Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motor Mouth - Speed Cameras

• 16-08-2010 10:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

Hi guys

I'm Gabes from Motor Mouth on Newstalk (Mon 10-12pm). Tonight one of the issues we'll be discussing is speed cameras - are they an effective road safety tool or just a source of easy revenue? Are there any locations that you think requires a speed camera or the opposite, already has a speed camera that you think is inapproriate? We'd like to hear your views for the show, so if you have a comment, please let us know,

Gabes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Well, from the RSA's latest campaign - most accidents happen on regional secondary roads. So why do we have speed traps (Garda with a hairdryer, or a van with a camera) on motorways, dual carriageways, and roads with low accident statistics? Seems like revenue generation to me.

I'd much rather see camera vans and speed traps around villages where the local boy racers have nothing else to do but hoon around at ridiculous speeds through small roads, and near schools and playgrounds too, but it'll never happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

This should be interesting...

Personally I feel that cameras could be an effective road safety tool, but in Ireland they are more often that not used in "shooting fish in a barrell" locations rather than where are are really needed, for instance you often see a bike cop with a camera hiding on the slip roads onto the M7 around Naas knowing that they will catch people doing a few mph over the limit even tho there is very little danger on that road even if someone is really belting along. The same camera could be much better deployed on any of the many back roads around the area where dangerous driving and speeding are much more of an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

In Ireland its all about revenue generation and nothing else. The locations they use show this, motorways, slip roads, dual carriageways. All the types of roads that can handle higher speeds, have higher limits and have proven to be safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

The current road safety strategy by the Garda is bizzare:

- they set up and hide on the safest roads in Dublin (some I would place a confident bet that there are few small accidents on, and zero serious accidents / fatalities), often at points whereby people are coming from a higher speed area and will naturally be slowing down coming up to lights etc, but are still a small bit over.
    - they set up on beautiful sunny days (like the past weekend) when there are higher volumes of traffic, which naturally slows the traffic streams massively anyway.
    - they are never out on wet days when you have retard drivers flying along with zero regard for "driving to the conditions", and visibility is poor anyway

As proof that it is a revenue generating focus and not a safety focused approach; they do not set up on secondary roads due to the fact that A) there is a lower traffic volume, and B) 90% of the cars that are on the road will be under the speed limit, meaning the garda time/speeding violation ratio is much worse...but critically also meaning that the one seriously dangerous car at that point in time in Ireland goes hurtling along, completely unnoticed and out of the statistics until it either leaves the road and wraps around a tree, or kills someone walking.

Then purely for optics there's a big push for a clampdown on speed, and surprise surprise there's secret guns on the N11.

I think the metric for deciding where to put cameras is completely backwards:

Currently it seems like the roads that are most likely to have cars speeding (even by 5 or 10km/h) are targeted, irrespective of relative safety of the roads and surrounding areas.

It should be calculated by looking at the ratio of car volumes to accidents on the roads, and basing where to put speed traps deduced from that data, as well as the relative safety of the road (blind spots, turns, width, surface etc)

E.g. the N11 might have more accidents than some road in the Dublin mountains per year, but the accidents are ~.05% of the total traffic using the road, whereas the the 1 or 2 accidents on the mountain road are A) a higher proportional percentage of the traffic travelling on the road, and B) much more serious.

As a side not, unfortunatley people's disdain for traffic garda due to this completely bonkers method of operations, then naturally transcends to "the garda" in general. Which is awful because of the amount of good work the non-traffic garda do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I think how effective they are/can be would have to be closely linked to how they are used and placed.

In this country it is blatantly obvious that speed traps have only two main aims:

1. As a revenue generator
    2. To keep Joe public's safety conscious mind at ease by pretending to do something about speed.

This is clearly shown in the placement of fixed speed cameras around the country and where and when mobile speed checks are deployed.

Speed cameras and checks are not placed at accident black spots or the like simply because they will cost money rather than make money, this seems to be more important than any real effect on safety.

And the government will get away with this as long as the general public believe whatever the RSA and Gaybo spoon feed them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Speed fines only penalize those who usually do what they are told. So your 20 kph over the limit on a empty, motorway designed to carry traffic at 160KHp. You have, tax, insurance, NCT. You get a ticket to your address and pay the fine and take the points, and inform your insurance.

The law breakers, dont have tax or insurance, dont care, rip up the fine and carry on regardless, they have car in bad repair without NCH etc. These laws only work on those who respect the law which is totally pointless.

