Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ball point pen as kubotan

• 15-08-2010 11:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭

I was reading about the use of a ball point pen as a makeshift kubotan. Has anyone and experience or opinion about this. And is the keychain kubotan legal in Ireland, I am doubtful it would be, am I right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

I think a Bic biro would be useless, it would just break under pressure possibly with the plastic stabbing into your own hand. Perhaps a entirely metallic Parker pen would be more useful. Having said that, I've not tried.

Kubotans and similar are not intrinsically banned in Ireland, or named on the ~Firearms act. But using anything, whether it's a pen or a Kubotan as a weapon without fair reason (genuine self-defence) is unlawful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭ferguson

I think a Bic biro would be useless, it would just break under pressure possibly with the plastic stabbing into your own hand. Perhaps a entirely metallic Parker pen would be more useful. Having said that, I've not tried.
    that is what i meant, should have been more specific
    Kubotans and similar are not intrinsically banned in Ireland, or named on the ~Firearms act. But using anything, whether it's a pen or a Kubotan as a weapon without fair reason (genuine self-defence) is unlawful.
    ok where would you get a keychain kubotan in Ireland - not ebay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

It'd be like most makeshift weapon's, expect it to break fairly quickly if it's pressed into service. Or you could buy a tactical pen :pac:

http://www.deathvalleymag.com/2010/02/22/weapons-the-surefire-pen-ewp-01/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Funny that, about two weeks ago a lad was stabbed in the side and the arse cheek and upper thigh with a biro and then in the neck (trap muscle) on Parnell Square just outside where I work, it had just happened as I was walking to the Centra. It was all very fast and was over in the blink of an eye.

The ambulance was called for him as there was significant amounts of blood coming through his jeans and the pen was left in his neck, which he didn't know about believe it or not. When the ambulance came they took him into the hall way where I work and gave him first aid there. When they took his jeans off it was clear to see the biro had done significant damage tearing right into the muscle piercing a vain (the blood was vary dark). The biro broke as what was left in his neck was half the plastic cover and metal point.

He was grand and was back at his bus stop the following week with his can of Dutch Gold and a pair of crutches. He said owed someone money for a bag of gear. Simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Furious-Dave

I posted this on the thread about nunchaku. "Hollow Kudotan" is listed alright.

http://www.bailii.org/ie/legis/num_reg/1991/0066.html

As usual though the actual legislation is a bit ambiguous and unclear. But perhaps it's intentionally like that so the police and courts can deal with it on a case by case basis.

This is the act itself:

http://www.bailii.org/ie/legis/num_act/1990/0012.html#zza12y1990s11

Most of it deals with "firearms" and knives, but this applies to other weapons:
    11.—Where a person, while committing or appearing to be about to commit an offence, or in the course of a dispute or fight, produces in a manner likely unlawfully to intimidate another person any article capable of inflicting serious injury, he shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable—

( a ) on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding £1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding twelve months or to both, or
    ( b ) on conviction on indictment, to a fine or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding five years or to both.

So if you use a kubotan in a self defence situation you probably won't be charged with an offence. You will however still have to prove it was self defence and that the use of the kubotan can be considered "reasonable force".

As for buying a kubotan?
    12.—(1) Any person who—

( a ) manufactures, sells or hires, or offers or exposes for sale or hire, or by way of business repairs or modifies, or
    ( b ) has in his possession for the purpose of sale or hire or for 3 the purpose of repair or modification by way of business, or
    ( c ) puts on display, or lends or gives to any other person,
    a weapon to which this section applies shall be guilty of an offence.

Of course, the law doesn't really stop people from doing stuff, so by all means have a look around for a kubotan.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

^^^ :D

For the love of sweet baby Jesus :rolleyes:

^^^ :D

For the love of sweet baby Jesus :rolleyes:

My sentiments exactly, and if this video was'nt good enough you should check out his DIY handcuffs video :D took me right back to a young lebanese lad trying to steal steel rods from Post 69b and getting apprehended by the wrong person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

martic wrote: »

O..k so what happened in between the break in the video and the tissue appearing in the cup....

^^^ LOL was thinking the same myself when I seen it,God we're the childish bunch:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Niall Keane

Was on the Luas the other night and a skitzo, rambling, junkie got on with a medical tweezers, in fairness those things if used by someone with power could puncture skulls. He kept it concealed in his left hand, probably thought it made him a man and a half, if he had moved even vaguely threateningly towards me I would have ended his life, I simply wouldn't take chances with weapons involved, being kind to your enemy is being cruel to yourself and all, he'll never know how close he came to game over, just remember that when you carry weapons in public. As far as I was concerned he was an armed individual with nothing to lose, and rationally retarded due to his drug use. Weapons are only an avantage if you know how and are prepared to use them, but once spotted the whole event may escalate to a level you're simply not prepared for. I cannot see any advantage in using a kubotan? Basic "dim mak" i.e. shaping strikes to land with one knuckle do the job it does striking, and as for complicated locking technique, again the only successful chin na locking I've pulled off on the Lei Tai was in using fore arms to sieze, twist and hold not hands or worse still a seperate tool, and my method allows for instant retaliatory strikes without reshaping a fist should resistance be encountered, you don't need to "let go", immediacy of combat and all, so can anyone really justify carrying one of these?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭ferguson

if he had moved even vaguely threateningly towards me I would have ended his life,
    very sure of your self and why would he move towards you
    just remember that when you carry weapons in public.
    never said i would be carrying one in public in a manner like that and i would not be ' skitzo, rambling, junkie '
    probably thought it made him a man and a half
    you sound like you think you are a man and a half

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Sure a good steel pen will do ya'. :)

One thing tho' about improvised weapons... You've really got to train accessing them all the time (in stress drills, etc.) or you'll never get it out under duress.

To be honest - I'd prolly end up just using a good old right cross instead (plus, I can never find a bloody pen when I want it!). :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

I've always seen the kubaton as a bit of a gimmicky weapon. That said, Maglite torches come in a range of sizes and are very solidly constructed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

isnt it illegal to carry a kubaton in ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

read the thread bro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

read the thread bro

Its amazing the levels of fail i can achieve...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 cullentom

the kubaton will only get you in trouble if you use it,but saying that i cant see a pissed up scrote running to the gardai after you used it to defend yourself from harm.i dont know how effective they are but would imagine they would take a fair bit of training to become proficent with,i carried an ASP one that shot pepper spray when i lived in a country where such items are legal,never used it though,either as a kubaton or the spray! i carry one of these most of the time, http://www.surefire.com/E2DL , great product and bright as feck,it could give you the chance to dazzel an attacker and hopefully get away without a fight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 cullentom

on another note,a mate just told me you can buy kubatons in a martial arts shop on little marys st in dublin,sorry mods if im in breach of forum rules mentioning that here!