Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New gig night looking for bands

• 16-08-2010 10:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭

Live and Unsigned Dublin is a new gig night. We looking to find the best live acts in Dublin in all genes of music and have banging Thursday nights twice a month in The Pint Bar(28 Eden Quay,Dublin 1). We put on 6 bands/acts on a night 30minutes set each, twice a month and have a CASH PRIZE or days recording for the best band!! We have lots of connections in the music industry and would love to help you on your way, if your band is good enough!! CONTACT us here at http://www.myspace.com/liveandunsigneddublin if your interested in playing, and ADD us as a FRIEND. €4 pints/tunes all night long!!

PS - NEW SOUND SYSTEM JUST PUT IN THE VENUE

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

Already heard lots of good stuff about this... Fair play guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

Hi lads, ive added you there on myspace. Manhattan woudl be interested in having a bash at this!

http://www.myspace.com/bandmanhattan

Any free slots on the 2nd of sept?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭off.the.walls

I know the venue the sound system is ****e and the sound engineer is some asshole french guy, would never play this venue ever again. Ya should check out some other venues dude. Sounds like a savage idea though best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭BornIn84

horrible venue

funny, I know a few folks who's been that said it was good fun, as punters... interesting that the bands aren't so keen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Waking-Dreams

This is where Soul 28 was, right? The stage is upstairs? I played there in 2005 before it closed down, was a great spot, good sound system and close to public transport for the punters. Good to see it's back open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭billybenner

A new sound system was put iin 2 weeks , it a deadly venue now!!

ya with he stage upstairs, perfect venue

This probably explains it then :)

I've seen the new one all they got was two new ev speakers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Prefab Sprouter

I know the venue the sound system is ****e and the sound engineer is some asshole french guy, would never play this venue ever again. Ya should check out some other venues dude. Sounds like a savage idea though best of luck with it.
    Whilst I dont know the circumstances behind your opinion, I can certainly state that the French guy in question is extremely helpful, very thorough and never once said anything that would make me think negatively of him. We've had him as sound engineer for 4 gigs with our band and he is a grand chap. So I beg to differ in your character assassination.

Prefab,

You should be aware that off.the.walls has demonstrated a penchant for talking down alot of things/other projects relating to sound engineering and the like, so no one was surprised by his remarks. I assume the french guy is Jean Claude? If so, he's a gent. Pleasure to work with.

Prefab,

You should be aware that off.the.walls has demonstrated a penchant for talking down alot of things/other projects relating to sound engineering and the like, so no one was surprised by his remarks. I assume the french guy is Jean Claude? If so, he's a gent. Pleasure to work with.

Actually no its not jean claude if it was jean claude then he would probally know what he's doing anytime i've been to a gig there he's miced a entire drum kit when all ya need is one over head and a kick mic, the venue is to small to have a fully miced up kit if the guy knew anything about natural acoustics then he would know that the venue is too small to have a full drum kit mic set up.

I did one gig and it ran two hours late because of the sound engineer, I could of gotten up and had the sound check done in five minutes flat no need to dilly dally around one song and done simple as, after that i'd have your front of house and monitor feed done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Prefab,

did 2 gigs with jean claude around 3 years go, very good engineer

Actually no its not jean claude if it was jean claude then he would probally know what he's doing anytime i've been to a gig there he's miced a entire drum kit when all ya need is one over head and a kick mic, the venue is to small to have a fully miced up kit if the guy knew anything about natural acoustics then he would know that the venue is too small to have a full drum kit mic set up.

I did one gig and it ran two hours late because of the sound engineer, I could of gotten up and had the sound check done in five minutes flat no need to dilly dally around one song and done simple as, after that i'd have your front of house and monitor feed done.

OK, so you had a bad experience with this particular guy. Big deal. I've been delayed by all kinds of people at gigs too but you can't indict the VENUE – you also could have been unlucky on that particular night with such a long delay. What went on during those 2 hours? If you are so experienced on sound, why didn't you approach the engineer about it? Or was it easier to roll your eyes, continue to tune your guitar or whatever and then complain later on a message board?

I've heard bad stories about lots of places I gigged at, almost every venue will have some unsatisfied people. Some people happened to have bad experiences and others don't. So what does that prove? Until a majority of people all start having the same kind of bad experiences, you can't really indict anyone.

Musician 1: We're playing a gig at Fibbers this weekend.

Musician 2: What, really? That place is a joke. I played there once and the engineer delayed us by 2 hours.

Musician 1: Oh really? Does that happen to all the bands that play there?

Musician 2: Well, I don't have any proof, but it happened to me and where there's smoke, there's fire. Know what I mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 24 Broken Amps

We played this venue recently and the sound was grand, good crowd, and the engineer was sound to us. A friend of mines band recommended the place to us cause we were looking for gigs, and we were happy with it. so maybe OFF. THE. WALLs just cant get his music right on stage and can is too busy complaining to get with the sorting the problem, I've personally played in most venue around the country and have had bad experiences in the best venues and really good ones in ones in places i thought would nt be great. All in all this venue is perfect for any band who not signed and want s to get out there!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

I played there a couple of months back and was happy enough with it.

OK, so you had a bad experience with this particular guy. Big deal. I've been delayed by all kinds of people at gigs too but you can't indict the VENUE – you also could have been unlucky on that particular night with such a long delay. What went on during those 2 hours? If you are so experienced on sound, why didn't you approach the engineer about it? Or was it easier to roll your eyes, continue to tune your guitar or whatever and then complain later on a message board?

I've heard bad stories about lots of places I gigged at, almost every venue will have some unsatisfied people. Some people happened to have bad experiences and others don't. So what does that prove? Until a majority of people all start having the same kind of bad experiences, you can't really indict anyone.

