Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just got ripped off

• 15-08-2010 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭

Collage Green to Hanlons Corner 12 lids feckin rip-off should have walked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭richardjjd

Hootanany wrote: »

It seems a little high, but not that much - according to World Taxi Meter you could have expected to pay 9.69.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

richardjjd wrote: »
    It seems a little high, but not that much - according to World Taxi Meter you could have expected to pay 9.69.

Thanks good website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭KC61

Even better you could have taken a bus for EUR 1.60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

Hootanany wrote: »

What route did you take, any extra passengers and what time was it taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭brownacid

Sure everyone knows you dont get a taxi northside from south of the liffey, sure dont they have to pay teh council for crossing the liffey.

Seriously tho, it does make a massive difference walking to o connell street tp get a taxi northside. I frequently get taxis from town to cabra for 8-10eur never more than a tenner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

richardjjd wrote: »

Very good website this!
    Gives an excellent estimate and useful if you are planning a trip but unsure of possible cost.

Of course traffic and other factors will affect your fare but nobody can predict these.
    Great for estimates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I not sure if that website is all that accurate. I just entered a journey from Hawkins st to Clonsilla rd(to compare with the 39 bus up to Blanch) and the route they give is well to put it mildly, shocking. Talk about a grand tour of west Dublin!

http://www.worldtaximeter.com/dublin/hawkins+street/clonsilla+road/23-53

They obviously never heard of the Navan Road! And there is no option to alternate the route either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭geecee

I just tried to use the site for a taxi from macken St in D2 to the Point Depot...

It mapped out a route crossing the new Guild st/harp bridge and turning right up the north quays...

Unfortunately there is no right turn at the bridge/North quay junction so impossible journey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

I have only been in two Taxi's that tried to rip me off. The first time was in 2004 when I was coming back from Bondi Beach Stillorgan. The charge was €15. I had given him €5 and got out of the car to grab €10 from my room. He had told me that I owed him another €5. I had just done higher level maths in the leaving certificate that year and I know that €5 + €10 is definitely €15. He was basically pulling a fast one to get an extra €5 from me. It didn't work though as I was very blunt with him. He was a foreigner and was most likely from Africa due to his ethnic appearance to be politically correct. Even though I had consumed a few pints, I still had my wits about me when it came to spending money. I still remember it to this day so there wasn't enough booze in me to wipe my memory of it.

The second time was when I was on my way home from Traffic nightclub in Abbey Street. The cost to get home to Dalkey from there was 35 lids. I didn't feel great the next morning when I woke up with a hungover and a relatively large hole in my pocket.:D Most of the time when I get a taxi home from town it costs between €20 and €25. In fact, I can remember being in a taxi when the driver broke red lights to get me home on the cheap. Don't worry, I didn't put him up to it. He did that himself. Cheaper fare though.Happy days!:D To put this 35 lid rip off in to perspective, I managed to get a taxi home from Phibsborough for €28....ergh, I think.:) Anyway, I do feel sorry for the OP. You were ripped all the way off!!!!!