Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the most embarassing thing to happen to you on the Golf course ?

• 13-08-2010 10:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭

Right today while playing in Kilcock golf club today I was leaving the 5th green , Chatting away to my playing partner and never noticed the wire loops they use to block trolleys from entering the green areas .

2 seconds later i fall flat on my face and roll down the side of the hill for good measure . the 3 ball on the 4th tee box found it hilarious , as i did in fairness , the playing partner couldn't breath for the laughter ...

Am i alone in having a youtube moment ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

OP I'm laughing at that even though I didn't see it

When I was about 17ish and after years of playing par 3 golf I thought I was ****-hot and teed off at Kilkee golf club on the first tee....only to somehow hit the ball between my own legs, out over the fence and barely missed a pedestrian on the road outside....eventually trickling over the cliff and into the Atlantic Ocean.

My brother and father filled the air with roaring laughter.....I decided to sulk for the rest of the round :mad::o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭NDJ4

Ha ha great stories!

I've had a couple of cringe moments, teed off from the par 3 5th in bellewstown couple of years back and the ball came off the hosel, hit the ladies red marker, shot up in the air back over our heads and hit the green behind (4th hole) then proceeded to roll back down the hill coming up to 4th green. Bright red head on me as I ran back to get the ball and playing partner ROTFL :o

Also last summer after 2nd shot on 10th in Navan managed to hit the switch on my mocad and turn it to full throttle, trolley flipped backwards spewing clubs all over the fairway as the trolley booted off up the middle of the fairway with me in hot pursuit. Great hilarity all round again... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Shart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

GorHugh wrote: »
    Right today while playing in Kilcock golf club today I was leaving the 5th green , Chatting away to my playing partner and never noticed the wire loops they use to block trolleys from entering the green areas .

2 seconds later i fall flat on my face and roll down the side of the hill for good measure . the 3 ball on the 4th tee box found it hilarious , as i did in fairness , the playing partner couldn't breath for the laughter ...

Am i alone in having a youtube moment ??

im sick that i couldnt get away from work in time.to see that would have been priceless:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

Managed to make an eejit out of myself this morning.Was taking a few practise swings on the tee and the head cover from my Nike Dymo just happened to fall off my bag at the wrong moment, right in the middle of a swing - caught it flush and battered it into an adjacent field, right into a massive patch of nettles and briars.No way to retrieve it, couldn't believe it :(. My set looks incomplete now.. At least the lads putting out on the previous hole found it funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭mox54

missed hitting ball with a 7 iron on THREE seperate attempts at same hole, how embarassing was that and hasnt happened since, got the habit of looking at the ball!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Playing P&P years ago in the rain, stepping out of my swing and lifted my head meant i spun myself and slipped and actually fell off the tee box...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

I was lucky enough to play the Old Course at St Andrews a couple of years ago, I got to stay at Rusacks Hotel overlooking the 18th green, the full Monty! Before our round my Dad hands me a brand new 60' Cleveland wedge with 'zip grooves'. He says its a memento of our day and that I might need it to get out of some of the pot bunkers that lie in wait on our days golf. I miss every bunker the whole day! My new 60' wedge doesn't get a look in! I have a really neat & tidy score going with no big numbers, lots of photos of where the greats have played and memories of me walking the turf the greats of the golf game once did, with my Dad....im in heaven, a perfect day! I boom a drive down the left side of the 18th fairway, from the forward tee's, and leave myself a 30-40 yard shot to the green that needs to take the corner of the valley of sin. The shot is a bump and run left of the pin and still have a putt for birdie, par at worst. I decide that I can hit this new 60' lob wedge and stick it to the pin with these new 'zip grooves' and make it dance around the pin. There are loads of people taking photos of the clubhouse, Rusacks hotel and generally lots of people watching golfers complete their round. I address the ball and can see this never before hit lob wedge nipping the ball off the tight fairway grass. I proceed to blade the ball and send it through the green about 5 feet high at about 100 miles an hour, through the green fence that borders the Old Course 18th greenand smack the ball off the Old Tom Morris golf shop window, that then bounces off the green fence again and back off the window for a second time. My Dad, and our 2 playing partners, along with those around the historic 18th green don't know what to say, there's dead silence.....How about that for an endearing memory of playing the Old Course at St Andrews, every time I think of my day there its all I can remember!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

f22 wrote: »
    Shart!

good follow through.......??????