Also never saw a speed check at night or early in the morning when all the bad crashes happen. I travel 200km twice a week @ 6am and see some really crazy things, but never a copper. Now coming home at 4:30 is a different matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

Speed cameras are not focused on road safety when compared to a live Garda standing on the side of the road with a speed gun. If a driver gets caught by a speed gun, they know it straight away and immediately their driving will improve. If a driver gets caught by a camera, they will continue to speed until whenever the letter arrives at their door.

If the objective was to slow drivers down on the roads, then the speed camera approach takes too long to be the safest approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

Hi guys

I'm Gabes from Motor Mouth on Newstalk (Mon 10-12pm). Tonight one of the issues we'll be discussing is speed cameras - are they an effective road safety tool
    We have no evidence that they improve road safety. The RSA and Gardaí do not release statistics which show the crash rate on a particular stretch of road pre and post speed camera installation. If these figures were in the public domain we could easily see how effective or ineffective these speed cameras really are. Why are they hiding these statistics?
    or just a source of easy revenue?
    This appears to be the case. The majority of fatal and serious crashes occur on rural roads (71%) and just 1% on motorways. Yet the majority of speed camera locations seem to focus on our safest roads (check the map on http://www.irishspeedtraps.com). Is it a coincidence that these roads also have high traffic volumes which presumably results in high speed detection rates and high revenue from fines? We don't think so.
    Are there any locations that you think requires a speed camera or the opposite, already has a speed camera that you think is inappropriate?
    There are lots of locations which would benefit from speed cameras. Accident black spots for a start. Speed cameras can be used to slow traffic at locations such as schools, build up areas. However they should be highly visible and signposted in order to achieve this aim. The current policy of covert operation makes motorists skeptical that the prime focus is improving road safety.

The problem is that all the ills on our roads are constantly blamed on speeding, with important areas such as driver education & training and road maintenance taking a back seat. This is convenient as it allows people responsible for road safety (RSA, Gardaí and politicians) to shift all the blame to motorists and disguise their own ineffectiveness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I hope this show tonight actually takes on some of these thoughts and doesn't just skip over them in order to be diplomatic or "fair".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Id love to hear a senior member of AGS traffic corps come on to try and defend their positioning of speed cameras actually. Any chance of that happening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

Hi Gabes,

I wish for the day that this country's roads are saturated with Speed camera's of all kinds, Fixed Gatso's, ANPR, Mobile Gatso's and Gardai speed checks. As the standard of driving here is disgraceful. The lack of respect for those big red outlined circular signs with black numbers is a total joke, especially on the Motorways ie the M50. The only way to stop this dangerous driving behavour is to hit the offenders in the pocket with massive fines and revoke licenses. With fines in the thousands of Euro and driving bans in years, not a 80 quid fine and 2 points on your license. As having a license to drive on public roads is not a right but a privilege.

Just look at the threads on or related to Speeding here, and all you read is peoples contempt for the Laws of this State regarding the safe use of the roads. The French Government had a similar problem in the 90's with speeding and related deaths and they introduced a massive campaign against it with speed camera's, with success! The political will has to to there to combat this selfish dangerous problem.

The RSA and Gaybo have my full support!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

emoticon-eating-popcorn-MH900437984.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

The standard of driving in this country is not related to people speeding. Speeding will always happen but it can be reduced.

Standard of driving will not be improved by installing "Fixed Gatso's, ANPR, Mobile Gatso's and Gardai speed checks".

jock101, the point of these discussions is effectiveness of the current speed camera locations and speed cameras in general.

On second thoughts, forget all that. I don't know how I got pulled into replying to your post. You are just trying to provoke people by being extremist. :mad:

jock101 wrote: »

Obvious troll is obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭naoise80

Hi Gabes,

I wish for the day that this country's roads are saturated with Speed camera's of all kinds, Fixed Gatso's, ANPR, Mobile Gatso's and Gardai speed checks. As the standard of driving here is disgraceful. The lack of respect for those big red outlined circular signs with black numbers is a total joke, especially on the Motorways ie the M50. The only way to stop this dangerous driving behavour is to hit the offenders in the pocket with massive fines and revoke licenses. With fines in the thousands Euro and driving bans in years, not a 80 quid fine and 2 points on your license. As having a license to drive on public roads is not a right but a privilege.

Just look at the threads on or related to Speeding here, and all you read is peoples contempt for the Laws of this State regarding the safe use of the roads. The French Government had a similar problem in the 90's with speeding and related deaths and they introduced a massive campaign against it with speed camera's, with success! The political will has to to there to combat this selfish dangerous problem.

+1.

Don't speed and it doesn't matter where or how many cameras there are.

