Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Criminal damage and threats on our lives!

• 17-08-2010 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi All,

This is my first post so please bear with me. This is a very long story so I will try to keep it as short as possible.

Last Feb on a tues morning we woke to discover our car and my partners work van had been smashed up, also a brick had been put through our study window. Our neighbours car had also been damaged and a car in the cul de sac behind us. Terrible day for us, we couldnt go to work and had to organise repair to the lot.
    The garda were called and all was reported. 4 days later on Sat night it happened to us again. This time the garda told us they knew who it was. A 22 yr old who lives directly behind us. He was known to them for this type of thing and had admitted to it when they called. They couldnt arrest him for some reason. Then at about 4pm while my partner was boarding up our window and I was sweeping up glass the guy walked by laughing. Of course I saw red, I shouted at him why had he done this to us, my partner then ran out to see what was happening. The guy then ran into his house and came out after us with a knife. We locked ourselves inside our house and rang the garda.
    The guy was arrested and brought to Cloverhill remand prison. A few weeks later he was sentenced to 9 months for previous convictions. A few weeks ago he got let out on temporary release and while we had friends over he tried to climb our back wall. he was shouting and threating to kill us. The garda took him away but he was released 3 1/2 hours later. As soon as he arrived back in our estate he smashed up our car and our friends. The garda said they couldnt arrest him as he was on his own property and had been drinking!!

A few hours later we had to drive our windowless cars to Dublin to our parents where we felt safe. He was arrested the following day and put back in prison to serve out the remainder of his sentence. He is due to be released on Oct 10th and the court date for the damage to our property and threats on our lives is Oct 18th. We have 2 children and are living in fear for them and ourselves. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on what we could do about moving out of our house. The house is in negative equity of about 30k and the bank wont allow us to sell. I cant even begin to explain the hell we're going through right now, we were so happy here and now I cry every time im coming back to this house from a day out. The family of this guy are from Africa somewhere and they own the house themselves.

God, I said I was gonna try keep it short!! Sorry for long read but needed to explain as best I could. Any suggestions very welcome.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

larocks, thank you for your post. I've taken the liberty to edit it slightly in order to improve its readability.

Mod edit : Moved to PI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

Sorry for all your troubles op

My only bit of advice to you is to go the court route. Protection order, then a barring order if there is anymore hassle.

I don't understand why the guards didn't do more when he came out with a knife, thats attempted assault.

Why should you move out of your house? its him that should be moving out, he is the bit of scum who is causing all of this

Try and get a bit of a neighbourhood watch thing going on with those neighbours who will co-operate.

You watch their house and cars when they are out and vice versa

Best of luck
    Stay strong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Install cameras at your property. Begin gathering evidence.
    Keep detailed diaries.

Make contact with your local Gardai. Tell them that you want to make a statment because you are concerned for you and your families safety.

Consider getting or borrowing a large dog.

Try to take as much control of the situation as you can. Be a pest to the Gardai and anyone else who will listen. Be the squeaky wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

UGH!!!! THIS KIND OF THING MAKES ME SO FURIOUS :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

WTF was this guy let out on temporary release? WTF is wrong with this country's justice system? Scumbags like him should be locked up and the key thrown away, or if he's not even got a passport for here (you said he's from Africa) then he should be thrown out of this country and back to where he came from. And what is wrong with the gardaí!? Ugh they are just so USELESS. This guy comes after you with a knife, and they do sweet f**k all!! :mad: What's the point in evening having them in this country, they do nothing!!

I recommend you install some CCTV on your property. Go to your gardaí, go there regularly, go to your local TD, counsellors, etc (prob won't do any good but still), go back to gardaí again.

Also get the protection order from court.

I think the idea of a guard dog is good in theory but this absolute-waste-of-space-shi!thead-ar$ehole-scumbag could then start targeting the dog and hurt him :( (unless it was your typical guard dog breed of Doberman etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Fox McCloud

Do you think he owns the house or is he renting? If he was renting you could maybe try find out who his landlord is and let them know what hes doing. No landlord wants crazy violent tennents.

This could majorly back fire though if he does get kicked out and figures out ye got him kicked out.
    +1 to the security camera, document and date everything he's done so far and everything he does from now on. When it comes to court you'll have evidence, he wont. Serious system failure here on from the guards, or maybe the judges actually. It seems they dont live in the real world and cant imagine being a victim of crime, only a victim of "poor upbringing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

Thats awful, you shouldnt have to put up with that!! Just a suggestion but maybe you should talk to your local Sinn fein representative??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 larocks

Wow thanks guys, feeling pretty **** but seeing how ye all feel about it actually made me smile :)

We got a german shepard 3 months ago, he's getting bigger by the day, but I do have the fear this physco will hurt him. The garda and the courts have ZERO communication which is so frustrating. We've put in complaints about how the situation was dealt with.

We both know it shouldnt be us that has to move but we are just so unhappy in our home now. Anyway we just take each day as it comes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

Maybe some councillor in your area could help.

As much as I dislike Sinn Fein at times they can work wonders for people who have problems with anti-social behaviour.

lol , just read Shakey_jake's post before I hit post :D ... it's so true though.
    Seriously a bullet in the head would be too good for that lout causing you all the trouble.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The guards are "useless" in this situation, simply because the courts here are actually useless way too often. I have to say, in the European union this country is one of the easiest to get away with murder(literally). Though the fact you are a family who have two young children under threat from this animal and still they do bugger all beggars belief, it really does. So yea in this situation the Garda involved are pretty bloody useless too and if they happen to be reading this and it was as described, yes I mean every word and so would any other citizen of this country. :mad: Never mind your property damage and intimidation, this moron has threatened your lives and has actually come at you both with a deadly weapon? Jesus f*cking christ. What's worse is you're not the first I've heard similar about.

OK, as others have said gather as much evidence about this as you can. The dog is a good idea but like you said scum like this wont think twice about injuring or killing a dog. Unless you have a couple of them and they can take care of themselves. One dog bit of an issue. Three dogs and you won't have to buy pedigree chum for a while... Like sympathetic said, be the squeaky wheel. Make as much noise about this as you possibly can. TD, local newspapers, get onto local radio stations, better yet go national, Joe Duffy may get slagged, but he is listened to by many many people and that has an impact, so ring him. Pat kenny another option. Make as much noise as possible. Embarrass the useless bastards into action. All publicity is good publicity.

You say he's of African origin? Don't let his colour put you off either and some will try to make it a colour/cultural issue. Don't let them. There are way more white scum around, he just happens to be black. Scum has no colour. I would also get every local politico type on board. Including the Shinners. I have zero time for their policies, but credit where credit is due one big reason they get elected time and time again is they are very good with local issues, from burst pipes to anti social behaviour(and I don't mean vigilante type guff either). Other parties could take a leaf from their book.

Don't try to engage violently. It could go either way for your family. If he is a nutter you really don't want to get into that unless you've got decent backup. Obviously if he comes into your house with violent intent, then all bets are off, but hopefully it doesnt come to that.

I'm so sorry and bloody angry to hear you and your family are going through this in this country and in this day and age. :( I really am, but good luck to you and yours..

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.