Too many to mention........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

This has probably happened quite a few ppl (Ross Fisher in the Open last year!)....was in seriously heavy rough in Newcastlewest golf club (old club) and took a hack at the ball only for it to go about 10 yards backwards.....
    Again, howls of laughter from playing partners and I had to wait for them to get their breath back from laughing so they could tell me where the ball actually went! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Dammo

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    The shot is a bump and run left of the pin and still have a putt for birdie, par at worst. I decide that I can hit this new 60' lob wedge and stick it to the pin with these new 'zip grooves' and make it dance around the pin. There are loads of people taking photos of the clubhouse, Rusacks hotel and generally lots of people watching golfers complete their round. I address the ball and can see this never before hit lob wedge nipping the ball off the tight fairway grass. I proceed to blade the ball and send it through the green about 5 feet high at about 100 miles an hour, through the green fence that borders the Old Course 18th greenand smack the ball off the Old Tom Morris golf shop window, that then bounces off the green fence again and back off the window for a second time. My Dad, and our 2 playing partners, along with those around the historic 18th green don't know what to say, there's dead silence.....How about that for an endearing memory of playing the Old Course at St Andrews, every time I think of my day there its all I can remember!:o

That had me in stitches. Wish I'd seen that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭carnsoreboxer

Best laugh I've had in weeks, oh also thinks its a howl.

Thanks for sharing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Playing in Killeen GC in Kildare about three/four years ago. Had 30-yd pitch for my third shot on the 11th hole which has a ditch/red water hazard running all up the left side of it. Took out the LW and chunked it about three feet on front of me. Was livid and went to throw the club as hard as I could into the ground (axe like!)... in the middle of the "downswing" I decided it maybe wasnt such a good idea and tried to stop myself, alas it was too late, the club flew out of my hand, bounce about 15 times and tumbled into the ditch!

Couldn't find it, lost forever in two feet of water! Playing partner p*ssed himself laughing for about the next 3 holes... Git!

Playing St Margaret's on Friday, pal of mine did something similiar after a poor chip, threw his LW and got it stuck up a tree! We couldn't get that out either, so he used it as a good excuse to get himself two new vokeys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Jasonw

at my home course there are 3 holes on what is basically the side of a hill. They have flat fairways with steep banks (terraced i believe is the term) as it winds upward from the 3rd to 4 and 5 on the highest tier.

having made my way up the steepest climb to the highest point of the course I park my electric trolley on the edge while I weigh up my shot to the 5th green.

I'm adressing the ball as I see out of the corner of my eye, my trolley, slowly at first start to move toward the slope as I stand there wondering whether it will stop it starts to gather pace. throwing my club to the side I walk quickly toward it to grab it before it starts down the steep bank. I misjudged the pace it was rolling at and just missed it as it careered down the slope toward the 4th fairway.

deciding that it could have enough speed that it might cross the fairway and down the next bank I took off at full speed down the hill missing it by inches with a flying rugby style tackle as it took off down the next slope. I could only watch thinking it would cross the 3rd fairway and make it's way down the final hill and out through the OOB fence.

Fortunately at the bottom of the slope it hit a bump throwing it on it's side and skidding half way across the 3rd fairway.

The worst part was having to push it all the way back up the hill past all the groups on 3 holes (2 of them par 5s) with a big grass skidmark on my white top from the attempted tackle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Playing P&P, missed the green, in fact I missed the entire course.

Ball flew into the car park and left a nasty dent on a car.

Found the owner and sheepishly informed them. They laughed and said not to worry over it, sound! :D

It was a battered old car but all the same, I'd have paid what was due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

En route to Woodbrook 36 hole junior scratch, stopped in Shankill for coffee and food. Multi-tasking up the Woodbrook driveway, steering with knees, breakfast roll in hand, hot coffee between my legs. Hit a speed bump at about 60 kmh, scolding hot coffee all over the croch of my beige trousers. Burned my lad. Damp brown stain on my cacks for 36 holes. No change of clothes. Won a prize. Attempted to clean cacks in locker room with soap and hair-dryer, to no avail, and much to the amusement of fellow competitors. Had to walk up and collect prize with stain still very evident.

