Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

can a garda pull a vechical over for no reason what so ever

• 15-08-2010 4:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭

i was driving home there few min ago garda where out collecting traffic cones in a van from the match in croke park and i seen them jump back in the van, i had then stopped at a red light and he beeped at me to let me know he was there then few meters up the road beeped again and pointed to pull over so i did
    he then asked me what was the story about something that happened few weeks ago and then decided to ask me for my licence and insurance which was in my house can he do that even tho noting i did had broke any law.
    i now have to travel down the garda station all for noting while minding my own business driving home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

He didnt stop you for no reason, he stopped to ask you about something that happened a few weeks ago.

But to answer your question I dont know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭spider_pig

amcalester wrote: »
    He didnt stop you for no reason, he stopped to ask you about something that happened a few weeks ago.

But to answer your question I dont know.

yea i understand that but that has noting to do with been traffic related he was just been nosey
    i thought a gaurd needs a valuable excuse to pull someone over i.e doing something wrong or having a broken tail light or something that would give a suitable reason to stop and ask for such documents
    not just cause he knew my face and said here jump in we stop that guy cause im so nosey looking for information that had noting to do with him in the slightest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 MR-KNOW-IT-ALL

Short answer.
    YES.

EDIT: Also you should have had your licence with you in your vehicle. (By Law)
    ... and your insurance cert. (Just common sense)

Short answer.
    YES.

so a gaurd can basicly pull over any car he wants for no reason what so ever stop you and search you all cause they feel like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 dotty145

Didnt he pull you over for no reason. and even if he did need a reason to pull you over im sure he would of made one up.... so its a lose lose for u.... plus you can get 2 points for not having your DL on you while driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 MR-KNOW-IT-ALL

spider_pig wrote: »
    so a gaurd can basicly pull over any car he wants for no reason what so ever stop you and search you all cause they feel like it

Yes,
    Its not an objective decision but a subjective one.
    If the Guard in question feels he has a reason to pull you over then that is reason enough.

dotty145 wrote: »
    Didnt he pull you over for no reason. and even if he did need a reason to pull you over im sure he would of made one up.... so its a lose lose for u.... plus you can get 2 points for not having your DL on you while driving

im talking about a traffic reason i did noting wrong traffic wise i was simply heading home minding my own business yet i get pulled over
    well he can bring me to court and ill produce my documents there cause imo thats a load of arse i did noting wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

You never mentioned anything about a search in your original post, but yes a Garda can stop a car being driven in a publin place and demand from the driver his drivers licence and production of his insurance certificate. It happens to hundreds of people every day and its how road traffic and other serious offences are detected.

Mr Jinx wrote: »
    You never mentioned anything about a search in your original post, but yes a Garda can stop a car being driven in a publin place and demand from the driver his drivers licence and production of his insurance certificate. It happens to hundreds of people every day and its how road traffic and other serious offences are detected.

there was no search this time but it has happened in the past car been searched while i was just sitting in it minding my own business waiting on the GF just fed up them doing it to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

Sounds like they've had reasons to pull you over before?

Mr Cawley wrote: »
    Sounds like they've had reasons to pull you over before?

none at all i live just up the road from the station so i see garda coming too and from the station on a daily basis so they all ways pull me noting else to do then hassle young drivers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

none at all i live just up the road from the station so i see garda coming too and from the station on a daily basis so they all ways pull me noting else to do then hassle young drivers :D

Plenty more to do actually. There are lots of reasons to pull someone over. You said he asked you about a previous incident. Was it traffic related?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

k_mac wrote: »
    Plenty more to do actually. There are lots of reasons to pull someone over. You said he asked you about a previous incident. Was it traffic related?

And what type of car do you drive?

nope wasnt traffic related at all and happened out in donnybrook and this gaurd is from clontarf so its way out from his patch

amcalester wrote: »
    And what type of car do you drive?

opel astra lol thinkin of the owl boy racer wer you lol, tints and loud exhaust that aint me at all cant stand them feckin things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭91011

im talking about a traffic reason i did noting wrong traffic wise i was simply heading home minding my own business yet i get pulled over
    well he can bring me to court and ill produce my documents there cause imo thats a load of arse i did noting wrong

And then you'll get 4 points on your licence, a fine and be noted on the pusle system.

YES a garda can ask anyone to stop and ask for id and no longer needs to have any reason. (it was changed about 5 years ago)

btw - it is technically an offence not to carry your driving licence with you. It carries on the spot fine of up to €800 if you don't produce it on the spot + up to 2 points if you fail to produce it within 10 days. - whilst it is rare that a fine is given on the spot, piss the garda off and he can do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

i was driving home there few min ago garda where out collecting traffic cones in a van from the match in croke park and i seen them jump back in the van, i had then stopped at a red light and he beeped at me to let me know he was there then few meters up the road beeped again and pointed to pull over so i did
    he then asked me what was the story about something that happened few weeks ago and then decided to ask me for my licence and insurance which was in my house can he do that even tho noting i did had broke any law.
    i now have to travel down the garda station all for noting while minding my own business driving home

My eyes, the goggles do nothing!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Do you need an insurance cert with you in the car ?:confused:

WIZE wrote: »
    Do you need an insurance cert with you in the car ?:confused:

you don't but having it in your car saves you the trip of going to the garda station to produce it its a nusense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Something is missing from your story methinks.

how tho..? people have clearly stated it happens and can happen to anyone which is what happened to me a gaurd doesn't need any reason where as i thought he did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

what happened a few weeks before that the garda wanted to ask you about ?

WIZE wrote: »
    what happened a few weeks before that the garda wanted to ask you about ?

it wasnt a garda matter and its not a boards.ie matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

OP , I think we're getting half the story here.........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Jo King

nope wasnt traffic related at all and happened out in donnybrook and this gaurd is from clontarf so its way out from his patch

If the incident happened in Donnybrook, how do you know that the guards were coming from Croke Park, which is several miles away on the other side of the city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I think this thread has run its course. IBTL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

neither is this I fear.