Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Results night in Limerick?

• 17-08-2010 7:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

Ive been debateing going out on the town tomorow for results night, and ive some very mixed advice as to wheather its a good idea or not. Some say its great, others that the place will be mobbed, making for a pretty terrible night. Any thoughts?

Also, im not getting results, im going into 6th year in september.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭munstergirl

At your age it should be a great night! :) have fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

It will be mobbed yes..

A majority of people are going to The silly UV rave thing at the sinbin, or Angel Lane. I have heard angel lane is meant to be 18 euro (may be true/untrue) but thats very expensive. Probably head there myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭dave 27

It will be mobbed yes..

A majority of people are going to The silly UV rave thing at the sinbin, or Angel Lane. I have heard angel lane is meant to be 18 euro (may be true/untrue) but thats very expensive. Probably head there myself.

if your friends with angel lane on facebook send them a private message, usually they put you onto the guest list and wont have to pay! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

The people who are saying its mobbed and a bad night are the oldies like us :) Go out and enjoy yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭you wha?

ya go for it.i think trinity rooms are having a results night thing too..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

*mental note: stay away from town tomorrow night :D

dave 27 wrote: »
    if your friends with angel lane on facebook send them a private message, usually they put you onto the guest list and wont have to pay! :D

I've tried to add them a few times, just says they have too many friend requests atm! :(

just go out and enjoy, the majority of trinity rooms is closed for now due to renovations, so only the court yard n club house is open i think. And €18 for Angel lane is not expensive at all for a leaving cert results night seen as its €12 on a saturday as it is. Think we paid €25 for Trinity in 2007, but i could be wrong

shaaane wrote: »
    just go out and enjoy, the majority of trinity rooms is closed for now due to renovations, so only the court yard n club house is open i think. And €18 for Angel lane is not expensive at all for a leaving cert results night seen as its €12 on a saturday as it is. Think we paid €25 for Trinity in 2007, but i could be wrong

15 for angel lane according to their facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Lots of young scantily clad impressionable drunk young girls

*Thinks about going out tonight*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Captain Average

I miss my youth :(
    The thought of going to a nightclub now is enough to depress me. I used to love the feckin things. When did I become a boring old person?

Today at 10.31

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

I remember reading this in overheard in dublin...

Gwan...

bloke,about 26, on the fone on the 66 bus on leaving cert nite....

"What do you mean your not coming out tonight??its leaving cert night...loada young ones out lookin for a bounce!....aahh go on...thy're well up for it...jaysis....next thing you'll be tellin me your staying in on junior cert night..."...

Overheard by Davey, 66 bus leaving cert night
    Posted on Thursday, 14th August 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Dear Diary,

Jackpot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Ahh Leaving Cert results night...the memories. I remember heading down to Doc's at 6pm so our underage asses would be able to get in. I ended up snogging the guy who got like 11A1's. Panda,doing her bit for Limerick Nerds since 2001 :)

Op, Go, Have fun and Enjoy!

12A1s, he scored an A in seduction, even though I question his methods

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

We were drinking in Dolans by this time on Leaving Cert day, then across to a barbeque at a mates who's parents supplied us with drink and then on to Doc where iirc we smuggled bottles of vodka in (actual bottles, not naggins), great day. Jeez, I too, wonder when I stopped being fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

We were drinking in Dolans by this time on Leaving Cert day, then across to a barbeque at a mates who's parents supplied us with drink and then on to Doc where iirc we smuggled bottles of vodka in (actual bottles, not naggins), great day. Jeez, I too, wonder when I stopped being fun.

Did anyone ever actually buy drinks in Doc's? All we ever brought was Coke and then headed straight for the toilets, like everyone else did. More empty vodka bottles in the jacks then there was behind the bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

panda100 wrote: »
    Did anyone ever actually buy drinks in Doc's? All we ever brought was Coke and then headed straight for the toilets, like everyone else did. More empty vodka bottles in the jacks then there was behind the bar.

We used to buy some stuff there alright, but I can even remember a friend of mine bringing in a mixer, things were tight back then, much like they are now!

great, great days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I remember going into Docs at like 7pm before the boucners came on, that way you were already in the bar and wouldnt get stopped going into the club :D trying to make one drink last an hour and a half was hard though..

