Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 3x09-"Everything is Broken" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 16-08-2010 9:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭

Another great episode. Can't believe we only have 3 left from now!

I almost felt sorry for the King at the very start when he found Talbots "remains".

Lol @ the noises coming from Tommy's! But if I was Sam I would have smacked him hard across the head! Especially with how he treated Arlene later on.

There is definitely more to Jesus than meets the eye, but I'm not sure what yet! Holly too, for that matter.

The scene between Eric and Pam was very touching.

Bill visiting Claudine was unusual but he knows what Sookie is now. Shame we have to wait to find out!

It was good to see Hoyt and Jessica talking even if she did run out crying!

Eric gets the go ahead to kill Russell but all on his own. It's what he wanted but he knows Russell is a lot stronger than he is.

Wow Sam well and truly lost it here! Clearly Tommy's words were ringing in his head.

So I think Franklin's dead now!! lol He didn't bargain on Jason having wooden bullets.

Russell at the end was brilliant. Nan sitting there drinking her "tru blood" not and Russell destroying everything they have worked for in a matter of minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Caked Karen

enjoyed the episode and everything is gearing up to a epic finale...cant believe we have only 3 left... :(

the last scene with russell is just classic..."now time for the weather...Tiffany" i actually nearly wet myself i think...priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

It was only ok until the end, which was probably one of the best scenes I've ever seen.Just pure class and absolutely hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Thought it was a strong episode - everything is tying together nicely for the finale now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Kettle316

That was an awesome episode!!

The build up is making me think the finale is gonna be proper epic!!

Never thought i'd say this but roll on next Monday!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Good episode overall but the bits with Tara seemed mostly pointless. I was kind of hopiing Franklin would just rip her head off there and then, it's a pity Franklin met such a quick end!
    The weather line at the end was fantastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

shinny wrote: »
    There is definitely more to Jesus than meets the eye, but I'm not sure what yet! Holly too, for that matter.

I have an odd feeling about Holly and not a good one, she seems fairly keen to get herself involved with everyone's personal lives and seems to turn up just at their moment of crisis. Hmmm.
    Wow Sam well and truly lost it here! Clearly Tommy's words were ringing in his head.

No shit! Poor Sam though, its seems he took on a lot more than he was bargaining for! I'm curious as to what Crystal and her "kin" are because they sure as hell are bugging me now, particularly Crystal. Just get it resolved please and lets move on.
    So I think Franklin's dead now!! lol He didn't bargain on Jason having wooden bullets.

I was so disappointed! It was a complete anti climax, such a crazy character should have gone out with a bigger bang, he was hardly back for 2-3 minutes!
    Russell at the end was brilliant. Nan sitting there drinking her "tru blood" not and Russell destroying everything they have worked for in a matter of minutes.

Lol her "true blood". Seriously this is getting better by the episode, I don't know how they're going to be able to tie all the ends together. Maybe for side characters like Holly and Jesus they'll extend their storyline into the next season considering they were introduced a little later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I have an odd feeling about Holly and not a good one, she seems fairly keen to get herself involved with everyone's personal lives and seems to turn up just at their moment of crisis. Hmmm.

Yup, there is definitely something off about her, I was quite worried for Arlene when they were talking.

I wonder if it was more than Tommy's words that were influencing Sam? We've already seen that Sam has some sort of control over dogs when he's in his human form, perhaps Tommy is exerting a similar control over him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

I was really surprised when Sam went all hillbilly angry on Crystal's dad. It does make you wonder about Tommy.

Eric told Pam she can make another vampire. That would be interesting if she does. Wonder who she would choose.

The ending.. was so gorey but hilarious at the same time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭shinny

enjoyed the episode and everything is gearing up to a epic finale...cant believe we have only 3 left... :(

the last scene with russell is just classic..."now time for the weather...Tiffany" i actually nearly wet myself i think...priceless

That was a brilliant line. Denis O'Hare is a great actor. Effortless really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭shinny

I was so disappointed! It was a complete anti climax, such a crazy character should have gone out with a bigger bang, he was hardly back for 2-3 minutes!

I totally agree. I'm going to miss Franklin's character. I think they could have done a lot more with him or even gave him a better "true" death!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Good episode,great ending. That will make things very interesting for the vamps!

Just tell us what Sookie is for feck sake and stop dargging it out week after week.