Had hit the same ramp and spilled coffee on myself only weeks earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

En route to Woodbrook 36 hole junior scratch, stopped in Shankill for coffee and food. Multi-tasking up the Woodbrook driveway, steering with knees, breakfast roll in hand, hot coffee between my legs. Hit a speed bump at about 60 kmh, scolding hot coffee all over the croch of my beige trousers. Burned my lad. Damp brown stain on my cacks for 36 holes. No change of clothes. Won a prize. Attempted to clean cacks in locker room with soap and hair-dryer, to no avail, and much to the amusement of fellow competitors. Had to walk up and collect prize with stain still very evident.

One should always bring a change of clothes to such events. ;)

Would also have been worse if the brown stain was on the back of your trousers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭scanner1

was playing in Macroom a few weeks ago on a Sunday evening and wanted to get a full round in, so was rushing around a bit. on the practice green waiting to get out was a four ball, there were only 2 of us so the said go ahead. didn't want to hold them up so quickly went on the tee and proceeded to ignore my pre shot routine and hit the ball immideatly... into the club house wall to my left missing the window by only 6 inches.. the ball ended up behind the ladies tee... took me 7 holes to get over it..:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Was the reason for someone else's most embarrassing moment a few weeks ago. Playing club competition. Two juniors going out with us. They were a little nervous as you might tend to be going out with the 'grown ups'. One of the lads was busily taking practice swing after practice swing as I talked to him. Didn't really take any notice that he was actually practicing towards me on the tee box. Anyway, he hits the ground with a full belt of the driver and smashes a large divot straight into my face!! Pretty bloody sore actually. The guy just stood there open-mouthed, eyes as wide as plates, looking at me .... I have never seen a guy more embarrassed. He started to apologise, hand to mouth, face beetroot red, and didn't stop apologising until about the third fairway. I roasted him for the whole round about it to get the most out of it.

f22 wrote: »
    Would also have been worse if the brown stain was on the back of your trousers!

It kinda was 'cos I was sitting in a puddle of scalding coffee for a couple of seconds, before I had to hoosh my arse out of the wet seat, controling the car while leaning back in such a way I appeared to limbo into the car park.

I do like to make an entrance.

One should always bring a change of clothes to such events. ;)

There's still skid marks on that chair in our clubhouse.
    If you ever get on tour it might be worth a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

I was bitten by a squirrel.Yep, a squirrel. Finger was pissing blood, ruined me towel, grips full of blood, lovely day on the course.

Had to go to the VHI clinic and get a jab in the arse when I came in for me troubles.

Moral of the story: It's not "cute" to feed squirrels from your hand on the golf course, it's thick:o

JCDUB wrote: »
    I was bitten by a squirrel.Yep, a squirrel. Finger was pissing blood, ruined me towel, grips full of blood, lovely day on the course.

Had to go to the VHI clinic and get a jab in the arse when I came in for me troubles.

Moral of the story: It's not "cute" to feed squirrels from your hand on the golf course, it's thick:o

Killer the squirrel, he's a legend and not to be messed with. Better than any guard dog. Just aswell you didn't try to piss on him JC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

do they not have any shop there ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭jimmystars

Played a new course in a JSC and was sitting pretty in the middle of the fairway of a dogleg right hole with about 150 yards to the green. My playing partners were a few yards ahead of me so i was first to play. Made a few practice swings and Knocked a sweet iron onto the green. My Playing partners just stood looking at me as if i was after loosing the plot. I had hit in the totally wrong direction onto a different green.
    Just after my shot a group arived onto the green i was after hitting onto and started to look at my ball with confusion.
    Felt like some plonker having to walk up to that green explain what i had done take a drop and play my ball. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

Were you too tight to nip into the proshop for a new pair or what? Oh yeah, I forgot, you're scottish aren't you. :D:D:D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

tripped and fell head first into the lake on the 13th at mount juliet a couple of years back. Putter in one hand flag in the other. My partner was chipping from the back of the green and bladed it a bit, shouted to me to stop it (just a friendly game), I moved to my right at pace and the flag got caught between my legs and I went head first into the lake. Luckily there was a decent amount of water in there - I was there yesterday (as it happens) and there wasnt half the amount of water that is normally there.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Par72 wrote: »
    Were you too tight to nip into the proshop for a new pair or what? Oh yeah, I forgot, you're scottish aren't you. :D:D:D:p

Talk about insulting a nation.

