etc I wouldn't chance. I bought my first two cars from him years ago. Very honest and trustworthy chap, excellent service. Himself and his son work there, he wouldn't be cheap but you won't grumble about the quality of the work. He isn't expensive either to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭I'm listening

RoverJames wrote: »
    Oil and filter change and X point check probably.
    I can highly recommend Con Forde in Greenmount 021 4963536, I generally do my own servicing these days but the like of a timing belt etc I wouldn't chance. I bought my first two cars from him years ago. Very honest and trustworthy chap, excellent service. Himself and his son work there, he wouldn't be cheap but you won't grumble about the quality of the work. He isn't expensive either to be fair.

Excellent stuff, cheers for that.. yeah guessing around €120-€130 is a standard service

Give him a ring to book the car in or call in as he is generally fairly busy, he won't keep the car long though generally, never overnight either unless it's well fecked.