Franklin's return was very short lived but I guess there was no real need to drag it on further. I totally forgot Jason had wooden bullets in that gun,really good scene that was.

Cant wait to see how Eric will try take down Russell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

A pretty boring episode until the end, that was classic! I guess it was a filler/building episode which will have consequences in the last 3 episodes of the season.
    In all I was just left wanting a bit more. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

What a great episode! Wow the ending was so funny. I guess the Authority believes Eric now. How is he going to kill the King?
    Have to say I'm loving this season. All the different story lines have been great (with the exception of Jason, still can't stand him). Can't wait to see what happens next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Why is it that most shows get a 22 episode season and this only gets 12? Bloody annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Why is it that most shows get a 22 episode season and this only gets 12? Bloody annoying.

22 episode seasons have a lot of filler though.

The Authority seemed a bit weak and indecisive. I loved Russel talking to Talbot's remains then bursting into the news room.

Bit of a Hamlet and Yorick thing going with the jar of remains, gave me a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

Most HBO shows have 12/13 episode seasons. Quality over Quantity!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

TonyD79 wrote: »

+ True Blood is an hour long whereas most other shows are 40 minutes.

I thought it was a great episode.

Was a bit disappointed with Franklins exit though. I thought at first he was just an hallucination.

I love love loved the ending. The weather line was brilliant!

Sad that there's only 3 episodes left but so far it has been my favourite season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭C_Dawg

Another great episode.

I wonder will Russell's appearance on TV change the Authority's decision on how to let Eric deal with Russell alone.

Can't wait for the next episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

TonyD79 wrote: »

Exactly.

Loved this episode, I really think True Blood is earning its spot along side HBO's classic shows such as The Wire and The Sopranos.

I loved the interactions between Pam and Eric, it was very touching.

Jason was really bad ass. I thought Hoyt was a bit of a dick, I hate to see people being used, maybe that's just me though. :o

The ending was classic, and the final line was absolutely killer. :D

I wonder how old the AVL vampires are? We know the league has only been around a few years but I'd imagine most of the vampires themselves are very old or the older vampires or they would never have gained any sort of control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

iguana wrote: »
    I wonder how old the AVL vampires are? We know the league has only been around a few years but I'd imagine most of the vampires themselves are very old or the older vampires or they would never have gained any sort of control.

I'm not sure, one thing is for certain though, Russell isn't afraid of them. He's 3,000 years old so take that as what you will. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

Loved this episode again - and as already mentioned, the ending was absolutely brilliant, the weather line was so cheesy but great :).

The new waitress story is starting to remind me of the way they introduced Maryann at the end of the first season and I think it's going to carry in to the fourth (but hopefully doesn't turn out as bad) and not be resolved in the current season. Could see the same thing happening with Jesus as well but maybe not.

Didn't want to see Franklin go like that but I guess there was little left for him to do any longer. Tara is back to her annoying self: the first scene we see her in for this episode she's crying, then she cries some more, then even more and tops it all off with whinging... ugh.

I'm also increasingly annoyed by Crystal and her hillbilly family... there should be something better for Jason to do, his whole storyline this year seems so pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

Great episode. Loved Russell's scenes. The ending was just brilliant and really funny. Eric will have all the support of the AVL now to finish Russell off.

Can't wait to see what Sookie is and I'm surprised the woman in the dream told Bill so easily. I wonder where they are going with Sookie's cousin and her son who aalso has the gift? It might be left for the next season.

There are also a few other things that may be left for the next season. The new waitress is fishy. I think that she may have been the one to influence Sam. She seems to be able to get people to release their inner feelings/fears.

Jesus has gotten Lafayette's inner power to come out as his mother noticed. Jason's story just seems to be going in circles but he'll have to save Crystal.

Sorry to see Franklin go out like that. He was a great character. Hopefully Tara won't be whining much anymore. I can see Hoyt and Jessica getting back together by season' end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

One of my favourite episodes thus far...can't wait to see how the story progresses on the one hand but don't want it to end on the other!
    One strange thing though...I know the AVL are all for technology, but did anyone else think the combat uniforms the "soldiers" were wearing was a bit ridiculous for vampires!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

J-blk wrote: »
    The new waitress story is starting to remind me of the way they introduced Maryann at the end of the first season and I think it's going to carry in to the fourth (but hopefully doesn't turn out as bad) and not be resolved in the current season. Could see the same thing happening with Jesus as well but maybe not.