Musician 1: We're playing a gig at Fibbers this weekend.

Musician 2: What, really? That place is a joke. I played there once and the engineer delayed us by 2 hours.

Musician 1: Oh really? Does that happen to all the bands that play there?

Musician 2: Well, I don't have any proof, but it happened to me and where there's smoke, there's fire. Know what I mean?

It's not just the engineer that makes me not like the venue, The booking agent i found to be very arrogent, the engineer when i offered my help told me he would be done in a minute and next thing two hours have passed. So in my experience its not a good venue other people may have had better experiences but personally i won't be using this venue again.

What went on during those two hours i don't know i couldn't see what he was doing inside the little box that they have the sound desk in. Looked like he was trying to fix some wires and then he went up to the speakers with a load of cable.

I also played there last year and the entire front of house system had blown and we had to use two peavey speakers the engineer that used to be there was brilliant tried to everything by the bands not by his own standards saying that he always did a good job and we were always happy with the mixes that he provided. This new guy on the other hand i found on that night was very incompotent, the monitor mix was awful and you couldn't hear the vocals over the drums because they were all mice'd up and were very loud.

As I've already said theres a NEW SOUND SYSTEM recently fitted and everyone who played there is happy with it. So could ''off the walls'' please stop using up space on this thread, you getting really annoying, just cause you had one bad experience you dont have to keep going on about it we heard you the first time.

Its a perfect venue for any unsigned band and plus you the chance of winning CASH or recording time so give us a break , most unsigned bands dont get a penny for any gigs they play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Prefab Sprouter

Ok, I have played the pint myself in an afternoon slot and found the place to be grand. The sound was ok, monitor mix was fine and it is an ok venue. We'd play it again. If you are an unsigned band looking to get up in front of a new audience then you could do worse that appear at The Pint.

As for the engineer, yes he is meticulous but he listened to us and no request was a problem. He wont be rushed but I find it hard to believe he delayed you band by 2 hours. This same guy was offered a job with our band to do sound at a number of gigs we played this summer. He turned up to 5 band rehearsals before the gigs started to get an idea of our sound, he visited the venue pre each gig, made sure that all the equipment was there, turned up early each gig and afterwards he ensured that all the P.A. was packed away neatly, we never had to worry about a thing. Doesnt souund like the traits of someone who resembles a posterior now does it?

The reason I post the above is that I dont like the way a poster can casually come on and refer to someone as "some asshole French guy". does it make a difference that he's French? There are 3 sides to a story, your side, his side and the truth.

Anyway I digress and apologies for doing so but given that someone's character is being assassinated without him being here to defend himself I feel compelled to do so.

Go to the Pint guys, its not a bad place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 hihat

hi BILLYBENNER
    sent you an sms and an email about booking in our band WEEKS AGO . got no reply,

mabye i missed something or wats your criteria?

CHEERS!

Hey Hihat, you never me, this is a totally new night in the Pint bar. Were only having our first night on the 2nd of September it's called ''Live and Unsigned Dublin'', you must of contacted the other promoters, send us a message on www.myspace.com/liveandunsigneddublin or else www.liveandunsigneddublin@gmail.com and we ll see what we can do for you.

JUST TO LET YOU KNOW THERE IS NEW SOUND SYSTEM AND NEW ENGINEER IN THE PINT BAR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

Wondering if there's availability for backing tracks? i bring mine like?

Sorry not sure what do you mean? , like your going to play a backing track on stage and sing over it its that what you mean? is so ya thats fine with us!!

New engineer and sound system are grand. Playing there on next thursday night because i went in and saw that this guy actually know's what he's doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Garzone

Yo Billy hows it goin man?

My names Gary Bolger, im in the band Hostile Ground, my friend Fintan Kerr was talking to you a few days ago.
    Yeah we'd love to be able to have a few gigs there

Garzone wrote: »
    Yo Billy hows it goin man?

My names Gary Bolger, im in the band Hostile Ground, my friend Fintan Kerr was talking to you a few days ago.
    Yeah we'd love to be able to have a few gigs there

hi Gary can you send on some info about your band, bio, age, where your from etc plus some links to your music , that would be great!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Garzone

Name: Hostile Ground
    Genre: Heavy Metal
    Formed: Summer 2009

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/24BrokenAmps#!/pages/Hostile-Ground/197790440237707 Only made few days ago, so a little blank looking

JESUS ''OFF THE WALLS' YOU CHANGED YOUR TUNE ABOUT THE VENUE, YOU NOW THINK THE SOUND IS GRAND AND YOUR PLAYING THERE NEXT WEEK!!

Yeah because of the new system and engineer.... like i stated.

Garzone wrote: »
    Name: Hostile Ground
    Genre: Heavy Metal
    Formed: Summer 2009

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/24BrokenAmps#!/pages/Hostile-Ground/197790440237707 Only made few days ago, so a little blank looking

cheers ill pm you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭niall1976

Guys,

I have played Billy's gig in the pint bar. He's one of the good guys. Passionate about music and genuine guy. He always gets back to me when I contact red an opportunity and in my dealings with him he has been nothing but honest.

The night is well organised and the prize is real.

I think we need to be careful that we don't turn off the guys that ate trying to run good nights for bands looking for gigging experience.

Keep it up Billy..,we need guys like you.

Cheers , Niall

niall1976 wrote: »
    Guys,

I have played Billy's gig in the pint bar. He's one of the good guys. Passionate about music and genuine guy. He always gets back to me when I contact red an opportunity and in my dealings with him he has been nothing but honest.

The night is well organised and the prize is real.

I think we need to be careful that we don't turn off the guys that ate trying to run good nights for bands looking for gigging experience.

Keep it up Billy..,we need guys like you.

Cheers , Niall

thanks for the nice words!!