Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Salute to hard working Gardai

• 17-08-2010 1:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭

Just have to say well done to two gardai who turned out after I reported a burglary in a rural area tonight, they were on scene within 7 minutes of the phone call and were on their feet into the house within seconds with batons out looking for possible intruders and checking for signs of entry.

I remember not too long ago you would have to wait 30 minutes at best before Gardai would arrive and then check the scene and talk for a few minutes and off again. So it's a major improvement and all were courteous from the phonecall to the end of the alarm.

No intruders were found in the end, but I'm adamant someone was in there, but possibly fled after hearing me poking around before making the phone call. Hopefully they'll think twice before coming into this area again.

So anyway, cheers to the brave men and women of the Gardai!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

quick letter to the local super there with your thoughts im sure the members involved would really appericate it ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

da__flash wrote: »
    quick letter to the local super there with your thoughts im sure the members involved would really appericate it ;):D
    I'd be delighted to recommend them, however I didn't get their details, only the partial registration of the patrol car, as the whole thing happened and was over so quick and there were a thousand things going through my head at the time, but I'll certainly send in a letter of praise with the time and date if anyone higher up wants to check the roster for last night :)

Will be keeping an eye in the area from now on, as there are a number of elderly residents, one of whom was burgled in the past when he was out of the house, perhaps a revitalised Community Alert scheme would help to ensure that any activity or intelligence is passed directly onto Gardai in future.

But thanks again and keep up the great work, the majority of the community support it, so as regards to cutbacks and crims: illegitimi non carborundum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

ILA wrote: »
    I'd be delighted to recommend them, however I didn't get their details, only the partial registration of the patrol car, as the whole thing happened and was over so quick and there were a thousand things going through my head at the time, but I'll certainly send in a letter of praise with the time and date if anyone higher up wants to check the roster for last night :)

Will be keeping an eye in the area from now on, as there are a number of elderly residents, one of whom was burgled in the past when he was out of the house, perhaps a revitalised Community Alert scheme would help to ensure that any activity or intelligence is passed directly onto Gardai in future.

But thanks again and keep up the great work, the majority of the community support it, so as regards to cutbacks and crims: illegitimi non carborundum

the supt will be able to retrieve details form the computer system as to what gardai dealt with the burglary, by simply having your address.

Dont be shy.. write that letter

Just out of curiousity, if I write to my local Superintendent saying Garda Joe Soap did a great job of x and y last week, will the Garda ever actually see the letter or know that it was written?

Or is it hit and miss as to whether the Garda will ever see it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Just out of curiousity, if I write to my local Superintendent saying Garda Joe Soap did a great job of x and y last week, will the Garda ever actually see the letter or know that it was written?

Or is it hit and miss as to whether the Garda will ever see it?

It will be forwarded to the member concerned to note and return. These types of letters are also held on the members personal file.

The letter is almost complete and will be in the post tomorrow. I included the location and time and my belief that the "Members involved are a credit to the force".

Double checking tonight and found that a item may be missing from the neighbours sheds, but that's a matter for them to follow up when they return. The amount of stuff kept in unlocked sheds is staggering, the best of power tools and equipment. Hopefully the thieves don't come back tonight as they now know that no one's home, except the watchful eyes and ears from across the hedge :D

Other neighbours informed of the incident have expressed their views and shared their experience of recent criminal and suspicious activities in the area and we've resolved to co-operate closer and let Gardaí know of any thing unusual in future.

Letter should be received today. Hopefully it will brighten the day of two gardai! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Well done to you, both for being so vigilant and for writing that letter. They will appreciate it and their Super will be glad to see it as well.

I'm a little bit drunk at the moment, so apologies for any spell mistakes etc. in my post

But i was out in drogheda tonight (i rarely drink) and I noticed they had an unmarked garda car (and a regular marked garda car) on the town as people were pouring out of the clubs, etc. (so I thought, fair play to them).

But they also had two sets of garda at the exits of the place i was leaving (dunno the name of the place, "earth" i think?). Anyway, there was a hot dog stand nearby and i bought two hotdogs for the Gardaì that were working close to me, "Emma and Barry", I'm told.

Anyway, I brought the hotdogs over to the Gardaì and they said they cant eat them on duty but if i wanted to drop them to the station i could leave them there for them (so i did run over to the station with them, and was assured by a lady garda that they would be eaten on their behalf :P ) but what struck me most is how polite and nice the Gardaì were.

Even at, what, 3am, dealing with drunken assholes of all descriptions (i realise im drunk, so myself included) they were overly nice (especially the lady, "Emma") and were very grateful.

Anyway, i realise my post may be all over the place, but i just wanted to note that even working a horrible shift, and on the street at 3-4am on a Saturday night, they are all smiles and cheerful. Wonderful people.

(though in saying that, there were two Gardaì also doing the same shift, two men, who looked very annoyed and unapproachable, so I suppose it balances out at the end of the day).

Salute to hard working Gardaì indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

(though in saying that, there were to gardaì also doing the same shift, two men, who looked very annoyed and unapproachable, so i suppose it balances out at the end of the day).
    That's because they didn't get a hotdog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

KKv,
    You should make a load of hotdogs and post them into the super in drogheda!! Tell them that they're for Emma and Barry! He'll be delighted for the thought and the 2 lads will be delighted with the food, even if it is cold!

Haha, I reckon that'd look fairly weird now. A parcel coming in filled with hotdogs in buns, and a tub of mustard :P

I'd probably be arrested for being a nuisance. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I'd probably be arrested for being a nuisance. :o

or for a-salt and batter-y ....

:oQuick, start the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

deadwood wrote: »
    or for a-salt and batter-y ....

:oQuick, start the car.

One of these days im going to compile a thread of deadwood - isims!!