Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do these video's piss you off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Fail with the links :pac:

but no, not in the slightest..should they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭kennethk

Surely better doing it there, than on a road,no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

I dont see that it's any of our business to be honest. It looks to me like they are off the public road. Thats a good thing.

It's not my scene, but these lads are into their cars and they arent harming anyone here so why bother them?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,317 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Only the first one looked like it was away from other road users.

I view them like watching children play.
    Looking at it objectively, I suppose it's a bit pathetic that a grown man plays like that, but some day they'll discover girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

I wouldn't say they p*ss me off but people posting random questions without giving their own opinion in their post does irritate me a little bit :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

spurious wrote: »
    Only the first one looked like it was away from other road users.

I view them like watching children play.
    Looking at it objectively, I suppose it's a bit pathetic that a grown man plays like that, but some day they'll discover girls.

and then they'll be broke and fed up like the rest of us. I have had my moments but I wouldnt do that on a public road..its too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭rodneys

kennethk wrote: »
    Surely better doing it there, than on a road,no?

kenneth, I think if you look at the videos will find they ARE doing it on public roads/crossroads and roundabouts, there were a number of local "enthusiasts" near us who kept doing this at all hours of day and night at crossroads near us :mad:, so we all complained the owners of the cars to the Gardai who went and spoke to them , now nice and quiet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Yes.
    Watching that first video I was hoping the guy would 99 himself into the ditch.
    Numpties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭metalgear2k2

No, no harm in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

Have a look at this : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VAjtTurqWrk

Listen to the guys from around 0:45 onwards.. Over-reaction? Or just brillant commentary.. you decide... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

fluffer wrote: »
    I dont see that it's any of our business to be honest. It looks to me like they are off the public road. Thats a good thing.

They are all done on public roads, in the first one you can see a yield sign as the camera car pulls away. The other two are clearly on public roundabouts.
    It's not my scene, but these lads are into their cars and they arent harming anyone here so why bother them?

They're harming nobody until they lose control and slap into some innocent, the vid from CarMuppet shows what happens when you lose control, admittedly the speeds are much higher. The second vid is a bunch of dickheads, if they lose control they might probably hit someone on the roundabout waiting to get on.

Its generally seriously retarded driving imo, especially the last two, hope the twats get caught someday, but the odds on this happening are fairly remote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

fluffer wrote: »

Have the links been changed to different videos because they do look like public roads to me?

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

CarMuppet wrote: »

Listen to the guys from around 0:45 onwards.. Over-reaction? Or just brillant commentary.. you decide... :)

Now THEY are some serious drifters. Not just some sh1tty donuts or going around a roundabout over and over.

I nearly fell of the chair laughing at the comment on youtube, and the commentary from the Japanese guy though:
    Youtube wrote:
    "is it just me or was i the only one that heard godzilla at 0:52 ?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭conneem-TT

rodneys wrote: »
    kenneth, I think if you look at the videos will find they ARE doing it on public roads/crossroads and roundabouts, there were a number of local "enthusiasts" near us who kept doing this at all hours of day and night at crossroads near us :mad:, so we all complained the owners of the cars to the Gardai who went and spoke to them , now nice and quiet
    bijapos wrote: »
    They are all done on public roads, in the first one you can see a yield sign as the camera car pulls away. The other two are clearly on public roundabouts.

They're harming nobody until they lose control and slap into some innocent, the vid from CarMuppet shows what happens when you lose control, admittedly the speeds are much higher. The second vid is a bunch of dickheads, if they lose control they might probably hit someone on the roundabout waiting to get on.

Its generally seriously retarded driving imo, especially the last two, hope the twats get caught someday, but the odds on this happening are fairly remote.
    h3000 wrote: »
    Have the links been changed to different videos because they do look like public roads to me?

The OP changed the links after the first few posts were put up because the 6 or 7 videos originally linked were not on roads and didn't really support his/her question.

The new video's of the behaviour on roads depict some really class A idiot's, especially the one on the busy roundabouts.

I wonder would something in the line of drift parks somewhat analogous to skate parks be useful. All the county council's would need is an acre outside of major towns with some tarmac, a fence around it and big signs declaring no responsability to the damage caused to cars inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

TBH I hate Corolla/Levin Twin Cams more so because it always seems to be those cars at this shít.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I was wondering what the first few replies were seeing that I wasnt tbh...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

conneem-TT wrote: »
    I wonder would something in the line of drift parks somewhat analogous to skate parks be useful. All the county council's would need is an acre outside of major towns with some tarmac, a fence around it and big signs declaring no responsability to the damage caused to cars inside.

Thats a decent idea but the amount of plebs that'd probably be killed trying to re-enact stunts like sitting out the window or while locking the accelerator down and getting out of the car while doing donuts etc etc.

Or all the people that'd crash into eachother.

It'd have to be supervised like they do with the skateparks.

Would be funny watching grown men/women being supervised while they play.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

conneem-TT wrote: »

Didnt they try something like this in Dublin a few years ago; I seem to remember listening to something on Adrian Kennedy back in my younger days about a field someone opened for guys to bring their bangers and stock car race them to their hearts content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

Based on the current videos in the OP's post, first one no, second two yes. The second video they are holding up traffic whilst they play like two year olds with new toys. The third video obviously late at night so little to no other traffic. Its idiots like this that give other car "enthusiasts" a bad name.

Just find a bit of new tarmac around the country and within days you will see doughnuts of rubber burned into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

CarMuppet wrote: »

Crashu !!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭kennethk

rodneys wrote: »

He changed the links! The videos I saw were not on the road:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Treehouse72

Knacker boy-racers breaking the rules of the road, endangering themselves and others, filming it and putting it on the internet?