How hard can it be to grasp this simple fact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

On second thoughts, forget all that. I don't know how I got pulled into replying to your post. You are just trying to provoke people by being extremist. :mad:

Again I might add.. we had this a few weeks ago on another thread where he came on with the same thing :rolleyes:

On topic... (let's try not to let him derail this one)

I agree with others here that Speed Enforcement in this country is merely a cynical exercise in revenue generation and to be seen to be doing something rather than ACTUALLY doing something about it.

To be fair to AGS, I gather they're simply told where to park up and for how long with the hairdryers/tripods so it's clear these orders come from higher up the food chain, but camping out along the side of a motorway/dual-carriageway is not going to be seen as anything BUT a revenue/stats exercise.

I'd much rather see AGS out taking action against people who don't know how to drive at speed (dawdling at 60-80 km/h on national routes while making it as awkward as possible for the mile-long queue of traffic behind to get past), poor lane discipline, non-use of indicators (especially at junctions and on roundabouts), driving with no/minimal/broken lights in poor weather or at night etc etc

By tackling these issues they might actually achieve something with regards to "road safety" in this country.

naoise80 wrote: »
    +1.

Don't speed and it doesn't matter where or how many cameras there are.

How hard can it be to grasp this simple fact?

Have you or jock101 actually got anything to add to the actual debate instead of seeing the word speeding and having to get a say in with some copy and paste propaganda from the RSA?

Like can you explain why the AGS target the roads least likely to have accidents on them?

Why aren't fixed speed cameras at accident black spots and highly visible to make people slow down coming up to them?

Why is money being spent on new cameras when our roads are falling apart and improvements in our roads and the road infrastructure have led to significant cuts in deaths?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If the deployment of speed cameras is to reduce crashes/fatalities they would be a feature of school zones, I have yet to see one placed near one. What I have seen is a motorbke cop with a hairdryer tucked in at the bottom of a steep hill in a 50 zone under cover of darkness (the Folly in Waterford for those who know it) waiting to pick off the poor sod who didn't have his/her foot on the brake all the way down (no he didn't catch me!).

Its hard to know due to a near total lack of published statistics but if the trend in deaths in Ireland has been dramtically downwards over the last decade with few cameras but with much improved car saftey, roads, medical proceedures etc can we really conclude that adding hundreds of fixed cameras will make any significant futher inroads?

Its highly unlikely and we all know where they will be deployed if they are rolled out and that they will probably be run by a private company with an ineptly negotiated contract which sees the state loosing money on the deal as the ACME Speed Camera Company makes a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭techdiver

Speed cameras in Ireland are for revenue generation purposes only and are no way geared towards road safety.

Positioning cameras in the usual spots on Motorways/Junctions/Slip Roads etc does not improve road safety. If they were serious about it, they would place fixed or mobile speed cameras on roads where fatalities actually occur.

You can get caught for going 80kph on the N11 and receive 2 points and a fine, but you can drive like Michael Schumacher on back roads all across the country with little or no chance of being caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Hi Gabes,

I wish for the day that this country's roads are saturated with Speed camera's of all kinds, Fixed Gatso's, ANPR, Mobile Gatso's and Gardai speed checks. As the standard of driving here is disgraceful. The lack of respect for those big red outlined circular signs with black numbers is a total joke, especially on the Motorways ie the M50. The only way to stop this dangerous driving behavour is to hit the offenders in the pocket with massive fines and revoke licenses. With fines in the thousands Euro and driving bans in years, not a 80 quid fine and 2 points on your license. As having a license to drive on public roads is not a right but a privilege.

draffodx wrote: »
    Have you or jock101 actually got anything to add to the actual debate instead of seeing the word speeding and having to get a say in with some copy and paste propaganda from the RSA?

Like can you explain why the AGS target the roads least likely to have accidents on them?

Why aren't fixed speed cameras at accident black spots and highly visible to make people slow down coming up to them?

Why is money being spent on new cameras when our roads are falling apart and improvements in our roads and the road infrastructure have led to significant cuts in deaths?

Look I want cameras everywhere! Motorways, National roads and back roads, even in built up urban areas like in Central London! If the state cant afford it or just cant be bothered. Put it out to tender for the private company's to make money out of it, like they did with illegal parking. As an incentive! If you want to drive, do it right! Other wise lets just have a free for all, and do want you want on the roads! Its going to happen if will dont do it, the Boys in Brussels will force it in!:D

Look I want cameras everywhere! Motorways, National roads and back roads, even in built up urban areas like in Central London!

Without trying to be personal, why do you come into the Motors forum if you're not a motoring enthusiast? You've a very simplistic view of the world and how to cure its ills.