Didn't want to see Franklin go like that but I guess there was little left for him to do any longer. Tara is back to her annoying self: the first scene we see her in for this episode she's crying, then she cries some more, then even more and tops it all off with whinging... ugh.

I'm also increasingly annoyed by Crystal and her hillbilly family... there should be something better for Jason to do, his whole storyline this year seems so pointless.

I agree with most of your sentiments, I feel exactly the same about the waitress, how she's so keen to get involved in peoples affairs. To me it felt distinctly sinister when she leant into Arlene and asked "Do you want this baby?" Her smile seems false somehow.

The Crystal/Jason thing is getting old, its really annoying me too.

The Don wrote: »
    The new waitress is fishy. I think that she may have been the one to influence Sam. She seems to be able to get people to release their inner feelings/fears.

That makes a lot of sense, the only problem is that it would be way too much like Maryann last year, which was the worst storyline on the show by a long, long way. (I'll never understand why the show made the decision to reverse the importance of Godric/Maryann in the second season.)

On and the Crystal thing. I think the actress playing her is part of the problem. She just brings nothing to the screen to show why Jason is so captivated by her. She looks really, really odd, like both an old woman and a small girl at the same time. She isn't funny, witty, charming, sweet, sexy, beguilingly vulnerable, nada! Yet Jason is obsessed, it's baffling. If we could see what he sees in her or see some chemistry between the actors it wouldn't be so boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

We've already seen that Sam has some sort of control over dogs when he's in his human form, perhaps Tommy is exerting a similar control over him?

Did we? Do you mean when he was rescuing Tommy at the dog fight and told the last dog to get out? I thought it was a little humour implying the dog was a shifter like them. I'd definitely go with the waitress suggestion though.

Thought it was a great episode. They need to resolve the Hotshot storyline quicksmart. I'm really not feeling it at all.

Russell is such a brilliant character. Talbot in the crystalware was just fantastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

This season has been great. Each of the last 3 or so episodes has been better than the last. Really ramping up to an excellent Finale now.

Russell at the end was brilliant. All the storylines working out nicely. Shame to see Franklin go up in a mess of gloop but he was never gonna be around for too long. Roll on the next few episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Poochie05

I thought this was a great episode, loved the scene with the King and Talbot's remains in the crystal vase! Also the closing line from him on TV about the weather was hilarious. I agree Denis O'Hare is excellent in this role.
    I may have missed something, but what is the significance of the vamps bleeding out of their ears and nose? I've noticed in a few scenes Eric has blood coming out of his ears and I think the Queen had it too in an earlier episode when he had her locked in the cage.
    Anyway, looking forward to the next few episodes, it's building up towards the finale nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Clarehobo

Russell just totally rocked this episode - three left: say it ain't so!!!!
    I don't want him to die! I want him to keep causing gorey, hillarious mayhem:D His scenes made this episode. He is just totally unhinged.
    I think he looked really like Dracula, out of all the vampires, when he was bathing in Talbot's remains.

Eric & Pam's scenes were brilliant: great insight into their relationship. Loved the way she freaked out because he was freaking at the start.
    And loved the way the AVL told Eric to sort it out himself - we had better get some very kick ass fight scenes coming up with Eric & Russell or I will be annoyed...

Sam really did go loco there with Calvin Norris. Normally Sam is the good guy: the sooner they get rid of Tommy so that Sam goes back to normal, the better.

I thought Franklin was an hallucination at the start as well. They just did nothing with him at all - they should have left him for the final fight or something and let him go out with a bang, taking Nan or someone(Tara!) with him...

Have to say, the majority of the human stuff could have been fast forwarded through - yawn!!!!

Roll on Sunday: I seem to be wishing my life away:eek:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Where would a 3000 year old vampire likely have originated from? What civilisations were big around then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Where would a 3000 year old vampire likely have originated from? What civilisations were big around then?