Yes, that pisses me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

the second video was during the Donegal rally at night when it was just beginning to clear. anyone at that roundabout was out there to watch the drifting.

the first video is in the back ass of nowhere. as soon as a car pulls up he moves off. no big deal.

and the third one they are all by themselves. so i don't see what the big hate campaign is all about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

bmw535d wrote: »
    the second video was during the Donegal rally at night when it was just beginning to clear. anyone at that roundabout was out there to watch the drifting.

the first video is in the back ass of nowhere. as soon as a car pulls up he moves off. no big deal.

and the third one they are all by themselves. so i don't see what the big hate campaign is all about?

They are public roads and not there for boy racer dickheads treat as drift tracks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

furtzy wrote: »
    They are public roads and not there for boy racer dickheads treat as drift tracks

what im trying to say is you will never see this in ireland.

irish fella's try to get out of everyone's way.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dm06cer2Tzo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭cooltown

keefg wrote: »
    I wouldn't say they p*ss me off but people posting random questions without giving their own opinion in their post does irritate me a little bit :)
    Well yes they do piss me of for alot of reaasons.
    These are on the pubic road and are putting other people lives at risk.
    In my opinion a car is getting from A to B. It is a very dangerous toy in the hands of the wrong people. These guys are uploading these videos here and they are encouraging more people to do these stunts on the piblic roads putting there lives and others at risk.
    I am a young driver and I am sick of llistening to guys saying my insurance is so high and the garda's are out to get us all ''we doing is having fun in our cars.'' I do know that insurance prices are very high but it is because of idiots like this. I also think that the gardaí are doing away better job to reducing the carnage on our roads. I see guys driving around without L's and driving unaccompanied. They say they are brilliant drivers but the are partaking in this kind of behavour on public roads and in my eyes the are sh*te drivers because of this. We live in a small area and the garda's have the attatude that when they see a young peson driving by themselves for the first time. They'll pull them over and chack there whole car over no matter what it is. Then they give people a talk where they say. If we see yu driving bad or get report of you driving bad. We'll make your life hell. Now I haven't had that talk yet because I only ever drove once by myself and that was an emergency and I don't plan to do it again unless I really have to until I have passed my test. So many of these guys think driving is a right. I see it as a privilege.
    If I had my way guys cougt partaking in this kind of behavoir should have their cars crushed and receive, time in prison and a minimum of a 5 year driving ban!
    I know that was a long rant!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

bmw535d wrote: »
    what im trying to say is you will never see this in ireland.

irish fella's try to get out of everyone's way.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dm06cer2Tzo

Well let them do it on a track or private property. It has no place on public roads and is the action of a childish knob head. Wow look at me making my car go round and round....arseholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The videos only piss me off because they don't end with the fnckers flipping the vehicles and smashing their heads open.

Have to deal with these scumbags all the time drifting around the roundabouts in our area at all times of the day and night. It's not harmless fun.

furtzy wrote: »
    Well let them do it on a track or private property. It has no place on public roads and is the action of a childish knob head. Wow look at me making my car go round and round....arseholes

If you don't actually see it yourself and it's done (on public roads albeit) but when there are no other members of the public around..then what's your problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

SV wrote: »
    when there are no other members of the public around..then what's your problem?
    There are never any guarantees of this.

I was coming home from West Cork a few weeks back and all over the back roads (and R roads) were spots where the night before, idiots were clearly coming out of a side road, doing a few donuts and then speeding off again.

There is no way that they could have guaranteed that they wouldn't have encountered another member of the public coming down those roads and caused an accident.

It's the height of arrogance and idiocy to think that there's no harm in this. There's always a risk. At least if they do it off the public roads they're only putting themselves at risk.

There's risk..in certain areas.
    but the idea of the crossroads and at night was always that..plenty of room, can see lights coming from all directions and if you do..stop.

a lot of these things have always had lookouts to warn(though that's mainly for the Gardaí but it applies to other cars too) aswell.

There are a few gimps who will do it in broad daylight or in areas that are highly populated but they're few and far between in Ireland(imo, from what I've seen)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Yes they do as a 22yr old Male Driving a crappy 1.2 my Insurance is ridicolous because of these idiots.

they're not crashing in the videos so..how do you make that out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Aln_S

I would like to see more evidence please before i make a decision! :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

SV wrote: »
    they're not crashing in the videos so..how do you make that out?

Not yet, there Diffin around a Public Road the Insurance Companys Tar every young Male Driver with the same Brush seeing these Videos and you get them insuring AE86's them as Standard Corollas same with Glanazas as Starlets which **** up everyone elses insurance.

So they only **** up your insurance if you assume they're going to crash..which you do.
    that's alright so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

The fact that this behaviour doesn't piss off EVERY one of us, shows that we have a long way to go. The belief that a public road and a motor vehicle can be used in this way, should the user CHOOSE to do so if they feel like it, is immoral to the highest degree.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Eh are you saying they dont? Because they do as I know quite a few people that have done so.

I was working at the track over the weekend and their were bumpers and panels littering the track from the drifters firing their cars into walls. Not to mention the huge number of them spinning off the track. Do that on a public road and you will be doing more damage than just taking off a bumper.

I don't assume they'll crash no.

You'll always push your car more on a track than the public roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

martydunf wrote: »
    TBH I hate Corolla/Levin Twin Cams more so because it always seems to be those cars at this shít.:mad:

The irish ae86 owners club/forum is one of the strictest websites to get into,if you dont own an ae86 you wont get accepted...the majority of members there only diff in private yards or on diff days legally organised so tar them all with the one brush

What should they be insured as? Irish and english ae86's are originally corolla gt coupes on the books,its the jap imports that are levins/truenos so get your facts right buddy,