I was in Molly Malones (the old and good one!) at opening time and can't remember leaving the place, but I assume that I ended up in Docs that night. 1999 was a long time ago :(
    That was the first year that they had introduced viewing your papers and asking for it to be re-marked. I failed honours chemistry by 2% and wanted to get it rechecked. The day that I was supposed to go view it to be certain, I ended up getting pissed in Molly's again and forgetting to go view the paper. I blame that day for many of my current woes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭munstergirl

Its free into trinity rooms tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Its free into trinity rooms tonight!

They should be paying people to go in there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

If you're only going into 6th year, might be tough to get in, they're a lot stricter on ID on these nights as the gardaí are on them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Builderfromhell

Is it possible or unusual for young people to celebrate an event like this without alcohol?
    Must every social calender event be celebrated with alcohol and in the case of tonight the inevitable abuse of alcohol?

Alcohol causes enormous social and medical problems in this and other countries but nobody wants to appear a kiljoy by disuading kids to drink. The peer pressure must be enormous and there will be a lot of worried parents at home tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Was passing through town earlier, christ there was people wrecked at 9pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Leroy Lita

I was in Molly Malones (the old and good one!) at opening time and can't remember leaving the place, but I assume that I ended up in Docs that night. 1999 was a long time ago :(
    That was the first year that they had introduced viewing your papers and asking for it to be re-marked. I failed honours chemistry by 2% and wanted to get it rechecked. The day that I was supposed to go view it to be certain, I ended up getting pissed in Molly's again and forgetting to go view the paper. I blame that day for many of my current woes :D

where abouts was the old Molly Malones??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

panda100 wrote: »
    Ahh Leaving Cert results night...the memories. I remember heading down to Doc's at 6pm so our underage asses would be able to get in. I ended up snogging the guy who got like 11A1's. Panda,doing her bit for Limerick Nerds since 2001 :)

Op, Go, Have fun and Enjoy!
    Weren't too many of them around....clearly identifiable to within a handful, you've just exposed someone :p

Leroy Lita wrote: »
    where abouts was the old Molly Malones??

The pub that is currently Burkes, on Catherine Street. Many years ago now. Must be over 10 years ago now.

molly malones, and o riorda's next door before they knocked the wall through. good times had in o riordas

zuroph wrote: »
    molly malones, and o riorda's next door before they knocked the wall through. good times had in o riordas

O'Riorda's was my first regular haunt, before we moved next door to Molly's. Good times indeed. Haven't set foot in the place since they knocked the wall seperating the two.

I think the wall is closed again.

We probably drank together so. spent manys the evening sitting atthe bar in o riorda's, and used to DJ the thursday night rock night in Mollys.

I don't remember any DJ's in Molly's. All I remember is Kev not letting anyone touch the mixer up in the corner. And it was always dance choons when I was a regular in there.
    Still remember the closing night, that was a savage night. Have a picture somewhere of myself a whole gang of regulars outside after the doors finally shut. Must try and route it out. <sob sob>

I don't remember any DJ's in Molly's. All I remember is Kev not letting anyone touch the mixer up in the corner. And it was always dance choons when I was a regular in there.
    Still remember the closing night, that was a savage night. Have a picture somewhere of myself a whole gang of regulars outside after the doors finally shut. Must try and route it out. <sob sob>

might have been just after they knocked the wall through actually, or around the time anyway. that mixer was a tempermental piece of junk, if you sneezed near it it cut out.

O Riada's and Molly's didn't exist at the same time did they, was it not Molly's and Noel's, then Mollys cleared off to where AK's was beside instore. The then "old Molly's" was then taken over by the original proprieters' uncle. Noel's was then "revamped" as O'Riada's next door

nope, was definitely o riadas and mollys. the other molly malones that opened was a different set up AFAIK.

zuroph wrote: »
    nope, was definitely o riadas and mollys. the other molly malones that opened was a different set up AFAIK.
    Isn't that what I just said? :confused:

Molly's and O'Rioda's definitely existed side by side for a few years. There were many nights i went from one to the other and often complained about the long journey:D.
    We tried the new Molly's when it opened where it currently is, and just never warmed to it. Went back in there about 4 years ago for a few christmas drinks, and Kev started giving us some mental shots. I was 5.5 hours late for work the day after. :o

edit: that was the last time I set foot in the place.