Not the accusations of tightness. More so the insinuation that such a fine upstanding nation would produce a reprobate such as Sheet. Lulu wept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Ian10

Playing out of a bunker in carton house that was so deep it had 8 steps going down. So opened the LW as far as it would go and gave it my all, felt like I caught it perfectly waited to her the congrats of fellow players only to feel a SMACK of the golf ball! The ball went straight up in the air and hit me square in the head on the way down. All 3 fellow players were actually rolling around laughing! EMBARRESED!!:o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Playing 12 holes winter comp 2 years ago, straight from the car to the first tee as it was brassers outside.

Hit the ground with my driver about a foot behind the ball but the ground was so hard that the club bounced over the ball for my first fresh air in quite a while :)

The two lads I was with were busy telling me that they "lost it in the low sun" until I pointed at the ground...funtimes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

Sliced one into a carpark once and there was an audible crash. Went to check the cars in the vicinity for damage but couldn't find any - and we seriously looked!

After the round I got into the car with the guy that had given me a lift. When he went to reverse out of the parking space, he broke his sh1te laughing cos his passenger-side wing mirror was gone!

Luckily it was a banger that he didn't care about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 corgolfsoc

words not needed with these pics .... taken 2day in the Kclub ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Parking a buggy in 'buggy shack' after finishing the second round of the recent Lucan JSC and I kind of hit the 'Go' pedal instead of the 'Stop' pedal, went through a fence, somersaulted down a steep drop to the ground 30 feet below at the back of the 7th green. Roof of buggy knocked off and the battery lying to one side. Luckily I fell out of the buggy halfway down the hill otherwise I would not be recounting this story now. As I sat there in the middle of a bush wondering what the f*ck just happened I hear one of three non-members on the 8th tee shout in his best Dublin accent - "Wot in the fookin' name of Jaysus was that?.....Is der anyone in it?......Jaysus, there must be...the keys are still in it!!"

Don't know where it came from but as I limped down the slope to inspect the damage I informed the three lads - 'Don't worry lads, ye have a drop away from the buggy if ye need it'.

Cue slagging for the rest of the night, especially when I took to the stage to call out that day's winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Arrived on the tee at Royal County Down with two mates. The Starter asked me my handicap. 'Seven' I replied.

"you want to favour the left side of the fairway," he said, pointing the way.

I nailed my drive, moving it forward exactly two inches off the tee. I'm not sure if the club made contact or if it was simply the power of the wind I'd generated, but the Starter looked very confused.

My mate Finbarr turned to him. "I know what you're thinking, but he plays at Greystones and it's a VERY short course."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

corgolfsoc wrote: »

I'd have taken my shoes and socks off!

Also it looks like a pull caddy car....?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Shannonsider

I like the way someone actually took the time to take a photo of this instead of actually getting it out of the water!

A mate of mine actually managed to hit the ball backwards one day. We still laugh at him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Anto12

Played in Dunmurry Springs a few years back - think it was the 3rd hole - had to go over water-which i did - bit too much but thought it was ok .. when I found my ball at the back of the green it was next to some tree stumps.. ok I'll play this .. opened up lob wedge .. swung - Oh jesus was my next words .. ball hit the tree stump and caught me straight between the legs .. well it left me dead !!!I picked my ball up in severe pain and walked to the nxt tee box while my 2 playing partners were left in a heap laughing on the green .. took me about 5 more holes to get back right again !!!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Have witnessed one great one. Standing in the fairway on the 12th at the New Course in Headfort. Bloke was lining up a putt on the green. He proceeded to back up straight into the water while lining up the the putt.