More than likely Celtic

1006 BC—David becomes king of the ancient Israelites (traditional date).
    1002 BC—Death of Zhou zhao wang, King of the Zhou Dynasty of China.
    1001 BC—Zhou mo wang becomes King of the Zhou Dynasty of China.
    Earliest evidence of farming in the Kenya highlands.
    c. 1000 BC—Iron Age starts.
    c. 1000 BC—Latins come to Italy from the Danube region.
    c. 1000 BC—Archaeological evidence obtained from inscriptions excavated in 2005 dates the Tamil language, a classical language spoken in India.
    c. 1000 BC—Assyrians started to conquer neighbouring regions.
    1000 BC—World population: 50,000,000[1]
    1000 BC—Priene, Western Turkey is founded.
    c. 1000 BC—Hungarian separates from its closest linguistic relatives, the Ob-Ugric languages.
    c. 1000 BC—Saul.
    c. 1000 BC—Ancient Iranian peoples enter Persia.
    c. 1000 BC—Iron is introduced in Ancient India.
    c. 1000 BC—Villanovans occupy the northern and western Italy.
    Phoenician alphabet is invented.
    c. 1000 BC - Rice is cultivated in Ancient Japan.
    1000 BC - Early Horizon period starts in the Andes.
    c. 1000 BC - Chavin culture starts in the Andes.
    c. 1000 BC - Paracas culture starts in the Andes.
    .c 1000 BC—Historical beginning of the peoples we later know as Illyrians[2]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1009–1000_BC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Series 3 has turned out to be really solid. I wasn't a fan of the first few episodes, felt there was a lot going on and it was a bit confusing. I have a few gripes though:

- The Jason and Crystal story. Feels totally pointless and as a previous poster said, Crystal has nothing going for her to make Jason so obsessed. I prefer Jason as a light relief character, more scenes with him and Andy please! I also think he works better when he's being a total slut rather than mooning around in love.
    - Franklin. Really loved his character, wish he'd lasted a bit longer, or at least gone out with a bit of a bang.
    - Is anyone else a bit sick of Bill and Sookie? I know they're supposed to be the main characters, but to me, their stories in this series have been pointless and boring. I think characters like Eric and Pam, Hoyt and Jessica are much more interesting.
    - Russell... Please, please, please don't let Eric kill him in the finale, he is the best character by a long shot. I'd love if he was a regular next season as well, he is too good to kill off like Maryann or Rennee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Can't believe this season is nearly over!
    Id rather watch 12 episodes of this quality rather then 22 of mostly filler.

I've found with true-blood its always taken me 2/3 episodes to get into each season.

This was a great episode. The scenes with russell where brilliant from the scene of him discovering talbot as a pile of goo to the very last scene classic. The best was talking to the crystal jar.

And speaking of crystal jeebus her character is becoming extremely annoying. I don't see the point of her.

I liked the killing of franklin not leaving it open as to weather or he's still alive you see him dead, his story with tara had come to a complete and fitting end.

With regards jesus and the new waitress they've come in too late for there story to really play out, id say setting it up for the next season.

Can't wait for next week

cabrwab wrote: »
    I've found with true-blood its always taken me 2/3 episodes to get into each season.

I felt like that with the first series but last year had me as soon as Eric walked into the dungeon and viciously killed and ate a prisoner while wearing highlighter foils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

titan18 wrote: »
    More than likely Celtic
    Based on his skin-tone and hair colour I'd imagine you're correct.

Now I understand the point of view with the whole quality over quantity argument but as a rebuttal I'd say look at a show like House - gets 22 episodes and while most are stand alone episodes they do manage to keep some story arch throughout the season.

Besides I'd have liked an episode that gave us more details on stuff like the relationship between Talbot and Russell or the whole concept of the Magister and the Authority. Not necessarily filler, more fleshing things out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

That makes a lot of sense, the only problem is that it would be way too much like Maryann last year, which was the worst storyline on the show by a long, long way. (I'll never understand why the show made the decision to reverse the importance of Godric/Maryann in the second season.)
    Ya it would be too like the Maryann story and I can't see True Blood repeating itself.
    cabrwab wrote: »
    With regards jesus and the new waitress they've come in too late for there story to really play out, id say setting it up for the next season.
    I'd like to see Jesus and the new waitress in a room together to see if they recognise what each other are. She may be after Lafayette too. Maybe she doesn't know that Lafayette is the person she's after but only knows that it's someone that works in the bar. So she's going through them one-by-one to find him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

ncmc wrote: »
    - Franklin. Really loved his character, wish he'd lasted a bit longer, or at least gone out with a bit of a bang.

Seems like he went out with a bit of a bang to me! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Oh the weather line was brilliant! I just kept replaying that scene:D

Really wish we got more than the few minutes of Jessica though! I agree with the poster who said Bill and Sookie are kinda boring compared with Jess and Hoyt, Eric and Pam. My opinion anyway!