If you want a 1984 nanny state which limits everything you do, buy and eat, you're going the right way about it, and when all that is done, where's the fun in life anymore? Where does it stop? If we bring in blanket speed limits and technology to catch us out at any hands turn, they'll then go after people who corner too quickly, people who park too slowly, people who change radio station while driving, people who are distracted by talking to their kids by driving.

I'm probably feeding the troll again, but maybe you're genuine.

Without trying to be personal, why do you come into the Motors forum if you're not a motoring enthusiast? You've a very simplistic view of the world and how to cure its ills.

If you want a 1984 nanny state which limits everything you do, buy and eat, you're going the right way about it, and when all that is done, where's the fun in life anymore? Where does it stop? If we bring in blanket speed limits and technology to catch us out at any hands turn, they'll then go after people who corner too quickly, people who park too slowly, people who change radio station while driving, people who are distracted by talking to their kids by driving.

I'm probably feeding the troll again, but maybe you're genuine.

I love my car and motoring on the public roads which I pay a fortune to drive on.
    I just hate the stupidity and ignorance I have to put up with on a daily basis here! So I just want proper enforcement of the rules of the road, otherwise whats the point in having speed limits etc... Hence why I want a heavy speed camera clamp down in this Country! Why do people drive in general properly in N.I. and the rest of the UK, because there is a proper Policing presence on there roads, whether its Camera's or Traffic police on the roads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I love my car and motoring on the public roads which I pay a fortune to drive on.
    I just hate the stupidity and ignorance I have to put up with on a daily basis here! So I just want proper enforcement of the rules of the road, otherwise whats the point in having speed limits etc... Hence why I want a heavy speed camera clamp down in this Country! Why do people drive in general properly in N.I. and the rest of the UK, because there is a proper Policing presence on there roads, whether its Camera's or Traffic police on the roads!

Speed cameras won't stop stupidity and ignorance.

You'll still get people doing 80km/h in the outside lane of an empty motorway, driving too fast past schools(note not exceeding the posted speed limit), parking in dangerous places etc.

Why do people drive in general properly in N.I. and the rest of the UK, because there is a proper Policing presence on there roads, whether its Camera's or Traffic police on the roads!

You mustn't spend much time in the UK! I was there 2 weeks ago happily doing 100mph on the motorway in convoy with other people doing the same speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

I'm Gabes from Motor Mouth on Newstalk (Mon 10-12pm). Tonight one of the issues we'll be discussing is speed cameras
    To get a good range of view, you'll need to enquire in other forums, try to get the opinions of those who lost relatives due to excessive speed or those maimed for life. It might be no harm too to gather up all the extreme statements made by incorrigibale speeders, just so your listening public can get an insight into the mentality of the kind of person who treats safety laws with contempt.

You mustn't spend much time in the UK! I was there 2 weeks ago happily doing 100mph on the motorway in convoy with other people doing the same speed.

You will always have an element speeding, even with proper Traffic Policing. But they will get caught regularly, here you will 9/10 get away with it! Hence why people dont care or worry about Camera's or Plod with his radar gun!

To get a good range of view, you'll need to enquire in other forums, try to get the opinions of those who lost relatives due to excessive speed or those maimed for life. It might be no harm too to gather up all the extreme statements made by incorrigibale speeders, just so your listening public can get an insight into the mentality of the kind of person who treats safety laws with contempt.

I second this point:). At least Im not alone!:rolleyes:

To get a good range of view, you'll need to enquire in other forums, try to get the opinions of those who lost relatives due to excessive speed or those maimed for life.

And how many of those who've been killed, or maimed were as a result of accidents that occurred on Motorways and Dual Carriageways? Hardly any in the grand scheme of things I'd imagine.

How many of those locations where the tragic accidents occurred have regular speed checks setup by the Gardaí to reduce fatalities in those obvious risky areas? Hardly any too.

But they will get caught regularly, here you will 9/10 get away with it!

They DO get away with it. People in the UK travel at fairly high speeds on the motorways every single day. Few are caught unless they're over 100mph and really taking the piss.

The standard of driving in this country is not related to people speeding. Speeding will always happen but it can be reduced.

Standard of driving will not be improved by installing "Fixed Gatso's, ANPR, Mobile Gatso's and Gardai speed checks".

jock101, the point of these discussions is effectiveness of the current speed camera locations and speed cameras in general.

provoke people by being extremist?

For what, wanting accidents and deaths lowered by proper enforcement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Patser

Gabes is there one thing you can try and find out for us tonight.