Have broken my mates stand bag by knocking down a drive and smashing the the leg off it. The bag kind of hovered for a second before toppling over and snapped the the shaft in his 3wood on landing! Nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

I was playing the scenic 9-hole gap of Dunloe course in Killarney. The 3rd hole is a long par 3, built up on a height. I put a 5 iron on the edge of the green. My playing partners chipped on and when my turn came to play, i backed back from the put to get a line on it. Unfortunately, i backed back one step too much, and I just disappeared down into a deep deep bunker, doing at least 3 sommersaults.(no exageration, the bunker was 10-12 feet deep from the height back down to ground level) Jesus christ, I was sore, but my playing partners were sore from laughing.

connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Only mildly embarrassing. More unfortunate really, but played Malahaide a few months ago and (I think it was off the yellow first) and played to the light rough on the left side of the fairway. One of my playing partners was about 4 foot to my left and about 10 foot behind me. Anyway, i took out my long rion and must have just bladed it to sh*te cos it didnt get 4 foot off the ground, but I hit a tree dead centre about 30 yards in front of me, and ball proceeded to come bacck and trickle between my playing partners legs. Cue embarrassment and me going 15 foot backwards on a clear fairway to play my 3rd :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

madds wrote: »
    Parking a buggy in 'buggy shack' after finishing the second round of the recent Lucan JSC and I kind of hit the 'Go' pedal instead of the 'Stop' pedal, went through a fence, somersaulted down a steep drop to the ground 30 feet below at the back of the 7th green. Roof of buggy knocked off and the battery lying to one side. Luckily I fell out of the buggy halfway down the hill otherwise I would not be recounting this story now. As I sat there in the middle of a bush wondering what the f*ck just happened I hear one of three non-members on the 8th tee shout in his best Dublin accent - "Wot in the fookin' name of Jaysus was that?.....Is der anyone in it?......Jaysus, there must be...the keys are still in it!!"

Don't know where it came from but as I limped down the slope to inspect the damage I informed the three lads - 'Don't worry lads, ye have a drop away from the buggy if ye need it'.

Cue slagging for the rest of the night, especially when I took to the stage to call out that day's winners.

Played Lucan today and put my tee shot on the seventh right in the middle of your bush, Madds! lol - God knows what the lads on the 8th thought when they saw the buggy crashing down the bank, it's nearly a sheer drop! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

Tin_Cup wrote: »
    Have witnessed one great one. Standing in the fairway on the 12th at the New Course in Headfort. Bloke was lining up a putt on the green. He proceeded to back up straight into the water while lining up the the putt.

Have broken my mates stand bag by knocking down a drive and smashing the the leg off it. The bag kind of hovered for a second before toppling over and snapped the the shaft in his 3wood on landing! Nice

playing rathcore one day bout to came to the 9th.seen two lads rolling round the green laughing their bollox off next thing see a lad getting out of the water .when we got to the 10th we asked the two lads what happened .told us their mate had been lining up a putt and just kept walking back until he disappeared into the drink:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Jezz, its a fair drop off into the water on the 9th in Rathcore! :D

Playing Corrstown a good few years back, and we had treated ourselves to the buggies!!
    Cant remember the exact hole, the 11th I think, dog leg right; anyways we all played decent tee shots, one of them ended up in the rough on the right....so we are tipping full throttle up the fair way and Im driving....chatting away to the lads in their cart along side, as we approach the balls, I start to veer right to head towards the ball that ended up in the rough, still chatting....not really watching where I was going.... "watch the trrreeEEEE!! Reflex action was to put left lock on the steering wheel, and lots of it; mate slide straight off the bench, a bit of a bounce on his backside, that ended up in a bit of a roll.....needless to say he wasnt very impressed with our laughing and the grass stains on his new beige trousers!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 corgolfsoc

Playing Moor park in Navan sevral yrs back , I pulled my drive right on the 14th , Wandered up and found my ball just over the out of bounds fence ,

Decided to retrieve my ball and reached over the fence while holding onto the fence to grab my Ball , Only prob here was it was an electric fence !! i got a nasty little shock and the 3 lads with me got a fooking laugh and a half out of it ...

They all scratched the hole due to the fact every time they looked at me they pissed themselves laughing ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Brilliant