Who chooses the site for these cameras, especially the Gatso Vans and Garda manned sites (less so the fixed cameras). Is it the Local Super, Local Sargeant or just the Guard himself that goes out and targets the easier fish-in-barrel routes. Again and with the majority I feel they target traffic heavy, safer roads at peak times both in a seen-to-be-seen approach and revenue generation while disappear at the riskier times.

Try driving into Dublin along John's Road West at 6am and watch the trucks and vans whoring along to get to the ferry. Then watch for the Gatso Van on the opposite side of the road a 4pm as the commute home begins, especially on quiter days like Saturdays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I typed troll into Google and lo and behold look where i landed..

They DO get away with it. People in the UK travel at fairly high speeds on the motorways every single day. Few are caught unless they're over 100mph and really taking the piss.

70MPH or 112KM/H national speed limit in the UK, I have seen it strictly enforced on the M1, M6 and M25. With dedicated Traffic patrol cars for every 20-30 miles of Motorway, not including the ANPR speed traps on the overhead gantry's! When do you ever see a Garda patrol car on the M50, not to mention enforcing the Speed limits!

I travel in the UK regularly, and the type of enforcement you're talking about really doesn't happen. PC Plod is quite happy for people to trundle along under the ton as long as they're not misbehaving.

Maybe the point is missed for you, but Motorways really aren't dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Any discussion on this topic always ends up with zealots v pragmatists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

I post this message directly at Troll101.

If you are not a troll please answer the questions asked of you above regarding locations of the cameras.

Only an idiot would believe that every speed limit in this country is correct.

Obvious troll is obvious.

I have already answered that question! In a earlier post!
    Now whos the BigBadTroll!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

I have already answered that question! In a earlier post!
    Now whos the BigBadTroll!
    people are calling you a troll because your not even opening your mind to some of the valid points being made. you should reply to peoples points individually as opposed to just saying you want spped cameras and thats all

I travel in the UK regularly, and the type of enforcement you're talking about really doesn't happen. PC Plod is quite happy for people to trundle along under the ton as long as they're not misbehaving.

Maybe the point is missed for you, but Motorways really aren't dangerous.

+1,

Jock101's account of motorway speed enforcement in the UK is makey-uppy!

PaintDoctor is correct and even UK police tv shows have shown this.

You must not drive in the same UK as I do then! If you stay at 70mph on a motorway, especially in the overtaking lane you will be run off the road. The majority of drivers drive around 80mph, some up to 100mph on motorways. The traffic cops don't bother you unless you are acting an ass or driving over 100. I have seen cars pass traffic cops in convoy above the speed limit of 70mph. Also the overhead gantry speed cameras on the M25 don't snap you when driving above 70. I have driven the entire length of the M25 at 80 and didn't get any speeding fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

high horse wrote: »
    Speed cameras are not focused on road safety when compared to a live Garda standing on the side of the road with a speed gun. If a driver gets caught by a speed gun, they know it straight away and immediately their driving will improve. If a driver gets caught by a camera, they will continue to speed until whenever the letter arrives at their door.

If the objective was to slow drivers down on the roads, then the speed camera approach takes too long to be the safest approach.

and if the garda is standing at the side of the road, Que the comments of "nothing better to do", "why cant he catch some real criminals" etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

ANYWAY...

How did the show go last night does anyone know? I meant to tune in but ended up going out to watch the match.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    ANYWAY...

How did the show go last night does anyone know? I meant to tune in but ended up going out to watch the match.

I just caught the tale end of it. Sounded like any debate we have in here on speed cameras.

Just drove from DCU to Cork. 7 speed checks on the motorway the whole way down. Nice sunny day too. Fish in a barrel.

Must be out trying to boost the cash intake before it starts getting too cold, wet and dark for them to go out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

How come the vast majority of accidents are on backroads where one can do (and I have done) 100 mph without ever being caught?
    In 10 years on the road I have learnt that the speed limit on the motorway is as advertised and on the backroads it's as fast as you can go round a corner without plowing straight on into a tree.
    Sadly there is no proper enforcement by the cops other than standing in the same spot on the motorway everytime but ony in nice weather.
    And every now and then it's (tax, insurance, graaand).
    Even with more cameras it doesn't provide for many people who are drugged, insane, 130 years old, blind, etc...
    Simply adding more cameras to the motorways is going to do zip.
    What you want to do is have a cop every couple of hundred meters on the backroads and on the motorway there should be a minimum speed limit of 130 km/h with signs saying to shoot the bastard in front of you if he's not going fast enough.
    THAT'S safe motoring.
    Am I serious? Are you? or are you (as I suspect) a giggling teenager having a laugh at the big, boring discussion?